في Better Cotton ، نؤمن بأن جميع المزارعين والعمال لهم الحق في العمل اللائق - عمل منتج يوفر دخلًا وأجورًا عادلًا ، وأمنًا ، وحماية اجتماعية ، وفرصًا متساوية ، وحرية التنظيم ، والتعبير عن المخاوف ، والمشاركة في صنع القرار ، والتفاوض بكرامة. ظروف التوظيف.

نحن ندرك أن Better Cotton يكون "أفضل" فقط إذا كان يحسن رفاهية المزارعين ومجتمعاتهم ، ويعزز فرص العمل اللائق لسكان الريف ، فضلاً عن تعزيز بيئة آمنة وصحية. هذا هو السبب في أن العمل اللائق هو محور التركيز الرئيسي لبرنامجنا.

إنتاج القطن والعمل اللائق - لماذا يهم

ينتج المزارعون أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة أكثر من 70٪ من القطن العالمي. يواجه أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة في جميع أنحاء العالم تحديات متعددة في الحصول على عمل لائق ، بدءًا من الفقر والتفاوتات الهيكلية الراسخة ، وتتراوح من حواجز السوق إلى الصدمات المناخية.

ضمن سياق أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة وخارجه ، تساهم الطبيعة غير الرسمية لعلاقات العمل في الزراعة ، فضلاً عن ضعف التنظيم والإنفاذ ، في التحدي. كما أن علاقات العمل وهياكل السلطة متأصلة بعمق في الممارسات الثقافية والاقتصادية. لا توجد حلول سحرية ، ويتطلب تعزيز العمل اللائق التعاون مع أصحاب المصلحة عبر المجتمع المدني وسلاسل التوريد والحكومات.

هناك العديد من تحديات العمل على مستوى المزرعة في قطاع القطن ، بما في ذلك:

انخفاض الأجور والمداخيل

على الرغم من تحمل قدر كبير من المخاطر ، لا يزال المزارعون في قاعدة سلسلة التوريد يكافحون من أجل الاعتراف بهم وتقييمهم في أسواق السلع العالمية. في مواجهة ظروف صعبة للغاية بسبب تغير المناخ ، فإن دخول المزارعين المنخفضة يمثل عائقا كبيرا أمام خلق فرص العمل اللائق في المجتمعات الريفية. بسبب الطبيعة الموسمية وغير الرسمية إلى حد كبير لعلاقات العمل في الزراعة ، غالبًا ما يكون هناك أيضًا غياب أو ضعف تطبيق لوائح الحد الأدنى للأجور. علاوة على ذلك ، في العديد من البلدان ، لا يزال الحد الأدنى للأجور غير كافٍ لتوفير مستوى معيشي لائق. ومع ذلك ، فإن الفرص الاقتصادية المحدودة لا تترك للعمال أي خيار سوى قبول هذه الشروط.

عمالة الأطفال

عمل الأطفال شائع في الزراعة حيث تعتمد العائلات في كثير من الأحيان على الأطفال للمساعدة في الإنتاج أو دعم الأسرة. بالنسبة للأطفال في أعمار معينة ، فإن القيام بمهام مناسبة في ظل ظروف مناسبة ، يمكن أن يبنوا مهارات وثقة هامة تساهم بشكل إيجابي في نمو الأطفال ورفاهية الأسرة. في الوقت نفسه ، يمكن أن تؤدي عمالة الأطفال - العمل غير المناسب للعمر ، والذي يتعارض مع التعليم ، أو ضار بالنمو البدني والعقلي والأخلاقي والاجتماعي للأطفال - إلى عواقب وخيمة على الأطفال ويمكن أن يساهم في استمرار الدورات من فقر الأسرة. في بعض الحالات ، ينخرط الأطفال في الزراعة في أسوأ أشكال عمل الأطفال - بما في ذلك العمل الجبري والسخري.

السخرة والسخرة

العمل الجبري هو عندما يتم توظيف الأشخاص ضد إرادتهم أو خداعهم للعمل ، بينما يواجهون تهديدًا بالعقوبة ، سواء كان ذلك عن طريق العنف أو التخويف ، أو مصادرة أوراق الهوية ، أو حجب الأجور ، أو العزلة أو غيرها من الظروف التعسفية التي تحد من قدرتهم على مغادرة مكان العمل. . العمالة القسرية ، وتسمى أيضًا عبودية الديون أو عبودية الديون ، هي الشكل الأكثر انتشارًا للعمل الجبري ، لا سيما في الزراعة. يحدث عندما يضطر الشخص إلى العمل لسداد دين. غالبًا ما تنجم مديونيتهم ​​عن ترتيبات عمل خادعة ، وحيث يكون لدى الشخص القليل من السيطرة أو الفهم لديونه. في بعض البلدان ، يعتبر عبودية الديون أمرًا شائعًا بين المزارعين الذين يصبحون مدينين لأصحاب العقارات ويقضون سنوات في العمل لسداد ديونهم ، وغالبًا ما يؤثر ذلك على أطفالهم الذين يولدون في العبودية. يؤثر العمل الجبري ، وهو شكل من أشكال "العبودية الحديثة" ، بشكل غير متناسب على الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً وحرماناً.

عدم المساواة والتمييز

عدم المساواة والتمييز على أساس الجنس أو العرق أو الطبقة أو اللون أو الدين أو العمر أو الإعاقة أو التعليم أو التوجه الجنسي أو اللغة أو الرأي السياسي أو الأصل أو الانتماء إلى مجموعة أقلية عرقية أو دينية أو اجتماعية ، موجودة في القطاع الزراعي و في جميع بلدان زراعة القطن. لا تحظى النساء على وجه الخصوص بتقدير متساو لعملهن ، على الرغم من دورهن المركزي في زراعة القطن. في بعض البلدان ، تكسب العاملات أقل من الرجال مقابل نفس العمل ، أو يعملن في مهام منخفضة الأجر ، أو بموجب ترتيبات توظيف أكثر هشاشة. كما أنهم يميلون إلى مواجهة حواجز أكبر في الوصول إلى التدريب وملكية الأراضي واتخاذ القرار. العوامل المتداخلة مثل وضع المهاجر ، والعمر ، و / أو الانتماء إلى أقلية دينية أو اجتماعية أو مجموعة عرقية ، تزيد من تعرض المرأة للاستغلال وسوء المعاملة. على مستوى المزرعة ، قد تشمل الممارسات التمييزية معاملة أقل تفضيلًا أو غير عادلة في التوظيف أو الدفع أو الوظيفة ، وكذلك في الوصول إلى التدريب ومرافق مكان العمل الأساسية. 

تمثيل محدود للعمال والمزارعين

هناك فهم وإيفاء متنوع ومحدود في كثير من الأحيان للمبادئ والحقوق الأساسية في العمل ، بما في ذلك الحق في التنظيم والمفاوضة الجماعية بين المزارعين والعمال. بينما في بعض البلدان ، قد ينضم المزارعون أو يشكلون منظمات أو تعاونيات منتجين ، في سياقات أخرى ، تؤثر القيود المفروضة على حرية تكوين الجمعيات والمفاوضة الجماعية على تشكيل الهياكل لتمثيل المزارعين أو العمال وقدرتهم على المشاركة في الحوار الاجتماعي الذي يمكن أن يحسن عملهم الأرواح. يقع العمال الزراعيون عادة خارج آليات دعم العمال (النقابات ، وأنظمة الضمان الاجتماعي ، وما إلى ذلك) مقارنة بالعاملين في الصناعات الأخرى. هذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على العمال المهاجرين. يؤدي استبعادهم إلى استمرار خطر استغلالهم.

مخاوف الصحة والسلامة

وفقا لمنظمة العمل الدولية ، الزراعة هي واحدة من أكثر المهن خطورة في جميع أنحاء العالم. في العديد من البلدان ، يبلغ معدل الحوادث المميتة في الزراعة ضعف متوسط ​​جميع القطاعات الأخرى. تختلف مخاوف الصحة والسلامة حسب حجم المزرعة ومستوى الميكنة والوصول إلى معدات الحماية الشخصية واللوائح المحلية. بشكل عام ، تشمل مخاوف الصحة والسلامة الرئيسية: التعرض للمواد الكيميائية الخطرة ، والوصول المحدود إلى مرافق المياه الآمنة والصرف الصحي ، والإجهاد الحراري (ومناطق الراحة المظللة المحدودة) ، وساعات العمل الطويلة ، والحوادث التي تنطوي على استخدام أدوات حادة أو آلات ثقيلة. قد يؤدي التعرض لهذه المخاطر والأخطار إلى حدوث إصابات وإعاقات جسدية طويلة الأمد ومرض وأمراض غالبًا ما تتفاقم أو تؤدي إلى الوفاة بسبب محدودية الوصول إلى مرافق الرعاية الطبية بالإضافة إلى سوء ظروف المعيشة والعمل.

بشكل عام ، يُترجم الاستبعاد المتكرر للقطاع الزراعي من أطر حماية العمال وآليات الرقابة التنظيمية المرتبطة بها مثل عمليات تفتيش العمل إلى حماية محدودة للمزارعين والعمال. وبالمثل ، فإن هيمنة ترتيبات العمل غير الرسمية وشبكات الحماية الاجتماعية المحدودة ، تجعل الزراعة واحدة من أكثر القطاعات خطورة ، حسب تصنيف منظمة العمل الدولية. ومما زاد الطين بلة ، أن العمالة الزراعية المشتتة والمتنقلة للغاية تجعل أي تدخلات تستهدف دعم المزارعين والعاملين ، بما في ذلك المراقبة أو زيادة الوعي أو التعامل مع المظالم ، تحديًا حقيقيًا للتفعيل.  

في إطار تعزيز العمل اللائق ، يتخذ Better Cotton نهجًا قائمًا على المخاطر ، مع إعطاء الأولوية للمناطق التي يكون فيها المزارعون والعمال أكثر عرضة للخطر. تعمل Better Cotton دائمًا بالشراكة مع شركائها في البرنامج والشركاء التقنيين الآخرين ، لتجميع الخبرات معًا واختبار الأساليب المبتكرة. من الوسائل الرئيسية لنهجنا هو معيارنا على مستوى المزرعة ، لكن شركة Better Cotton تشارك أيضًا في شراكات وتدخلات برنامجية تهدف إلى معالجة تحديات العمل الرئيسية.  

استراتيجية العمل اللائق

تسعى استراتيجية العمل اللائق للقطن الأفضل إلى المساهمة في الجهود العالمية لتعزيز العمل اللائق ، مع الشركاء عبر القطاعين العام والخاص ، وحيثما أمكن ، عبر السلع الأساسية. في دفع القطن المستدام من خلال معيار القطن الأفضل ، نهدف إلى تحفيز التغيير على مستوى المزرعة والمجتمع ، بدءًا من بناء قدرات شركائنا في البرنامج وموظفيهم في الميدان لتعزيز العمل اللائق ، بما في ذلك من خلال مراقبة العمل وتحديد و العلاج. كما أننا نعزز ونصقل أنظمة الضمان وأساليب بناء القدرات لدينا لتعكس مخاطر العمل والاستجابة لها بشكل أفضل ، فضلاً عن تجريب شراكات جديدة لتجذير عملنا في العمل التعاوني. كأولوية ، نحن نتطلع إلى تحديد ودعم التدخلات المجتمعية ، ومنظمات المزارعين والعمال ، وآليات التظلم والعلاج ، لخلق بيئة مواتية للعمل اللائق عبر مناطق زراعة القطن الأفضل.

PDF
1.35 MB

إستراتيجية أفضل للعمل اللائق في القطن

تحميل

منهجية تقييم مخاطر العمل الجبري العالمي

تحدد منهجية التقييم العالمي لمخاطر العمل الجبري مخاطر العمل الجبري على مستوى الدولة في إنتاج القطن في البلدان التي تعمل فيها شركة Better Cotton. سيتم استخدام هذا النهج القائم على المخاطر لإعطاء الأولوية لمزيد من التحقيق والاستثمار في التخفيف من العمل الجبري حيث ترتفع المخاطر.

PDF
173.43 KB

منهجية تقييم مخاطر العمل الجبري العالمي

تحميل

فرقة العمل المعنية بالعمل الجبري والعمل اللائق

شكلت Better Cotton فريق العمل المعني بالعمل الجبري والعمل اللائق في أبريل 2020 لمراجعة نظام معايير القطن الأفضل الحالي على مستوى العالم. كان الهدف من فريق العمل هو تسليط الضوء على الثغرات ووضع توصيات لتحسين فعالية هذا النظام في تحديد ومنع وتخفيف ومعالجة مخاطر العمل الجبري. اقرأ التقرير النهائي لفريق العمل والتوصيات أدناه ، بالإضافة إلى كيفية قيام شركة Better Cotton بإدخال التوصيات.

فريق العمل المعني بالعمل الجبري والعمل اللائق: التقرير النهائي والتوصيات

فريق العمل المعني بالعمل الجبري والعمل اللائق: التقرير النهائي والتوصيات

أكتوبر ٢٠٢٠




العمل اللائق في مبادئ ومعايير القطن الأفضل

في Better Cotton ، نتبع نهجًا واسعًا للعمل اللائق يأخذ في الاعتبار تنوع السياقات التي يتم فيها إنتاج القطن ، من الحيازات العائلية الصغيرة إلى المزارع الكبيرة. يتوافق نهجنا مع معايير منظمة العمل الدولية (ILO) - التي تعتبر على نطاق واسع السلطة الدولية في شؤون العمل - ونحن نعمل باستمرار على تحسينها مع نمونا وتطورنا كمنظمة.

يجب على جميع مزارعي القطن الأفضل (من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة إلى المزارع الكبيرة) ، على الأقل ، العمل لدعم أربعة مبادئ وحقوق أساسية في العمل:

  • حرية تكوين الجمعيات والحق في المفاوضة الجماعية
  • القضاء على السخرة
  • إلغاء عمالة الأطفال
  • القضاء على التمييز في التوظيف والمهن

المبدأ السادس من مبادئ ومعايير أفضل للقطن يضع 22 معيارًا لدعم هذه المعايير ، مع متطلبات من تحديد مخاطر العمل لضمان موافقة العامل. يُطلب أيضًا من مزارعي القطن الأفضل اتباع قوانين العمل والصحة والسلامة المهنية الوطنية ما لم تضع تلك القوانين معايير أقل من معايير منظمة العمل الدولية.

اقرأ المزيد

الصورة الائتمان: تم أخذ جميع أيقونات ورسومات أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة (UN SDG) من موقع ويب الأمم المتحدة SDGلم توافق الأمم المتحدة على محتوى هذا الموقع ولا يعكس آراء الأمم المتحدة أو مسؤوليها أو الدول الأعضاء.

At Better Cotton, we believe that all farmers and workers have the right to decent work — productive work that offers fair income and wages, security, social protection, equal opportunities, freedom to organize, express concerns, participate in decision-making and negotiate dignified conditions of employment.

We recognise that Better Cotton is only ‘better’ if it improves the wellbeing of farmers and their communities, fostering decent work opportunities for rural populations, as well as promoting a safe and healthy environment. That’s why decent work is a central focus of our programme.

Cotton Production and Decent Work — Why it Matters

More than 70% of global cotton is produced by smallholder farmers. Smallholders around the world face multiple challenges in accessing decent work, starting with poverty and deeply entrenched structural inequalities, and ranging from market barriers to climate shocks.

Within and beyond the smallholder context, the informal nature of working relations in agriculture, as well as weak regulation and enforcement, also contribute to the challenge. Working relations and power structures are also deeply embedded in cultural and economic practices. There are no silver bullet solutions, and promoting decent work requires collaboration with stakeholders across civil society, supply chains and governments.

There are multiple farm-level labour challenges in the cotton sector, including:

Low wages and incomes

Despite taking on a great deal of risk, farmers at the base of the supply chain still struggle to be recognized and valued in global commodity markets. Facing evermore challenging conditions due to climate change, low farmer incomes act as a significant barrier to creating decent work opportunities in rural communities. Due to the largely informal and seasonal nature of working relations in agriculture, there is also often an absence of or poor enforcement of minimum wage regulations. Moreover, in many countries, minimum wages are still not enough to provide a decent standard of living. Even so, limited economic opportunities can leave workers with no choice but to accept these conditions.

Child labour

Child work is common in agriculture as families often rely on children for help with production or household support. For children of certain ages, carrying out appropriate tasks under adequate conditions, can build important skills and confidence that contribute positively to children’s development and family welfare. At the same time, child labour – work that is not age-appropriate, interferes with schooling and, or, is harmful to the physical, mental, moral and social development of children – can pose serious consequences for children and can contribute to perpetuating cycles of household poverty. In some cases, children in agriculture are engaged in the worst forms of child labour – including forced and bonded labour.

Forced and bonded labour

Forced labour is when people are employed against their will or deceived into employment, while facing threat of penalty, be it through violence or intimidation, confiscation of identity papers, withholding of wages, isolation or other abusive conditions that restrict their ability to leave the workplace. Bonded labour, also called debt bondage or debt slavery, is the most widespread form of forced labour, particularly in agriculture. It occurs when a person is forced to work to pay off a debt. Their indebtedness often results from deceptive working arrangements, and where the person has little to no control or understanding of their debt. In some countries, debt bondage is common among sharecroppers, who become indebted to landlords and spend years working to pay off their debts, often affecting their children, who are born into bondage. Forced labour, a form of ‘modern slavery’, disproportionately affects the most vulnerable and disadvantaged groups.

Inequality and discrimination

Inequality and discrimination based on gender, race, caste, colour, religion, age, disability, education, sexual orientation, language, political opinion, origin or the belonging to an ethnic, religious or social minority group, are present in the agricultural sector and across all cotton growing countries. Women in particular – do not receive equal recognition for their work, despite their central role in cotton farming. In some countries, female workers earn less than men for the same work, or are employed in lower-paying tasks, or under more vulnerable employment arrangements. They also tend to face greater barriers in access to training, land ownership and decision making. Overlapping factors such as migrant status, age, and/or belonging to a minority religious, social, or ethnic group, further increase women’s vulnerabilities to exploitation and abuse. At farm level, discriminatory practices may include less favourable or unfair treatment in recruitment, payment or occupation, as well as in access to training and basic workplace facilities. 

Limited worker and farmer representation

There is variable and often limited understanding and fulfillment of the fundamental principles and rights at work, including the right to organise and bargain collectively among farmers and workers. While in certain countries, farmers may join or form producer organisations or cooperatives, in other contexts constraints on the freedom of association and collective bargaining affect the formation of structures for farmer or worker representation and their ability to participate in social dialogue which could improve their working lives. Agricultural workers typically fall outside worker support mechanisms (unions, social security schemes, etc.) compared to workers in other industries. This is especially true of migrant workers. Their exclusion perpetuates the risk of their exploitation.

Health and safety concerns

According to the ILO, agriculture is one of the most hazardous occupations worldwide. In many countries, the fatal accident rate in agriculture is double the average for all other sectors. Health and safety concerns vary depending on farm size, level of mechanization, access to PPE, and local regulation. Generally though, key health and safety concerns include: exposure to hazardous chemicals, limited access to safe water and sanitation facilities, heat stress (and limited shaded rest areas), long working hours, and accidents involving the use of sharp tools or heavy machinery. Exposure to these risks and hazards may give rise to injuries, long-term physical impairments, sickness and diseases often aggravated or resulting in death due to limited access to medical care facilities in addition to poor living and working conditions.

In general, the frequent exclusion of the agricultural sector from labour protection frameworks and associated regulatory oversight mechanisms like labour inspections translates into limited protection for farmers and workers. Likewise, the dominance of informal working arrangements and limited social protection nets, make agriculture one of the highest risk sectors, as per the ILO’s designation. Exacerbating this, the dispersed and highly mobile farm labour makes any interventions targeted to support farmers and workers, including monitoring, awareness raising or grievance handling, a real challenge to operationalize.  

In promoting Decent Work, Better Cotton takes a risk-based approach, prioritizing areas where farmers and workers are at highest risk. Better Cotton always works in partnership with its Programme Partners and other technical partners, to pool together expertise and test innovative approaches. A key vehicle of our approach is our farm-level standard, but Better Cotton also engages in programmatic partnerships and interventions aiming to tackle key labour challenges.  

Decent Work Strategy

The Better Cotton Decent Work Strategy seeks to contribute to global efforts to promote decent work, with partners cutting across private and public sectors and, where possible, across commodities. In driving sustainable cotton through the Better Cotton Standard, we aim to catalyse change at the farm and community-level, starting with building the capabilities of our programme partners and their field-based staff to promote decent work, including through labour monitoring, identification and remediation. We are also strengthening and refining our assurance systems and capacity-building approaches to better reflect and respond to labour risks, as well as piloting new partnerships to root our work in collaborative action. As a priority, we are looking to identify and support community-based interventions, farmer and worker organizations, and grievance and remedy mechanisms, to create an enabling environment for decent work across Better Cotton farming areas.

PDF
1.35 MB

Better Cotton Decent Work Strategy

Download

Global Forced Labour Risk Assessment Methodology

The Global Forced Labour Risk Assessment Methodology establishes the country level risk of forced labour in cotton production for countries where Better Cotton operates. This risk-based approach will be used to prioritise further investigation and investment into the mitigation of forced labour where the risk is elevated.

PDF
173.43 KB

Global Forced Labour Risk Assessment Methodology

Download

Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work

Better Cotton formed the Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work in April 2020 to review the current Better Cotton Standard System globally. The aim of the Task Force was to highlight gaps and develop recommendations to improve the effectiveness of this system in identifying, preventing, mitigating and remediating forced labour risks. Read the final Task Force report and recommendations below, as well as how Better Cotton has onboarded the recommendations.

Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work: Final Report and Recommendations

Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work: Final Report and Recommendations

October 2020




Decent work in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

At Better Cotton, we take a broad approach to decent work that considers the diversity of contexts in which cotton is produced, from family smallholdings to large-scale farms. Our approach aligns with International Labour Organization (ILO) standards — widely considered the international authority on labour matters — and we are continuously improving it as we grow and evolve as an organisation.

All Better Cotton farmers (from smallholders to large-scale farms) must, at a minimum, work to uphold four Fundamental Principles & Rights at Work:

  • Freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining
  • The elimination of forced labour
  • The abolition of child labour
  • The elimination of discrimination in employment and occupation

Principle six of the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria lays out 22 criteria for upholding these standards, with requirements from identifying work hazards to ensuring a worker´s consent. Better Cotton Farmers are also required to follow national labour and occupational health and safety laws unless those laws set standards below ILO standards.

Learn more

Image credit: all United Nations Sustainable Development Goal (UN SDG) icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG websiteThe content of this website has not been approved by the United Nations and does not reflect the views of the United Nations or its officials or Member States.