التحسين المستمر

هذا العام ، تبلغ BCI 10 سنوات ، وعلى مدار العام ، سننشر سلسلة من المقالات ، مع مدخلات من أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين الذين كان لهم تأثير طوال العقد الأول من BCI - من الشركاء ، إلى منظمات المجتمع المدني ، إلى تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية . على الرغم من أن السلسلة ستركز في الغالب على المستقبل ، إلا أننا سنبدأ بالاحتفال والتفكير في الأشخاص والمنظمات الذين كانوا مع BCI في البداية ، والذين شكلوا المسار الأولي ومسار العمل لـ BCI.

القطن هو الألياف الطبيعية الأكثر استخدامًا في العالم. يزرع ملايين المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة حوالي 26 مليون طن من القطن سنويًا ، ويواجهون تحديات تشمل ندرة المياه وضغط الآفات والأسواق غير المستقرة. يعيش الكثيرون في فقر ويفتقرون إلى الوصول إلى المعرفة والأدوات والمعدات لزيادة غلاتهم أو تحسين ظروف العمل. في عام 2009 ، شكلت مجموعة ذات رؤية كبرى من العلامات التجارية الرئيسية للملابس وتجار التجزئة والمزارعين والمنظمات غير الحكومية مبادرة Better Cotton (BCI) لتحويل طريقة زراعة القطن بشكل جماعي ، بدءًا من الألف إلى الياء. لقد شرعوا في مساعدة مزارعي القطن على زراعة قطن أفضل - قطن يزرع بطريقة أفضل للناس والبيئة. واليوم ، تدعم المبادرة أكثر من 1,400 منظمة ، وينتج 1.3 مليون مزارع من شركة BCI 3.3 مليون طن من القطن سنويًا. هذا يمثل 14٪ من الإنتاج العالمي.

يوضح ريتشارد هولاند من الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة ، أحد الشركاء المؤسسين لـ BCI: "القطن هو واحد من عدد من المحاصيل التي تؤثر على أنظمة المياه. أردنا إيجاد حل من شأنه أن يدعم المزارعين ويعزز التنمية المستدامة ، مع الحفاظ على توافر المياه وجودتها ".

بالنسبة للعلامات التجارية الرائدة المشاركة منذ البداية - بما في ذلك adidas و IKEA و M&S و Levi Strauss و H&M - كان هذا أكثر من مجرد مسألة الاستجابة لضغط أصحاب المصلحة لتقليل تأثير المواد الخام. كانت هذه مسألة مرونة سلسلة التوريد واستدامة الأعمال.

يقول ماتياس بودين ، خبير أعمال الاستدامة والمواد والابتكار في مجموعة H&M: "القطن هو أحد أهم المواد في مجموعة H&M ، لذا يلعب Better Cotton دورًا رئيسيًا في هدفنا المتمثل في استخدام القطن من مصادر مستدامة فقط بحلول عام 2020". "BCI تمكننا والصناعة من توسيع نطاق مصادر المواد المستدامة."

لم تكن الرحلة سهلة أبدًا. إن تحقيق رؤية "قطن أفضل" يمثل 30٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي بحلول عام 2020 يتطلب جهدًا تعاونيًا ضخمًا لتحسين الممارسات على المستوى الميداني. سنحتاج إلى التغلب على الحواجز التي واجهتها مبادرات القطن المستدام القائمة الأصغر من خلال إنشاء نظام يمكن لأصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة الوصول إليه ويركز على التحسين المستمر.

زار أعضاء فريق BCI الأوائل ، بما في ذلك خبير القطن ألان ويليامز ، مناطق إنتاج مهمة في باكستان والهند والبرازيل وغرب إفريقيا لفهم تحدياتهم المتنوعة ، وتطوير مجموعة عالمية من المبادئ الاجتماعية والبيئية التي من شأنها تحديد القطن الأفضل: مبادئ القطن الأفضل والمعايير.

يتذكر قائلاً: "لقد كان وقتًا مكثفًا ، حيث استغرقت أيامًا لإخراج نظام من شأنه أن يعمل للجميع والسفر على نطاق واسع لتقديمه للمشاركين المحليين في صناعة القطن وخبراء التنمية". "لقد كان تعاونًا رائعًا - لقد أصبحنا قريبين كفريق واحد ، ونعمل على زيادة الوعي بقضية مهمة شعرنا بها جميعًا بقوة."

ومع مشاركة العديد من الشركاء ، كانت هناك توترات حتمية. لكسر الجمود بشأن القضايا الرئيسية ، كان النهج الشامل محوريًا. تقول خبيرة الاستدامة كاثلين وود ، التي سهلت تلك الجلسات المبكرة: "كان لكل شخص رأي متساوٍ. يستغرق الأمر وقتًا أطول ولكنك تحصل على حلول أكثر ثراءً ".

القيام برحلة من التحسين المستمر

كفريق صغير ، قمنا بتكوين شبكة من الشركاء على الأرض ، شركاء التنفيذ (IPs) ، لبناء قدرات المزارعين. يفسر الشركاء المنفذون المبادئ الأساسية للمعيار بطريقة موثوقة وذات صلة ثقافيًا للمزارعين المحليين ، حيث يتعلم أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة كيفية مواجهة تحدياتهم الخاصة من خلال مجموعات التعلم المخصصة والعروض العملية.

يقول شفيق أحمد ، مدير مكتب BCI في باكستان: "إنها شراكة رائعة ، ونحن نتعلم الكثير من بعضنا البعض ، لكنها لا تخلو من الصعوبات. في باكستان ، على سبيل المثال ، نحتاج إلى التركيز على الحفاظ على التزام الموظفين الميدانيين الموسميين بقضية BCI ، لا سيما مع توسيع نطاقنا ".

يعمل فريق أحمد حاليًا مع جمعية المزارعين الأسترالية ، Cotton Australia ، لمساعدة المزارعين الباكستانيين BCI على التعلم من تجارب المزارعين الأستراليين في تسخير التكنولوجيا لمعالجة المياه وإدارة الآفات.

كان لكل من برنامج المسار السريع Better Cotton Fast Track (الممول من IDH ، ومبادرة التجارة المستدامة ، ICCO ، ومؤسسة Rabobank والعلامات التجارية الرائدة في عام 2010) وصندوق Better Cotton Growth and Innovation ، الذي تم إنشاؤه في عام 2016 ، تأثير تحويلي على تسريع القدرات -بناء. تتذكر لينا ستافجارد ، مديرة العمليات في BCI: "في عام 2010 ، لم نحصل على نتائج ، كانت BCI مجرد فكرة على الورق. لكن Joost Oorthuisen من IDH كان يؤمن بالتأثير المحتمل للبرنامج - جنبًا إلى جنب مع ICCO ومؤسسة Rabobank ، وضعوا ‚20 مترًا على الطاولة إذا كانت العلامات التجارية ستطابقها. لقد سمح لنا إيمانهم ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع جرأة الفريق المؤسس ، بتحقيق المستحيل ".

اعتماد نهج يتمحور حول المزارع

أبقت BCI المزارعين في قلب المناقشات منذ البداية. تلاحظ هولندا أن تبني الممارسات الأساسية - مثل الرش فقط عندما يشكل عدد الآفات على النباتات خطرًا أو تبطين قطع الأرض بحواجز صغيرة من الحجارة للمساعدة في الاحتفاظ بالمياه - يساعد المزارعين بسرعة على فعل المزيد بموارد أقل. "وهذا بدوره يشجع المزيد من المزارعين على المشاركة" ، كما يقول.

لا يزال العديد من المزارعين غير مقتنعين ، ومع ذلك ، يترددون في التغيير ويرون أن هناك مخاطر جسيمة في تجربة ممارسات جديدة. غالبًا ما يكون تشجيعهم على المشاركة صراعًا شاقًا ، وإيجاد طريقة مقنعة لتغيير طريقة تفكيرهم أمر حيوي.

يقول أحمد: "ذات يوم توقفت لأسأل بعض مزارعي القطن عن عمق بئرهم". "أخبروني أنه كان على الأقل 80 قدمًا ، لكن كان يبلغ 20 قدمًا فقط في الأصل. سألتهم: "إذا انخفض منسوب المياه الجوفية بالفعل إلى هذا الحد ، فماذا ستفعل الأجيال القادمة؟"

تدريجيًا انضم المزيد من المزارعين إلى البرنامج ، وبحلول عام 2016 ، وصلت BCI بالفعل إلى أكثر من مليون مزارع ، أكثر من 1 ٪ منهم من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة. يقول ويليامز: "لا يقتصر الأمر على مجرد الوصول إلى البرنامج". "تقدم BCI أيضًا فوائد صحية وتعليمية أوسع داخل أسر ومجتمعات المزارعين BCI."

تعظيم تأثير العلامات التجارية للملابس واستراتيجيات مصادر تجار التجزئة

بفضل القوة الشرائية الكبيرة والتأثير ، يلعب تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية دورًا رئيسيًا في قيادة التغيير وتسريع الطلب على Better Cotton. يقدم BCI Retailer و Brand members مساهمات مالية لتدريب المزارعين ، استنادًا إلى حجم Better Cotton الذي يوفرونه. يضمن هذا الارتباط المباشر بالمجتمعات الزراعية أقصى قيمة للمزارعين. مع بناء استراتيجيات المصادر المستدامة للعلامات التجارية ، يمكن لـ BCI توسيع فرص التدريب للمزارعين والمساعدة في توفير كميات أكبر من Better Cotton لتلبية احتياجاتهم.

يقول براميت تشاندا ، المدير القطري للهند في IDH (مبادرة التجارة المستدامة): "ترى العلامات التجارية فوائد مباشرة - تخفيف المخاطر وتحسين الرؤية لسلسلة التوريد الخاصة بهم". "إنهم ببساطة لا يمتلكون الموارد اللازمة لتقديم تدريب للمزارعين على هذا النطاق ، لذلك تمثل BCI حلاً عمليًا وفعالًا من حيث التكلفة كما أنها منصة للحلول المشتركة."

يضيف هولاند: "تلعب العلامات التجارية التقدمية دورًا ذا مغزى في تحويل كيفية إنتاج المواد الخام وهذا يمثل نموذجًا للقطاع".

تسخير توازن الكتلة لزيادة الطلب

يتم الاحتفاظ بالقطن الأفضل بشكل منفصل عن القطن التقليدي حتى يصل إلى مصانع الغزل. من هناك ، يتم تسجيل حجم تدفق القطن الأفضل عبر سلسلة التوريد على منصة عبر الإنترنت. يُعرف هذا باسم سلسلة التوازن الشامل لنموذج الحضانة ويتجنب التكاليف والتعقيدات التي ينطوي عليها الفصل المادي. قد يحتوي المنتج النهائي ، القميص ، على سبيل المثال ، على مزيج من القطن الأفضل والقطن التقليدي ، بالطريقة نفسها التي يتم بها اشتقاق الكهرباء التي تزود منازلنا بالطاقة من شبكة تغذيها كل من الوقود الأحفوري والمصادر المتجددة.

يشرح أحمد قائلاً: "يتيح التوازن الشامل للجميع في السلسلة العمل بأكبر قدر ممكن من الفعالية ، والحفاظ على السرعة في السوق وإشارات الطلب".

في البداية كانت هناك مقاومة كبيرة للفكرة ، حيث دفع تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية لمستويات مختلفة من التتبع المادي ورفض العديد من أصحاب المصلحة قبول الحل المقترح.

تتذكر Chanda "كنت في ايكيا في ذلك الوقت ، واعتقدت أن توازن الكتلة يضعف المعيار ويقلل من مصداقيته". "أخبرت كبار مديرينا أن هذا لم يكن ما اشتركنا فيه. سألوا - "إذن ما الذي سيتغير للمزارعين؟". أدركت أن BCI لم تكن أبدًا تتعلق بتعقيد سلسلة التوريد. كان الأمر دائمًا يتعلق بدعم المزارعين. يمكّن توازن الكتلة BCI من تحقيق ذلك. "

الإبحار في تحديات المستقبل

بينما تتجه شركة Better Cotton نحو "نقطة تحول" حيث يمكن اعتبارها لاعباً رئيسياً في سوق القطن العالمي ، لا يزال هناك الكثير الذي يتعين القيام به لتحقيق رؤية BCI. في عام 2021 ، تطلق BCI استراتيجيتها لعام 2030 ، حيث تسعى للوصول إلى نطاق أكبر من خلال مساعدة البلدان المنتجة والمزارعين على امتلاك ملكية أكبر لتطبيق نظام أفضل لمعايير القطن. يوضح Staafgard: "على المدى الطويل ، ستبتعد BCI عن الإشراف على العمل الميداني وتعمل كوصي على المعيار ، وتقدم المشورة وتحسن تقنيات القياس".

ومع استمرار الأحوال الجوية القاسية والكوارث الطبيعية في تعطيل الزراعة وإنتاج القطن في جميع أنحاء العالم ، فإن تحديد طرق ميسورة التكلفة لأصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة لبناء القدرة على التكيف مع تغير المناخ وتنويع محاصيلهم سيكون أمرًا أساسيًا - أكثر من ذلك مع توسع سكان العالم والتنافس على الأراضي مع المحاصيل الغذائية يكثف. يعتقد هولاند أنه "في عالم شحيح الموارد ، يجب على BCI وصناعة المنسوجات والملابس الأوسع أن تفكر في الدور الذي يمكن أن يلعبه القطن في اقتصاد دائري متجدد".

ويخلص تشاندا إلى أن "أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة لا يزالون ضعفاء ومهمشين ، ولن يصبح الأمر أسهل". "حتى عندما تصل شركة Better Cotton إلى 30٪ من السوق ، سيظل هناك المزيد من المزارعين الذين يحتاجون إلى الدعم." يقترح أن تستفيد BCI من تقنيات التعلم في الوقت الفعلي والموارد الرقمية للوصول إلى المزيد من المزارعين وتوسيع أنشطتها التدريبية.

في الواقع ، Staafgard واضح أن تركيز BCI يجب أن يظل على الزراعة وتحسين ممارسات المزارعين. وتقول: "لا يزال التعميم يمثل تحديًا كبيرًا". "يجب أن ننتقل إلى المرحلة التالية من تطورنا حيث تصبح احتياجات المزارعين أكثر تعقيدًا ، مع الحفاظ على نفس روح التعاون والشمول في قلوبنا."

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Continuous Improvement

This year BCI turns 10 years old.Over the course of the year,we will be publishing a series of articles, with input from key stakeholders who have been influential throughout BCI’s first decade – from partners, to civil society organisations, to retailers and brands. Although the series will predominately focus on the future,we will begin by celebrating and reflecting on the people and organisations who were with BCI at the beginning, and who shaped the initial path and course of action for BCI.

Cotton is the world’s most widely used natural fibre. Millions of smallholder farmers grow around 26m tonnes of cotton annually, facing challenges including water scarcity, pest pressure and unstable markets. Many live in poverty and lack access to the knowledge, tools and equipment to raise their yields or improve working conditions. In 2009, a visionary group of major apparel brands and retailers, farmers and NGOs formed the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) to collectively transform the way cotton is grown, starting from the ground up. They set out to help cotton farmers grow Better Cotton – cotton grown in a way that is better for people and the environment. Today, the initiative is supported by more than 1,400 organisations, and 1.3m BCI Farmers are producing 3.3m tonnes of cotton annually. That’s 14% of global production.

Richard Holland of WWF, one of BCI’s founding partners, explains: ”Cotton is one of a number of crops that impacts on water systems. We wanted to find a solution that would support farmers and promote sustainable development, while conserving water availability and quality.”

For the leading brands involved from the start – including adidas, IKEA, M&S, Levi Strauss and H&M – this was more than a question of responding to stakeholder pressure to reduce the impact of their raw materials. This was a matter of supply chain resilience and business sustainability.

”Cotton is one of H&M group’s most important materials, so Better Cotton plays a key role in our goal to use only sustainably sourced cotton by 2020,” says Mattias Bodin, Sustainability Business Expert, Materials and Innovation at H&M group. ”BCI is enabling us and the industry to scale up the sourcing of sustainable materials.”

The journey was never going to be easy. Achieving the vision of Better Cotton representing 30% of global cotton production by 2020 would involve a huge collaborative effort to improve practices at field level. We would need to overcome the barriers experienced by smaller, existing sustainable cotton initiatives by creating a system that was accessible to smallholders and focused on continuous improvement.

Early BCI team members, including cotton expert Allan Williams, visited important production areas in Pakistan, India, Brazil and West Africa to understand their diverse challenges, and develop a global set of social and environmental principles that would define Better Cotton: the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria.

”It was an intense time, holing up for days to thrash out a system that would work for everyone and travelling widely to present it to local cotton industry participants and development experts,” he remembers. ”It was a great collaboration – we became close as a team, raising awareness of an important issue that we all felt strongly about.”

And with so many partners involved, there were inevitably tensions. To break the deadlock on key issues, an inclusive approach was pivotal. Sustainability expert Kathleen Wood, who facilitated those early sessions, says: ”Everyone had an equal say. It takes longer but you get richer solutions.”

Undertaking a journey of continuous improvement

As a small team, we forged a network of on-the-ground partners, Implementing Partners (IPs), to build farmers’ capacity. The IPs interpret the core principles of the standard in a credible, culturally relevant way for local farmers, with smallholders learning how to address their specific challenges through dedicated learning groups and practical demonstrations.

BCI’s Pakistan Country Manager, Shafiq Ahmad, says: ”It’s a great partnership, and we learn a lot from each other, but it’s not without difficulty. In Pakistan, for example, we need to focus on sustaining the commitment of seasonal field staff to BCI’s cause, particularly as we scale up.”

Ahmad’s team is currently working with the Australian growers association, Cotton Australia, to help Pakistani BCI Farmers learn from Australian farmers’ experiences in harnessing technology to address water and pest management.

Both the initial Better Cotton Fast Track Programme (funded by IDH, the Sustainable Trade Initiative, ICCO, Rabobank Foundation and leading brands in 2010) and the successive Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund, established in 2016, have had a transformative impact on accelerating capacity-building. Lena Staafgard, BCI’s COO, recalls: ”Back in 2010, we had no results, BCI was just an idea on paper. But Joost Oorthuisen of IDH believed in the potential impact of the programme – together with ICCO and Rabobank Foundation they put ‚Ǩ20m on the table if the brands would match it. Their belief, together with the founding team’s audacity, has allowed us to achieve the impossible.”

Adopting a farmer-centric approach

BCI has kept farmers at the core of discussions from the outset. Holland notes that adopting basic practices – such as only spraying when the number of pests on plants posed a risk or lining plots with small barriers of stones to help retain water – quickly helps farmers to do more with less. ”This in turn encourages more farmers to get involved,” he says.

Many farmers remain unconvinced, however, reluctant to change and perceiving too heavy a risk in trying new practices. Encouraging them to participate is often an uphill struggle, and finding a compelling way to transform their mindsets is vital.

”One day I stopped to ask some cotton farmers how deep their well was,” says Ahmad. ”They told me it was at least 80ft, but had only been 20ft originally. I asked them: “If the water table has already dropped to this extent, what will the next generations do?’”

Gradually more farmers joined the programme, and by 2016, BCI had already reached more than 1m farmers, more than 99% of them smallholders. ”It’s not just the sheer reach of the programme,” says Williams. ”BCI is also delivering broader health and education benefits within BCI Farmers’ families and communities.”

Maximising the impact of apparel brands and retailers’ sourcing strategies

With significant purchasing power and influence, retailers and brands play a key role in driving change and accelerating demand for Better Cotton. BCI Retailer and Brand Members’ make financial contributions to farmer training, based on the volume of Better Cotton they source. This direct link to the farming communities ensures maximum value for farmers. As brands’ sustainable sourcing strategies build, BCI can expand training opportunities for farmers and help deliver larger volumes of Better Cotton to meet their needs.

”The brands see direct benefits – risk mitigation and improved visibility of their supply chain,” says Pramit Chanda, Country Director, India at IDH (the Sustainable Trade Initiative). ”They simply don’t have the resources to deliver farmer training at this scale, so BCI represents a cost-effective, pragmatic solution and is also a platform for shared solutions.”

Holland adds: ”Progressive brands are playing a meaningful role in transforming how raw materials are produced and that sets an example for the sector.”

Harnessing mass balance to boost demand

Better Cotton is kept separately from conventional cotton until it arrives at the spinning mills. From there, the volume of Better Cotton flowing through the supply chain is recorded on an online platform. This is known as a mass balance chain of custody model and avoids the costs and complexities involved in physical segregation. The end product, a T-shirt, for example, may contain a mix of Better Cotton and conventional cotton, in the same way as the electricity powering our homes may be derived from a grid fed by both fossil fuels and renewable sources.

Ahmad explains: ”Mass balance allows everyone in the chain to function as effectively as possible, maintaining speed to market and driving signals for demand.”

There was initially considerable resistance to the idea, with retailers and brands pushing for varying levels of physical traceability and various stakeholders refusing to accept the solution proposed.

”I was at IKEA at the time, and I thought mass balance diluted the standard and reduced its credibility,” recalls Chanda. “I told our senior managers this wasn’t what we signed up for. They asked – “So what will change for the farmers?’. I realised that BCI has never been about complicating the supply chain. It’s always been about supporting farmers. Mass balance enables BCI to achieve that.”

Navigating future challenges

While Better Cotton is heading towards a “tipping point’ whereby it can be considered a major player in the global cotton market, there is still much to be done to achieve BCI’s vision. In 2021, BCI is launching its 2030 strategy, as it seeks to reach greater scale by helping production countries and farmers take greater ownership of implementing the Better Cotton Standard System. ”In the long term, BCI would move away from overseeing field work and act as custodians of the standard, delivering advice and optimising measurement techniques,” explains Staafgard.

And as extreme weather and natural disasters continue to disrupt agriculture and cotton production worldwide, identifying affordable ways for smallholders to build resilience to climate change and diversify their crops will be fundamental – even more so as the global population expands and competition for land with food crops intensifies. “In a resource-scarce world, BCI and the broader textile and apparel industry must consider what role cotton could play in a regenerative, circular economy,” Holland believes.

”Smallholders are still vulnerable and marginalised, and it’s not getting any easier,” concludes Chanda. ”Even when Better Cotton reaches 30% of the market, there will still be many more farmers who need support.” BCI could further leverage real-time learning techniques and digital resources to reach more farmers and expand its training activities, he suggests.

Indeed, Staafgard is clear that BCI’s focus must remain on agriculture and improving farmers’ practices. ”Mainstreaming is still a big challenge,” she says. ”We must move to the next stage of our evolution as farmers’ needs become more complex, keeping the same spirit of collaboration and inclusiveness at our heart.”

Translate »