استدامة

التربة هي أحد أهم موارد كوكبنا. تعتبر التربة الصحية نقطة انطلاق لإنتاجية المزرعة واستدامتها ، وهذا هو السبب في أن صحة التربة هي واحدة من ستة مبادئ ومعايير أفضل للقطن ، والتي يلتزم بها مزارعو BCI.

يعمل بعض مزارعي BCI على تطوير هذا المبدأ من خلال تنفيذ ممارسات مبتكرة ، ليس فقط للاعتناء بصحة التربة ، ولكن أيضًا لإعادة شيء إلى التربة. Zeb Winslow هو أحد هؤلاء المزارعين.

يقع Zeb في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، وهو مزارع من الجيل الخامس يعطي الأولوية للحفاظ على التربة في مزرعة القطن التي تملكها عائلته. دائمًا ما تكون في طليعة الممارسات الزراعية الأكثر استدامة ، فقد تحولت الأسرة من الحراثة التقليدية منذ 17 عامًا إلى الحراثة الشريطية ، والتي يمكن أن توفر فوائد الحفاظ على التربة وكفاءتها ، بالإضافة إلى زيادة مقاومة التآكل. كما قاموا بتنفيذ ممارسات الإدارة المتكاملة للآفات لإدارة رش المبيدات الحشرية واستخدام أكبر عدد ممكن من الحشرات المفيدة.

ومع ذلك ، لم تتوقف الأسرة عند هذا الحد. إنهم الآن يقودون الطريق من خلال ممارسة زراعية تسمى "زراعة الغطاء". محصول الغطاء هو نوع من النباتات يُزرع بشكل أساسي للمساعدة في قمع الحشائش ، وإدارة تآكل التربة ، وتحسين جودة التربة ، ومكافحة الأمراض والآفات. ومع ذلك ، فهي ليست ممارسة شائعة في زراعة القطن ولكن هذا قد يكون على وشك التغيير في الولايات المتحدة.

إلى جانب Zeb ، هناك جيل جديد من المزارعين أكثر وعيًا بالبيئة وأكثر انفتاحًا على تجربة ممارسات جديدة. "تعد ولاية كارولينا الشمالية كولاية واحدة من أكبر الجهات التي تتبنى استخدام محاصيل الغطاء في الولايات المتحدة ، وفي جميع أنحاء البلاد نشهد حركة صحة التربة. مع محاصيل الغطاء ، يحاول الناس النظر إلى طريقة أكثر شمولية لمعالجة واستخدام تربتنا كمورد ثمين "، يعلق زيب.

"القطن محصول جشع ، يأخذ الكثير من الأرض ولا يعطي الكثير من المال. تساعد محاصيل الغطاء من خلال تغذية شيء ما مرة أخرى في الأرض خلال غير موسمها ، "يشرح. بعد أن استخدم محصولًا منفردًا لغطاء الحبوب لسنوات عديدة ، تحول Zeb إلى مزيج محصول متعدد الأنواع قبل أربع سنوات لزيادة كتلته الحيوية فوق الأرض. لوحظت فوائد هذه الطريقة على الفور ، وخلال السنة الأولى من استخدام محصول الغطاء متعدد الأنواع ، رأى Zeb زيادة في قمع الحشائش والاحتفاظ برطوبة التربة. ويعتقد أنه تمكن من خفض مدخلات مبيدات الأعشاب في نباتاته بنسبة 25٪ في العامين الماضيين. عندما تبدأ محاصيل الغطاء في دفع تكاليفها ، ويقلل زيب من مدخلاته من مبيدات الأعشاب ، قد تتحقق الفوائد الاقتصادية على المدى الطويل.

هل يدعم والد زيب ، المسمى أيضًا زيب وينسلو ، ومزارع القطن من الجيل السابق ، هذه الطريقة الجديدة؟ "في البداية اعتقدت أنها فكرة مجنونة. لكن الآن بعد أن رأيت الفوائد ، أصبحت أكثر اقتناعًا" كما يقول.

كما يوضح زيب ، ليس من السهل على المزارعين الابتعاد عن طرق الزراعة التقليدية والمثبتة ، وحتى وقت قريب ، لم يكن مزارعو القطن يعرفون الكثير عن بيولوجيا التربة. في السنوات العشر إلى الخمس عشرة الماضية ، تم قطع أشواط كبيرة في فهم ما يجري تحت الأرض. يعتقد زيب أنه مع زيادة المعرفة بالتربة ، سيكون المزارعون مجهزين بشكل أفضل للتوافق بشكل أفضل مع الطبيعة من خلال العمل مع التربة بدلاً من محاربتها.

مع التركيز على المستقبل والجيل القادم من مزارعي القطن في Winslow ، يعتقد Zeb أنه "في نهاية المطاف ، إذا كان هناك قطن ، فسيتعين إنتاجه بشكل مستدام ، كما هو الحال مع كل شيء آخر. مع زيادة عدد السكان ، ستقل مساحة الأراضي ، وبينما نحاول زيادة الغلات لتلبية الطلب ، من المهم أيضًا أن نضمن أن التربة ، كمورد حيوي ، موجودة للأجيال القادمة ".

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

BCI Farmers Stand at the Forefront of Soil Conservation

Soil is one of our planet’s most vital resources. Healthy soil is a starting point for farm productivity and sustainability, and that is why soil health is one of the six Better Cotton Principles and Criteria, which BCI Farmers adhere to.

Some BCI Farmers are advancing this principle by implementing innovative practices, in order to not only care for soil health, but also, to give something back to the soil. Zeb Winslow is one of these farmers.

Based in North Carolina, USA, Zeb is a fifth generation farmer who is prioritising soil conservation on his family’s cotton farm. Always at the forefront of more sustainable farming practices, the family switched from conventional tillage 17 years ago to strip-till, which can provide soil conservation and efficiency benefits, plus increased erosion resistance. They also implemented Integrated Pest Management practices to manage insecticide sprays and to utilise as many beneficial insects as possible.

However, the family didn’t stop there. They are now leading the way with a farming practice called ‘cover cropping’. A cover crop is a type of plant grown primarily to help suppress weeds, manage soil erosion, improve soil quality, and control diseases and pests. However, it is not a common practice in cotton farming but that could be about to change in the US.

Along with Zeb, there is a new generation of farmers who are more environmentally conscious and more open-minded to trying new practices. “North Carolina as a state is one of the larger adopters of cover crop use in the US, and across the entire country we are seeing a soil health movement. With cover crops, people are trying to look at a more holistic way of treating and using our soil as the valuable resource it is,” commented Zeb.

“Cotton is a greedy crop, it takes quite a lot from the ground and doesn’t give a whole lot back. Cover crops help by feeding something back into the land during the off season,” he explains. Having used a single grain cover crop for many years, Zeb switched to a multi-species cover crop blend four years ago to increase his above ground bio-mass further. The benefits of this method were noticed immediately, and within the first year of using a multi-species cover crop, Zeb saw increased weed suppression and soil moisture retention. He believes that he has been able to cut herbicide input on his plants by 25% in the past two years. As the cover crops begin to pay for themselves, and Zeb reduces his herbicide input, economic benefits may be realised in the longer-term.

Is Zeb’s father, also named Zeb Winslow, and a cotton farmer from the previous generation, supportive of this new method?In the beginning, I thought it was a crazy idea. But now that I’ve seen the benefits, I’ve become more convinced,” he said.

As Zeb explains, it isn’t easy for farmers to move away from traditional and proven farming methods, and until recently, cotton farmers didn’t know as much about soil biology. In the last 10 to 15 years, great strides have been made in understanding what’s going on under the ground. Zeb thinks that as soil knowledge increases, farmers will be better equipped to harmonise better with nature by working with the soil instead of fighting against it.

With an eye to the future and to the next generation of Winslow cotton farmers, Zeb believes that, “Eventually, if there is going to be cotton it is going to have to be sustainably produced, as is everything else. As the population increases there will be less and less land, and as we try to increase yields to meet demand it’s also important that we ensure soil, as a vital resource, is there for future generations.”