持续改进

 
2020 年 XNUMX 月,BCI 成立了 强迫劳动和体面工作特别工作组 审查当前的全球良好棉花标准体系。 工作组的目的是突出差距并提出建议,以提高该系统在识别、预防、减轻和补救强迫劳动风险方面的有效性。 该小组由来自民间社会、零售商和品牌以及负责任采购咨询公司的专家组成。

工作组致力于审查当前的 BCI 系统,讨论关键问题和差距,并提出建议。 该过程包括与更广泛的利益相关者群体进行广泛磋商,最终形成了一份综合报告,该报告于 2020 年 XNUMX 月发布,可在 脑机接口网站.

BCI 领导团队和委员会现已完成对报告调查结果的全面审查,并做出正式回应,其中还总结了截至 2021 年 XNUMX 月 BCI 已开展的工作。回应概述了 BCI 的短期、中期和长期预期加强我们的强迫劳动和体面工作制度的优先事项。

BCI 首席执行官 Alan McClay 表示:“体面工作和强迫劳动是棉花生产中至关重要的可持续性问题。 在 BCI,我们致力于进一步加强我们在这些问题上的能力。 在我们启动 2030 战略时,工作组的建议帮助我们做到了这一点。 落实这些建议的工作已经在进行中。”

响应欢迎工作组的综合调查结果及其确定的 BCI 将继续集中更多资源和努力的多个领域。 工作组已经认识到 BCI 作为真正的全球合作伙伴网络具有在数百万棉农和工人之间实施变革的潜力。

回应还承认将 BCI 的强迫劳动和体面工作努力纳入更广泛的 BCI 战略的重要性。 这反映在 BCI 的 2030 战略中,其中包括对体面劳动的高度关注。 我们预计其中一些建议领域的工作将跨越未来十年甚至更久的大部分时间。

BCI 将使用分阶段的方法来实施计划中概述的活动,迅速解决速效问题和高优先级领域,同时对一些需要专门资金和资源的更具挑战性的工作领域保持长期愿景。 风险评估将告知这种方法; 首先关注强迫劳动风险高且 BCI 影响较大的领域。

BCI 将寻求与他人积极合作应对其中一些关键挑战,例如农场工人提出申诉的有效工具。 整个农业部门都面临着这些挑战,BCI 不仅希望与当地专家和基层组织合作,而且还希望与其他倡议合作,以分享经验和开拓新工具。

BCI 立即着手执行工作组的一些关键建议,并将在下个季节(即 XNUMX 月开始在北半球)及时将这些建议付诸实施。 BCI 领导团队非常感谢工作组成员投入时间和专业知识帮助 BCI 审查我们当前的方法并开辟一条前进的道路,以改变我们的强迫劳动和体面工作能力。

BCI 的工作组建议计划摘要可在 BCI 网站上找到,可在以下网址找到 此处.

分享此页

Continuous Improvement

 
In April 2020, BCI formed the Task Force on Forced Labour and Decent Work to review the current global Better Cotton Standard System. The aim of the Task Force was to highlight gaps and develop recommendations to improve the effectiveness of this system in identifying, preventing, mitigating and remediating forced labour risks. The group was comprised of experts from civil society, retailers and brands, and responsible sourcing consultancies.

The Task Force worked to review current BCI systems, discuss key issues and gaps, and develop proposed recommendations. The process included extensive consultations with a wider group of stakeholders, and culminated in a comprehensive report, published in October 2020 and available in full on the BCI website.

The BCI Leadership Team and Council have now completed a full review of the report’s findings, producing a formal response that also summarises the work that BCI has already carried out as of January 2021. The response outlines BCI’s expected short, mid, and long-term priorities to strengthen our systems on forced labour and decent work.

Alan McClay, CEO of BCI said, ”Decent work and forced labour are crucial sustainability issues within cotton production. At BCI we are committed to strengthening further our capabilities on these issues. As we launch our 2030 strategy, the Task Force recommendations help us do that. The work to implement these recommendations is already underway.”

The response welcomes the comprehensive findings of the Task Force and its identification of multiple areas where BCI will continue to focus more resources and effort. The Task Force has recognised the potential that BCI has – as a truly global network of partners – to enact change across millions of cotton farmers and workers.

The response also recognises the importance of embedding BCI’s forced labour and decent work efforts within the broader BCI strategy. This is reflected in BCI’s 2030 strategy, which includes a strong focus on decent work. We expect that work in some of these recommendation areas will span most of the next decade and even beyond.

BCI will use a phased approach to implement the activities outlined in the plan, tackling quick wins and high-priority areas promptly, whilst maintaining a long-term vision on some of the more challenging work areas that will require dedicated funding and resources. This approach will be informed by risk assessment; focusing first on areas where forced labour risks are high and BCI has a significant footprint.

BCI will look to actively collaborate with others on some of these key challenges, such as effective tools for farm workers to raise grievances. These challenges are faced across the agricultural sector, and BCI expects to work not only with local experts and grassroots organisations, but also with other initiatives to share learnings and pioneer new tools.

BCI has lost no time getting started on some of the key recommendations of the task force and will bring these into effect in time for the next season, beginning in March in the Northern Hemisphere. The BCI Leadership team is extremely grateful to the Task Force members for dedicating their time and expertise to help BCI examine our current approach and forge a path forward to transform our forced labour and decent work capabilities.

A summary of BCI’s plan to onboard the Task Force’s recommendations is available on the BCI website and can be found here.

Translate »