可持续性

土壤是我们这个星球上最重要的资源之一。 健康的土壤是农场生产力和可持续性的起点,这就是为什么土壤健康是 BCI 农民坚持的六项良好棉花原则和标准之一的原因。

一些 BCI 农民正在通过实施创新实践来推进这一原则,不仅要关心土壤健康,还要回馈土壤。 Zeb Winslow 就是这些农民之一。

Zeb 居住在美国北卡罗来纳州,是第五代农民,他将家庭棉花农场的土壤保护放在首位。 一直走在更可持续耕作实践的前沿,这个家庭在 17 年前从传统耕作转变为条耕,这可以提供土壤保护和效率效益,并增加抗侵蚀能力。 他们还实施了综合害虫管理实践来管理杀虫剂喷雾并尽可能多地利用有益昆虫。

然而,家人并没有就此止步。 他们现在正在引领一种称为“覆盖作物”的农业实践。 覆盖作物是一种主要用于帮助抑制杂草、控制水土流失、改善土壤质量以及控制病虫害的植物。 然而,这在棉花种植中并不常见,但在美国可能会发生变化。

与 Zeb 一起,出现了更具环保意识、更愿意尝试新做法的新一代农民。 “作为一个州,北卡罗来纳州是美国最大的采用覆盖作物的州之一,在全国范围内,我们都看到了土壤健康运动。 对于覆盖作物,人们正试图寻找一种更全面的方式来处理和利用我们的土壤,将其作为宝贵的资源,”Zeb 评论道。

“棉花是一种贪婪的作物,它需要大量的土地,而不会回馈很多。 覆盖作物有助于在淡季将一些东西送回土地,”他解释说。 在使用单一谷物覆盖作物多年后,四年前,Zeb 改用多物种覆盖作物混合物,以进一步增加他的地上生物量。 这种方法的好处立即引起了人们的注意,在使用多物种覆盖作物的第一年,Zeb 看到了杂草抑制和土壤水分保持的增加。 他相信,在过去两年中,他已经能够将他的植物中的除草剂投入量减少了 25%。 随着覆盖作物开始收回成本,Zeb 减少了除草剂的投入,从长远来看,经济效益可能会实现。

Zeb 的父亲,也叫 Zeb Winslow,是上一代的棉农,是否支持这种新方法?一开始,我认为这是一个疯狂的想法。 但现在我已经看到了好处,我变得更加确信他说。

正如 Zeb 解释的那样,农民要摆脱传统且经过验证的耕作方法并不容易,而且直到最近,棉农对土壤生物学的了解也不多。 在过去的 10 到 15 年里,在了解地下发生的事情方面取得了很大进展。 Zeb 认为,随着土壤知识的增加,农民将更有能力通过与土壤一起工作而不是与土壤作斗争来更好地与自然和谐相处。

着眼于未来和下一代温斯洛棉农,Zeb 认为,“最终,如果要种植棉花,就必须以可持续方式生产,其他一切也是如此。 随着人口的增加,土地将越来越少,当我们努力提高产量以满足需求时,确保土壤作为一种重要资源,为子孙后代留用也很重要。”

分享此页

BCI Farmers Stand at the Forefront of Soil Conservation

Soil is one of our planet’s most vital resources. Healthy soil is a starting point for farm productivity and sustainability, and that is why soil health is one of the six Better Cotton Principles and Criteria, which BCI Farmers adhere to.

Some BCI Farmers are advancing this principle by implementing innovative practices, in order to not only care for soil health, but also, to give something back to the soil. Zeb Winslow is one of these farmers.

Based in North Carolina, USA, Zeb is a fifth generation farmer who is prioritising soil conservation on his family’s cotton farm. Always at the forefront of more sustainable farming practices, the family switched from conventional tillage 17 years ago to strip-till, which can provide soil conservation and efficiency benefits, plus increased erosion resistance. They also implemented Integrated Pest Management practices to manage insecticide sprays and to utilise as many beneficial insects as possible.

However, the family didn’t stop there. They are now leading the way with a farming practice called ‘cover cropping’. A cover crop is a type of plant grown primarily to help suppress weeds, manage soil erosion, improve soil quality, and control diseases and pests. However, it is not a common practice in cotton farming but that could be about to change in the US.

Along with Zeb, there is a new generation of farmers who are more environmentally conscious and more open-minded to trying new practices. “North Carolina as a state is one of the larger adopters of cover crop use in the US, and across the entire country we are seeing a soil health movement. With cover crops, people are trying to look at a more holistic way of treating and using our soil as the valuable resource it is,” commented Zeb.

“Cotton is a greedy crop, it takes quite a lot from the ground and doesn’t give a whole lot back. Cover crops help by feeding something back into the land during the off season,” he explains. Having used a single grain cover crop for many years, Zeb switched to a multi-species cover crop blend four years ago to increase his above ground bio-mass further. The benefits of this method were noticed immediately, and within the first year of using a multi-species cover crop, Zeb saw increased weed suppression and soil moisture retention. He believes that he has been able to cut herbicide input on his plants by 25% in the past two years. As the cover crops begin to pay for themselves, and Zeb reduces his herbicide input, economic benefits may be realised in the longer-term.

Is Zeb’s father, also named Zeb Winslow, and a cotton farmer from the previous generation, supportive of this new method?In the beginning, I thought it was a crazy idea. But now that I’ve seen the benefits, I’ve become more convinced,” he said.

As Zeb explains, it isn’t easy for farmers to move away from traditional and proven farming methods, and until recently, cotton farmers didn’t know as much about soil biology. In the last 10 to 15 years, great strides have been made in understanding what’s going on under the ground. Zeb thinks that as soil knowledge increases, farmers will be better equipped to harmonise better with nature by working with the soil instead of fighting against it.

With an eye to the future and to the next generation of Winslow cotton farmers, Zeb believes that, “Eventually, if there is going to be cotton it is going to have to be sustainably produced, as is everything else. As the population increases there will be less and less land, and as we try to increase yields to meet demand it’s also important that we ensure soil, as a vital resource, is there for future generations.”