الجراحة التحفظية للركبة

قطن أفضل في الهند

الهند هي ثاني أكبر منتج للقطن في العالم بعد الصين ، والقطن هو أحد أهم المحاصيل في البلاد. تنتج الهند القطن للمنسوجات منذ آلاف السنين ، واليوم ، يكسب حوالي 5.8 مليون مزارع لقمة العيش من زراعة القطن ، ويعمل عشرات الملايين من الأشخاص في صناعة القطن.

الشريحة 1
909,0
المزارعون المرخصون
0,508
طن من أفضل القطن
1,500,606
حصاد هكتار

كانت الهند واحدة من أوائل الدول التي طبقت برنامج Better Cotton ، حيث تم إنتاج أول حصاد من Better Cotton في عام 2011. ولديها أكبر عدد من المزارعين المشاركين في البرنامج ويقومون بزراعة قطن أفضل. تمتلك الهند أيضًا أكبر مساحة مزروعة بالقطن في العالم - حوالي 12,607 مليون هكتار. ومع ذلك ، يمكن للمزارعين مواجهة العديد من التحديات المتنامية والإنتاجية ، وبما أن جميع مزارعي القطن الأفضل في الهند هم من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة (الزراعة على أقل من 20 هكتارًا من الأرض) ، تعمل شركة Better Cotton وشركاؤنا المنفذون عن كثب معهم لمساعدتهم على تأمين محاصيل وألياف أفضل جودة.

شركاء أفضل للقطن في الهند

تعمل شركة Better Cotton مع 18 شريكًا منفذًا في الهند:

  • برنامج الآغا خان لدعم المناطق الريفية في الهند
  • مؤسسة أسمنت أمبوجا
  • Arvind Ltd.
  • منظمة العمل من أجل إنتاج الغذاء (AFPRO)
  • باسل السلع الجندي. المحدودة (مجموعة باسل)
  • خلية منع الملوحة الساحلية
  • كوتون كونيكت الهند
  • مؤسسة ديشباندي
  • ألياف KK
  • مؤسسة لوبين للرعاية البشرية والبحوث
  • ماهيما فايبر الجندي. المحدودة
  • فاردهمان للمنسوجات
  • الطيف الدولي (SIPL)
  • أوديانش جرامين ساماج سيوا ساميتي (UGSSS)
  • مؤسسة ويلسبون للصحة والمعرفة (WFHK)
  • الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة الهند

تحديات الاستدامة

يجعل تغير المناخ وندرة المياه وسوء صحة التربة زراعة القطن تحديًا حقيقيًا لمزارعي القطن في الهند. يتعرض القطن في الهند أيضًا لضغوط الآفات المستمرة.

بينما انخفضت الإصابة بدودة اللوز القرنفلية بنسبة 70٪ في 2018-19 مقارنة بالموسم السابق ، ظل الضغط الناجم عن الآفات الشائعة الأخرى مماثلاً للسنوات السابقة مع زيادة مقاومة مبيدات الآفات في بعض المناطق ، مما قد يكون له تأثير غير مباشر على المحاصيل. يبذل المزارعون كل ما في وسعهم لحماية محاصيلهم ، ولكن مع نقص المعرفة بأفضل الممارسات في إدارة الآفات ، يمكنهم في كثير من الأحيان استخدام مبيدات الآفات بانتظام أو اختيار المواد الكيميائية الضارة. هذا يعرض صحتهم للخطر ويضر بالبيئة. لهذا السبب تعمل شركة Better Cotton وشركاؤها بجد لمساعدة المزارعين على استخدام المبيدات الحشرية بأمان ودقة أكبر واختيار بدائل أكثر استدامة.

كما نساعد المزارعين على رعاية صحة التربة من خلال فهم أفضل طريقة لاستخدام الأسمدة وفوائد المحاصيل الدورية ودعمهم في حماية واستعادة الطبيعة في مزارعهم وحولها.

إن عدم المساواة بين الجنسين والعمل اللائق هما أيضًا محور عملنا في الهند. حوالي 20٪ فقط من الأشخاص الذين دربناهم في الهند في 2018-19 كانوا من النساء.

كما أن العديد من عمال القطن يواجهون ظروف عمل سيئة ، وتمييزًا ، وأجورًا متدنية ، ولا سيما أولئك الذين ينتمون إلى المجتمعات المحرومة أو المجتمعات الريفية أو العائلات المهاجرة. قد يكون الأطفال أيضًا عرضة للعمل في حقول القطن. من خلال العمل مع شركائنا في التنفيذ ، نعمل باستمرار على تكثيف جهودنا لتوفير تدريب عالي الجودة لكل من الرجال والنساء بطريقة تحترم التقاليد الثقافية. نحن نعمل أيضًا بشكل وثيق مع المجتمعات والمدارس والسلطات المحلية للمساعدة في حماية حقوق العمال ، والقضاء على مخاطر عمالة الأطفال وتعزيز أهمية تعليم الأطفال.

تعرف على المزيد حول النتائج التي يواجهها المزارعون من خلال المشاركة في برنامج Better Cotton في أحدث برامجنا تقرير نتائج المزارع.

بدأ كل شيء في عام 2012 ، عندما شكلت مجموعة منا مزارع القطن الأفضل في قرية كاناكيا لجنة لمساعدة المزارعين الآخرين في مجتمعنا على استخدام المبيدات الحشرية والأسمدة بشكل أكثر كفاءة. أردنا الترويج للبدائل الطبيعية ذات الأصل النباتي ، لكنها لم تكن متاحة محليًا بسهولة ، لذلك كان علينا إيجاد طريقة لتسهيل وصول المزارعين إلى هذه المنتجات بأسعار معقولة. وكان علينا أيضًا إقناعهم بتغيير طرقهم من خلال إظهار النتائج لهم في الميدان.

كانت زوجتي داعمة لطموحاتي. لكن أخي ، وهو مزارع قطن أيضًا ، كان متشككًا وحاول إقناعي بعدم القيام بذلك. حتى والداي كانا متخوفين ، قلقين من حالة عدم اليقين والخسارة المحتملة في الغلة.

عندما تصبح مياهنا الجوفية أكثر ملوحة ، نصبح محاصرين في حلقة مفرغة. كما تصبح التربة مالحة ، مما يقلل من قدرة نباتات القطن على امتصاص الرطوبة والمواد المغذية ، مما يؤثر بشكل مباشر على محصولنا وأرباحنا.

شاهد الفيديو حول كيف يعمل مزارعو القطن الأفضل في الهند على تحسين سبل عيشهم.

اتصل بنا

اتصل بفريقنا عبر نموذج الاتصال إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد ، أو أن تصبح شريكًا أو كنت مزارعًا مهتمًا بزراعة Better Cotton.

India
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in India

Better Cotton in India

India is the world’s largest producer of cotton and cotton is one of the country’s most important crops. India has been producing cotton for textiles for thousands of years, and today, some 5.8 million farmers make a living from growing cotton with tens of millions of people working in the cotton industry.

Slide 1
1,002,0
Licensed Farmers
1,00,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
1,500,000
Hectares Harvested

India was one of the first countries to implement the Better Cotton programme, with the first harvest of Better Cotton produced in 2011. It has the largest number of farmers participating in the programme and growing Better Cotton. India also has the largest area under cotton cultivation in the world – approximately 12,607 million hectares. However, farmers can face many growing and productivity challenges, and as all Better Cotton Farmers in India are smallholders (farming on less than 20 hectares of land), Better Cotton and our Implementing Partners work closely with them to help them secure better yields and fibre quality.

Better Cotton Partners in India

Better Cotton works with 17 Implementing Partners in India:

  • Aga Khan Rural Support Programme India
  • Ambuja Cement Foundation
  • Arvind Ltd.
  • Action for Food Production (AFPRO)
  • Basil Commodities Pvt. Ltd. (Basil Group)
  • Coastal Salinity Prevention Cell
  • CottonConnect India
  • Deshpande Foundation
  • Development Support Centre (DSC)
  • K K Fibers
  • Lupin Human Welfare and Research Foundation
  • Mahima Fibres Pvt. Ltd
  • Vardhman Textiles
  • Spectrum International (SIPL)
  • Udyansh Gramin Samaj Sewa Samiti (UGSSS)
  • Welspun Foundation for Health and Knowledge (WFHK)
  • WWF India

Sustainability challenges

Climate change, water scarcity and poor soil health make cotton-growing a real challenge for India’s cotton farmers. Cotton in India also experiences constant pest pressures.

While pink bollworm infestations decreased by 70% in 2018-19 compared to the previous season, pressure from other common pests remained similar to previous years with increased pesticide resistance in some regions, which can have a knock-on effect on yields. Farmers do everything they can to protect their crops, but with a lack of knowledge of best practices in managing pests, they can often use pesticides too regularly or opt for harmful chemicals. This puts their health at risk and damages the environment. That’s why Better Cotton and our partners are working hard to help farmers use pesticides more safely and precisely and opt for more sustainable alternatives.

We also help farmers nurture soil health by understanding the best way to use fertilisers and the benefits of rotating crops and to support them in protecting and restoring nature in and around their farms.

Gender inequality and decent work are also central to our work in India. Only around 20% of the people we trained in India in 2018-19 were women.

Also, many cotton workers face poor working conditions, discrimination and low wages, particularly those from underprivileged, rural communities or migrant families. Children, too, may be vulnerable to working in the cotton fields. Working with our Implementing Partners, we’re constantly stepping up our efforts to provide high-quality training to both men and women in a way that’s respectful of cultural traditions. We’re also working closely with communities, schools and local authorities to help protect workers’ rights, eliminate the risk of child labour and promote the importance of children’s education.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

It all began back in 2012, when a group of us Better Cotton Farmers in Kanakya village set up a committee to help other farmers in our community use pesticides and fertilisers more efficiently. We wanted to promote plant-based natural alternatives, but they weren’t readily available locally, so we had to find a way to make it easier for farmers to gain access to these products at reasonable prices. And we also had to convince them to change their ways by showing them the results in the field.

My wife was supportive of my ambitions. But my brother, who is also a cotton farmer, was sceptical, and tried to persuade me against it. Even my parents were apprehensive, concerned by the uncertainty and potential yield loss.

As our groundwater becomes saltier, we become trapped in a vicious cycle. The soil also becomes salty, reducing the cotton plants’ ability to absorb moisture and nutrients, which has a direct impact on our yield and profits.

Watch our video on how Better Cotton Farmers in India are improving their livelihoods.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.