从字面上看,土壤是农业的基础。 没有它,我们既无法种植棉花,也无法养活不断增长的全球人口。 土壤也是一种急需更新的有限资源。 传统农业中过度使用氮基矿物肥料已经对全世界的土壤健康造成了损害。

粮食及农业组织(粮农组织)由于“土壤的侵蚀、盐渍化、板结、酸化和化学污染”,世界上大约三分之一的土壤正在退化。 需要立即采取行动来恢复我们土壤的健康,通过学习可持续的土壤管理原则,更好的棉花种植者是解决方案的一部分。

棉花生产如何影响土壤健康

健康的土壤是农业生产力和可持续性的起点。 它通常也是农业中最被忽视和低估的资源。 这会导致土壤管理不善,导致产量低下、土壤枯竭、风蚀、地表径流、土地退化和气候变化(局部和全球)。

由于气候变化导致许多棉花产区的降雨模式受到干扰和干旱加剧,健康的土壤很可能成为农民应对气候变化和减缓气候变化的主要资产。 改进的土壤管理为农民带来了多种好处,包括:

  • 通过改善作物对养分和水的供应来提高产量
  • 减少害虫和杂草
  • 减少劳动力需求
  • 减少侵蚀、土壤板结和土壤退化

良好棉花原则和标准中的土壤健康

为了帮助农民更好地了解和爱护他们的土壤,良好棉花原则和标准要求农民制定土壤管理计划。

土壤管理计划有四个部分:

为了帮助农民更好地了解和爱护他们的土壤,良好棉花原则和标准要求农民制定土壤管理计划。

  1. 识别和分析土壤类型
  2. 保持和增强土壤结构
  3. 保持和提高土壤肥力
  4. 持续改善营养循环

良好棉花种植者保持和增强土壤结构和肥力以及改善土壤养分的主要方式之一是减少耕作土壤并使用覆盖作物。 覆盖作物是在淡季种植的植物,用于改善土壤质量、防止水土流失、限制杂草和控制病虫害。 他们基本上保护和喂养土地,直到下一次棉花种植。

更好的棉花种植者还学习了 综合虫害管理 减少对化学杀虫剂依赖的技术。 技术包括轮作,使用由自然界中发现的成分制成的生物农药,并鼓励作为棉花害虫捕食者的鸟类和蝙蝠物种。

良好棉花对土壤健康的影响

在 2018-19 棉花季节,在被追踪的六个国家中的五个国家中,良好棉花农民使用的农药比比较农民少——在塔吉克斯坦,农民使用的农药少了 38%,令人印象深刻。 良好棉花种植者也更频繁地使用生物农药和有机肥料。 在印度,农民使用的生物农药多 6%,而在中国,他们使用的有机肥料比比较农民多 10%。

实践中的良好棉花可持续耕作方法

土壤健康-棉花种植_Better-Cotton

2016 年,维诺拜·帕特尔 (Vinodbhai Patel) 发现自己可以学习如何给土壤施肥和使用非化学溶液管理害虫后,成为了一名良好的棉花种植者。 为了培育土壤,Vinodbhai 开始使用当地可用的成分制作天然液体肥料。 他混合了从附近农场收集的牛尿和粪便、市场上的粗糖(未精制的蔗糖)、土壤、手工碾碎的鹰嘴豆粉和少量水。

到 2018 年,这种混合物与更密集的棉花种植相结合,帮助他将农药成本降低了 80%(与 2015-16 季节相比),同时使他的总产量增加了 100% 以上,利润增加了 200%。  

就在三年前,我农场的土壤退化得很厉害。 我几乎在土壤中找不到任何蚯蚓。 现在,我可以看到更多的蚯蚓,这表明我的土壤正在恢复,我的土壤测试表明营养水平已经增加。

土壤健康

良好棉花倡议如何为可持续发展目标 (SDG) 做出贡献

联合国的 17 个可持续发展目标 (SDG) 勾勒出实现可持续未来的全球蓝图。 SDG 15 指出,我们应该“保护、恢复和促进陆地生态系统的可持续利用,可持续管理森林,防治荒漠化,制止和扭转土地退化和生物多样性丧失”。

通过全面的土壤管理计划,Better Cotton Farmers 增加了土壤生物多样性并防止土地退化——在未来几年帮助保护地球上最宝贵的资源之一。

了解更多

图片 信用:所有联合国可持续发展目标 (UN SDG) 图标和信息图表均取自 联合国可持续发展目标网站. 本网站内容未经联合国批准,不代表联合国或其官员或会员国的观点。

Photo Credit: Better cotton/Khaula Jamil

Location: Rahim Yar Khan, Punjab, Pakistan. 2019. Farm-worker Ruksana Kausar prepares to plant a sapling with the seeds provided to her by Better Cotton and WWF. Ruksana Kausar, 32, is one of 17 women in the district to be involved in a tree nursery project developed by Better Cotton Implementing Partner, WWF, Pakistan.

Soil is quite literally the foundation of farming. Without it, we could neither grow cotton nor support our growing global population. Soil is also a limited resource that is in urgent need of regeneration. The overuse of nitrogen-based mineral fertilisers used in conventional farming has taken its toll on soil health worldwide.

According to the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), approximately one third of the world’s soils are degraded due to the “erosion, salinization, compaction, acidification and chemical pollution of soils”. Immediate action is required to restore the health of our soil, and by learning sustainable soil management principles, Better Cotton Farmers are part of the solution..

How Cotton Production Impacts Soil Health

Healthy soil is the starting point for farm productivity and sustainability. It is also often the most neglected and under-appreciated resource in farming. This leads to poor soil management, resulting in low yields, soil depletion, wind erosion, surface runoff, land degradation and climate change (both local and global).

As climate change causes disturbed rainfall patterns and worsening droughts in many cotton producing regions, healthy soil could well become the farmer’s main asset for climate resilience and climate mitigation.

Improved soil management brings a variety of benefits to farmers, including:

  • Better yields by improving the availability of nutrients and water to crops
  • Reduction of pests and weeds
  • Reduction in labour needs
  • Reduction of erosion, soil compaction and soil degradation

Soil Health in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

To help farmers better understand and care for their soil, the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria requires farmers to develop a Soil Management Plan.

A Soil Management Plan has four parts:

To help farmers better understand and care for their soil, the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria requires farmers to develop a Soil Management Plan.

  1. Identifying and analysing soil type
  2. Maintaining and enhancing soil structure
  3. Maintaining and enhancing soil fertility
  4. Continuously improving nutrient cycling

One of the main ways Better Cotton Farmers maintain and enhance soil structure and fertility and improve soil nutrients is by tilling the soil less and using cover crops. Cover crops are plants grown during the off-season to improve soil quality, prevent soil erosion, limit weeds and control pests and diseases. They essentially protect and feed the land until the next cotton planting.

Better Cotton Farmers also learn Integrated Pest Management techniques that reduce their reliance on chemical pesticides. Techniques include crop rotation, using biopesticides made with ingredients found in nature and encouraging bird and bat species that act as predators to cotton pests.

The Impact of Better Cotton on Soil Health

In the 2018-19 cotton season, Better Cotton Farmers used less pesticide than Comparison Farmers in five out of the six countries tracked — in Tajikistan, farmers used an impressive 38% less. Biopesticides and organic fertilisers were also used more frequently by Better Cotton Farmers. In India, farmers used biopesticides 6% more, while in China, they used organic fertiliser 10% more than Comparison Farmers.

Better Cotton sustainable farming methods in practice

Soil-Health-cotton-farming_Better-Cotton

Vinodbhai Patel became a Better Cotton farmer in 2016 after discovering that he could learn how to fertilise his soil and manage pests using non-chemical solutions. To nurture the soil, Vinodbhai began making a natural liquid fertiliser using locally available ingredients. He mixes cow urine and dung that he collects from nearby farms, jaggery (unrefined cane sugar) from the market, soil, hand-crushed chickpea flour and a little water.

By 2018, this mixture in combination with planting his cotton more densely, helped him reduce his pesticide costs by 80% (compared to the 2015-16 season) while increasing his overall production by over 100% and his profit by 200%.  

Just three years ago, the soil on my farm was so degraded. I could hardly find any earthworms in the soil. Now, I can see many more earthworms, which suggests my soil is recovering, and my soil tests show that nutrient levels have increased.

Read more about how the Better Cotton Initiative helped Vinodbhai Patel embrace natural farming methods

Soil Health

How the Better Cotton Initiative Contributes to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) outline a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 15 states that we should ‘protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification and halt and reverse land degradation and biodiversity loss’.

With a comprehensive Soil Management Plan, Better Cotton Farmers increase soil biodiversity and prevent land degradation — helping protect one of the earth’s most valuable resources for years to come.

Learn more

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site