在 Better Cotton,我们相信所有工人都有权获得体面的工作——在人们感到安全、受尊重并能够更好地组织、表达他们的担忧或谈判的环境中提供公平的薪酬、安全和平等的学习和进步机会的工作状况。

因为归根结底,我们认识到良好棉花只有在改善农民及其社区的福祉和生计以及环境时才会“更好”。 这就是为什么帮助良好棉花种植者促进体面的工作条件是我们计划的核心重点`

棉花生产和体面劳动——为何重要

世界各地的棉农面临着许多体面工作的挑战,从保护工人免于接触农药到识别和防止童工。

体面工作的挑战通常源于低工资、农业工作关系的非正式性质以及法律法规执行不力。 有时,解决方案还需要转变思维方式,无论这意味着让社区认识到童工是一个问题,还是努力改变长期存在的性别规范。 这就是为什么了解一个地区不良劳工实践的根本原因对于有效解决长期存在剥削和虐待的情况是必要的。 这是一项巨大的挑战,需要与整个供应链的主要利益相关者合作,共同推动系统性的、积极的变革。

棉花行业有几个体面的工作挑战,包括:

性别不平等

女性通常比男性获得更少的机会。 他们在培训小组中的代表人数往往不足,而在包括采摘在内的现场劳动中代表人数过多。 在一些国家,女性工人从事同样的工作挣得比男性少,或者受雇于不同的、报酬较低的工作。

进一步了解 性别平等

低工资和收入

由于农业工作关系的非正式和季节性性质,包括在许多棉花社区,通常没有最低工资规定或执行不力。 支付最低​​工资后,往往仍不足以让工人为自己和家人提供体面的生活。 即便如此,缺乏经济机会往往使工人别无选择,只能接受这些条件。

童工

童工在农业社区很常见,因为家庭经常依靠儿童帮助生产。 在某些债役工的情况下,孩子生来就受奴役,必须工作以偿还父母的债务。 在这两种情况下,童工都会阻碍儿童的教育和发展,可能会损害他们的健康和福祉,并使贫困循环长期存在。

健康和安全问题

许多农场不符合基本的健康和安全要求,包括在工作中受伤时提供适当的卫生设施或医疗服务。 对于棉农和工人来说,最大的两个健康和安全风险是接触危险化学品和长时间工作。

强迫劳动和债役劳动

强迫劳动是指人们违背自己的意愿或受到惩罚(暴力或非暴力)的威胁而被雇用。 债役劳动,也称为债役或债务奴役,是“现代奴隶制”最普遍的形式,尤其是在农业领域。 它发生在一个人被迫工作以偿还债务时。 通常情况下,一个人被迫以微薄或无薪工作,如果他们试图离开,他们可能会被诱骗承担更多债务,并面临暴力或恐吓。 他们也可能以非暴力胁迫的方式被困,例如,通过持有身份证件或扣留工资。 有时,小农棉农,尤其是佃农,为了还地主的债务而苦苦工作多年。   

体面劳动战略

良好棉花体面工作战略旨在建立良好棉花公司和我们的合作伙伴的能力,以促进棉农和农场工人的体面工作条件。 在短期内,我们将努力确保我们的保障系统和能力建设方法对体面劳动挑战高度敏感,并了解特定环境的风险因素和劳工虐待的缓解策略。 从长远来看,我们将与合作伙伴合作,推进以工人权利和代表结构为中心的多利益相关方倡议。

PDF
1.35 MB

更好的棉花体面劳动战略

下载

良好棉花体面工作咨询委员会

良好棉花体面劳动咨询委员会的任务是指导体面劳动战略的实施,该战略于 2021 年 XNUMX 月启动。委员会成员包括 Ergon、雨林联盟和独立顾问。

PDF
104.03 KB

更好的棉花体面劳动咨询委员会 ToR

下载

全球强迫劳动风险评估方法

全球强迫劳动风险评估方法为 Better Cotton 运营的国家建立了棉花生产中强迫劳动的国家级风险。 这种基于风险的方法将用于优先考虑进一步调查和投资,以减轻风险较高的强迫劳动。

PDF
173.43 KB

全球强迫劳动风险评估方法

下载

强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组

良好棉花于 2020 年 XNUMX 月成立了强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组,以审查当前全球良好棉花标准体系。 工作组的目的是突出差距并提出建议,以提高该系统在识别、预防、减轻和补救强迫劳动风险方面的有效性。 阅读下面的最终工作组报告和建议,以及 Better Cotton 如何采纳这些建议。

强迫劳动和体面工作工作组:最终报告和建议

强迫劳动和体面工作工作组:最终报告和建议

2020年 十月



强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组:良好棉花加入特别工作组的建议

良好棉花加入工作组的建议

2021 年 XNUMX 月


良好棉花原则和标准中的体面劳动

在 Better Cotton,我们对体面劳动采取广泛而一致的方法,涵盖从家庭小农场到大型农场的各种棉花生产环境。 我们的方法符合国际劳工组织 (ILO) 标准——被广泛认为是劳工事务的国际权威——并且随着我们作为一个组织的成长和发展,我们正在不断改进它。

良好棉花种植者必须努力维护四项体面劳动标准:

  • 结社自由和集体谈判权
  • 消除强迫劳动
  • 废除童工
  • 消除就业和职业歧视

原则六 良好棉花原则和标准 列出了维护这些标准的 22 条标准,对从识别工作危险到确保工人同意的所有方面都有要求。 良好棉花种植者还必须遵守国家劳工和职业健康与安全法律,除非这些法律规定的标准低于国际劳工组织的标准。

在实践中实现体面劳动的良好棉花方法

在土耳其东南部的 Şanlıurfa,Better Cotton 战略合作伙伴 伊伊·帕穆克·乌伊古拉马拉勒·德尔内格 正在提高对体面工作的认识。 2016 年,他们与公平劳工协会合作,为良好棉花种植者和工人制定了全面的体面劳动培训计划。 该计划涵盖了广泛的体面劳动主题,从如何获得工作许可和公平薪酬到适当的健康和安全程序。

自培训以来,我们现在为每个人——男人和女人、叙利亚难民——支付相同的工作报酬。 没有歧视。

阅读更多关于我们为改善 Şanlıurfa 农场工人工作条件所做的工作

良好棉花种植者如何解决体面工作

在 2018-19 棉花季节,土耳其 73% 的良好棉花种植者和中国的 91% 对童工有较高的认识,这意味着他们可以准确地区分家庭农场中可接受的儿童帮助形式和危险的童工。

体面的工作

Better Cotton 如何为可持续发展目标 (SDG) 做出贡献

联合国的 17 项可持续发展目标 (SDG) 为实现可持续未来提供了全球蓝图。 SDG 8 指出,我们应该“促进持续、包容和可持续的经济增长、充分的生产性就业和人人享有体面的工作”。

通过良好棉花培训,我们支持农民改变造成不公平和不可持续工作条件的环境,以便世界各地的棉花社区能够生存和繁荣。

了解更多

图片来源:所有联合国可持续发展目标 (UN SDG) 图标和信息图表均取自 联合国可持续发展目标网站本网站内容未经联合国批准,不代表联合国或其官员或会员国的观点。

At Better Cotton, we believe that all workers have the right to decent work — work that offers fair pay, security and equal opportunities for learning and progression in an environment where people feel safe, respected and able to organise, express their concerns or negotiate better conditions.

Because at the end of the day, we recognise that Better Cotton is only ‘better’ if it improves the wellbeing and livelihoods of farmers and their communities, as well as the environment. That’s why helping Better Cotton farmers promote decent working conditions is a central focus of our programme`

Cotton Production and Decent Work — Why it Matters

Cotton farmers around the world face many decent work challenges, ranging from protecting workers from pesticide exposure to identifying and preventing child labour.

Decent work challenges typically stem from low wages, the informal nature of working relations in agriculture, and weak enforcement of laws and regulations. Sometimes solutions also require mindset shifts, whether that means getting communities to recognise that child labour is a problem or working to transform long-held gender norms. That’s why understanding the root causes of poor labour practices in an area is necessary to effectively address the circumstances that perpetuate exploitation and abuse. It is an enormous challenge that takes collaboration with key stakeholders across supply chains to drive systemic, positive change together.

There are several decent work challenges in the cotton sector, including:

Gender inequality

Women typically have access to fewer opportunities than their male counterparts. They tend to be under-represented in training groups yet over-represented in field labour, including picking. In some countries, female workers earn less than men for the same work or are employed in different, lower-paying tasks.

Learn more about gender equality

Low wages and incomes

Due to the largely informal and seasonal nature of working relations in agriculture, including in many cotton communities, there are often no or poorly enforced minimum wage regulations. When minimum wages are paid, they are often still not enough for workers to provide a decent life for themselves and their families. Even so, a lack of economic opportunities often leaves workers with no choice but to accept these conditions.

Child labour

Child labour is common in agricultural communities as families often rely on children for help with production. In some cases of bonded labour, children are born into bondage and must work to pay off their parents’ debts. In both cases, child labour impedes the child’s schooling and development, can hurt their health and wellbeing and perpetuates cycles of poverty.

Health and safety concerns

Many farms do not meet basic health and safety requirements, including providing proper sanitation facilities or medical care in case of injuries on the job. For cotton farmers and workers, two of the biggest health and safety risks are exposure to hazardous chemicals and long working hours.

Forced and bonded labour

Forced labour is when people are employed against their will or under threat of punishment (violent or non-violent). Bonded labour, also called debt bondage or debt slavery, is the most widespread form of ‘modern slavery’, particularly in agriculture. It occurs when a person is forced to work to pay off a debt. Typically, a person is pressured into working for little or no pay, and they may be tricked into further debt and face violence or intimidation if they try to leave. They can also be trapped in non-violent coercive ways, e.g., through the holding of identity documents or withholding of wages. Sometimes smallholder cotton farmers, particularly sharecroppers, are stuck working for years to pay off a debt to a landlord.   

Decent Work Strategy

The Better Cotton Decent Work Strategy seeks to build the capabilities of Better Cotton and our partners to promote decent working conditions for cotton farmers and farm workers. In the short term,  we will work to ensure our assurance systems and capacity building approaches are highly sensitive to decent work challenges, and informed by knowledge of context specific risk factors and mitigation strategies for labour abuses. Over the longer term, we will work with our partners to advance multi-stakeholder initiatives centred upon workers rights’ and representative structures.

Better Cotton Decent Work Advisory Committee

The Better Cotton Decent Work Advisory Committee is tasked with guiding the implementation of the Decent Work Strategy, which kicked off in May 2021. Members of the committee include Ergon, Rainforest Alliance and independent consultants.

PDF
128.89 KB

Better Cotton Decent Work Advisory Committee ToR

Download

Global Forced Labour Risk Assessment Methodology

The Global Forced Labour Risk Assessment Methodology establishes the country level risk of forced labour in cotton production for countries where Better Cotton operates. This risk-based approach will be used to prioritise further investigation and investment into the mitigation of forced labour where the risk is elevated.

PDF
112.82 KB

Global Forced Labour Risk Assessment Methodology

Download

Decent work in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

At Better Cotton, we take a broad and consistent approach to decent work that covers a diversity of contexts in which cotton is produced, from family smallholdings to large-scale farms. Our approach aligns with International Labour Organization (ILO) standards — widely considered the international authority on labour matters — and we are continuously improving it as we grow and evolve as an organisation.

Better Cotton farmers must work to uphold four decent work standards:

  • Freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining
  • The elimination of forced labour
  • The abolition of child labour
  • The elimination of discrimination in employment and occupation

Principle six of the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria lays out 22 criteria for upholding these standards, with requirements on everything from identifying work hazards to ensuring a worker’s consent. Better Cotton Farmers are also required to follow national labour and occupational health and safety laws unless those laws set standards below ILO standards.

The Better Cotton approach to decent work in practice

In Şanlıurfa in southeastern Turkey, Better Cotton Strategic Partner İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği is raising awareness of decent work. In 2016, they developed a comprehensive decent work training programme for Better Cotton farmers and workers in partnership with the Fair Labor Association. The programme covers a broad range of decent work topics, from how to secure work permits and fair pay to proper health and safety procedures.

Since the training, we now pay everyone — men and women, Syrian refugees — the same amount for the same job. There’s no discrimination.

Read more about our work to improve working conditions for farm workers in Şanlıurfa

How Better Cotton farmers are addressing decent work

In the 2018-19 cotton season, 73% of Better Cotton farmers in Turkey and 91% in China had an advanced awareness of child labour, meaning they could accurately differentiate between acceptable forms of children’s help on family farms and hazardous child labour.

Decent Work

How Better Cotton contributes to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) provide a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 8 states that we should ‘promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all’.

Through Better Cotton training, we are supporting farmers to change the circumstances that create unfair and unsustainable working conditions so that cotton communities around the world can survive and thrive.

Learn more

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site