良好棉花增长与创新基金_2

我们正在努力通过使良好棉花成为可持续的主流商品来改变全球棉花行业。 对农民和田间项目的直接投资对于实现这一目标至关重要。 Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund(Better Cotton GIF 或 Fund)是我们进行这些投资的主要工具。

Better Cotton GIF 由 良好棉花委员会 与良好棉花零售商和品牌成员、良好棉花公民社会成员和捐助者合作。

将资金直接引入农业社区

良好棉花 GIF 确定并对良好棉花领域的项目和创新进行战略投资。 它是我们双管齐下的一部分 能力建设计划。 除了良好棉花标准系统之外,通过良好棉花 GIF 进行的田间投资也发挥着重要作用,使我们能够接触到更多的农民并就可持续农业实践对他们进行培训。

PDF
1.54 MB

更好的棉花增长和创新基金的使命和愿景

更好的棉花增长和创新基金的使命和愿景
本文件阐述了良好棉花当前战略时期良好棉花增长和创新基金的愿景、使命、价值观和目标。
下载
PDF
72.62 MB

更好的棉花增长和创新基金指南

更好的棉花增长和创新基金指南
四个增长和创新基金渠道的指南:小型农场基金、知识合作伙伴基金、创新和学习基金以及大型农场基金。
下载

了解有关良好棉花 GIF 的更多信息

谁管理该基金?

Better Cotton GIF 由 良好棉花委员会 与良好棉花零售商和品牌成员、良好棉花民间社会成员和捐助者合作。

在基金内部,良好棉花的代表组成良好棉花 GIF 秘书处。 他们负责提出和实施基金战略、管理和处理申请、促进知识共享和报告基金活动。

两个多方利益相关者委员会支持并批准基金的投资计划。 符合特定标准的良好棉花成员将被邀请加入这些委员会并参与基金投资策略的制定。

买方和投资者委员会

该委员会由零售商和品牌成员以及资助者组成,审查 并批准了良好棉花 GIF 年度运营计划和年度预算,同时还提出了新的战略举措。

他们还通过提供行业洞察力和支持,以及监测不同地区不断变化的需求模式,帮助连接良好棉花的供需。

领域创新和影响委员会

该委员会由零售商和品牌成员、资助者和民间社会组织组成,负责监督年度良好棉花 GIF 申请流程,并批准项目合作伙伴提供的能力建设项目和计划以及创新和学习项目的基金投资分配。

谁投资于该基金?

对基金的捐款来自三个主要来源:

  • 良好棉花零售商和品牌成员: 良好棉花零售商和品牌会员通过基于他们采购的良好棉花数量的费用向该基金捐款。 这笔费用使品牌能够直接有效地支持实地计划。
  • 机构捐助者和政府机构: 为确保该基金能够有效地对世界各地的良好棉花社区产生影响,我们依靠全球机构捐助者和政府机构,努力匹配良好棉花零售商和品牌成员贡献的费用。
  • 计划合作伙伴: 鼓励良好棉花计划合作伙伴直接投资于他们通过基金运营的项目。
基金的覆盖范围是什么?

在 2020-21 棉花季节,该基金正在与印度、巴基斯坦、中国、莫桑比克和土耳其的 1.8 万*棉农合作。 农民通过项目合作伙伴接受了基金的培训和支持。 良好棉花 GIF 直接从良好棉花零售商、品牌成员和捐助者(DFAT、劳德基金会和 IDH)那里投入了 8.4 万欧元的基于数量的费用,并从实施合作伙伴那里筹集了额外的 2.9 万欧元共同资助,以创建一个投资组合总价值为 11.3 万欧元。

2020-21赛季最终数据由更好的棉花in 良好棉花 2021 年年度报告.

Better Cotton GIF 资助哪些项目?

良好棉花 GIF 投资于经认可的良好棉花计划合作伙伴开展的项目。 这些项目侧重于能力建设,帮助农民采用符合良好棉花原则和标准的更可持续的耕作方式。 Better Cotton GIF 资助的项目旨在为农民、工人和农业社区带来切实的社会、经济和环境效益。

Better Cotton GIF 资助两种类型的项目:

  • 良好棉花项目合作伙伴在良好棉花 GIF 重点国家开展的项目。
  • 解决有可能在合作伙伴或国家之间复制的主题需求的创新和学习项目.
资金如何分配?

良好棉花计划合作伙伴 在良好棉花 GIF 计划国家运营具有根据年度良好棉花 GIF 战略开展良好棉花项目的成熟能力,受邀每年向基金提交项目提案。

经过严格的审查程序,分配资金 符合全球和国家级优先事项并符合资格标准的项目。XNUMX 月,入围的提案提交给领域创新和影响委员会 (FIIC),成员对每项提案进行投票。

重点国家

对于 2021-22 棉花季节,基金的战略重点国家是印度、巴基斯坦、土耳其、莫桑比克和马里。

我如何向基金提交提案?

鼓励有兴趣为良好棉花 GIF 重点国家寻求资金的良好棉花计划合作伙伴在一年中的任何时间提交兴趣申请。 要开始此过程,请使用我们的联系我们 联系表格 并添加主题行“Better Cotton GIF Funding Opportunities”。

如果您是良好棉花计划合作伙伴,工作的国家不是基金重点领域,请联系您的主要良好棉花联系人以获取更多信息。

随着我们继续扩大良好棉花规模,来自机构合作伙伴的投资将是我们成功的关键。

在我们的环境中,每一分钱都很重要,因此我们从 Better Cotton GIF 获得的资金会有所作为。

由 Better Cotton GIF 资助的项目

在 2020-21 棉花季节期间,Better Cotton GIF 资助由 44 个良好棉花计划合作伙伴和/或其当地合作伙伴管理的 29 个项目。 以下是 2020-21 季节期间由 Better Cotton GIF 资助的一系列创新和学习项目。

现场协调员能力建设工具——印度

2019 年,良好棉花 GIF 为印度马哈拉施特拉邦和古吉拉特邦的现场促进者 (FFs) 试行了一个在线技能发展学习平台,以帮助确保该地区良好棉花项目合作伙伴 (PPs) 的技能组合一致。 634 个 PP 和 XNUMX 个 FF 参与了试点。

影响: 学习平台的最终版本——于 2020 年 2,100 月推出——由 ABARA 学习管理系统开发和托管。 FF 可以使用该平台对土壤健康、记录保存、杀虫剂的安全使用、害虫管理和棉花生长周期等主题进行个性化和自主学习。 它以六种当地语言(英语、印地语、古吉拉特语、马拉地语、泰卢固语和旁遮普语)提供给 2021 名 FF。 在 22-XNUMX 棉花季节,良好棉花 GIF 将资助在巴基斯坦启动该平台,并提供适用于乌尔都语并适应当地情况的 FF 培训材料。


与美国阿肯色大学一起研究覆盖作物和耕作实践

2019 年,Better Cotton GIF 与阿肯色大学合作资助研究,评估采用覆盖作物和少耕与不覆盖作物和常规耕作做法对棉花生产的长期影响。 研究第一年的结果表明,与传统棉田相比,使用覆盖作物的棉田具有更好的水分渗透和土壤健康。

影响: 研究期间建立的示范田将继续为希望更好地了解这些做法的整个供应链中的农业推广人员、研究人员、农民和利益相关者提供教育机会。 反过来,这将有助于 Better Cotton 在全国范围内更多地采用更可持续的做法。


研究多功能植被缓冲区——以色列

2020 年 XNUMX 月,该基金与以色列棉花生产和销售委员会 (ICB) 合作,研究多功能植被缓冲区 (MFVB) 在减轻农业径流(如沉积物、养分和农用化学品)的影响和改善生态系统方面的功效。和棉花农场周围。

影响: 2020 年,ICB 与他们目前正在监测的 MFVB 建立了示范区。 2021 年,他们将进行农民调查,以评估农民采用这种保护措施的意愿。 根据他们的发现,他们将开发定制的工具和一个在线平台,让农民通过 MFVB 了解更多关于农业生态系统、生态系统服务和环境保护实践的信息。

参与其中,产生影响

为确保我们通过该基金产生最大可能的影响并扩大良好棉花使命,我们依靠合作伙伴的支持。 通过向该基金捐款,您正在积极与联合国可持续发展议程保持一致,并将资金用于最重要的领域——农业社区。 加入我们,改变我们所知的棉花产业,并为全球数百万棉农、企业和消费者创造更可持续的未来。

要了解有关您的组织如何参与的更多信息, 通过我们的联系方式 联系表格.

我认为该基金有效的最大驱动力是大品牌的参与,以激励供应商采购良好棉花。

Better-Cotton-Growth-and-Innovation-Fund_2

We are working hard to transform the global cotton sector by making Better Cotton a sustainable, mainstream commodity. Direct investment in farmers and field-level projects is essential to achieving this goal. The Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund (Better Cotton GIF or the Fund) is our main vehicle for making these investments.

The Better Cotton GIF is governed by the BCI Council in partnership with Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members, Better Cotton Civil Society Members and donors. IDH, the Sustainable Trade Initiative, is the official Fund Manager along with being an important funder.

Channelling funds directly into farming communities

The Better Cotton GIF identifies and makes strategic investments in Better Cotton field-level programmes and innovations. It is one part of our two-prong Capacity Building Programme. Next to the Better Cotton Standard System, field-level investments made through the Better Cotton GIF play an important role in enabling us to reach more farmers and train them on sustainable farming practices.

Who manages the Fund?

The Better Cotton GIF is governed by the BCI Council in partnership with Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members, Better Cotton Civil Society Members and donors. IDH, the Sustainable Trade Initiative, is the official Fund Manager along with being an important funder.

Within the Fund, representatives from IDH and Better Cotton form the Better Cotton GIF Secretariat. They are responsible for proposing and implementing the Fund’s strategy, managing and processing applications, promoting knowledge sharing and reporting on Fund activities.

Two multi-stakeholder committees support and approve the Fund’s investment programme. Better Cotton Members who meet certain criteria are invited to join these committees and participate in the development of the Fund’s investment strategy.

Buyer and Investor Committee

Comprised of Retailer and Brand Members and funders, this committee reviews and endorses the Better Cotton GIF annual operating plan and annual budget, while also proposing new strategic initiatives.

They also help to connect supply and demand of Better Cotton by providing sector insight and support, and monitoring evolving demand patterns across different geographies.

Field Innovation and Impact Committee

Comprised of Retailer and Brand Members, funders and civil society organisations, this committee oversees the annual Better Cotton GIF application process and approves Fund investment allocation for capacity building projects and programmes delivered by Implementing Partners, as well as for innovation and learning projects.

Who invests in the Fund?

Contributions to the Fund come from three main sources:

  • Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members: Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members contribute to the Fund through a fee based on the volume of Better Cotton they source. This fee enables brands to directly and efficiently support field-level programmes.
  • Institutional Donors and Government Agencies: To ensure the Fund can effectively make an impact in Better Cotton communities around the world, we rely on global institutional donors and government agencies, in an effort to match the fees contributed by Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members.
  • Implementing Partners: Better Cotton Implementing Partners are encouraged to directly invest in the projects they run through the Fund.
What is the reach of the Fund?

In the 2020-21 cotton season, the Fund is working with 1.8 million* cotton farmers in India, Pakistan, China, Mozambique and Turkey. The farmers have received training and support from the Fund through Implementing Partners. The Better Cotton GIF has directly invested €8.4 million of volume-based fee from Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members and donors (DFAT, Laudes Foundation and IDH), and mobilised an additional €2.9 million in co-funding from Implementing Partners to create a total portfolio value of €11.3 million .

Final 2019-20 season data was published by Better Cotton in Better Cotton’s 2020 Annual Report (link below). Complete 2020-21 season data will be published by Better Cotton in June 2022.

What kind of projects does the Better Cotton GIF fund?

The Better Cotton GIF invests in projects carried out by endorsed Better Cotton Implementing Partners. These projects focus on capacity building that helps farmers to adopt more sustainable farming practices consistent with the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. Better Cotton GIF funded projects aim to bring tangible benefits – social, economic and environmental – to farmers, workers and farming communities.

The Better Cotton GIF funds two types of projects:

  • Projects delivered by Better Cotton Implementation Partners operating in the Better Cotton GIF focus countries.
  • Innovation and learning projects addressing thematic needs that have the potential for replication across partners or countries.
How is funding allocated?

Better Cotton Implementing Partners operating in Better Cotton GIF programme countries, with a proven ability to carry out Better Cotton projects in line with the annual Better Cotton GIF strategy, are invited to submit project proposals to the Fund annually.

Following a rigorous review process, funding is allocated to projects that align with global and country-level priorities and meet eligibility criteria. In January, shortlisted proposals are presented to the Field Innovation and Impact Committee (FIIC) and members vote on each proposal.

Focus Countries

For the 2021-22 cotton season, the Fund’s strategic focus countries are India, Pakistan, Turkey, Mozambique and Mali.

How do I submit a proposal to the Fund?

Better Cotton Implementing Partners interested in seeking funding for a Better Cotton GIF focus country are encouraged to submit a request for interest at any time of the year. To begin this process, please contact us using our contact form and add the subject line “Better Cotton GIF Funding Opportunities”.

If you are a Better Cotton Implementing Partner working in a country that is not a focus area for the Fund, please reach out to your primary Better Cotton contact for more information.

As we continue to scale Better Cotton, investments from institutional partners will be key to our success

In our environment, every penny counts, so the funding we receive from the Better Cotton GIF makes a difference

Projects Funded by the Better Cotton GIF

During the 2020-21 cotton season, the Better Cotton GIF funded 44 projects managed by 29 Better Cotton Implementing Partners and/or their local partners. Below is a selection of innovation and learning projects funded by the Better Cotton GIF during the 2020-21 season.

Field Facilitator Capacity Building Tool — India

In 2019, the Better Cotton GIF piloted an online skill-development learning platform for Field Facilitators (FFs) in Maharashtra and Gujarat, India to help ensure a consistent skill set across Better Cotton Implementing Partners (IPs) in the region. Six IPs and 634 FFs participated in the pilot.

Impact: The final version of the learning platform — launched in September 2020 — was developed and hosted by ABARA Learning Management System. FFs can use the platform to personalise and self-direct their learning on topics such as soil health, record keeping, safe usage of pesticides, pest management and the cotton growth cycle. It is available for 2,100 FFs in six local languages (English, Hindi, Gujarati, Marathi, Telugu and Punjabi). In the 2021-22 cotton season, the Better Cotton GIF will fund the launch of the platform in Pakistan with training materials for FFs available in Urdu and adapted to the local context.


Studying Cover Cropping and Tillage Practices with the University of Arkansas — USA

In 2019, the Better Cotton GIF partnered with the University of Arkansas to fund research evaluating the long-term effects of cotton production with cover cropping and little tillage versus no cover cropping and conventional tillage practices. Results from the first year of the study show that cotton fields using cover crops have better water infiltration and soil health compared to conventional fields.

Impact: The demonstration fields established during the study will continue to provide educational opportunities for agricultural extension workers, researchers, farmers and stakeholders across the supply chain who want to better understand these practices. In turn, this will help Better Cotton increase the adoption of more sustainable practices throughout the country.


Researching Multifunctional Vegetation Buffers — Israel

In April 2020, the Fund partnered with the Israel Cotton Production and Marketing Board (ICB) to research the efficacy of multifunctional vegetation buffers (MFVBs) in mitigating the effects of agricultural runoff (such as sediments, nutrients and agrochemicals) and improving the ecosystem on and around cotton farms.

Impact: In 2020, ICB set up demonstration plots with MFVBs which they are currently monitoring. In 2021, they will conduct farmer surveys to evaluate the willingness of farmers to adopt this conservation practice. Based on their findings, they will develop customised tools and an online platform for farmers to learn more about agroecological systems, ecosystem services and environmental conservation practices with MFVBs.

Get Involved, Make an Impact

To ensure we are delivering the most possible impact through the Fund and bringing the Better Cotton mission to scale, we count on support from our partners. By contributing to the Fund, you are actively aligning with the UN Sustainable Development Agenda and directing funds to where they matter most — farming communities. Join us in transforming the cotton industry as we know it and creating a more sustainable future for millions of cotton farmers, businesses and consumers around the world.

To learn more about how your organisation can get involved, get in touch via our contact form.

I think the biggest driver behind the Fund’s effectiveness is the involvement of big brands to motivate suppliers to source Better Cotton

Read the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund Annual Report

PDF
3.09 MB

Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund Annual Report 2020-21

Download