ما الذي نوفره لك

من نحن

Better Cotton هي المبادرة العالمية الرائدة لاستدامة القطن.

مهمتنا هي مساعدة مجتمعات القطن على البقاء والازدهار ، مع حماية البيئة واستعادتها.

القطن هو أحد أهم الموارد الطبيعية المتجددة في العالم. حماية نموها وإنتاجها أمر ضروري. في عام 2005 ، كجزء من مبادرة المائدة المستديرة التي عقدها الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة ، اجتمعت مجموعة من المنظمات ذات الرؤية لضمان مستقبل مستدام للقطن. جاء الدعم الأولي من منظمات مثل adidas ، Gap Inc. ، H&M ، ICCO Cooperative ، IKEA ، الاتحاد الدولي للمنتجين الزراعيين (IFAP) ، مؤسسة التمويل الدولية (IFC) ، Organic Exchange ، Oxfam ، Pesticide Action Network (PAN) UK and WWF .

نحن مهندسو التزام أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين

اليوم رؤيتنا حقيقة واقعة. تُعد مبادرة Better Cotton (BCI) ، أو اختصار Better Cotton ، أكبر برنامج استدامة للقطن في العالم. في ما يزيد قليلاً عن عقد من الزمان ، أقنعنا أصحاب المصلحة الذين ينتشرون في الصناعة ليكونوا شركاء لنا. المزارعون والعاملون بالمحلول والعاملون والموردون والمصنعون وأصحاب العلامات التجارية وتجار التجزئة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني والمانحون والحكومات. هذا يضيف ما يصل إلى أكثر من 2,300 عضو في شبكة Better Cotton. إنهم يشتركون في نهجنا الخاص بتدريب المجتمعات الزراعية على إنتاج القطن بطرق تعمل على تحسين الأمور للجميع وكل شيء مرتبط بهذا العنصر الأساسي الأبيض الرقيق. 

نحن الأوصياء على النهج المتمحور حول المزارعين

بدعم من أصحاب المصلحة لدينا ، يمكننا التركيز على من وما يهم في المستقبل المستدام: المزارعون وعمال المزارع ومجتمعاتهم وتعليمهم ومعرفتهم ورفاههم. من خلال العمل مع ما يقرب من 70 شريكًا مختلفًا على المستوى الميداني ، نواصل الوصول إلى المزيد والمزيد من مجتمعات زراعة القطن في العالم. جميعهم تقريبًا - مزارعون وعمال مزارع - يعملون في مساحات صغيرة تقل مساحتها عن 20 هكتارًا. كانت مساعدتهم على التمتع بعائدات أفضل ، وظروف عمل محسنة ، وأمن مالي أكبر ، أمرًا تحويليًا. أكثر من 2.4 مليون مزارع في 25 دولة لديهم الآن ترخيص لبيع قطنهم على أنه قطن أفضل. في المجموع ، وصلت برامجنا إلى ما يقرب من 4 ملايين شخص ترتبط حياتهم العملية بإنتاج القطن.

نحن المحركون لخطة شاملة

نريد دعم المجتمعات الزراعية اجتماعيا وبيئيا واقتصاديا. إن نهج 360 درجة هذا لزراعة القطن وتحسين الحياة وسبل العيش ملائم لأصغر الحيازات الصغيرة كما هو الحال بالنسبة لأكبر مزرعة صناعية. مع إدارة التربة والمياه بشكل أفضل ، فإن استخدام أقل لمبيدات الآفات وزيادة المرونة في مواجهة تغير المناخ تأتي فرصًا. بالنسبة لأصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة ، فهذا يعني تحسين المحاصيل والوصول إلى السوق. بالنسبة لعمال المزارع والمجتمعات الزراعية ، فهذا يعني العمل اللائق وتمكين الجنسين وتقليل عدم المساواة. بالنسبة للمزارعين الذين يعملون على نطاق صناعي ، فهذا يعني تبني ممارسات جديدة وأكثر ابتكارًا ، حيث تُترجم الاستدامة إلى ربحية.

نحن أفضل قطن

لقد بدأت أساليبنا في تحقيق نتائج إيجابية بالفعل ، ولكن لا يزال هناك الكثير الذي يتعين القيام به. على مدى السنوات العشر القادمة ، سنواصل تحقيق هدفنا المتمثل في تحويل قطاع القطن. لتنفيذ التغيير المخطط له مع الاستعداد للاستجابة للأحداث غير المتوقعة.

نحن مدفوعون بإدراك أن Better Cotton ليس سلعة بل سبب. يتقاسمها كل من يهتم بالقطن ومستقبله المستدام. لذا ، انضم إلينا وإلى مجتمع إنتاج القطن ، وكن جزءًا من شيء أفضل.

What We Do

Who We Are

Better Cotton is the world’s leading sustainability initiative for cotton. Our mission is to help cotton communities survive and thrive, while protecting and restoring the environment.

Cotton is one of the world’s most important renewable natural resources. Safeguarding the growing and production of it is essential. In 2005, as part of a ’round-table’ initiative convened by WWF, a group of visionary organisations came together to make sure it had a sustainable future. Initial support came from organisations such as adidas, Gap Inc., H&M, ICCO Cooperation, IKEA, International Federation of Agricultural Producers (IFAP), International Finance Corporation (IFC), Organic Exchange, Oxfam, Pesticide Action Network (PAN) UK and WWF.

We are the architects of multi-stakeholder commitment

Today our vision is a reality. The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), or just Better Cotton for short, is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. In just over a decade, we have convinced stakeholders who span the industry to be our partners. Farmers, ginners, spinners, suppliers, manufacturers, brand owners, retailers, civil society organisations, donors and governments. This adds up to more than 2,100 members. They buy into our approach of training farming communities to produce cotton in ways that improve things for everyone and everything connected with this fluffy white staple. 

We are the guardians of the farmer-centric approach

With the support of our stakeholders, we can focus on who and what matter in a sustainable future: farmers, farmworkers, their communities, and their education, knowledge and well-being. Working with close to 70 different field-level partners, we continue to reach more and more of the world’s cotton-farming communities. Nearly all of them – farmers and farm workers – work on smallholdings less than 20 hectares in size. Helping them to enjoy better yields, improved working conditions and greater financial security has been transformative. Over 2.4 million farmers now have a licence to sell their cotton as Better Cotton. In total, our programmes have reached almost 4 million people whose working lives are connected to cotton production.

We are the drivers of a holistic plan

We want to support farming communities socially, environmentally and economically. This 360-degree approach to growing cotton and to improving lives and livelihoods is as relevant to the tiniest smallholding as it is to the largest industrialised farm. With better soil and water management, less use of pesticides and greater resilience to climate change come opportunities. For smallholders, it means an improved crop and access to market. For farm workers and farming communities, it means decent work, gender empowerment and less inequality. For farmers operating on an industrial scale, it means embracing new and more innovative practices, where sustainability translates into profitability.

We are Better Cotton

Our methods are already yielding positive results but there remains much to do. Over the next ten years, we will continue towards our goal of transforming the cotton sector. To implement planned change while being ready to respond to unforeseeable events.

We are driven on by the realisation that Better Cotton is not a commodity but a cause. It is shared by everyone who cares about cotton and its sustainable future. So, join us and the cotton-producing community, and be part of something better.