استدامة

القطن محصول نقدي مهم في باكستان ويدعم إنتاجه مئات الآلاف من الأسر الزراعية ومجتمعاتهم ، لكنه لا يخلو من التحديات. عملت مبادرة Better Cotton (BCI) مع شريك على المستوى الميداني ، WWF-Pakistan ، لمدة عقد من الزمن لمساعدة المزارعين على إنتاج القطن بطريقة أكثر استدامة.

حماد نقي خان ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ WWF-Pakistan ، يعمل مع WWF منذ 21 عامًا وشهد تطور BCI من المفهوم إلى الواقع. يقول حماد: "لقد شاركت في BCI حتى قبل" ولادة "BCI. "الآن WWF-Pakistan تعمل مع أكثر من 140,000 مزارع BCI."

منذ ما يقرب من 20 عامًا ، في عام 1999 ، وجه الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة في باكستان اهتمامه إلى إنتاج القطن. بدأت المنظمة العمل مع عدد قليل من القرى وعشرات من مزارعي القطن للتركيز بشكل أساسي على الحد من استخدام المبيدات الكيماوية والأسمدة. يوضح حماد: "كنا نبحث عن حلول جيدة للمزارعين والبيئة". "كان استخدام المواد الكيميائية في إنتاج القطن مشكلة كبيرة في باكستان - كان لها تأثير سلبي على كل من صحة الإنسان والتنوع البيولوجي."

بحلول عام 2006 ، كان الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة في باكستان قد أنشأ لجنة للتركيز على الإنتاج المستدام للقطن. اجتمع الاجتماع الأول للجنة خبراء القطن الرئيسيين لمناقشة تطوير معيار القطن المستدام. سألنا أنفسنا كيف ستعمل في الواقع. أردنا التأكد من أن المعيار يتمحور حول المزارعين ، "يقول حماد. "كما يجب أن تكون شاملة ، وليست حصرية ، ويجب أن تعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع المعايير الحالية وهياكل سلسلة التوريد." تم تكرار هذا التمرين في الهند والبرازيل ومالي ، قبل إطلاق مبادرة قطن أفضل رسميًا في عام 2009.

أعطى برنامج القطن الذي كان الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة- باكستان يعمل به في ذلك الوقت BCI منصة لبدء تنفيذ نظام معايير القطن الأفضل - نهج BCI الشامل لإنتاج القطن المستدام الذي يغطي جميع الركائز الثلاث للاستدامة: البيئية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية - على أرض الواقع. بعد عام واحد فقط ، في عام 2010 ، تم إنتاج أول بالة من Better Cotton في باكستان. يقول حماد: "لقد كانت مناسبة خاصة وعلامة فارقة في BCI والصندوق العالمي للطبيعة وباكستان". يعتمد اقتصاد باكستان بشكل كبير على القطن. عندما تم إنتاج أول حزمة من Better Cotton ، كان هناك الكثير من الإثارة ".

على مدى العقد اللاحق ، استمرت BCI و WWF-Pakistan في دعم المزارعين من خلال التدريب وبناء القدرات. توفر مجموعات تعلم المزارعين التي نظمتها WWF-Pakistan مكانًا رائعًا لمناقشة تحديات الزراعة وإيجاد الحلول. "يمكننا تبادل الأفكار والتعلم من بعضنا البعض" ، هذا ما قاله لال بوكس ​​، مزارع من BCI من رحيم يار خان.

يوضح حماد: "في باكستان اليوم ، تعتبر بذور القطن ذات الجودة العالية ، واستخدام المواد الكيميائية والمياه من التحديات الرئيسية التي يواجهها مزارعو القطن". التحدي الآخر هو الربح. يشعر المزارعون أحيانًا بحافز أقل لزراعة القطن لأن هوامش الربح منخفضة. السعر يحدد الإنتاج. إذا لم يحصل المزارعون على سعر جيد لقطنهم ، فقد يقررون التحول إلى زراعة محاصيل أخرى ، مثل قصب السكر. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال الطلب على القطن كألياف طبيعية مرتفعًا في باكستان ".

على الرغم من أن BCI و WWF-Pakistan لا يخفضان سعر Better Cotton ، إلا أنهما يعملان مع مزارعي القطن لمساعدتهم على تحسين ربحيتهم عن طريق تقليل المدخلات المكلفة مثل الأسمدة والمبيدات. كان الانضمام إلى برنامج BCI نقطة تحول في حياتي الزراعية. لقد اتخذت قراري في تبني ممارسات أفضل لإدارة المزارع تكون فعالة من حيث التكلفة وموجهة نحو النتائج. لقد فوجئ الناس بالجهود التي بذلتها في حقلي ، والآن يأتون إلي للحصول على المشورة ، "يقول BCI Farmer Master Nazeer من رحيم يار خان.

تتمثل رؤية BCI طويلة المدى في أن الإنتاج المستدام للقطن أصبح شائعًا في جميع أنحاء العالم وأن الحكومات والمنظمات المحلية تتحمل مسؤولية تدريب مزارعي القطن على الممارسات الزراعية المستدامة. يمكن رؤية هذه العملية في الممارسة العملية في باكستان. في السنوات القادمة ، تسعى WWF-Pakistan إلى تقليل وجودها على الأرض لتولي موقع استراتيجي أكثر. نريد من المنظمات المحلية أن تتولى مسؤولية تنفيذ معيار القطن الأفضل. على المدى الطويل ، فهم في وضع أفضل لفهم الاحتياجات المتغيرة لمزارعي القطن المحليين ومعالجتها.

في عالم يدرك بشكل متزايد الحاجة إلى التعرف على جوانب الاستدامة المختلفة والعمل وفقًا لها ، منحت BCI أيضًا تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية طريقة للمشاركة في أجندة الاستدامة. يقول حماد: "كان هناك دائمًا اهتمام تجاري قوي". "منذ البداية ، وفرت BCI مساحة ما قبل المنافسة حيث كان الجميع يعملون معًا لتحقيق هدف مشترك." اليوم ، تعمل BCI مع أكثر من 100 بائع تجزئة وعضو في العلامة التجارية للحصول على قطن أفضل وزيادة الطلب على قطن أكثر استدامة.

ويختتم حماد بالقول: "لقد كانت رؤية القطن الأفضل تمثل 15٪ من الإنتاج العالمي بمثابة حلم. الآن هو حلم تحقق ".

الصورة: ¬ © WWF-Pakistan 2013 | Salehput ، Sukkur ، باكستان.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Sustainability

Cotton is an important cash crop in Pakistan and its production supports hundreds of thousands of farming families and their communities, but it is not without its challenges. The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) has worked with field-level partner, WWF-Pakistan, for a decade to help farmers produce cotton in a more sustainable way.

Hammad Naqi Khan, CEO WWF-Pakistan, has been with WWF for 21 years and has seen BCI evolve from concept to reality. ”I was involved with BCI even before BCI was “born’,” says Hammad. ”Now WWF-Pakistan works with more than 140,000 BCI Farmers.”

Almost 20 years ago, in 1999, WWF-Pakistan turned their attention to cotton production. The organisation started working with a few villages and a few dozen cotton farmers to focus primarily on reducing the use of chemical pesticides and fertilisers. ”We were looking for solutions that were good for farmers and the environment,” explains Hammad. ”Chemical use in cotton production was a big issue in Pakistan – it was having a negative impact on both human health and biodiversity.”

By 2006, WWF-Pakistan had created a committee to focus on sustainable cotton production. The first committee meeting convened key cotton experts to discuss the development of a sustainable cotton standard. ”We asked ourselves how it would work in practice. We wanted to ensure the standard was farmer-centric,” says Hammad. ”It also needed to be inclusive, not exclusive, and it had to work alongside existing standards and supply chain structures.” This exercise was repeated in India, Brazil and Mali, before the Better Cotton Initiative officially launched in 2009.

The cotton programme that WWF-Pakistan was operating at the time gave BCI a platform to start implementing the Better Cotton Standard System – BCI’s holistic approach to sustainable cotton production which covers all three pillars of sustainability: environmental, social and economic – on the ground. Just a year later, in 2010, the first bale of Better Cotton was produced in Pakistan. ”It was a special occasion and a significant milestone for BCI, for WWF and for Pakistan,” says Hammad. ”The economy of Pakistan is so dependent on cotton. When the first bale of Better Cotton was produced there was a lot of excitement.”

Over the subsequent decade, BCI and WWF-Pakistan have continued to support farmers through training and capacity building. ”The farmer Learning Groups organised by WWF-Pakistan provide a great place to discuss farming challenges and find solutions. We can exchange ideas and learn from one other,” says Lal Bux, a BCI Farmer from Rahim Yar Khan.

”In Pakistan today, good quality cotton seed, chemical use and water are key challenges faced by cotton farmers,” explains Hammad. ”The other challenge is profit. Farmers sometimes feel less incentivised to grow cotton because the profit margins are low. Price determines production. If farmers do not receive a good price for their cotton, they may decide to switch to growing other crops, such as sugar cane. However, the demand for cotton as a natural fibre is still high in Pakistan.”

Although BCI and WWF-Pakistan do not dertermine the price of Better Cotton, they work with cotton farmers to help them improve their profitability by reducing costly inputs such as fertilisers and pesticides. ”Joining the BCI Programme was a turning point in my farming life. I made up my mind to adopt better farm management practices that are cost efficient and results orientated. People have been surprised by the effort I have put into my fields, and now they come to me for advice,” says BCI Farmer Master Nazeer from Rahim Yar Khan.

BCI’s long-term vision is that sustainable cotton production becomes common-place around the globe and that governments and local organisations take responsibility for training cotton farmers on sustainable agricultural practices. This process can be seen in practice in Pakistan. In the coming years, WWF-Pakistan seeks to reduce its on-the-ground presence to take more of a strategic position. ”We want local organisations to take ownership of the implementation of the Better Cotton Standard. In the long-term they are best placed to understand and address the changing needs of local cotton farmers,” says Hammad.

In a world that is increasingly aware of the need to recognise and act on the various aspects of sustainability, BCI has also given retailers and brands a way to get involved in the sustainability agenda. ”There was always a strong business interest,” says Hammad. ”From the start, BCI provided a pre-competitive space where everyone was working together towards a common goal.” Today, BCI works with more than 100 Retailer and Brand Members to source Better Cotton and drive demand for more sustainably produced cotton.

Hammad concludes: ”To see Better Cotton account for 15% of global production used to be a dream. Now it’s a dream come true.”

Image: © WWF-Pakistan 2013 |Salehput, Sukkur, Pakistan.

Translate »