مصدر الصورة: قطن أفضل / Vibhor Yadav

الموقع: كودينار ، غوجارات ، الهند.

يواجه حوالي نصف مليار شخص حول العالم حاليًا ندرة حادة في المياه ، ويعيش ما يقرب من نصف سكان العالم في مناطق تلوث فيها المياه العذبة. يعد الاهتمام بمواردنا المائية - محليًا وعالميًا - أحد أكبر تحديات الاستدامة في عصرنا.

في Better Cotton ، نعتقد أن الحلول تتطلب نهجًا للإشراف على المياه حيث تفيد الإجراءات الفردية والجماعية كل من الناس والطبيعة.

كيف يؤثر إنتاج القطن على الموارد المائية

القطن هو أ تتحمل الجفاف نسبيًا محصول بعلي بالكامل في العديد من المناطق التي ينمو فيها. ومع ذلك ، فإن ما يقرب من نصف مساحة إنتاجها يتطلب نوعًا من الري ، وبما أن المياه العذبة أصبحت موردًا نادرًا وثمينًا بشكل متزايد ، فمن الأهمية بمكان ضمان استخدامها بطرق مستدامة. يمكن أن يكون لممارسات الري السيئة ، أو سوء إدارة المياه بشكل عام ، آثار مدمرة وطويلة الأجل على الأنشطة الزراعية ، وعلى بيئة حوض المياه بأكملها وعلى المجتمعات الأوسع التي تشارك مواردها المائية.

يؤثر إنتاج القطن على موارد المياه العذبة بعدة طرق:

  • يرأس كمية الماء تستخدم للري (السطحية والجوفية على حد سواء)
  • يرأس استخدام مياه الأمطار مخزنة في الأرض
  • جودة المياه بسبب استخدام الكيماويات الزراعية (مبيدات الآفات والأسمدة)

من خلال تنفيذ ممارسات الزراعة المستدامة ، يمكن للمزارعين تعلم كيفية استخدام المياه بكفاءة في كل من المزارع البعلية والمروية لتحقيق غلات أكبر واستهلاك كميات أقل من المياه وتلويثها. لا يساهم هذا في زيادة استخدام المياه بشكل مستدام فحسب ، بل يساعد المزارعين أيضًا على تحسين سبل عيشهم وبناء المرونة في مواجهة تغير المناخ - وهو أمر سيصبح مهمًا بشكل متزايد مع اشتداد الضغط على إمدادات المياه.

يوفر نظام المعايير الأفضل للقطن للمزارعين إطارًا شاملاً لاستخدام المياه بطريقة تحسن الغلات مع الحفاظ على الموارد لهم ولمجتمعهم.

تتطلب مبادئ ومعايير القطن الأفضل من مزارعي القطن الأفضل تطوير خطة إشراف على المياه لمساعدتهم على تنفيذ مبادئ إدارة المياه هذه.

مصدر الصورة: Better Cotton / Khaula Jamil الموقع: رحيم يار خان ، البنجاب ، باكستان ، 2019. عاملة المزرعة شهيدة بارفين تجمع المياه من أجل ماشيتها.

تتكون خطة الإشراف على المياه من خمسة أجزاء:

  1. رسم خرائط وفهم موارد المياه
  2. إدارة رطوبة التربة
  3. استخدام ممارسات الري الفعالة لتحسين إنتاجية المياه
  4. إدارة جودة المياه
  5. الانخراط في التعاون والعمل الجماعي لتعزيز الاستخدام المستدام للمياه

يفهم المشرفون الجيدون على المياه كلاً من استخدامهم للمياه وسياق مستجمعات المياه (المناطق في المناظر الطبيعية حيث تتدفق المياه وتخزن ، أي طبقة المياه الجوفية أو حوض النهر). من خلال فهم استخدام المياه في منطقة الإنتاج الخاصة بهم ، يمكن للمزارعين ممارسة الإدارة الجيدة للمياه على مستوى المزرعة وأيضًا اتخاذ إجراءات جماعية مع مستخدمي المياه الآخرين ، مثل المجتمعات والسلطات المحلية


تأثير الإشراف الأفضل على مياه القطن

في موسم القطن 2018-2019 ، استخدم مزارعو القطن الأفضل في أربعة بلدان كمية أقل من المياه للري مقارنة بالمزارعين المقارنة - من 6٪ أقل في طاجيكستان إلى 13٪ أقل في الهند.

WAPRO: مبادرة عالمية للإشراف على المياه

تتمثل إحدى الطرق التي نعالج بها مشكلة المياه في إنتاج القطن في المشاركة في شراكة فريدة متعددة أصحاب المصلحة تسمى وابرو. بقيادة هيلفيتاس، WAPRO يمتد إلى 16 دولة عبر آسيا وأفريقيا ، ويجمع 22 شريكًا من القطاعين العام والخاص.

باستخدام استراتيجية الدفع والسحب التي تجمع بين حوافز السوق والدعوة للسياسة العامة مع تدريب المزارعين على الأرض ، يشجع المشروع الإشراف على المياه والعمل على كل مستوى من مستويات سلسلة التوريد العالمية. 

هيلفيتاس و التحالف من أجل الإشراف على المياه نفذت إطار WAPRO في طاجيكستان. من خلال هذه المبادرة ، استثمر بعض المزارعين في الري الأنبوبي للمساعدة في توجيه المياه إلى نباتاتهم بشكل أكثر دقة. مكّن هذا التكتيك مزارع القطن الأفضل شاريبوف حبيبلو من توفير 1.8 مليون لتر من المياه لكل هكتار من القطن في موسم القطن 2018-19 ، أو ما يقرب من ثلثي حوض السباحة الأولمبي. اقرأ قصة شاريبوف

الإشراف على المياه في الممارسة العملية في الهند

في ولاية غوجارات بالهند ، أصبحت الأمطار الموسمية أقل قابلية للتنبؤ ، مما يجعل الحصول على المياه للزراعة أكثر صعوبة. شريكنا المنفذ في المنطقة - ال خلية منع الملوحة الساحلية (CSPC) - قامت بترجمة رؤية أفضل للإشراف على مياه القطن إلى عمل على أرض الواقع ، ودعم 11,000 مزارع قطن أفضل في المنطقة. 

قام فريق CSPC ، الذي تم تنفيذه من خلال مشروع WAPRO ، بتعليم ممارسات توفير المياه للمزارعين ، بما في ذلك تقنيات الري بالتنقيط والرش التي توجه كميات أصغر وأكثر دقة من المياه إلى المحاصيل. كما شجعت CSPC على ري الأخاديد البديلة (الخنادق الصغيرة). باستخدام هذه التقنية ، يزرع المزارعون المحاصيل على التلال ويحتاجون فقط إلى ري كل ثلم آخر بينهما. على مستوى المجتمع ، لعبت CSPC لعبة مع حوالي 6,500 طفل في المدارس المحلية والتي قامت بتعليم رسائل رئيسية حول الاستخدام المستدام للمياه.

تقرير-أهداف-التنمية المستدامة -2020_Page_13_0

كيف يساهم القطن الأفضل في أهداف التنمية المستدامة

تحدد أهداف الأمم المتحدة السبعة عشر للتنمية المستدامة (SDG) مخططًا عالميًا لتحقيق مستقبل مستدام. ينص الهدف 17 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة على أنه يجب علينا "ضمان توافر المياه والصرف الصحي للجميع وإدارتها بشكل مستدام". من خلال نهج الإشراف على المياه لدينا ، تساعد مبادئ ومعايير القطن الأفضل المزارعين على فهم مخاطر المياه الحالية والمستقبلية عند تطوير استراتيجيات التكيف مع المناخ لإدارة المياه. من خلال دعم المزارعين في تطوير خطط الإشراف على المياه التي تنظر في استخدام مبيدات الآفات والتسميد وإدارة التربة ، فإننا نساعد المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم على حماية موارد المياه الثمينة والحفاظ عليها.

اعرف المزيد

الصورة الائتمان: تم أخذ جميع أيقونات ورسومات أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة (UN SDG) من موقع ويب الأمم المتحدة SDG. لم توافق الأمم المتحدة على محتوى هذا الموقع ولا يعكس آراء الأمم المتحدة أو مسؤوليها أو الدول الأعضاء.

Photo Credit: Better cotton/Vibhor Yadav

Location: Kodinar, Gujarat, India.

About half a billion people around the world currently face severe water scarcity, and nearly half of the global population lives in regions where freshwater is polluted. Caring for our water resources — both locally and globally — is one of the biggest sustainability challenges of our times.

At Better Cotton, we believe that solutions require a water stewardship approach where individual and collective actions benefit both people and nature.

How Cotton Production Impacts Water Resources

Cotton is a relatively drought tolerant crop and is entirely rainfed in many regions where it grows. However, approximately half of its production area requires some sort of irrigation, and as freshwater becomes an increasingly scarce and precious resource,  it is critical to ensure it is used in sustainable ways. Poor irrigation practices, or poor water management more generally, can have devastating, long-term effects on farming activities, on the whole water basin’s environment and on the broader communities who share its water resources.

Cotton production impacts freshwater resources in a few ways:

  • The quantity of water used for irrigation (both surface and groundwater)
  • The use of rainwater stored in land
  • Water quality due to the use of agrochemicals (pesticides and fertilisers)

By implementing sustainable farming practices, farmers can learn how to use water efficiently on both rainfed and irrigated farms to achieve greater yields and consume and pollute less water. This not only contributes to more sustainable water use but also helps farmers improve their livelihoods and build resilience to climate change — something that will become increasingly important as pressure on water supply intensifies.

The Better Cotton Standard System provides farmers with a comprehensive framework for using water in a way that improves yields while conserving resources for them and their community.

The Better Cotton Principles and Criteria require Better Cotton farmers to develop a Water Stewardship Plan to help them implement these water management principles.

Photo Credit: Better Cotton/Khaula Jamil Location: Rahim Yar Khan, Punjab, Pakistan, 2019. Farm-worker Shahida Parveen collecting water for her livestock.

A Water Stewardship Plan has five parts:

  1. Mapping and understanding water resources
  2. Managing soil moisture
  3. Using efficient irrigation practices to optimise water productivity
  4. Managing water quality
  5. Engaging in collaboration and collective action to promote sustainable water use

Good water stewards understand both their own water use and the catchment context (areas in the landscape where water flows through and is stored, i.e., an aquifer or river basin). By understanding water use in their production area, farmers can practise good water management at the farm level and also take collective action with other water users, such as local communities and authorities


The Impact of Better Cotton Water Stewardship

In the 2018-2019 cotton season, Better Cotton Farmers in four countries used less water for irrigation than Comparison Farmers — from 6% less in Tajikistan to 13% less in India.

WAPRO: A Global Water Stewardship Initiative

One way we address the issue of water in cotton production is by taking part in a unique multi-stakeholder partnership called WAPRO. Led by Helvetas, WAPRO spans 16 countries across Asia and Africa, bringing together 22 partners from the public and private sector.

Using a push-pull strategy that combines market incentives and public policy advocacy with on-the-ground farmer training, the project encourages water stewardship and action at every level of the global supply chain. 

Helvetas and the Alliance for Water Stewardship implemented the WAPRO framework in Tajikistan. Through the initiative, some farmers invested in tubular irrigation to help direct water to their plants more precisely. This tactic enabled Better Cotton Farmer Sharipov Habibullo to save 1.8 million litres of water per hectare of cotton in the 2018-19 cotton season, or roughly two-thirds of an Olympic swimming pool. Read Sharipov’s story

Water stewardship in practice in India

In Gujarat, India, monsoon rains are becoming less predictable, making water for farming harder to come by. Our Implementing Partner in the region — the Coastal Salinity Prevention Cell (CSPC) — translated the Better Cotton water stewardship vision into on-the-ground action, supporting 11,000 Better Cotton Farmers in the area. 

Implemented through the WAPRO project, the CSPC team taught water-saving practices to farmers, including drip and sprinkler irrigation technologies that direct smaller, more exact amounts of water to crops. CSPC also promoted irrigating alternate furrows (small trenches). With this technique, farmers plant crops on ridges and only need to irrigate every other furrow in between. On the community level, CSPC played a game with around 6,500 children at local schools that taught key messages about sustainable water use.

The-Sustainable-Development-Goals-Report-2020_Page_13_0

How Better Cotton Contributes to the Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) outline a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 6 states that we should ‘ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all’. Through our water stewardship approach, the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria help farmers understand existing and future water risks when developing climate adaptation strategies for water management. By supporting farmers in developing Water Stewardship Plans that consider pesticide application, fertilisation and soil management, we are helping communities around the world protect and conserve precious water resources.

Learn More

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site