图片来源:更好的棉花/Vibhor Yadav

地点:印度古吉拉特邦科迪纳尔。

目前,全世界约有 XNUMX 亿人面临严重的水资源短缺,全球近一半的人口生活在淡水受到污染的地区。 保护本地和全球的水资源是我们这个时代最大的可持续发展挑战之一。

在 Better Cotton,我们相信解决方案需要一种水资源管理方法,其中个人和集体的行动使人类和自然都受益。

棉花生产如何影响水资源

棉花是一种 比较耐旱 作物,并且在它生长的许多地区完全靠雨养。 然而,其大约一半的生产区域需要某种灌溉,随着淡水变得越来越稀缺和珍贵,确保以可持续的方式使用它至关重要。 糟糕的灌溉做法,或更普遍的糟糕的水资源管理,会对农业活动、整个流域的环境以及共享水资源的更广泛的社区产生破坏性的长期影响。

棉花生产在几个方面影响淡水资源:

  • 冥界 水量 用于灌溉(地表水和地下水)
  • 冥界 雨水的利用 储存在土地上
  • 水质 由于使用农用化学品(农药和化肥)

通过实施可持续农业实践,农民可以学习如何在雨养和灌溉农场高效用水,以实现更高的产量、消耗和污染更少的水。 这不仅有助于实现更可持续的用水,还有助于农民改善生计并增强对气候变化的适应能力——随着供水压力的加剧,这一点将变得越来越重要。

良好棉花标准体系为农民提供了一个全面的用水框架,以提高产量,同时为他们和他们的社区节约资源。

良好棉花原则和标准要求良好棉花种植者制定水资源管理计划,以帮助他们实施这些水资源管理原则。

图片来源:Better Cotton/Khaula Jamil 地点:Rahim Yar Khan,巴基斯坦旁遮普邦,2019 年。农场工人 Shahida Parveen 为她的牲畜取水。

水资源管理计划包括五个部分:

  1. 绘制和理解水资源
  2. 管理土壤水分
  3. 使用有效的灌溉方法来优化水资源生产力
  4. 管理水质
  5. 参与合作和集体行动以促进可持续用水

优秀的水资源管理者了解他们自己的用水情况和集水区环境(景观中水流经和储存的区域,即含水层或河流流域)。 通过了解其生产区域的用水情况,农民可以在农场层面进行良好的水资源管理,并与当地社区和当局等其他用水者一起采取集体行动


更好的棉花水资源管理的影响

在 2018-2019 棉花季节,四个国家的良好棉花种植者使用的灌溉用水少于对比种植者——从塔吉克斯坦的 6% 到印度的 13%。

WAPRO:全球水资源管理倡议

我们解决棉花生产中的水问题的一种方法是参与一个独特的多利益相关者伙伴关系,称为 WAPRO. 由...领着 赫尔维塔斯,WAPRO 跨越亚洲和非洲的 16 个国家,汇集了来自公共和私营部门的 22 个合作伙伴。

该项目采用推拉式策略,将市场激励和公共政策宣传与实地农民培训相结合,鼓励全球供应链各个层面的水资源管理和行动。 

赫尔维塔斯 和 水管理联盟 在塔吉克斯坦实施 WAPRO 框架。 通过该计划,一些农民投资于管状灌溉,以帮助更精确地将水引向植物。 这种策略使 Better Cotton Farmer Sharipov Habibullo 在 1.8-2018 棉花季节每公顷棉花节水 19 万升,约占奥运会游泳池的三分之二。 阅读沙里波夫的故事

印度的水资源管理实践

在印度古吉拉特邦,季风降雨变得越来越难以预测,使得农业用水更难获得。 我们在该地区的执行伙伴—— 沿海防盐分队 (CSPC) — 将良好棉花水资源管理愿景转化为实地行动,支持该地区 11,000 名良好棉花种植者。 

通过 WAPRO 项目实施,CSPC 团队向农民传授节水实践,包括滴灌和喷灌技术,将更小、更精确的水量引导至作物。 石药集团还推广灌溉交替沟(小沟)。 使用这种技术,农民在山脊上种植庄稼,只需要灌溉中间的每隔一个犁沟。 在社区层面,CSPC 与当地学校的约 6,500 名儿童玩了一场游戏,教授有关可持续用水的关键信息。

可持续发展目标报告 2020_Page_13_0

优质棉花如何为可持续发展目标做出贡献

联合国的 17 个可持续发展目标 (SDG) 勾勒出实现可持续未来的全球蓝图。 SDG 6 指出,我们应该“确保所有人都能获得水和卫生设施并对其进行可持续管理”。 通过我们的水资源管理方法,良好棉花原则和标准帮助农民在制定水资源管理气候适应战略时了解现有和未来的水资源风险。 通过支持农民制定考虑农药施用、施肥和土壤管理的水资源管理计划,我们正在帮助世界各地的社区保护和保存宝贵的水资源。

了解更多

图片来源:所有联合国可持续发展目标 (UN SDG) 图标和信息图表均取自 联合国可持续发展目标网站. 本网站内容未经联合国批准,不代表联合国或其官员或会员国的观点。

Photo Credit: Better cotton/Vibhor Yadav

Location: Kodinar, Gujarat, India.

About half a billion people around the world currently face severe water scarcity, and nearly half of the global population lives in regions where freshwater is polluted. Caring for our water resources — both locally and globally — is one of the biggest sustainability challenges of our times.

At Better Cotton, we believe that solutions require a water stewardship approach where individual and collective actions benefit both people and nature.

How Cotton Production Impacts Water Resources

Cotton is a relatively drought tolerant crop and is entirely rainfed in many regions where it grows. However, approximately half of its production area requires some sort of irrigation, and as freshwater becomes an increasingly scarce and precious resource,  it is critical to ensure it is used in sustainable ways. Poor irrigation practices, or poor water management more generally, can have devastating, long-term effects on farming activities, on the whole water basin’s environment and on the broader communities who share its water resources.

Cotton production impacts freshwater resources in a few ways:

  • The quantity of water used for irrigation (both surface and groundwater)
  • The use of rainwater stored in land
  • Water quality due to the use of agrochemicals (pesticides and fertilisers)

By implementing sustainable farming practices, farmers can learn how to use water efficiently on both rainfed and irrigated farms to achieve greater yields and consume and pollute less water. This not only contributes to more sustainable water use but also helps farmers improve their livelihoods and build resilience to climate change — something that will become increasingly important as pressure on water supply intensifies.

The Better Cotton Standard System provides farmers with a comprehensive framework for using water in a way that improves yields while conserving resources for them and their community.

The Better Cotton Principles and Criteria require Better Cotton farmers to develop a Water Stewardship Plan to help them implement these water management principles.

Photo Credit: Better Cotton/Khaula Jamil Location: Rahim Yar Khan, Punjab, Pakistan, 2019. Farm-worker Shahida Parveen collecting water for her livestock.

A Water Stewardship Plan has five parts:

  1. Mapping and understanding water resources
  2. Managing soil moisture
  3. Using efficient irrigation practices to optimise water productivity
  4. Managing water quality
  5. Engaging in collaboration and collective action to promote sustainable water use

Good water stewards understand both their own water use and the catchment context (areas in the landscape where water flows through and is stored, i.e., an aquifer or river basin). By understanding water use in their production area, farmers can practise good water management at the farm level and also take collective action with other water users, such as local communities and authorities


The Impact of Better Cotton Water Stewardship

In the 2018-2019 cotton season, Better Cotton Farmers in four countries used less water for irrigation than Comparison Farmers — from 6% less in Tajikistan to 13% less in India.

WAPRO: A Global Water Stewardship Initiative

One way we address the issue of water in cotton production is by taking part in a unique multi-stakeholder partnership called WAPRO. Led by Helvetas, WAPRO spans 16 countries across Asia and Africa, bringing together 22 partners from the public and private sector.

Using a push-pull strategy that combines market incentives and public policy advocacy with on-the-ground farmer training, the project encourages water stewardship and action at every level of the global supply chain. 

Helvetas and the Alliance for Water Stewardship implemented the WAPRO framework in Tajikistan. Through the initiative, some farmers invested in tubular irrigation to help direct water to their plants more precisely. This tactic enabled Better Cotton Farmer Sharipov Habibullo to save 1.8 million litres of water per hectare of cotton in the 2018-19 cotton season, or roughly two-thirds of an Olympic swimming pool. Read Sharipov’s story

Water stewardship in practice in India

In Gujarat, India, monsoon rains are becoming less predictable, making water for farming harder to come by. Our Implementing Partner in the region — the Coastal Salinity Prevention Cell (CSPC) — translated the Better Cotton water stewardship vision into on-the-ground action, supporting 11,000 Better Cotton Farmers in the area. 

Implemented through the WAPRO project, the CSPC team taught water-saving practices to farmers, including drip and sprinkler irrigation technologies that direct smaller, more exact amounts of water to crops. CSPC also promoted irrigating alternate furrows (small trenches). With this technique, farmers plant crops on ridges and only need to irrigate every other furrow in between. On the community level, CSPC played a game with around 6,500 children at local schools that taught key messages about sustainable water use.

The-Sustainable-Development-Goals-Report-2020_Page_13_0

How Better Cotton Contributes to the Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) outline a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 6 states that we should ‘ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all’. Through our water stewardship approach, the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria help farmers understand existing and future water risks when developing climate adaptation strategies for water management. By supporting farmers in developing Water Stewardship Plans that consider pesticide application, fertilisation and soil management, we are helping communities around the world protect and conserve precious water resources.

Learn More

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site