2005

由世界自然基金会牵头的商品专家多利益相关方“圆桌会议”开会,讨论每个部门可持续发展的未来; 为每个部门的农民提供解决方案; 和环境。 其中一个想法是良好棉花倡议 (BCI)。 阿迪达斯、Gap、H&M、教会间发展合作组织 (ICCO)、国际农业生产者联合会 (IFAP)、国际金融公司、宜家、有机交易所、乐施会、英国农药行动网络 (PAN) 和世界自然基金会等组织承诺提供支持。

2006-2009

准备阶段

一个团队研究了良好棉花的供需潜力——对种植者及其环境更好的棉花。 全球和民间社会组织和品牌注册了他们的兴趣。

2009

BCI正式上线。 发布了第一个良好棉花全球标准。

2010

实施阶段

该组织专注于巴西、印度、巴基斯坦以及西非和中非。 这些地区的气候、农场规模、农业方法以及环境和社会条件各不相同。 多样性使我们能够测试良好棉花的概念并对其进行改进以在其他国家/地区推广。

2010

良好棉花快速通道计划由可持续贸易倡议 IDH 发起。 该计划投资于全球农民能力建设项目。 IDH 与 ICCO 和荷兰合作银行基金会一起承诺向该计划投资 20 万欧元。

2011

良好棉花的首次收获发生在巴西、印度、马里和巴基斯坦。

2012

中国首次收获良好棉花。

2013

扩张阶段

BCI 专注于培训更多的棉农、增加良好棉花的供需以及增加会员。 塔吉克斯坦、土耳其和莫桑比克首次收获良好棉花。 推出了一个通过供应链跟踪良好棉花数量的在线平台。

2014

Cotton Australia 的 myBMP 标准和 ABRAPA 的 ABR 标准(巴西)成功地与良好棉花标准体系进行了基准测试。 这些计划中的农民可以选择将他们的作物作为良好棉花出售。 澳大利亚和塞内加尔首次收获良好棉花。

2015

Better Cotton 与以色列棉花生产和营销委员会合作。 以色列农民加入了良好棉花计划。

2016

主流化阶段

良好棉花快速通道计划被良好棉花增长和创新基金取代。 IDH,可持续贸易倡议仍然是基金经理和重要的资助者,利用数百万美元的投资和资金支持农民能力建设项目。 政府和行业协会开始采用良好棉花标准体系。

2017

哈萨克斯坦和南非首次收获良好棉花。

2018

21 个国家的 8 万农民接受了更可持续实践的培训,获得了良好棉花许可证,生产了超过 XNUMX 万吨的良好棉花,相当于 XNUMX 万条牛仔裤。 零售商和品牌会员采购了超过 XNUMX 万吨的良好棉花。

2019

10th周年

我们的十周年。 现在,全球 10% 以上的棉花产量都是良好棉花。
 

2020

主流化阶段结束,Better Cotton 审查其目标。 Covid-19 大流行使我们能够适应提供远程培训、保证和许可活动。 Better Cotton 现在拥有 2,000 多名会员。

2021

我们将推出 2030 年战略和新品牌标识。

2005

A multi-stakeholder ‘round table’ of commodity experts led by WWF meets to discuss the future of sustainability in each sector; solutions for each sector’s farmers; and the environment. One of the ideas is the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI). Organisations including adidas, Gap, H&M, Interchurch Organisation for Development Cooperation (ICCO), International Federation of Agricultural Producers (IFAP), International Finance Corporation, IKEA, Organic Exchange, Oxfam, Pesticides Action Network (PAN) UK and WWF pledge their support.

2006-2009

Preparation Phase

A team examines the potential for supply and demand of Better Cotton – cotton that is better for its growers and their environments. Global and civil society organisations and brands register their interest.

2009

BCI is launched. The first Better Cotton global standard is published.

2010

Implementation Phase

The organisation focuses on Brazil, India, Pakistan and West & Central Africa. The regions vary in climate, farm size, agricultural methods and environmental and social conditions. The diversity allows us to test the concept of Better Cotton and refine it for roll-out in other countries.

2011

First harvests of Better Cotton in Brazil, India, Mali and Pakistan.

2012

First harvest of Better Cotton in China.

2013

Expansion Phase

BCI focuses on training more farmers, growing Better Cotton supply and demand, and increasing membership. First harvests of Better Cotton in Tajikistan, Turkey and Mozambique. An online platform to track volumes of Better Cotton through the supply chain is launched.

2014

Australia

Cotton Australia’s myBMP standard and ABRAPA’s ABR standard (Brazil) are successfully benchmarked with the Better Cotton Standard System. Farmers in these programmes can opt to sell their crop as Better Cotton. First harvests of Better Cotton in Australia and Senegal.

2015

Better Cotton partners with the Israel Cotton Production and Marketing Board. Israeli farmers join the Better Cotton programme.

2016

Mainstreaming Phase

The Better Cotton Fast Track Programme is launched to invest in field-level programmes. (It will later become the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund.) Governments and trade associations start adopting the Better Cotton Standard System.

2017

First harvests of Better Cotton in Kazakhstan and South Africa.

2018

Two million farmers in 21 countries are trained on more sustainable practices, receive their Better Cotton licenses and produce over five million tonnes of Better Cotton, the equivalent of 8 million pairs of jeans. Retailer and Brand Members source more than one million tonnes of Better Cotton.

2019

10th anniversary

Our 10th anniversary. More than 20% of global cotton production is now Better Cotton.
 

2020

The Mainstreaming Phase ends and Better Cotton reviews its targets. The Covid-19 pandemic sees us adapt to deliver remote training, assurance and licensing activities. Better Cotton now has more than 2,000 members.

2021

Our 2030 strategy and new brand identity to be launched.

2030 Strategy

Later in 2021 we will be launching our strategy to take us to 2030.