优质棉花产地

优质棉花产地

今天,Better Cotton 在全球 25 个国家种植,占全球棉花产量的 23%。

在 2019-20 棉花季节,2.4 万获得许可的良好棉花种植者种植了 6.2 万吨良好棉花。 然而,这些农民只是故事的一部分。 在过去十年中,全世界近 4 万人——农民、农场工人、共同种植者——接受了更可持续实践的培训,这反映了我们旨在覆盖的棉花种植或“农民+”社区的多样性。

显示目前有超过 25 万获得许可的良好棉花种植者所在和种植良好棉花的 2.4 个国家。 单击国家/地区图钉以了解有关每个计划国家/地区的更多信息。

全面的全球标准

良好棉花的生长地点不仅是地理问题。 在澳大利亚、巴西或美国,农场可以是工业经营。 在非洲、印度或巴基斯坦的部分地区,它可能是一个在不到 20 公顷土地上工作的小农。 重要的是,作为一个整体的全球标准,无论在哪里种植良好棉花,它都满足我们设定的环境、经济和社会标准,因此它可以被称为良好棉花。 出于同样的原因,我们也认可在澳大利亚、巴西、希腊、以色列和几个非洲国家成功地与我们自己的标准进行对比的等效标准。

覆盖面、规模和影响

制定这些标准后,我们​​会尝试覆盖尽可能多的农民、工人和农业社区。 我们的当地合作伙伴网络将他们所有的专业知识和资源都提供给农民和工人使用。 我们的目标是在尽可能多的地方实现规模和影响力并促进良好棉花生产。

Where Better Cotton is Grown

Where Better Cotton is Grown

Today Better Cotton is grown in 23 countries around the world and accounts for 23% of global cotton production.

In the 2019-20 cotton season, 2.4 million licensed Better Cotton Farmers grew 6.2 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton. However, these farmers are only part of the story. Over the last decade, nearly 4 million people around the world – farmers, farm workers, share croppers – have received training in more sustainable practices, reflecting the diversity of the cotton-growing, or ‘Farmer+’ community that we aim to reach.

Displaying the 23 countries where over 2.4 million licensed Better Cotton Farmers are currently located and growing Better Cotton. Click on the country pins to learn more about each programme country.

A holistic global standard

Where Better Cotton grows is not only a matter of geography. In Australia, Brazil or the United States, a farm can be an industrial operation. In parts of Africa, India or Pakistan it can be a tiny smallholder working on less than 20 hectares of land. What matters is that as a holistic global standard, wherever Better Cotton is grown, it satisfies the environmental, economic and social criteria that we have set, so that it can be called Better Cotton. For the same reason, we also recognise equivalent standards, successfully benchmarked against our own, in Australia, Brazil, Greece, Israel and several African countries.

Reach, scale and impact

With these standards in place, we try to reach as many farmers, workers and farming communities as possible. Our network of local partners put all their know-how and resources at the farmers’ and workers’ disposal. We aim to achieve scale as well as impact and promote Better Cotton production in as many places as possible.