一般

让从事农业工作的人们清楚、全面地了解他们在工作中面临的挑战,尤其是劳工问题,是能够提供有效解决方案的关键。 然而,在农村、分散的农业地区,使用传统的外展方法可能是一项艰巨的任务。 Covid-19 大流行使这种参与变得更加复杂。 但是农民和农场工人口袋里的手机提供了一种独特的方式,可以使用基于“工人语音技术”的工具直接听取农业相关人员的意见。

这项技术旨在通过手机直接听取工人关于工作条件的意见,可以采用单向反馈机制的形式,也可以进一步实现双向通信。 然后可以使用从农民和农场工人那里收集的信息来更好地了解工作实践和劳动风险,并为评估和能力建设提供信息。

照片:CABI

BCI 已开始通过在巴基斯坦信德省的试点探索如何将其用于其工作。 该试点于 2021 年 XNUMX 月进行了两个多星期,旨在了解工人的声音和相关技术是否适用于 BCI 工作的农业环境。

对于试点,BCI 与 乌鲁拉, Worker Voice Technology 的提供商。 BCI 和 Ulula 创建了一项基于手机的调查,其中包含“交互式语音响应”(IVR)。 调查问题涉及劳动实践、农药使用、农业实践采用和培训出勤,问题针对农民和农场工人。 调查答复提供了对农艺和劳工实践的重要见解,在该地区的生产者许可评估期间进一步调查了这些见解。

问题包括:

  • “您是否接受过如何安全使用杀虫剂的培训?”。
  • “你收到现金贷款还是预支工资?”
  • “你多久检查一次土壤的状况?”
  • “你如何决定是否在农场使用杀虫剂?”

使用 IVR 方法,受访者使用键盘在手机上回答多项选择题。 然后他们会收到一个免费语音电话,然后播放一条自动消息,首先征得参与者的同意,然后询问一系列预先录制的问题。 IVR 调查用于让低文化群体更容易参与,因为它不需要参与者使用智能手机或蜂窝数据。

照片:CABI

在长期 BCI 实施伙伴的支持下 CABI,电话调查部署了两周时间。 宣传调查的外展活动充分利用了已计划的针对农民和农场工人的面对面培训。 CABI 现场工作人员还通过农民 WhatsApp 群组、张贴传单和预先注册感兴趣的受访者来宣传调查。 还发布了电话积分的小抽奖活动,并随机分发给参与者样本。

收到了来自 500 名农民和 332 名农场工人的近 136 份调查答复,其中女性占所有答复者的 22%。 调查遵循跳过逻辑,确保受访者仅收到基于过去答案的与他们相关的问题——如果所有问题都得到回答,调查将在 10 分钟内完成。 所有调查回复都完全匿名,并从数据中删除了可识别的个人数据,例如电话号码。

下一步,BCI 将探索如何在目标领域使用工人语音技术,以更好地了解农民的做法和劳动力风险,并为评估和能力建设提供信息。

虽然试点主要依赖于从参与者到 BCI 的单向响应渠道,但在未来,可以采用其他功能来实现 BCI、其实施合作伙伴以及农民和农场工人之间持续的双向沟通​​。 从长远来看,在建立信任和参与的情况下,可以进一步探索这种方法,作为农民和工人提出疑虑或不满并获得补救的渠道。该项目之所以成为可能,要归功于政府的资助。 ISEAL创新基金,由 瑞士国家经济事务秘书处 - SECO.

分享此页

General

Engaging people working in agriculture to get a clear, comprehensive understanding of the challenges they face in their work, especially on labour issues, is key to being able to provide effective solutions. In rural, dispersed farming areas, however, this can be a difficult task using traditional outreach methods. The Covid-19 pandemic has made this engagement even more complicated. But the mobile phones in the pockets of farmers and farm workers offer a unique way to hear directly from people involved with agriculture, using tools based on ‘Worker Voice Technology’.

This technology is designed to hear directly from workers on working conditions via their mobile phone, and can either take the form of one-way feedback mechanisms, or go further to enable two-way communications. The information gathered from farmers and farm workers can then be used to better understand working practices and labour risks, and to inform assessments and capacity building.

Photo: CABI

BCI has begun to explore how this can be used in its work through a pilot in Sindh province, Pakistan. The pilot, which took place over two weeks in April 2021, aimed to understand whether worker voice and related technologies are applicable in the agricultural settings where BCI works.

For the pilot, BCI partnered with Ulula, a provider of Worker Voice Technology. BCI and Ulula created a mobile phone-based survey incorporating ‘Interactive Voice Response’ (IVR). Survey questions addressed labour practices, pesticide use, agricultural practice adoption, and training attendance, with questions targeted to farmers and farm workers. The survey responses provided key insights into agronomic and labour practices which were further investigated during the producer licensing assessments in the area.

Questions included:

  • ‘Have you been trained on how to apply pesticides safely?’.
  • ‘Did you receive a cash loan or a wage advance?’
  • ‘How often do you check the condition of your soil?’
  • ‘How do you decide whether to apply pesticides on the farm?’

Using the IVR approach, respondents answer multiple-choice questions on their cell phones using their keypad. They then receive a free voice call to their phone after which an automated message plays, first getting the participant’s consent, and then asking a series of pre-recorded questions. An IVR survey was used to make it easier for low literacy groups to participate, and because it does not require participants to use a smartphone or cellular data.

Photo: CABI

With the support of long-term BCI Implementing Partner CABI, the phone survey was deployed over a two-week period. Outreach activities to publicise the survey capitalised on already planned in-person trainings for farmers and farm workers. CABI field staff also promoted the survey through farmer WhatsApp groups, posting flyers, and pre-registering interested respondents. A small raffle prize of a phone credit was also advertised and distributed randomly to a sample of participants.

Nearly 500 survey responses were received from 332 farmers and 136 farm workers with women composing 22% of all respondents. The survey followed a skip logic, ensuring that respondents only received questions relevant to them based on past answers – if all questions were answered, the survey would take less than 10 minutes to complete. All survey responses were fully anonymised with identifiable personal data, like phone numbers, removed from the data.

As a next step, BCI will explore how Worker Voice Technology can be used in targeted areas to better understand farmer practices and labour risks, and to inform assessments and capacity building.

While the pilot relied mostly on a one-way response channel from participants to BCI, in the future, additional features could be employed to enable ongoing two-way communication between BCI, its Implementing Partners, and farmer and farm workers. In the long term, with established trust and engagement, this approach can be further explored to serve as a channel for farmers and workers to raise concerns or grievances and access remedies.This project was possible thanks to a grant from the ISEAL Innovations Fund, which is supported by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs – SECO.

Translate »