可持续性
图片来源:BCI/Florian Lang 地点:印度古吉拉特邦 Surendranagar。 2018. 描述:一名农场工人正在用公牛牵引的人工犁准备田地,用于种植棉花。

由 Better Cotton 首席执行官 Alan McClay 撰写。 这篇评论文章最初发表于 路透社事件 在9 March 2022上。

不可逆转的生态系统崩溃迫在眉睫。 如果不采取任何措施来阻止它,农业系统将面临潜在的灾难性未来,对全世界的社会产生严重影响。 

这不是夸张。 正如政府间气候变化专门委员会 (IPCC) 最近在 报告. 文字已经在墙上了。 根据联合国 粮食及农业组织 (FAO),由于侵蚀、盐碱化、压实、酸化和化学污染,世界上超过三分之一的土壤已经退化。 结果? 缺乏对滋养植物和作物不可或缺的生命多样性。 

再生农业的核心理念是农业可以回馈而不是取走土壤和社会。

每个农民都知道,健康的土壤是生产性农业的基础。 它不仅有助于循环养分和过滤水,还有助于通过将碳返回地面来提高对气候变化的适应能力。 提示街区上的新流行语“再生农业”。 从一天到另一天,这句话似乎无处不在,从 气候倡导者 到 发言 的主要政治家。 不是因为“绿色革命” 1950 年代有一个与农业有关的流行语以如此之快的速度聚集起来。 与以往一样,批评者的出现并不慢。 他们的论点遵循常规路线。 有人说这个词不够严谨——“再生”、“有机”、“可持续”、“碳智能”,都来自同一个羊毛篮子。 其他人则认为这是在现代服装中重新演绎的旧观念。 最早的农学家是什么 肥沃的新月 如果不是再生农民? 

这样的批评隐藏了很多真相。 再生农业这个词对于不同的人来说当然有不同的含义。 而且,是的,它确实包含了诸如减少耕作、轮作和覆盖作物等概念,在某些情况下,这些概念可以追溯到几千年前。 但是抱怨术语就是错过重点。 一方面,定义的变幻莫测并不像某些人声称的那样严重或有问题。 再生农业的核心理念——即农业可以回馈而不是从土壤和社会中获取——几乎没有争议。 

模糊的术语可能会使消费者感到困惑,更糟糕的是,会促进漂绿.

其次,农业技术差异很大,这意味着特定的方法总是很难确定。 例如,在以贫瘠的土壤着称的西非,农民所采用的做法将不同于在印度采用的做法,在印度,害虫和不稳定的天气是主要问题。   

第三,缺乏完全共识并不一定会导致完全缺乏行动。 以联合国的可持续发展目标为例; 每个目标的具体细节可能不会让每个人都满意,但它们足以让人们感到满意,从而聚集了大量的集体能量。    

同样,新鲜的术语可以刷新我们的想法。 十年前,关于土壤健康和作物产量的讨论主要倾向于技术。 这里少一点肥料,那里多一点休耕时间。 今天,随着再生农业的讨论越来越广泛,采掘主义农业本身现在已经被摆上辩论的台面。 

当然,明确的定义很重要。 在他们缺席的情况下,实践中可能会出现误解,从而减缓甚至破坏向更可持续农业的过渡。 同样,模糊的术语可能会使消费者感到困惑,更糟糕的是,会促进绿色清洗。 对此,纺织交易所近日发布 景观分析 再生农业标志着一项宝贵而及时的贡献。 通过农业社区各个层面的对话建立起来,它建立了一套重要的基本原则,所有主要参与者都可以支持。   

我们特别欢迎该报告承认碳储存和减排之外的好处——这两者当然很重要。 再生农业不是一招一式的小马。 改善土壤健康、栖息地保护和水系统只是它提供的其他一些辅助环境效益。 

我们认为再生农业现在已经成为每个人的话题,这是一个巨大的积极因素.

同样,作为一个致力于改善数百万棉花生产者生计的组织,对社会成果的重视也值得称赞。 作为农业系统中的关键参与者,农民和工人的声音对于决定如何构建再生农业以及它应该瞄准什么结果至关重要。 

重申一下,我们认为现在每个人都在谈论再生农业这一事实是一个巨大的积极因素。 不仅是 不可持续性 对于当今集约化、投入大的农业,人们越来越了解这一点,再生模式对扭转这一局面的贡献也越来越广为人知。 未来的挑战是将不断增长的意识转化为实地行动。 再生农业寻求解决的问题是紧迫的。 在 Better Cotton,我们坚信持续改进。 规则一? 走出障碍,开始吧。 

在过去十年左右的时间里,我们学到的一个重要教训是,如果没有有效的战略支持,就不会采取有效的行动。 这就是为什么我们鼓励参与的实地合作伙伴制定全面的土壤管理计划,阐明改善土壤生物多样性和防止土地退化的切实步骤。 另一个重要的行动动力是讲一个令人信服的故事。 农民不会根据轶事和承诺从他们所知道的转变。 需要确凿的证据。 为此,需要对监测和数据研究进行投资。 

时尚,从本质上讲,继续前进。 就再生农业而言,预计定义将得到完善,方法将得到修订。 然而,作为我们应该如何耕种的一个基本概念,它牢牢地留在这里。 否则,地球和农民都负担不起。 

了解有关良好棉花和土壤健康的更多信息

分享此页

Sustainability

By Alan McClay, CEO, Better Cotton. This opinion piece was first published by Reuters Events on 9 March 2022.

Irreversible ecosystem collapse is looming. If nothing is done to stop it, farming systems face a potentially catastrophic future, with severe implications for society the world over. 

This isn’t hyperbole. It’s the verdict of hundreds of the world’s leading climate scientists, as recently expressed in the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s (IPCC) latest report. The writing is already on the wall. According to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), over one third of the world’s soils are already degraded due to erosion, salinisation, compacting, acidification and chemical pollution. The result? An absence of the diversity of life that is integral to nourishing plants and crops. 

The core idea of regenerative agriculture is that farming can give back to, rather than take from, the soil and society.

As every farmer knows, healthy soil is the foundation of productive agriculture. Not only does it help cycle nutrients and filter water, it helps increase resilience to climate change by returning carbon to the ground. Cue the new buzzword on the block, “regenerative agriculture”. From one day to the next, the phrase seems to be everywhere, from the mouths of climate advocates to the speeches of leading politicians. Not since the “Green Revolution” of the 1950s has a farming-related buzzword gathered so much pace so quickly. As ever, critics have not been slow in coming forward. Their arguments follow conventional lines. Some say the term lacks rigour – “regenerative”, “organic”, “sustainable”, “carbon-smart”, all spawn from the same woolly basket. Others maintain that it’s an old idea rehashed in modern clothing. What were the earliest agriculturalists of the Fertile Crescent if not regenerative farmers? 

Such criticisms hide more than a little truth. The term regenerative agriculture can certainly mean different things to different people. And, yes, it does embrace concepts such as reduced tilling, crop rotation and cover crops that, in some cases, go back millennia. But to gripe about terminology is to miss the point. For one, the vagaries of definition are not nearly as great or problematic as some like to claim. The core idea of regenerative agriculture – namely, that farming can give back to, rather than take from, the soil and society – is hardly controversial. 

Fuzzy terminology can confuse consumers and, worse still, facilitate greenwashing.

Secondly, farming techniques vary enormously, meaning specific methodologies are always going to be hard to pin down. Practices pursued by farmers in west Africa, where the soil is notoriously infertile, for instance, will be different from those adopted in India, where pests and erratic weather are chief concerns.   

Thirdly, lack of complete consensus doesn’t necessarily lead to a complete lack of action. Take the U.N.’s Sustainable Development Goals; the specifics of each goal may not please everyone, but they please people enough to amass a huge amount of collective energy.    

In a similar vein, fresh terms can refresh our thinking. A decade ago, conversations about soil health and crop yields tended heavily towards the technical. A little less fertiliser here, a little more fallow time there. Today, with talk of regenerative agriculture increasingly widespread, extractivist agriculture itself is now on the table for debate. 

Of course, clear definitions are important. In their absence, misunderstandings can arise in practice that slow or even undermine the transition to more sustainable farming. Likewise, fuzzy terminology can confuse consumers and, worse still, facilitate greenwashing. In this regard, Textile Exchange’s recently published Landscape Analysis of regenerative agriculture marks a valuable and timely contribution. Built through dialogue at all levels of the farming community, it establishes an important set of basic principles that all major players can get behind.   

We especially welcome the report’s acknowledgement of benefits beyond carbon storage and emission reductions – important as both certainly are. Regenerative agriculture is not a one-trick pony. Improvements to soil health, habitat protection and water systems are just some of the other ancillary environmental benefits it delivers. 

We see the fact of regenerative agriculture now being on everyone’s lips as a huge positive.

Likewise, as an organisation committed to improving the livelihoods of millions of cotton producers, the emphasis on social outcomes is also to be applauded. As critical actors in the agricultural system, the voices of farmers and workers are fundamental to deciding how regenerative farming is framed and what outcomes it should aim for. 

To reiterate, we see the fact of regenerative agriculture now being on everyone’s lips as a huge positive. Not only is the unsustainability of today’s intensive, input-heavy farming increasingly well understood, so too is the contribution that regenerative models can make to turning this around. The challenge going forward is to turn growing awareness into on-the-ground action. The issues that regenerative farming seek to address are urgent. At Better Cotton, we’re big believers in continuous improvement. Rule number one? Get out of the blocks and get started. 

One key lesson we have learned over the last decade or so is that effective action won’t happen without an effective strategy to back it up. That’s why we encourage our participating field-level partners to establish a comprehensive soil management plan, spelling out tangible steps for improving soil biodiversity and preventing land degradation. Another crucial impetus to action is telling a convincing story. Farmers won’t transition from what they know on the basis of anecdotes and promises. Hard evidence is required. And, for that, investment in monitoring and data research is needed. 

Fashions, by nature, move on. In the case of regenerative agriculture, expect definitions to be refined and approaches to be revised. As a basic concept of how we ought to farm, however, it is firmly here to stay. Neither the planet nor farmers can afford it otherwise. 

Learn more about Better Cotton and soil health

Share this page