可持续性

棉花是巴基斯坦重要的经济作物,其生产为数十万农户及其社区提供支持,但并非没有挑战。 十年来,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 与田间合作伙伴 WWF-Pakistan 合作,帮助农民以更可持续的方式生产棉花。

WWF-Pakistan 首席执行官 Hammad Naqi Khan 在 WWF 工作了 21 年,见证了 BCI 从概念到现实的演变。 “甚至在 BCI 诞生之前,我就参与了 BCI,”Hammad 说。 “现在 WWF-Pakistan 与超过 140,000 名 BCI 农民合作。”

大约 20 年前,即 1999 年,世界自然基金会巴基斯坦分部将注意力转向棉花生产。 该组织开始与几个村庄和几十个棉农合作,主要关注减少化学杀虫剂和化肥的使用。 “我们正在寻找对农民和环境有益的解决方案,”Hammad 解释说。 “棉花生产中的化学品使用在巴基斯坦是一个大问题——它对人类健康和生物多样性都产生了负面影响。”

到 2006 年,世界自然基金会巴基斯坦分部成立了一个委员会,专注于可持续棉花生产。 第一届委员会会议召集了主要棉花专家,讨论制定可持续棉花标准。 “我们问自己它在实践中如何运作。 我们希望确保标准以农民为中心,”哈马德说。 “它还需要具有包容性,而不是排他性,并且必须与现有标准和供应链结构一起工作。” 在良好棉花倡议于 2009 年正式启动之前,这项工作在印度、巴西和马里重复进行。

WWF-Pakistan 当时正在开展的棉花计划为 BCI 提供了一个平台,可以开始实施良好棉花标准体系——BCI 实现可持续棉花生产的整体方法,涵盖可持续性的所有三个支柱:环境、社会和经济——在实地。 仅仅一年之后,即 2010 年,第一包良好棉花在巴基斯坦生产。 “对于 BCI、世界自然基金会和巴基斯坦来说,这是一个特殊的时刻,也是一个重要的里程碑,”哈马德说。 “巴基斯坦的经济如此依赖棉花。 当生产第一包优质棉花时,人们非常兴奋。”

在随后的十年中,BCI 和 WWF-Pakistan 通过培训和能力建设继续支持农民。 “世界自然基金会巴基斯坦分部组织的农民学习小组提供了一个讨论农业挑战和寻找解决方案的好地方。 我们可以交流想法并相互学习,”来自 Rahim Yar Khan 的 BCI 农民 Lal Bux 说。

“在今天的巴基斯坦,优质棉籽、化学品使用和水是棉农面临的主要挑战,”Hammad 解释说。 “另一个挑战是利润。 由于利润率低,农民有时会觉得没有动力种植棉花。 价格决定产量。 如果农民的棉花价格不高,他们可能会决定改种其他作物,例如甘蔗。 然而,巴基斯坦对棉花作为天然纤维的需求仍然很高。”

尽管 BCI 和 WWF-Pakistan 不会确定良好棉花的价格,但他们与棉农合作,通过减少化肥和杀虫剂等成本高昂的投入来帮助他们提高盈利能力。 “加入 BCI 计划是我农业生活的一个转折点。 我下定决心采用更好的农场管理实践,这些实践具有成本效益且以结果为导向。 人们对我在田间付出的努力感到惊讶,现在他们向我寻求建议,”来自 Rahim Yar Khan 的 BCI Farmer Master Nazeer 说。

BCI 的长期愿景是可持续棉花生产在全球范围内变得司空见惯,政府和地方组织有责任对棉农进行可持续农业实践培训。 这个过程可以在巴基斯坦的实践中看到。 在接下来的几年里,世界自然基金会巴基斯坦分部寻求减少其实地存在,以占据更多的战略地位。 “我们希望当地组织对良好棉花标准的实施负责。 从长远来看,他们最适合了解和解决当地棉农不断变化的需求,”哈马德说。

在一个越来越意识到需要认识到可持续发展的各个方面并采取行动的世界中,BCI 还为零售商和品牌提供了一种参与可持续发展议程的方式。 “总是有强烈的商业利益,”哈马德说。 “从一开始,BCI 就提供了一个赛前空间,让每个人都为一个共同的目标而共同努力。” 今天,BCI 与 100 多家零售商和品牌成员合作,采购良好棉花并推动对更可持续生产的棉花的需求。

Hammad 总结道:“看到良好棉花占全球产量的 15% 曾经是一个梦想。 现在梦想成真了。”

图片:¬© WWF-Pakistan 2013 |Salehput,Sukkur,巴基斯坦。

分享此页

Sustainability

Cotton is an important cash crop in Pakistan and its production supports hundreds of thousands of farming families and their communities, but it is not without its challenges. The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) has worked with field-level partner, WWF-Pakistan, for a decade to help farmers produce cotton in a more sustainable way.

Hammad Naqi Khan, CEO WWF-Pakistan, has been with WWF for 21 years and has seen BCI evolve from concept to reality. ”I was involved with BCI even before BCI was “born’,” says Hammad. ”Now WWF-Pakistan works with more than 140,000 BCI Farmers.”

Almost 20 years ago, in 1999, WWF-Pakistan turned their attention to cotton production. The organisation started working with a few villages and a few dozen cotton farmers to focus primarily on reducing the use of chemical pesticides and fertilisers. ”We were looking for solutions that were good for farmers and the environment,” explains Hammad. ”Chemical use in cotton production was a big issue in Pakistan – it was having a negative impact on both human health and biodiversity.”

By 2006, WWF-Pakistan had created a committee to focus on sustainable cotton production. The first committee meeting convened key cotton experts to discuss the development of a sustainable cotton standard. ”We asked ourselves how it would work in practice. We wanted to ensure the standard was farmer-centric,” says Hammad. ”It also needed to be inclusive, not exclusive, and it had to work alongside existing standards and supply chain structures.” This exercise was repeated in India, Brazil and Mali, before the Better Cotton Initiative officially launched in 2009.

The cotton programme that WWF-Pakistan was operating at the time gave BCI a platform to start implementing the Better Cotton Standard System – BCI’s holistic approach to sustainable cotton production which covers all three pillars of sustainability: environmental, social and economic – on the ground. Just a year later, in 2010, the first bale of Better Cotton was produced in Pakistan. ”It was a special occasion and a significant milestone for BCI, for WWF and for Pakistan,” says Hammad. ”The economy of Pakistan is so dependent on cotton. When the first bale of Better Cotton was produced there was a lot of excitement.”

Over the subsequent decade, BCI and WWF-Pakistan have continued to support farmers through training and capacity building. ”The farmer Learning Groups organised by WWF-Pakistan provide a great place to discuss farming challenges and find solutions. We can exchange ideas and learn from one other,” says Lal Bux, a BCI Farmer from Rahim Yar Khan.

”In Pakistan today, good quality cotton seed, chemical use and water are key challenges faced by cotton farmers,” explains Hammad. ”The other challenge is profit. Farmers sometimes feel less incentivised to grow cotton because the profit margins are low. Price determines production. If farmers do not receive a good price for their cotton, they may decide to switch to growing other crops, such as sugar cane. However, the demand for cotton as a natural fibre is still high in Pakistan.”

Although BCI and WWF-Pakistan do not dertermine the price of Better Cotton, they work with cotton farmers to help them improve their profitability by reducing costly inputs such as fertilisers and pesticides. ”Joining the BCI Programme was a turning point in my farming life. I made up my mind to adopt better farm management practices that are cost efficient and results orientated. People have been surprised by the effort I have put into my fields, and now they come to me for advice,” says BCI Farmer Master Nazeer from Rahim Yar Khan.

BCI’s long-term vision is that sustainable cotton production becomes common-place around the globe and that governments and local organisations take responsibility for training cotton farmers on sustainable agricultural practices. This process can be seen in practice in Pakistan. In the coming years, WWF-Pakistan seeks to reduce its on-the-ground presence to take more of a strategic position. ”We want local organisations to take ownership of the implementation of the Better Cotton Standard. In the long-term they are best placed to understand and address the changing needs of local cotton farmers,” says Hammad.

In a world that is increasingly aware of the need to recognise and act on the various aspects of sustainability, BCI has also given retailers and brands a way to get involved in the sustainability agenda. ”There was always a strong business interest,” says Hammad. ”From the start, BCI provided a pre-competitive space where everyone was working together towards a common goal.” Today, BCI works with more than 100 Retailer and Brand Members to source Better Cotton and drive demand for more sustainably produced cotton.

Hammad concludes: ”To see Better Cotton account for 15% of global production used to be a dream. Now it’s a dream come true.”

Image: © WWF-Pakistan 2013 |Salehput, Sukkur, Pakistan.

Translate »