Better Cotton Initiative (BCI),或简称为 Better Cotton,是世界上最大的棉花可持续发展计划。 在短短十多年的时间里,跨行业的利益相关者加入了我们——农民、轧花厂、纺纱厂、供应商、制造商、品牌所有者、零售商、民间社会组织、捐助者和政府——培训农业社区以改善情况的方式生产棉花对于与这种蓬松的白色主食相关的每个人和所有事物。 目前,我们的会员总数已超过 2,100 名。

2005 年,作为 WWF 召集的“圆桌会议”倡议的一部分,一群有远见的组织走到了一起,以确保它有一个可持续的未来。 最初的支持来自阿迪达斯、Gap Inc.、H&M、ICCO 合作组织、宜家、国际农业生产者联合会 (IFAP)、国际金融公司 (IFC)、有机交易所、乐施会、英国农药行动网络 (PAN) 和世界自然基金会等组织.

棉花是世界上最重要的可再生自然资源之一。 保护它的生长和生产至关重要。 在我们利益相关者的支持下,我们可以专注于谁和什么在可持续的未来很重要:农民、农场工人、他们的社区,以及他们的教育、知识和福祉。 我们与近 70 个不同的实地合作伙伴合作,继续接触世界上越来越多的棉花种植社区——或者我们称之为“农民+”——以支持他们实施更可持续的做法。 几乎所有人——农民和农场工人——都在小于 20 公顷的小农场工作。 帮助他们获得更高的收益、改善的工作条件和更大的财务保障具有变革意义。 现在有超过 2.4 万农民获得了将他们的棉花作为良好棉花出售的许可证。 总的来说,我们的计划已惠及近 4 万人,他们的工作生活与棉花生产有关。

棉花种植社区是 Better Cotton 存在的原因——支持他们是我们工作的核心。 虽然棉花是一种可再生资源,但其生产容易受到破坏性做法的影响。 作为良好棉花标准体系的管理者,我们的重点是为农民提供培训和发展机会,以采用更具环境、社会和经济可持续性的生产实践。 标准体系的六个组成部分之一,即原则和标准或良好棉花标准,是一种在田间实施的更可持续棉花生产的整体方法。 Better Cotton 许可农民以保护环境的方式生产棉花,最大限度地减少化肥和杀虫剂的负面影响,并关心水、土壤健康和自然栖息地。 Better Cotton Farmers 还承诺遵守体面工作原则——支持工人安全和福祉的条件。 良好棉花标准不适用于棉花供应链。 但是,良好棉花会员可以从全球不同地区采购良好棉花。 了解更多关于 更好的棉花标准.

是的。 在可用于推动采用更可持续的棉花种植实践的情况下,Better Cotton 欢迎使用、采用或调整其标准系统。 Better Cotton 至少每五年进行一次公共标准审查流程,这也使第三方能够为其进一步发展做出贡献。

在 2019-20 棉花季节,2.7 个国家的约 23 万农民参加了良好棉花计划。 超过 2.4 万农民获得了良好棉花许可证,生产了 6.2 万吨良好棉花——比 10-2018 年度增加了 19%,相当于全球棉花产量的约 23%。 了解更多 我们的年度报告。

棉花离开轧花厂后,我们使用质量平衡监管链模型,该模型鼓励供应链参与者以具有成本效益的方式购买和使用更多的良好棉花,因为它不需要导致供应过程中昂贵的物理隔离的复杂性链。 质量平衡是一种数量跟踪系统,允许供应链上的贸易商或纺纱厂将良好棉花替换或与传统棉花混合,同时确保出售的良好棉花数量永远不会超过购买的良好棉花数量。 通过这种方式,通过承诺采购良好棉花,品牌成员可以放心,无论棉花最终在哪里,他们都支持更可持续的棉花生产。 学习更多关于 我们的质量平衡监管链模型。

Better Cotton 符合 ISEAL 规范。 我们的系统已经根据 ISEAL 的良好实践准则进行了独立评估,这是一个全球公认的有效、可靠的可持续性系统框架。 更多信息请访问 isealalliance.org.

今天,绝大多数实地活动的资金来自零售商和品牌成员。 展望未来,我们正在与公共资助者和基金会合作,并鼓励实地合作伙伴共同投资实地活动和创新,以包括其他参与者,以确保对正在取得的进展和成功拥有广泛的所有权。

良好棉花平台具有独特的商业模式,会员支付会员费,非会员用户支付良好棉花平台服务费以访问平台。 我们的会员资格和良好棉花平台费用为我们自己的运营和管理成本提供资金,使我们能够为会员提供服务,保持强有力的治理,维护标准体系的完整性,并鼓励品牌、零售商和其他市场参与者购买更多的良好棉花. 品牌和零售商也会根据他们消费的良好棉花数量而有所不同。 重要的是,正是这笔费用——我们称之为基于数量的费用,对每吨棉花征收——产生了我们的大部分收入,这一切都直接用于支持田间农民的学习和保证活动,让所有农民免费参加我们计划的培训和能力建设。 迄今为止,Better Cotton 已筹集了超过 100 亿欧元,用于培训 20 多个国家的超过 XNUMX 万棉农和工人。 学习更多关于 我们的资金来源

良好棉花 GIF 确定并对良好棉花领域的项目和创新进行战略投资。 它是我们两管齐下的一部分 能力建设计划 . 除了良好棉花标准系统之外,通过良好棉花 GIF 进行的田间投资也发挥着重要作用,使我们能够接触到更多的农民并就可持续农业实践对他们进行培训。

良好棉花零售商和品牌成员通过基于他们采购和申报的良好棉花数量(基于数量的费用或 VBF)的费用向基金捐款。 这笔费用使品牌能够直接有效地支持现场级计划。 此外,良好棉花 GIF 邀请全球机构捐助者和政府机构与私营部门捐助的费用相匹配。 良好棉花 GIF 要求并鼓励实施合作伙伴为他们正在运行的项目做出更多贡献。 了解更多关于 更好的增长和创新基金.

到 2020 年底,Better Cotton 在整个棉花供应链中拥有 2,100 多个成员。 寻找成员 在我们更新的列表中。

全球只有不到 25% 的棉花产量经过独立验证,是使用更可持续的做法种植的。 Better Cotton、公平贸易、有机标准和其他标准以互补的方式工作,以确保所有棉花都以更可持续的方式生产。 我们已确认其他四项标准等同于良好棉花标准,消除了市场上的重复和低效率:myBMP(澳大利亚)、ABR(巴西)、CmiA(多个非洲国家)和 ICPSS(以色列)。 Better Cotton 支持农民有能力选择最适合他们的耕作系统。 Better Cotton 还积极与棉花行业合作,制定通用方法,以协调一致的方式衡量和报告可持续性进展。 Better Cotton 领导了由 SECO 通过 ISEAL 创新基金资助的 Delta 项目,我们一直在与 OCA、公平贸易和纺织品交易所合作,在未来论坛的支持下促进棉花 2040 影响指标对齐工作组的支持共同的可持续性指标,并承诺在我们的系统中逐步实施它们。 了解更多关于 三角洲项目.

国际金融公司 (IFC) 和 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) 目前正在乌兹别克斯坦提供独立的可持续棉花项目。

作为这些项目的一部分,IFC 和 GIZ 正在支持六个棉纺织集群,以努力满足《更好的棉花原则和标准》中规定的条件,任何希望咨询或应用这些原则和标准的人都可以公开获取这些条件。 Better Cotton 正在向 GIZ 和 IFC 提供技术建议,作为其项目交付的一部分。 然而,迄今为止,良好棉花倡议尚未在乌兹别克斯坦建立正式的良好棉花计划,因此,受支持的集群没有资格成为良好棉花的许可生产商。

国际金融公司和德国国际合作机构正在开展的工作有助于良好棉花在新国家启动程序下的持续努力,以确定乌兹别克斯坦的有利环境是否有利于良好棉花制定计划。 这些努力包括与乌兹别克斯坦境内和国际上的各种利益相关者接触。

世界各地的棉农面临着许多体面工作的挑战,从保护工人免于接触农药到识别和防止童工和强迫劳动。 体面工作的挑战通常源于低工资、农业工作关系的非正式性质以及法律法规执行不力。 有时,解决方案还需要转变思维方式,无论这意味着让社区解决和防止童工问题,还是努力改变长期存在的性别规范。 这就是为什么了解一个地区不良劳工实践的根本原因对于有效解决长期存在剥削和虐待的情况是必要的。 这是一项巨大的挑战,需要与整个供应链的主要利益相关者合作,共同推动系统性的、积极的变革。 Better Cotton 不在政府精心策划强迫劳动的地区开展业务。

进一步了解 我们实现体面工作的方法.

我们的目标是成为主流倡议,并针对与大规模棉花种植相关的一系列重要问题进行改进。 今天,世界上近四分之三的棉花是用转基因种子种植的。 如果数以百万计的农民被自动排除在我们的培训和支持之外,我们将很难实现将良好棉花作为主流可持续商品的目标。 因此,Better Cotton 对转基因棉花采取了“技术中立”的立场,既不会鼓励农民种植它,也不会试图限制他们对转基因棉花的获取。 如果它在使用国合法可用,并且为农民提供了全面的支持包——包括培训和获得一系列农业选择——Better Cotton 允许使用转基因棉花。

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), or just Better Cotton for short, is the largest cotton sustainability programme in the world. In just over a decade, stakeholders who span the industry have joined us – farmers, ginners, spinners, suppliers, manufacturers, brand owners, retailers, civil society organisations, donors and governments – to train farming communities to produce cotton in ways that improve things for everyone and everything connected with this fluffy white staple. Currently, our membership adds up to more than 2,100 members.

In 2005, as part of a ’round-table’ initiative convened by WWF, a group of visionary organisations came together to make sure it had a sustainable future. Initial support came from organisations such as adidas, Gap Inc., H&M, ICCO Cooperation, IKEA, International Federation of Agricultural Producers (IFAP), International Finance Corporation (IFC), Organic Exchange, Oxfam, Pesticide Action Network (PAN) UK and WWF.

Cotton is one of the world’s most important renewable natural resources. Safeguarding the growing and production of it is essential. With the support of our stakeholders, we can focus on who and what matter in a sustainable future: farmers, farmworkers, their communities,and their education, knowledge and well-being. Working with close to 70 different field-level partners, we continue to reach more and more of the world’s cotton-farming communities – or as we call it ‘Farmers+’ – to support them in impementing more sustainable practices. Nearly all of them – farmers and farm workers – work on smallholdings less than 20 hectares in size. Helping them to enjoy better yields, improved working conditions and greater financial security has been transformative. Over 2.4 million farmers now have a licence to sell their cotton as Better Cotton. In total, our programmes have reached almost 4 million people whose working lives are connected to cotton production.

Cotton farming communities are the reason Better Cotton exists – supporting them is at the heart of our work. While cotton is a renewable resource, its production is vulnerable to damaging practices. As stewards of the Better Cotton Standard System, our focus is on providing training and development opportunities for farmers to adopt more environmentally, socially and economically sustainable production practices. One of the six components of the standard system, the Principles and Criteria or the Better Cotton Standard, is a holistic approach to more sustainable cotton production implemented at field level. Better Cotton Licensed Farmers produce cotton in a way that cares for the environment, minimising the negative effects of fertilisers and pesticides, and caring for water, soil health and natural habitats. Better Cotton Farmers also commit to decent work principles—conditions that support workers’ safety and wellbeing. The Better Cotton Standard is not applicable to the cotton supply chain. However, Better Cotton Members gain access to sourcing Better Cotton from diverse global regions. Find out more about the Better Cotton Standard.

Yes. Better Cotton welcomes the use, adoption or adaptation of its standard system in cases where it can be used to drive the adoption of more sustainable cotton farming practices. Better Cotton conducts a Public Standard Review Process at least every five years, which also enables third-parties to contribute towards its further development.

In the 2019-20 cotton season, some 2.7 million farmers in 23 countries participated in the Better Cotton programme. More than 2.4 million farmers received a Better Cotton license, producing 6.2 million tonnes of Better Cotton– a 10% increase on the 2018-19 season, which equates to approximately 23% of global cotton production. Find out more in our Annual Report.

After the cotton leaves the gin, we use a Mass Balance Chain of Custody Model, which encourages supply chain actors to buy and use more Better Cotton in a cost efficient manner, as it does not require complexities that result in costly physical segregation along the supply chain. Mass balance is a volume-tracking system that allows Better Cotton to be substituted or mixed with conventional cotton by traders or spinners along the supply chain while ensuring that the amount of Better Cotton sold never exceeds the amount of Better Cotton purchased. In this way, by committing to sourcing Better Cotton, brand members can be assured that they are supporting more sustainable cotton production regardless of where that cotton ends up. Learn more about our Mass Balance Chain of Custody Model.

Better Cotton is ISEAL Code Compliant. Our system has been independently evaluated against ISEAL’s Codes of Good Practice–a globally recognised framework for effective, credible sustainability systems. More information at isealalliance.org.

Today, the vast majority of funding for field-level activities comes from Retailer and Brand Members. Moving forward, we are engaging public funders and foundations as well encouraging field-level partners to co-invest in field-level activities and innovation to include other actors to ensure broad ownership of the progress and success being made.

Better Cotton has a unique business model, with members paying a membership fee and non-member users of the Better Cotton Platform paying a service fee to access the platform. Our membership and Better Cotton Platform fees fund our own operations and administrative costs, allowing us to provide services to our members, maintain strong governance, uphold the integrity of the standard system, and encourage brands, retailers and other market players to buy more Better Cotton. There’s also a fee for brands and retailers that varies according to how much Better Cotton they consume. Importantly, it’s this fee – we call it the Volume-Based Fee, levied on every tonne of cotton – that generates the majority of our income, and this all goes directly to supporting learning and assurance activities for farmers in the field, allowing all farmers to participate in our programme’s training and capacity building for free. To date, Better Cotton has raised over €100 million to train more than three million cotton farmers and workers in over 20 countries. Learn more about how we are funded

The Better Cotton GIF identifies and makes strategic investments in Better Cotton field-level programmes and innovations. It is one part of our two-pronged our Capacity Building Programme . Next to the Better Cotton Standard System, field-level investments made through the Better Cotton GIF play an important role in enabling us to reach more farmers and train them on sustainable farming practices.

Better Cotton Retailers and Brand Members contribute to the Fund through a fee based on the volume of Better Cotton they procure and declare (Volume-Based Fee or VBF). This fee enables brands to support field level programmes directly and efficiently. Additionally, the Better Cotton GIF invites global institutional donors and government agencies to match the fees contributed by the private sector. The Better Cotton GIF requests and encourages Implementing Partners to increasingly contribute to the projects they are running. Find out more about the Better Growth and Innovation Fund.

At the end of 2020, Better Cotton had more than 2,100 members spanning the cotton supply chain. Find members in our updated list.

Less than 25% of global cotton production is independently verified as grown using more sustainable practices. Better Cotton, Fairtrade, organic standards and others work in a complementary way towards ensuring that all cotton is produced in a more sustainable manner. We have recognised four other standards as equivalent to the Better Cotton Standard, eliminating duplication and inefficiencies in the market: myBMP (Australia), ABR (Brazil), CmiA (multiple African countries) and ICPSS (Israel). Better Cotton support farmers having the ability to choose which farming system is best for them. Better Cotton also actively collaborates across the cotton sector to develop common approaches to measure and report sustainability progress in a harmonized way. Better Cotton leads the Delta Project, funded by SECO through the ISEAL Innovation Fund, and we have been working with OCA, Fairtrade and Textile Exchange, with the support of Forum for the Future facilitating the Cotton 2040 Working Group on Impact Metrics Alignment, to endorse common sustainability indicators and commit to implementing them gradually in our systems. Learn more about the Delta Project.

The International Finance Corporation (IFC) and Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) are currently delivering independent sustainable cotton projects in Uzbekistan.

As part of these projects, IFC and GIZ are supporting six cotton-textile Clusters to work towards meeting the conditions laid out in The Better Cotton Principles and Criteria, which are publicly available to whomever wishes to consult or apply them. Better Cotton is providing technical advice to GIZ and IFC as part of their project delivery. However, the Better Cotton Initiative has not – to this date – established a formal Better Cotton Programme in Uzbekistan, therefore, the Clusters being supported are not eligible to be licensed producers of Better Cotton.

The work being carried out by IFC and GIZ is contributing to Better Cotton’s ongoing efforts under the New Country Start-up Process to ascertain if the enabling environment in Uzbekistan in conducive for a Better Cotton to establish a programme. These efforts include engaging with a variety of stakeholders, both within Uzbekistan and internationally.

Cotton farmers around the world face many decent work challenges, ranging from protecting workers from pesticide exposure to identifying and preventing child and forced labour. Decent work challenges typically stem from low wages, the informal nature of working relations in agriculture, and weak enforcement of laws and regulations. Sometimes solutions also require mindset shifts, whether that means getting communities to address and prevent child labour or working to transform long-held gender norms. That’s why understanding the root causes of poor labour practices in an area is necessary to effectively address the circumstances that perpetuate exploitation and abuse. It is an enormous challenge that takes collaboration with key stakeholders across supply chains to drive systemic, positive change together. Better Cotton does not operate in regions where forced labour is orchestrated by the government.

Learn more about our approach to decent work.

We aim to be a mainstream initiative and target improvements across a range of important issues associated with cotton farming on a large scale. Today, nearly three quarters of the world’s cotton is grown with GM seeds. It would be difficult to achieve our objective of making Better Cotton a mainstream sustainable commodity if millions of farmers were automatically excluded from our training and support. So, Better Cotton has adopted a position of being ‘technology neutral’ with respect to GM cotton and will neither encourage farmers to grow it, nor seek to restrict their access to it. If it is legally available in the country of use and there is an overall support package in place for farmers–which includes training and access to a range of farming options–Better Cotton allows the use of GM cotton.