关键的可持续性问题

与优质棉花生产相关的一些可持续性问题


水资源管理

目前,全世界约有 XNUMX 亿人面临严重的水资源短缺,全球近一半的人口生活在淡水受到污染的地区。 保护当地和全球的水资源是我们这个时代最大的可持续发展挑战之一。

土壤健康

土壤是健康农场和世界的基础。 Better Cotton 帮助农民了解和实施可持续农业实践,如覆盖作物和综合虫害管理,以改善土壤健康、增加产量并保护这一重要资源。

农药

农药是世界各地使用的主要作物保护形式。 虽然它们在控制害虫和保障产量方面发挥着重要作用,但也不能掉以轻心。

温室气体排放

作为世界上最大的作物之一,棉花是全球温室气体排放的一个贡献者。 了解良好棉花培训如何帮助农民减少排放并减轻气候变化的影响。

性别平等

性别不平等仍然是全球面临的紧迫挑战。 在 Better Cotton,我们知道只有当所有性别都享有平等的权利和机会时,才能实现更可持续的未来。

体面的工作

确保公平和安全的工作条件是 Better Cotton 的核心原则。 发现该计划努力维护的主要体面劳动原则——从消除童工和强迫劳动到促进 性别平等.

气候变化

Key Sustainability Issues

Some of the sustainability issues of key relevance in the production of better cotton


Water Stewardship

About half a billion people around the world currently face severe water scarcity, and nearly half of the global population lives in regions where freshwater is polluted. Caring for our water resources – locally and globally – is one of the biggest sustainability challenges of our times.

Soil Health

Soil is the foundation of a healthy farm and world. Better Cotton helps farmers understand and implement sustainable farming practices like cover cropping and Integrated Pest Management to improve soil health, increase yields and safeguard this vital resource.

Pesticides

Pesticides are the main form of crop protection used around the world. While they serve a vital purpose in controlling pests and safeguarding yields, their negative consequences are not to be taken lightly.

Greenhouse Gas Emissions

As one of the world’s largest crops, cotton is a contributor to global greenhouse gas emissions. Find out how Better Cotton training helps farmers reduce their emissions and mitigate the effects of climate change.

Gender Equality

Gender inequality remains a pressing challenge globally. At Better Cotton, we know that a more sustainable future can only be achieved when all genders have equal rights and opportunities.

Decent Work

Ensuring fair and safe working conditions is a central tenet of Better Cotton. Discover the main decent work principles that the programme works to uphold — from working to eliminate child and forced labour to promoting gender equality.

Climate Change

Page coming soon