图片来源:更好的棉花/Vibhor Yadav

地点:印度古吉拉特邦科迪纳尔。 2019. 描述:更好的棉花种植者 Vala Gopalbhai Nathabha 在使用杀虫剂前穿上个人防护装备 (PPE)。

农药是世界各地使用的主要作物保护形式。 虽然它们在控制害虫和保障产量方面发挥着重要作用,但也不能掉以轻心。 根据 对一项回顾现有科学文献的研究, 每年约有 44% 的农民因农药中毒。 农药还会导致严重的健康问题,如癌症和神经系统疾病,并对环境产生长期影响,从污染水源到污染食品供应。

在 Better Cotton,我们采取全面的作物保护方法来应对这些风险,同时支持农民及其生计。 我们知道,并非所有农药都生而平等,对大多数农民来说,简单地完全禁止它们是不现实的。 这就是为什么我们的使命是帮助农民评估在当地情况下处理害虫的最佳方法,让他们了解所有可用的作物保护形式,包括更适合农场工人、农场社区和大环境。

棉花生产中的农药使用和作物保护

由于棉花会吸引许多害虫和杂草,因此作物保护是棉花种植的重要组成部分。 作物保护可以采取多种形式,包括使用信息素和激素、植物育种、栽培和机械技术、使用常规农药和使用转基因植物。

农药是最广泛使用的作物保护形式,世界上 5.7% 的农药用于棉花,根据提供的信息 国际棉花咨询委员会 查阅 农药行动网络 (PAN) 英国研究 2018 年。农民过度使用农药导致了农药抗药性、益虫种群数量减少和次生害虫爆发。 当主要害虫被清除并且其他次生害虫成为问题时,就会发生二次爆发,这就要求农民使用另一套作物保护措施。

良好棉花原则和标准中的作物保护

一个农民在田里检查他的庄稼

在良好棉花倡议中,我们支持农民采用 综合虫害管理 (IPM) 作物保护方法。 IPM 不是一套特定的规则或单一策略,而是一种基本的指导方法,可帮助棉农保护他们的棉花作物免受吸引的多种害虫的侵害。

使用 IPM,害虫的存在不会自动导致使用控制措施,当需要采取控制措施时,生物农药或诱捕器等非化学方法是首选——传统农药是最后的手段。 良好棉花倡议还要求农民逐步停止使用高危农药。

良好棉花原则和标准之一的原则定义了 IPM 计划的五项原则:

  1. 种植健康作物
  2. 防止害虫种群的积累和疾病的传播
  3. 保护和增加有益生物的种群
  4. 定期实地观察作物健康和主要害虫和益虫
  5. 管理阻力

尽管良好棉花种植者努力使非化学控制措施成为他们作物保护的首选,但在某些情况下,种植者仍会做出使用杀虫剂的明智决定。 当害虫压力如此强烈以至于农民如果不使用它们将遭受严重的经济损失时,就会发生这种情况。 在这些情况下,农民的决定是基于对他们的经济阈值的计算——被破坏作物的成本高于杀虫剂成本的水平。 使用杀虫剂时,我们会帮助农民采取措施,尽量减少其潜在的有害影响,例如确保他们佩戴适当的个人防护设备。 重点是使农民能够就战略、实践和技术的可用性以及如何适当地使用它们做出明智的选择。

随着气候变化影响杂草、病虫害的生态,IPM 方法可帮助农民提高抵御能力,同时还可以节省昂贵的农药成本。

更好的棉农和农药使用

在 2018-19 季节,良好棉花种植者使用的农药少于比较种植者。 在中国,他们少用了 14%,而在塔吉克斯坦,他们少用了 38%。 生物农药也被更好的棉花种植者更广泛地使用。

了解更多关于良好棉花农药使用影响的信息 良好棉花倡议农民结果报告.

印度实践中的综合虫害管理

Vinodbhai Patel 使用当地印楝树的叶子制备生物农药

在印度古吉拉特邦的索拉施特拉地区,降雨量低且不规则(每年少于 600 毫米)加上土壤质量差和虫害高风险,给农民带来了持续的挑战。 良好棉花倡议实施合作伙伴食品生产行动一直在帮助该地区的农民采用可以提供帮助的 IPM 技术。

一位名叫 Vinodbhai Patel 的农民完全接受了这些更自然的害虫防治方法。 他使用当地印楝树、冠花和曼陀罗灌木的叶子制备了一种生物农药,这些植物以其对害虫的药理作用而闻名。 在他的工人使用这种天然混合物之前,他们会计算植物上蚜虫的数量,只有在数量超过某个阈值时才会喷洒。

“我相信大自然可以帮助我解决昆虫问题,”他说。 “通过更好的棉花倡议,我了解到如何保护吃棉花的昆虫的天敌(如瓢虫)以及天然杀虫剂。”

通过使用来自大自然的成分来管理害虫——Vinodbhai 不花钱——并更密集地种植棉花植物,到 2018 年,他的农药成本降低了 80%(与 2015-16 季节相比),同时增加了他的农药成本。总产量增加了 100% 以上,他的利润增加了 200%。  

Better Cotton 如何为可持续发展目标做出贡献

联合国的 17 个可持续发展目标 (SDG) 勾勒出实现可持续未来的全球蓝图。 SDG 3 指出,我们应该“确保健康的生活方式并促进所有年龄段的所有人的福祉”。

通过支持农民采用 IPM 方法,要求逐步淘汰高危农药的使用,并确保农民在必须使用农药时采取适当的安全预防措施,我们正在努力保护良好棉花农民的健康和生计。一个时间。

了解更多信息

图片来源:所有联合国可持续发展目标 (UN SDG) 图标和信息图表均取自 联合国可持续发展目标网站本网站内容未经联合国批准,不代表联合国或其官员或会员国的观点。

Photo Credit: Better cotton/Vibhor Yadav

Location: Kodinar, Gujarat, India. 2019. Description: Better Cotton Farmer Vala Gopalbhai Nathabha getting dressed in personal protective equipment (PPE) before applying pesticides.

Pesticides are the main form of crop protection used around the world. While they serve a vital purpose in controlling pests and safeguarding yields, their negative consequences are not to be taken lightly. According to one study which reviewed existing scientific literature, around 44% of farmers are poisoned by pesticides every year. Pesticides can also cause serious health issues like cancer and neurological diseases and have long-lasting impacts on the environment, from polluting water sources to contaminating food supplies.

At Better Cotton, we take a holistic approach to crop protection that addresses these risks while also supporting farmers and their livelihoods. We know that all pesticides are not created equal and that simply banning them altogether is not realistic for most farmers. That’s why our mission is to help farmers assess the best way to deal with pests in their local context by making them aware of all of the forms of crop protection available to them, including more sustainable options that are better for farm workers, farm communities and the environment at large.

Pesticide use and crop protection in cotton production

With many pests and weeds attracted to cotton, crop protection is an essential part of cotton farming. Crop protection can take many forms, including the use of pheromones and hormones, plant breeding, cultural and mechanical techniques, the application of conventional pesticides and the use of genetically modified plants.

Pesticides are the most widely used form of crop protection, with 5.7% of the world’s pesticides used on cotton, according to information provided by the International Cotton Advisory Committee for a Pesticides Action Network (PAN) UK study in 2018. The overuse of pesticides by farmers has led to pesticide resistance, disruption to populations of beneficial insects and secondary pest outbreaks. Secondary outbreaks occur when the primary pests have been removed and other, secondary, pests become a problem, requiring the farmer to use another set of crop protection practices.

Crop protection in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

A farmer out in the field inspecting his crop

At the Better Cotton Initiative, we support farmers in adopting an Integrated Pest Management (IPM) approach to crop protection.  Rather than a specific set of rules or a single strategy, IPM is a fundamental guiding approach for cotton farmers in protecting their cotton crop from the many and varied pests attracted to it.

With IPM, the presence of pests does not automatically lead to the use of control measures, and when control measures are necessary, non-chemical methods such as biopesticides or traps are the first choice — conventional pesticides are a last resort. The Better Cotton Initiative also requires farmers to phase out the use of highly hazardous pesticides.

Principle One of the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria defines the five principles of an IPM Programme:

  1. Growing a healthy crop
  2. Preventing the build-up of pest populations and the spread of disease
  3. Preserving and enhancing populations of beneficial organisms
  4. Regular field observations of crop health and key pest and beneficial insects
  5. Managing resistance

While Better Cotton Farmers work towards making non-chemical control measures their first choice for crop protection, in some instances, a farmer will still make an informed decision to use pesticides. This occurs when pest pressures are so intense that the farmer will suffer severe economic losses if they don’t apply them. In these cases, farmers have based their decision on a calculation of their economic threshold — the level at which the cost of the destroyed crops is greater than the cost of the pesticides.  When pesticides are used, we help farmers implement practices that minimise their potentially harmful effects like ensuring they wear the appropriate personal protective equipment. The focus is on enabling farmers to make informed choices about the availability of strategies, practices and technologies and how to use them appropriately.

With climate change influencing the ecology of weeds, pests and diseases, an IPM approach helps farmers become more resilient while also saving money on expensive pesticide costs.

Better Cotton Farmers and Pesticide Use

In the 2018-19 season, Better Cotton farmers used less pesticide than Comparison Farmers. In China, they used 14% less, while in Tajikistan, they used 38% less. Biopesticides were also more widely used by Better Cotton farmers.

Learn more about Better Cotton pesticide use impacts in the Better Cotton Initiative Farmer Results report.

Integrated Pest Management in Practice in India

Vinodbhai Patel, prepares a biopesticide using leaves from local Neem trees

In the Saurashtra region of Gujarat, India, low, irregular rainfall (less than 600mm per year) combine with poor soil quality and a high risk of pest infestations to create ongoing challenges for farmers. Better Cotton Initiative Implementing Partner Action for Food Production has been helping farmers in the region adopt IPM techniques that can help.

One farmer, Vinodbhai Patel, has fully embraced these more natural pest control methods. He prepares a biopesticide using leaves from local Neem trees, Crown Flower and Datura shrubs, which are known for their pharmacological effects on insect-pests. Before his workers apply this natural mixture, they count the number of aphids on plants and only spray when the number exceeds a certain threshold.

“I believe nature can help me address insect problems,” he said. “Through the Better Cotton Initiative, I’ve learnt about protecting the natural predators (such as ladybirds) of cotton-eating insects, as well as natural pesticides.”

By managing insect-pests using ingredients sourced from nature — at no cost to Vinodbhai — and planting his cotton plants more densely, by 2018, he had reduced his pesticide costs by 80% (compared to the 2015-16 season), while increasing his overall production by over 100% and his profit by 200%.  

How Better Cotton contributes to the SDGs

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) outline a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 3 states that we should ‘ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages’.

By supporting farmers to adopt an IPM approach, requiring the use of highly hazardous pesticides to be phased out and ensuring farmers take the proper safety precautions when pesticides must be applied, we are working to protect the health and livelihoods of Better Cotton farmers one harvest at a time.

Learn more

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site