فكرة عامة

إن إشراك الأشخاص العاملين في الزراعة للحصول على فهم واضح وشامل للتحديات التي يواجهونها في عملهم ، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بقضايا العمل ، هو مفتاح القدرة على تقديم حلول فعالة. ومع ذلك ، في المناطق الزراعية الريفية المتناثرة ، يمكن أن تكون هذه مهمة صعبة باستخدام طرق التوعية التقليدية. لقد جعل جائحة Covid-19 هذه المشاركة أكثر تعقيدًا. لكن الهواتف المحمولة في جيوب المزارعين وعمال المزارع توفر طريقة فريدة للاستماع مباشرة من الأشخاص المعنيين بالزراعة ، باستخدام أدوات تعتمد على "تقنية صوت العمال".

تم تصميم هذه التكنولوجيا للاستماع مباشرة من العمال في ظروف العمل عبر هواتفهم المحمولة ، ويمكن أن تأخذ شكل آليات ردود الفعل أحادية الاتجاه ، أو تذهب أبعد من ذلك لتمكين الاتصالات ثنائية الاتجاه. يمكن بعد ذلك استخدام المعلومات التي تم جمعها من المزارعين وعمال المزارع لفهم ممارسات العمل ومخاطر العمل بشكل أفضل ، ولإثراء التقييمات وبناء القدرات.

الصورة: CABI

بدأت BCI في استكشاف كيفية استخدام هذا في عملها من خلال طيار في مقاطعة السند ، باكستان. هدفت التجربة ، التي جرت على مدار أسبوعين في أبريل 2021 ، إلى فهم ما إذا كان صوت العمال والتقنيات ذات الصلة قابلة للتطبيق في البيئات الزراعية حيث تعمل BCI.

بالنسبة للطيار ، دخلت BCI في شراكة مع Ulula، مزود تكنولوجيا صوت العامل. أنشأ كل من BCI و Ulula استبيانًا يعتمد على الهاتف المحمول يتضمن "الاستجابة الصوتية التفاعلية" (IVR). تناولت أسئلة المسح ممارسات العمل ، واستخدام مبيدات الآفات ، واعتماد الممارسات الزراعية ، وحضور التدريب ، مع أسئلة موجهة للمزارعين وعمال المزارع. قدمت ردود الاستطلاع رؤى رئيسية حول الممارسات الزراعية والعمالية التي تم التحقيق فيها بشكل أكبر خلال تقييمات ترخيص المنتجين في المنطقة.

وشملت الأسئلة:

  • "هل تم تدريبك على كيفية تطبيق المبيدات بأمان؟".
  • "هل تلقيت قرضًا نقديًا أو سلفة على الراتب؟"
  • "كم مرة تقوم بفحص حالة التربة الخاصة بك؟"
  • "كيف تقرر ما إذا كنت تريد رش المبيدات في المزرعة؟"

باستخدام نهج الرد الصوتي التفاعلي ، يجيب المشاركون على أسئلة الاختيار من متعدد على هواتفهم المحمولة باستخدام لوحة المفاتيح الخاصة بهم. ثم يتلقون مكالمة صوتية مجانية إلى هواتفهم وبعد ذلك يتم تشغيل رسالة آلية ، والحصول أولاً على موافقة المشارك ، ثم طرح سلسلة من الأسئلة المسجلة مسبقًا. تم استخدام استطلاع IVR لتسهيل مشاركة المجموعات منخفضة القراءة والكتابة ، ولأنه لا يتطلب من المشاركين استخدام الهاتف الذكي أو البيانات الخلوية.

الصورة: CABI

بدعم من الشريك المنفذ BCI طويل الأجل CABI، تم نشر المسح عبر الهاتف على مدار أسبوعين. استفادت أنشطة التوعية للإعلان عن المسح من التدريبات الشخصية المخطط لها بالفعل للمزارعين وعمال المزارع. قام موظفو CABI الميدانيون أيضًا بالترويج للمسح من خلال مجموعات WhatsApp للمزارعين ، ونشر النشرات ، والتسجيل المسبق للمستجيبين المهتمين. كما تم الإعلان عن جائزة يانصيب صغيرة لرصيد الهاتف وتوزيعها بشكل عشوائي على عينة من المشاركين.

تم تلقي ما يقرب من 500 رد على الاستبيان من 332 مزارعًا و 136 عاملًا زراعيًا حيث شكلت النساء 22٪ من جميع المستجيبين. اتبع الاستطلاع منطق تخطي ، مما يضمن أن المستجيبين لم يتلقوا سوى الأسئلة ذات الصلة بهم بناءً على الإجابات السابقة - إذا تمت الإجابة على جميع الأسئلة ، فسيستغرق الاستبيان أقل من 10 دقائق لإكماله. تم إخفاء هوية جميع ردود الاستطلاع بالكامل مع إزالة البيانات الشخصية القابلة للتحديد ، مثل أرقام الهواتف ، من البيانات.

كخطوة تالية ، ستستكشف BCI كيف يمكن استخدام تقنية صوت العمال في المناطق المستهدفة لفهم ممارسات المزارعين ومخاطر العمل بشكل أفضل ، ولإبلاغ التقييمات وبناء القدرات.

بينما اعتمد الطيار في الغالب على قناة استجابة أحادية الاتجاه من المشاركين إلى BCI ، في المستقبل ، يمكن استخدام ميزات إضافية لتمكين الاتصال المستمر ثنائي الاتجاه بين BCI ، والشركاء المنفذين ، والمزارع وعمال المزارع. على المدى الطويل ، من خلال الثقة والمشاركة الراسخة ، يمكن استكشاف هذا النهج بشكل أكبر ليكون بمثابة قناة للمزارعين والعاملين لإثارة المخاوف أو المظالم والوصول إلى الحلول. كان هذا المشروع ممكنًا بفضل منحة من صندوق ISEAL للابتكارات، الذي يدعمه أمانة الدولة السويسرية للشؤون الاقتصادية - SECO.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

General

Engaging people working in agriculture to get a clear, comprehensive understanding of the challenges they face in their work, especially on labour issues, is key to being able to provide effective solutions. In rural, dispersed farming areas, however, this can be a difficult task using traditional outreach methods. The Covid-19 pandemic has made this engagement even more complicated. But the mobile phones in the pockets of farmers and farm workers offer a unique way to hear directly from people involved with agriculture, using tools based on ‘Worker Voice Technology’.

This technology is designed to hear directly from workers on working conditions via their mobile phone, and can either take the form of one-way feedback mechanisms, or go further to enable two-way communications. The information gathered from farmers and farm workers can then be used to better understand working practices and labour risks, and to inform assessments and capacity building.

Photo: CABI

BCI has begun to explore how this can be used in its work through a pilot in Sindh province, Pakistan. The pilot, which took place over two weeks in April 2021, aimed to understand whether worker voice and related technologies are applicable in the agricultural settings where BCI works.

For the pilot, BCI partnered with Ulula, a provider of Worker Voice Technology. BCI and Ulula created a mobile phone-based survey incorporating ‘Interactive Voice Response’ (IVR). Survey questions addressed labour practices, pesticide use, agricultural practice adoption, and training attendance, with questions targeted to farmers and farm workers. The survey responses provided key insights into agronomic and labour practices which were further investigated during the producer licensing assessments in the area.

Questions included:

  • ‘Have you been trained on how to apply pesticides safely?’.
  • ‘Did you receive a cash loan or a wage advance?’
  • ‘How often do you check the condition of your soil?’
  • ‘How do you decide whether to apply pesticides on the farm?’

Using the IVR approach, respondents answer multiple-choice questions on their cell phones using their keypad. They then receive a free voice call to their phone after which an automated message plays, first getting the participant’s consent, and then asking a series of pre-recorded questions. An IVR survey was used to make it easier for low literacy groups to participate, and because it does not require participants to use a smartphone or cellular data.

Photo: CABI

With the support of long-term BCI Implementing Partner CABI, the phone survey was deployed over a two-week period. Outreach activities to publicise the survey capitalised on already planned in-person trainings for farmers and farm workers. CABI field staff also promoted the survey through farmer WhatsApp groups, posting flyers, and pre-registering interested respondents. A small raffle prize of a phone credit was also advertised and distributed randomly to a sample of participants.

Nearly 500 survey responses were received from 332 farmers and 136 farm workers with women composing 22% of all respondents. The survey followed a skip logic, ensuring that respondents only received questions relevant to them based on past answers – if all questions were answered, the survey would take less than 10 minutes to complete. All survey responses were fully anonymised with identifiable personal data, like phone numbers, removed from the data.

As a next step, BCI will explore how Worker Voice Technology can be used in targeted areas to better understand farmer practices and labour risks, and to inform assessments and capacity building.

While the pilot relied mostly on a one-way response channel from participants to BCI, in the future, additional features could be employed to enable ongoing two-way communication between BCI, its Implementing Partners, and farmer and farm workers. In the long term, with established trust and engagement, this approach can be further explored to serve as a channel for farmers and workers to raise concerns or grievances and access remedies.This project was possible thanks to a grant from the ISEAL Innovations Fund, which is supported by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs – SECO.

Translate »