这是 Better Cotton 的改善计划。 2030 年战略确定了我们十年计划的方向,使棉花对生产棉花的农民以及所有与该行业未来有关的人都更好。


今天,世界上近四分之一的棉花是根据良好棉花标准生产的,2.4 万棉农接受了可持续农业实践的培训,并获得种植良好棉花的许可。 我们对可持续世界的愿景似乎触手可及,棉农和工人知道如何应对气候变化、环境威胁甚至全球流行病。 新一代的棉花种植社区将能够过上体面的生活,在供应链中拥有强大的话语权,并满足消费者对更可持续棉花不断增长的需求。 2021 年 2030 月,我们推出了雄心勃勃的 XNUMX 年战略,以及五个影响目标中的第一个。 

Better Cotton 首席执行官 Alan McClay,作者 Jay Louvion。

除了我们的 2030 战略之外,我们还很自豪地推出了我们的第一个气候变化减缓目标。 到 2030 年,我们的目标是将每生产一吨良好棉花的温室气体排放量减少 50%。

Better Cotton 首席执行官艾伦·麦克莱 (Alan McClay)


PDF
11.48 MB

更好的棉花 2030 战略

更好的棉花 2030 战略
这是 Better Cotton 的改善计划。
下载
PDF
203.76 KB

2030年战略总结

2030年战略总结
良好棉花 2030 年战略的一页摘要,概述了良好棉花的使命、战略目标、关键主题和影响目标。
下载

我们的战略目标

我们的目标是如何使这一愿景成为现实?

我们将嵌入可持续农业实践和政策

我们的实地合作伙伴提供的培训是我们创新农业方法的核心。 它将积极促进土壤健康、水资源管理、碳捕获和生物多样性。 我们将鼓励政府、农业推广服务和监管机构参与其中。 

我们将提高福祉和经济发展

我们希望棉花种植在经济上可行,尤其是对小农而言。 更好的耕作方法不仅仅是更好的土壤和更好的作物。 它们意味着生活工资、体面的工作条件、获得申诉和补救渠道的机会、赋予性别权力和结束强迫劳动。 整个农业社区必须受益。

我们将推动全球对可持续棉花的需求 

我们将鼓励供应商、制造商、零售商和品牌商采购良好棉花。 我们将尽一切努力为农业社区提供越来越多的市场准入,以获取他们的需求作物。 我们将在消费者中建立对良好棉花的认识、兴趣和偏好。 


影响目标

2030 战略包括五个新的影响目标领域,以供衡量和报告。 每个领域的影响目标都将提供衡量标准,以确保到 2030 年在实地层面产生更大的明显影响和渐进的、可衡量的变化。这些新承诺与 2030 年可持续发展目标一致,并以 COP26 达成的协议为基础,以实现可操作的气候缓解棉花种植社区的成果。

2021 年 50 月,我们启动了首个气候变化减缓目标,该目标旨在到 2030 年将每生产一吨良好棉花的温室气体排放量减少 2022%。另外四个影响目标——土壤健康、农药使用、小农生计和妇女赋权——将于 XNUMX 年底宣布。

缓解气候变化

减少棉花生产中的温室气体排放,并使农民能够为应对气候危机的解决方案做出贡献。

目标:到 2030 年,我们的目标是将每生产一吨良好棉花的温室气体排放量减少 50%。

了解有关良好棉花和温室气体排放的更多信息.

小农生计

通过提高农民和农场工人对气候变化、全球棉花贸易波动和 COVID 大流行影响的抵御能力,为消除农民贫困做出积极贡献。

了解有关良好棉花和体面工作的更多信息.

土壤健康

改善土壤健康,以提高环境对气候变化的适应能力,同时提高生产力并对农民收入产生积极影响。

了解有关良好棉花和土壤健康的更多信息.

妇女的赋权

减少性别不平等和歧视,同时更好地认识和学习女性的专业知识和潜力,以加快应对一系列紧迫的环境、社会和经济挑战的影响。

了解有关良好棉花和性别平等的更多信息。

农药使用

减少农药用量和毒性,造福人类健康和农民收入,减少农药流失造成的土壤和水污染。 与此同时,再次强调增加采用综合害虫管理实践。

了解有关良好棉花、杀虫剂和作物保护的更多信息.

这些渐进的新指标将允许在五个关键领域进行更好的衡量,以确保棉花种植社区在农场层面获得更大的持久经济、环境和社会效益。

This is Better Cotton’s agenda for change for the better. The 2030 Strategy sets the direction of our ten-year plan to make cotton better for the farmers who produce it and for all those who have a stake in the future of the sector.


Today almost a quarter of the world’s cotton is produced under the Better Cotton Standard, and 2.4 million cotton farmers have been trained in sustainable farming practices and are licensed to grow Better Cotton. Our vision of a sustainable world, where cotton farmers and workers know how to cope – with climate change, threats to the environment and even global pandemics – seems within reach. A new generation of cotton farming communities will be able to make a decent living, have a strong voice in the supply chain and meet growing consumer demand for more sustainable cotton. In December 2021, we launched our ambitious 2030 Strategy, along with the first of five impact targets. 

Better Cotton CEO, Alan McClay, by Jay Louvion.

Alongside our 2030 Strategy, we are proud to launch our first ever Climate Change Mitigation Target. By 2030, we aim to reduce greenhouse gas emissions per tonne of Better Cotton produced by 50%.

Alan McClay, CEO, Better Cotton


PDF
11.48 MB

Better Cotton 2030 Strategy

Better Cotton 2030 Strategy
This is Better Cotton’s agenda for change for the better.
Download
PDF
203.76 KB

2030 Strategy Summary

2030 Strategy Summary
One-page summary of Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy, outlining Better Cotton’s mission, strategic aims, key themes and impact targets.
Download

Our Strategic Aims

How do we aim to make this vision a reality?

We will embed sustainable farming practices and policies

The training that our field-level partners deliver is central to our innovative approach to farming. It will actively promote soil health, water stewardship, carbon capture and biodiversity. We will encourage governments, agricultural extension services and regulators to be part of the journey. 

We will enhance well-being and economic development

We want cotton farming to be economically viable, especially for smallholders. Better farming practices are not just about better soil and better crops. They mean living wages, decent working conditions, access to grievance and remediation channels, gender empowerment and the end of forced labour. Whole farming communities must benefit.

We will drive global demand for sustainable cotton 

We will encourage suppliers, manufacturers, retailers and brands to source Better Cotton. We will do everything we can to give farming communities more and more market access for their in-demand crop. We will build awareness, interest and preference for Better Cotton among consumers. 


Impact targets

The 2030 Strategy consists of five new impact target areas to measure and report on. Impact targets in each of these areas will provide metrics to ensure greater demonstrable impact and progressive, measurable change at the field level by 2030. These new commitments align with the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals and build on the agreements reached at COP26 to reach actionable climate mitigation outcomes for cotton farming communities.

In December 2021, we launched our first-ever Climate Change Mitigation Target, which has been set to reduce greenhouse gas emissions per tonne of Better Cotton produced by 50% by 2030. The four additional impact targets – soil health, pesticide use, smallholder livelihoods and women’s empowerment – will be announced by the end of 2022.

Climate change mitigation

Reduce GHG emissions in cotton production and equip farmers to contribute to solutions that tackle the climate crisis.

Target: By 2030, we aim to reduce greenhouse gas emissions per tonne of Better Cotton produced by 50%.

Learn more about Better Cotton and GHG emissions.

Smallholder livelihoods

Make a positive contribution to the eradication of farmer poverty by improving the resilience of farmers and farm workers to the effects of climate change, as well as fluctuations in the global cotton trade and the COVID pandemic.

Learn more about Better Cotton and decent work.

Soil health

Improve soil health to increase the environment’s resilience to climate change while enhancing productivity and positively affecting farmer income.

Learn more about Better Cotton and soil health.

Women’s empowerment

Reduce gender inequality and discrimination while better recognising and learning from women’s expertise and potential to accelerate impact across a range of pressing environmental, social and economic challenges.

Learn more about Better Cotton and gender equality.

Pesticide use

Reduce the volume and toxicity of pesticides used in order to benefit human health and farmer incomes, as well as reduce soil and water pollution caused by pesticide run-off. This is alongside a renewed emphasis on increasing the adoption of Integrated Pest Management practices.

Learn more about Better Cotton, pesticides and crop protection.

These progressive new metrics will allow better measurement across five key areas to ensure greater lasting economic, environmental, and social benefits at farm level for cotton growing communities.