我们的服务

我们的服务

我们的业务

在短短 10 年多的时间里,我们已成为世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 我们的使命:帮助棉花社区生存和繁荣,同时保护和恢复环境。 我们认识到挑战的规模。 环境危在旦夕,气候变化处于临界点,广大棉农和农民工 ,那恭喜你, 在世界上一些最贫穷、受影响最严重的国家。 全球大流行加剧了困难。

我们正在迎接挑战。 与我们广泛的合作伙伴和成员网络一起,我们正在使棉花种植成为更具气候适应能力、环境友好和负责任的企业s. 世界上已经有近四分之一的棉花是在良好棉花标准下生产的,这是一个旨在实现这一目标的系统和一套原则。 Better Cotton 现在在 25 个国家种植。 我们在农场层面提高棉花产量的整体方法是关键。

我们倡导可持续发展

我们继续在更可持续的农业实践中培训不断增长的劳动力。 不仅是农民,还有农场工人以及所有与棉花种植有关的人。 在过去十年中,这加起来形成了一个近 4 万的社区,我们称之为“Farmer+”。 他们越了解他们面临的土壤、水和气候挑战,他们和他们的社区就越能在环境、社会和经济方面受益。 另一方面,对于那些以高科技、工业规模进行农业的人来说,使用越来越可持续的方法可以提供与之相匹配的盈利能力。

我们促进合作

我们已经拥有一个由近 70 个合作伙伴组成的网络,与当地农民合作。 我们还与捐助者、民间社会组织和政府以及其他可持续棉花倡议合作。

我们推动持续改进

在这些合作伙伴的帮助下,我们继续完善我们对农业社区多样化需求的理解,以最大限度地发挥我们项目在田间层面的影响并促进更好的农业。 在组织层面,我们同样敏锐地追求改进。 我们不断审查我们的方法,以确保它适合目的; 我们创新和调整培训和保证活动,我们更新和促进全球良好棉花标准的实施。

我们追求成长

增长是我们使更好棉花成为全球主流、可持续商品的目标的关键。 它依赖于大规模生产,因此到 2030 年,我们希望将良好棉花的产量翻一番。 反过来,这要求我们分享最佳实践、最新数据和融资渠道,以推动当前和新市场的需求和吸收。

我们必须产生影响

我们制定了一个 10 年战略(定于 2021 年底发布),旨在根据 2030 年可持续发展目标实现真正的、可衡量的变化。 改善环境是再生农业的先导。 提高产量和市场准入,同时促进体面工作、减少不平等和推动性别赋权,旨在对生活和生计产生持久影响

.

良好棉花标准体系

良好棉花标准体系是可持续棉花生产的整体方法,涵盖可持续性的所有三个支柱:环境、社会和经济。

每个要素——从原则和标准到显示结果和影响的监测机制——共同支持良好棉花标准体系以及良好棉花和 BCI 的可信度。 该系统旨在确保良好实践的交流,并鼓励扩大集体行动,将良好棉花打造为可持续的主流商品。

定义“更好”:我们的标准

通过 7 项关键原则提供良好棉花的全球定义。

培训农民:能力建设

通过与田间经验丰富的合作伙伴合作,支持和培训农民种植良好棉花。

证明合规性:保证计划

通过8个一致的结果指标对农场进行定期评估和测量,鼓励农民不断改进。

连接供需:监管链

连接良好棉花供应链中的供需。

支持可靠的沟通:索赔框架

通过传播来自现场的强大数据、信息和故事,传播关于良好棉花的信息。

衡量结果和影响:监测、评估和学习

衡量进展的监测和评估机制,以确保良好棉花实现预期影响。

What We Do

What We Do

What we do

In just over 10 years we have become the world’s largest cotton sustainability programme. Our mission: to help cotton communities survive and thrive, while protecting and restoring the environment. We recognise the size of the challenge. The environment is in danger, climate change at a tipping point, and the majority of cotton farmers and farmworkers are in some of the world’s poorest, worst affected countries. The global pandemic has compounded the difficulties.

We are meeting the challenge head on. Along with our extensive network of partners and members, we are making cotton farming a more climate-resilient, environmentally friendly and responsible business. Already nearly a quarter of the world’s cotton is produced under the Better Cotton Standard, a system and set of principles designed to deliver just that. Better Cotton is now grown in 23 countries. Our holistic, farm-level approach to improving cotton production is the key.

We champion sustainability

We continue to train an ever-growing workforce in more sustainable farming practices. Not only farmers but farm workers and all those connected with the growing of cotton. Over the last decade this adds up to a community of nearly 4 million that we call ‘Farmer+’. The better they all understand the soil, water and climate challenges they face, the more they and their communities stand to benefit environmentally, socially and economically. At the other end of the spectrum, for those farming on a high-tech, industrial scale, using more and more sustainable methods delivers profitability to match.

We promote collaboration

We already have a network of almost 70 partners working with farmers on-the-ground. We work with donors, civil society organisations and governments and other sustainable cotton initiatives too.

We drive continuous improvement

With the assistance of these partners, we continue to refine our understanding of the diverse needs of farming communities to maximise the impact of our programmes at field level and promote better farming. At an organisational level we pursue improvement equally keenly. We review our approach continuously to make sure it is fit for purpose; we innovate and adapt training and assurance activities, and we update and promote implementation of the Better Cotton Standard around the world.

We pursue growth

Growth is key to our aim of making Better Cotton a global, mainstream, sustainable commodity. It relies on it being produced at scale, so by 2030 we want to have doubled Better Cotton production. In turn this requires that we share best practice, latest data, and access to finance to drive demand and uptake in current and new markets.

We must make an impact

We have a 10-year strategy (set to be published at the end of 2021) mapped out to deliver real, measurable change, in line with the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals. Improving the environment is the precursor to regenerative agriculture. Increasing yields and market access while at the same time promoting decent work, reducing inequalities, and driving gender empowerment is designed to have a lasting impact on lives and livelihoods

.

The Better Cotton Standard System

The Better Cotton Standard System is a holistic approach to sustainable cotton production which covers all three pillars of sustainability: environmental, social and economic.

Each of the elements – from the Principles and Criteria to the monitoring mechanisms which show results and impact – work together to support the Better Cotton Standard System, and the credibility of Better Cotton and BCI. The system is designed to ensure the exchange of good practices, and to encourage the scaling up of collective action to establish Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity.

Defining ‘Better’: Our Standard

Providing a global definition of Better Cotton through 7 key principles.

Training Farmers: Capacity Building

Supporting and training farmers in growing Better Cotton, through working with experienced partners at field level.

Demonstrating Compliance: Assurance Programme

Regular farm assessment and measurement of results through 8 consistent results indicators, encouraging farmers to continuously improve.

Connecting Supply & Demand: Chain of Custody

Connecting supply and demand in the Better Cotton supply chain.

Supporting Credible Communications: Claims Framework

Spreading the word about Better Cotton by communicating powerful data, information and stories from the field.

Measuring Results & Impact: Monitoring, Evaluation & Learning

Monitoring and evaluation mechanisms to measure progress to ensure that Better Cotton delivers the intended impact.