تُعد مبادرة Better Cotton (BCI) ، أو اختصار Better Cotton ، أكبر برنامج استدامة للقطن في العالم. خلال ما يزيد قليلاً عن عقد من الزمان ، انضم إلينا أصحاب المصلحة الذين ينتشرون في الصناعة - مزارعون ، عمال حلج ، مغازلون ، موردون ، مصنعون ، أصحاب العلامات التجارية ، تجار التجزئة ، منظمات المجتمع المدني ، المانحون والحكومات - لتدريب المجتمعات الزراعية على إنتاج القطن بطرق تحسن الأمور للجميع ولكل شيء متصل بهذا العنصر الأبيض الرقيق. حاليًا ، تضيف عضويتنا ما يصل إلى أكثر من 2,100 عضو.

في عام 2005 ، كجزء من مبادرة "المائدة المستديرة" التي عقدها الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة ، اجتمعت مجموعة من المنظمات ذات الرؤية لضمان مستقبل مستدام لها. جاء الدعم الأولي من منظمات مثل adidas ، Gap Inc. ، H&M ، ICCO Cooperative ، IKEA ، الاتحاد الدولي للمنتجين الزراعيين (IFAP) ، مؤسسة التمويل الدولية (IFC) ، Organic Exchange ، Oxfam ، Pesticide Action Network (PAN) UK and WWF .

القطن هو أحد أهم الموارد الطبيعية المتجددة في العالم. حماية نموها وإنتاجها أمر ضروري. بدعم من أصحاب المصلحة لدينا ، يمكننا التركيز على من وما هو مهم في المستقبل المستدام: المزارعون وعمال المزارع ومجتمعاتهم وتعليمهم ومعرفتهم ورفاههم. من خلال العمل مع ما يقرب من 70 شريكًا مختلفًا على المستوى الميداني ، نواصل الوصول إلى المزيد والمزيد من مجتمعات زراعة القطن في العالم - أو كما نسميها "المزارعون +" - لدعمهم في تنفيذ ممارسات أكثر استدامة. جميعهم تقريبًا - مزارعون وعمال مزارع - يعملون في مساحات صغيرة تقل مساحتها عن 20 هكتارًا. كانت مساعدتهم على التمتع بعائدات أفضل ، وظروف عمل محسنة ، وأمن مالي أكبر ، أمرًا تحويليًا. أكثر من 2.4 مليون مزارع لديهم الآن ترخيص لبيع قطنهم على أنه قطن أفضل. في المجموع ، وصلت برامجنا إلى ما يقرب من 4 ملايين شخص ترتبط حياتهم العملية بإنتاج القطن.

مجتمعات زراعة القطن هي السبب وراء وجود قطن أفضل - دعمهم هو في صميم عملنا. في حين أن القطن مورد متجدد ، فإن إنتاجه عرضة للممارسات الضارة. بصفتنا مشرفين على نظام أفضل لمعايير القطن ، ينصب تركيزنا على توفير فرص التدريب والتطوير للمزارعين لتبني ممارسات إنتاج مستدامة بيئيًا واجتماعيًا واقتصاديًا. أحد المكونات الستة للنظام القياسي ، المبادئ والمعايير أو معيار القطن الأفضل ، هو نهج شامل لإنتاج قطن أكثر استدامة يتم تنفيذه على المستوى الميداني. ينتج المزارعون المرخصون للقطن الأفضل القطن بطريقة تحافظ على البيئة ، وتقلل من الآثار السلبية للأسمدة والمبيدات الحشرية ، وتعتني بالمياه وصحة التربة والموائل الطبيعية. يلتزم مزارعو القطن الأفضل أيضًا بمبادئ العمل اللائق - الظروف التي تدعم سلامة العمال ورفاهيتهم. لا ينطبق معيار القطن الأفضل على سلسلة توريد القطن. ومع ذلك ، يتمكن أعضاء Better Cotton من الوصول إلى مصادر Better Cotton من مناطق عالمية متنوعة. اكتشف المزيد حول أفضل معايير القطن.

نعم. ترحب شركة Better Cotton باستخدام أو اعتماد أو تكييف نظامها القياسي في الحالات التي يمكن استخدامها فيها لدفع تبني ممارسات زراعة قطن أكثر استدامة. تجري شركة Better Cotton عملية مراجعة للمعايير العامة كل خمس سنوات على الأقل ، والتي تُمكِّن أيضًا الأطراف الثالثة من المساهمة في تطويرها بشكل أكبر.

في موسم القطن 2019-20 ، شارك حوالي 2.7 مليون مزارع في 23 دولة في برنامج Better Cotton. حصل أكثر من 2.4 مليون مزارع على ترخيص Better Cotton ، لإنتاج 6.2 مليون طن من القطن الأفضل - بزيادة قدرها 10٪ عن موسم 2018-19 ، وهو ما يعادل حوالي 23٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي. اكتشف المزيد في تقريرنا السنوي.

بعد أن يترك القطن المحج ، نستخدم نموذج سلسلة التوازن الشامل للحضانة ، والذي يشجع الجهات الفاعلة في سلسلة التوريد على شراء واستخدام المزيد من القطن الأفضل بطريقة فعالة من حيث التكلفة ، حيث لا يتطلب الأمر تعقيدات تؤدي إلى فصل مادي مكلف على طول التوريد سلسلة. توازن الكتلة هو نظام لتتبع الحجم يسمح باستبدال Better Cotton أو خلطه بالقطن التقليدي من قبل التجار أو المغازل على طول سلسلة التوريد مع ضمان ألا تتجاوز كمية Better Cotton المباعة كمية Better Cotton التي تم شراؤها. وبهذه الطريقة ، من خلال الالتزام بتوريد Better Cotton ، يمكن لأعضاء العلامة التجارية التأكد من أنهم يدعمون إنتاج قطن أكثر استدامة بغض النظر عن المكان الذي ينتهي إليه هذا القطن. تعلم المزيد عن نموذج الحضانة لسلسلة التوازن الشامل.

أفضل قطن متوافق مع كود ISEAL. تم تقييم نظامنا بشكل مستقل وفقًا لقواعد ISEAL للممارسات الجيدة - وهي إطار معترف به عالميًا لأنظمة الاستدامة الفعالة والموثوقة. مزيد من المعلومات في isealalliance.org.

اليوم ، تأتي الغالبية العظمى من التمويل للأنشطة على المستوى الميداني من تجار التجزئة وأعضاء العلامة التجارية. للمضي قدمًا ، نقوم بإشراك الممولين والمؤسسات العامة وكذلك نشجع الشركاء على المستوى الميداني على الاستثمار المشترك في الأنشطة والابتكار على المستوى الميداني لتشمل الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى لضمان ملكية واسعة للتقدم والنجاح الذي يتم إحرازه.

لدى Better Cotton نموذج أعمال فريد من نوعه ، حيث يدفع الأعضاء رسوم العضوية ويدفع المستخدمون غير الأعضاء في Better Cotton Platform رسوم خدمة للوصول إلى النظام الأساسي. تمول عضويتنا ورسوم Better Cotton Platform عملياتنا وتكاليفنا الإدارية ، مما يسمح لنا بتقديم الخدمات لأعضائنا ، والحفاظ على حوكمة قوية ، ودعم نزاهة النظام القياسي ، وتشجيع العلامات التجارية وتجار التجزئة واللاعبين الآخرين في السوق على شراء المزيد من القطن الأفضل . هناك أيضًا رسوم للعلامات التجارية وتجار التجزئة تختلف وفقًا لمقدار القطن الأفضل الذي يستهلكونه. الأهم من ذلك ، أن هذه الرسوم - نسميها الرسوم على أساس الحجم ، والتي تُفرض على كل طن من القطن - هي التي تدر غالبية دخلنا ، وهذا كله يذهب مباشرة إلى دعم أنشطة التعلم والضمان للمزارعين في هذا المجال ، مما يتيح لجميع المزارعين للمشاركة في تدريب برنامجنا وبناء القدرات مجانًا. حتى الآن ، جمعت شركة Better Cotton أكثر من 100 مليون يورو لتدريب أكثر من ثلاثة ملايين مزارع وعمال قطن في أكثر من 20 دولة. تعلم المزيد عن كيف يتم تمويلنا

يحدد Better Cotton GIF ويقوم باستثمارات إستراتيجية في برامج وابتكارات Better Cotton على مستوى الحقول. إنه جزء من شقين برنامج بناء القدرات . بجانب نظام Better Cotton Standard System ، تلعب الاستثمارات على المستوى الميداني التي يتم إجراؤها من خلال Better Cotton GIF دورًا مهمًا في تمكيننا من الوصول إلى المزيد من المزارعين وتدريبهم على ممارسات الزراعة المستدامة.

يساهم تجار التجزئة الأفضل للقطن وأعضاء العلامة التجارية في الصندوق من خلال رسوم تستند إلى حجم القطن الأفضل الذي يشترونه ويعلنون عنه (الرسوم على أساس الحجم أو VBF). تتيح هذه الرسوم للعلامات التجارية دعم البرامج الميدانية بشكل مباشر وفعال. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يدعو برنامج Better Cotton GIF المؤسسات المانحة العالمية والوكالات الحكومية إلى مطابقة الرسوم التي يساهم بها القطاع الخاص. يطلب برنامج Better Cotton GIF ويشجع الشركاء المنفذين على المساهمة بشكل متزايد في المشاريع التي يديرونها. اكتشف المزيد حول صندوق أفضل للنمو والابتكار.

في نهاية عام 2020 ، كان لدى شركة Better Cotton أكثر من 2,100 عضو من سلسلة توريد القطن. ابحث عن أعضاء في قائمتنا المحدثة.

أقل من 25٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي تم التحقق منه بشكل مستقل على أنه مزروع باستخدام ممارسات أكثر استدامة. يعمل القطن الأفضل ، والتجارة العادلة ، والمعايير العضوية وغيرها بطريقة تكميلية لضمان إنتاج كل القطن بطريقة أكثر استدامة. لقد اعترفنا بأربعة معايير أخرى معادلة لمعيار القطن الأفضل ، والقضاء على الازدواجية وعدم الكفاءة في السوق: myBMP (أستراليا) ، ABR (البرازيل) ، CmiA (دول أفريقية متعددة) و ICPSS (إسرائيل). يدعم القطن الأفضل المزارعين الذين لديهم القدرة على اختيار نظام الزراعة الأفضل لهم. تتعاون Better Cotton أيضًا بنشاط في جميع أنحاء قطاع القطن لتطوير مناهج مشتركة لقياس التقدم المحرز في الاستدامة والإبلاغ عنه بطريقة منسقة. تقود شركة Better Cotton مشروع دلتا ، بتمويل من SECO من خلال صندوق الابتكار ISEAL ، ونحن نعمل مع OCA ، والتجارة العادلة وتبادل المنسوجات ، بدعم من Forum for the Future لتسهيل مجموعة عمل Cotton 2040 حول محاذاة مقاييس التأثير ، للمصادقة عليها مؤشرات الاستدامة المشتركة والالتزام بتنفيذها تدريجياً في أنظمتنا. تعرف على المزيد حول مشروع دلتا.

تقدم مؤسسة التمويل الدولية (IFC) و Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) حاليًا مشاريع مستقلة للقطن المستدام في أوزبكستان.

وكجزء من هذه المشاريع ، تدعم مؤسسة التمويل الدولية والوكالة الألمانية للتعاون الدولي ستة مجموعات من المنسوجات القطنية للعمل على تلبية الشروط المنصوص عليها في مبادئ ومعايير القطن الأفضل ، والمتاحة للجمهور لمن يرغب في التشاور معها أو تطبيقها. تقدم شركة Better Cotton المشورة الفنية إلى GIZ و IFC كجزء من تسليم مشروعاتها. ومع ذلك ، فإن مبادرة قطن أفضل - حتى الآن - لم تؤسس برنامج قطن أفضل رسميًا في أوزبكستان ، وبالتالي ، فإن المجموعات التي يتم دعمها ليست مؤهلة لتكون منتجة مرخصة لـ Better Cotton.

يساهم العمل الذي تقوم به مؤسسة التمويل الدولية والوكالة الألمانية للتعاون الدولي (GIZ) في جهود Better Cotton المستمرة في إطار عملية بدء الدولة الجديدة للتأكد مما إذا كانت البيئة التمكينية في أوزبكستان تفضي إلى قطن أفضل لإنشاء برنامج. وتشمل هذه الجهود التعامل مع مجموعة متنوعة من أصحاب المصلحة ، سواء داخل أوزبكستان أو على الصعيد الدولي.

يواجه مزارعو القطن حول العالم العديد من تحديات العمل اللائق ، بدءًا من حماية العمال من التعرض لمبيدات الآفات إلى تحديد ومنع عمل الأطفال والعمل الجبري. تنبع تحديات العمل اللائق عادةً من تدني الأجور ، والطبيعة غير الرسمية لعلاقات العمل في الزراعة ، وضعف إنفاذ القوانين واللوائح. تتطلب الحلول أحيانًا أيضًا تحولات في العقلية ، سواء كان ذلك يعني حث المجتمعات على معالجة ومنع عمالة الأطفال أو العمل على تغيير الأعراف الجنسانية القائمة منذ فترة طويلة. هذا هو السبب في أن فهم الأسباب الجذرية لممارسات العمل السيئة في منطقة ما ضروري لمعالجة الظروف التي تديم الاستغلال وسوء المعاملة بشكل فعال. إنه تحد هائل يتطلب التعاون مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين عبر سلاسل التوريد لدفع التغيير المنهجي الإيجابي معًا. لا تعمل شركة Better Cotton في المناطق التي تنظم فيها الحكومة العمل الجبري.

معرفة المزيد عن نهجنا في العمل اللائق.

نهدف إلى أن نكون مبادرة رئيسية ونستهدف التحسينات عبر مجموعة من القضايا المهمة المرتبطة بزراعة القطن على نطاق واسع. اليوم ، يُزرع ما يقرب من ثلاثة أرباع قطن العالم بالبذور المعدلة وراثيًا. سيكون من الصعب تحقيق هدفنا المتمثل في جعل القطن الأفضل سلعة مستدامة إذا تم استبعاد ملايين المزارعين تلقائيًا من تدريبنا ودعمنا. لذلك ، تبنت شركة Better Cotton موقف "الحياد التكنولوجي" فيما يتعلق بالقطن المعدل وراثيًا ولن تشجع المزارعين على زراعته ولن تسعى إلى تقييد وصولهم إليه. إذا كان متاحًا بشكل قانوني في بلد الاستخدام وهناك حزمة دعم شاملة مطبقة للمزارعين - والتي تشمل التدريب والوصول إلى مجموعة من الخيارات الزراعية - يسمح Better Cotton باستخدام القطن المعدل وراثيًا.

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), or just Better Cotton for short, is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. In just over a decade, stakeholders who span the industry have joined us – farmers, ginners, spinners, suppliers, manufacturers, brand owners, retailers, civil society organisations, donors and governments – to train farming communities to produce cotton in ways that improve things for everyone and everything connected with this fluffy white staple. Currently, our membership adds up to more than 2,100 members.

In 2005, as part of a ’round-table’ initiative convened by WWF, a group of visionary organisations came together to make sure it had a sustainable future. Initial support came from organisations such as adidas, Gap Inc., H&M, ICCO Cooperation, IKEA, International Federation of Agricultural Producers (IFAP), International Finance Corporation (IFC), Organic Exchange, Oxfam, Pesticide Action Network (PAN) UK and WWF.

Cotton is one of the world’s most important renewable natural resources. Safeguarding the growing and production of it is essential. With the support of our stakeholders, we can focus on who and what matter in a sustainable future: farmers, farmworkers, their communities,and their education, knowledge and well-being. Working with close to 70 different field-level partners, we continue to reach more and more of the world’s cotton-farming communities – or as we call it ‘Farmers+’ – to support them in impementing more sustainable practices. Nearly all of them – farmers and farm workers – work on smallholdings less than 20 hectares in size. Helping them to enjoy better yields, improved working conditions and greater financial security has been transformative. Over 2.4 million farmers now have a licence to sell their cotton as Better Cotton. In total, our programmes have reached almost 4 million people whose working lives are connected to cotton production.

Cotton farming communities are the reason Better Cotton exists – supporting them is at the heart of our work. While cotton is a renewable resource, its production is vulnerable to damaging practices. As stewards of the Better Cotton Standard System, our focus is on providing training and development opportunities for farmers to adopt more environmentally, socially and economically sustainable production practices. One of the six components of the standard system, the Principles and Criteria or the Better Cotton Standard, is a holistic approach to more sustainable cotton production implemented at field level. Better Cotton Licensed Farmers produce cotton in a way that cares for the environment, minimising the negative effects of fertilisers and pesticides, and caring for water, soil health and natural habitats. Better Cotton Farmers also commit to decent work principles—conditions that support workers’ safety and wellbeing. The Better Cotton Standard is not applicable to the cotton supply chain. However, Better Cotton Members gain access to sourcing Better Cotton from diverse global regions. Find out more about the Better Cotton Standard.

Yes. Better Cotton welcomes the use, adoption or adaptation of its standard system in cases where it can be used to drive the adoption of more sustainable cotton farming practices. Better Cotton conducts a Public Standard Review Process at least every five years, which also enables third-parties to contribute towards its further development.

In the 2019-20 cotton season, some 2.7 million farmers in 23 countries participated in the Better Cotton programme. More than 2.4 million farmers received a Better Cotton license, producing 6.2 million tonnes of Better Cotton– a 10% increase on the 2018-19 season, which equates to approximately 23% of global cotton production. Find out more in our Annual Report.

After the cotton leaves the gin, we use a Mass Balance Chain of Custody Model, which encourages supply chain actors to buy and use more Better Cotton in a cost efficient manner, as it does not require complexities that result in costly physical segregation along the supply chain. Mass balance is a volume-tracking system that allows Better Cotton to be substituted or mixed with conventional cotton by traders or spinners along the supply chain while ensuring that the amount of Better Cotton sold never exceeds the amount of Better Cotton purchased. In this way, by committing to sourcing Better Cotton, brand members can be assured that they are supporting more sustainable cotton production regardless of where that cotton ends up. Learn more about our Mass Balance Chain of Custody Model.

Better Cotton is ISEAL Code Compliant. Our system has been independently evaluated against ISEAL’s Codes of Good Practice–a globally recognised framework for effective, credible sustainability systems. More information at isealalliance.org.

Today, the vast majority of funding for field-level activities comes from Retailer and Brand Members. Moving forward, we are engaging public funders and foundations as well encouraging field-level partners to co-invest in field-level activities and innovation to include other actors to ensure broad ownership of the progress and success being made.

Better Cotton has a unique business model, with members paying a membership fee and non-member users of the Better Cotton Platform paying a service fee to access the platform. Our membership and Better Cotton Platform fees fund our own operations and administrative costs, allowing us to provide services to our members, maintain strong governance, uphold the integrity of the standard system, and encourage brands, retailers and other market players to buy more Better Cotton. There’s also a fee for brands and retailers that varies according to how much Better Cotton they consume. Importantly, it’s this fee – we call it the Volume-Based Fee, levied on every tonne of cotton – that generates the majority of our income, and this all goes directly to supporting learning and assurance activities for farmers in the field, allowing all farmers to participate in our programme’s training and capacity building for free. To date, Better Cotton has raised over €100 million to train more than three million cotton farmers and workers in over 20 countries. Learn more about how we are funded

The Better Cotton GIF identifies and makes strategic investments in Better Cotton field-level programmes and innovations. It is one part of our two-pronged our Capacity Building Programme . Next to the Better Cotton Standard System, field-level investments made through the Better Cotton GIF play an important role in enabling us to reach more farmers and train them on sustainable farming practices.

Better Cotton Retailers and Brand Members contribute to the Fund through a fee based on the volume of Better Cotton they procure and declare (Volume-Based Fee or VBF). This fee enables brands to support field level programmes directly and efficiently. Additionally, the Better Cotton GIF invites global institutional donors and government agencies to match the fees contributed by the private sector. The Better Cotton GIF requests and encourages Implementing Partners to increasingly contribute to the projects they are running. Find out more about the Better Growth and Innovation Fund.

At the end of 2020, Better Cotton had more than 2,100 members spanning the cotton supply chain. Find members in our updated list.

Less than 25% of global cotton production is independently verified as grown using more sustainable practices. Better Cotton, Fairtrade, organic standards and others work in a complementary way towards ensuring that all cotton is produced in a more sustainable manner. We have recognised four other standards as equivalent to the Better Cotton Standard, eliminating duplication and inefficiencies in the market: myBMP (Australia), ABR (Brazil), CmiA (multiple African countries) and ICPSS (Israel). Better Cotton support farmers having the ability to choose which farming system is best for them. Better Cotton also actively collaborates across the cotton sector to develop common approaches to measure and report sustainability progress in a harmonized way. Better Cotton leads the Delta Project, funded by SECO through the ISEAL Innovation Fund, and we have been working with OCA, Fairtrade and Textile Exchange, with the support of Forum for the Future facilitating the Cotton 2040 Working Group on Impact Metrics Alignment, to endorse common sustainability indicators and commit to implementing them gradually in our systems. Learn more about the Delta Project.

The International Finance Corporation (IFC) and Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) are currently delivering independent sustainable cotton projects in Uzbekistan.

As part of these projects, IFC and GIZ are supporting six cotton-textile Clusters to work towards meeting the conditions laid out in The Better Cotton Principles and Criteria, which are publicly available to whomever wishes to consult or apply them. Better Cotton is providing technical advice to GIZ and IFC as part of their project delivery. However, the Better Cotton Initiative has not – to this date – established a formal Better Cotton Programme in Uzbekistan, therefore, the Clusters being supported are not eligible to be licensed producers of Better Cotton.

The work being carried out by IFC and GIZ is contributing to Better Cotton’s ongoing efforts under the New Country Start-up Process to ascertain if the enabling environment in Uzbekistan in conducive for a Better Cotton to establish a programme. These efforts include engaging with a variety of stakeholders, both within Uzbekistan and internationally.

Cotton farmers around the world face many decent work challenges, ranging from protecting workers from pesticide exposure to identifying and preventing child and forced labour. Decent work challenges typically stem from low wages, the informal nature of working relations in agriculture, and weak enforcement of laws and regulations. Sometimes solutions also require mindset shifts, whether that means getting communities to address and prevent child labour or working to transform long-held gender norms. That’s why understanding the root causes of poor labour practices in an area is necessary to effectively address the circumstances that perpetuate exploitation and abuse. It is an enormous challenge that takes collaboration with key stakeholders across supply chains to drive systemic, positive change together. Better Cotton does not operate in regions where forced labour is orchestrated by the government.

Learn more about our approach to decent work.

We aim to be a mainstream initiative and target improvements across a range of important issues associated with cotton farming on a large scale. Today, nearly three quarters of the world’s cotton is grown with GM seeds. It would be difficult to achieve our objective of making Better Cotton a mainstream sustainable commodity if millions of farmers were automatically excluded from our training and support. So, Better Cotton has adopted a position of being ‘technology neutral’ with respect to GM cotton and will neither encourage farmers to grow it, nor seek to restrict their access to it. If it is legally available in the country of use and there is an overall support package in place for farmers–which includes training and access to a range of farming options–Better Cotton allows the use of GM cotton.