供应链

 
2018 年,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 的普及率达到了历史水平193 家零售商和品牌会员采购了超过 1.5 万吨的良好棉花——这些棉花足以制造大约 XNUMX 亿条牛仔裤。

良好棉花的使用量比上一年增加了 45%,截至 2018 年底,良好棉花的零售商和品牌会员采购量占全球棉花消费量的 4%2. 通过将 Better Cotton 纳入其可持续采购战略并逐年增加采购承诺,BCI 的零售商和品牌成员正在推动全球对更可持续棉花生产的需求。

现在,为了继续加速良好棉花的主流化并实现 BCI 的 2020 年目标——覆盖和培训 5 万棉农,并使良好棉花占全球棉花产量的 30%——BCI 需要下一波可持续发展领导者加入并缩小供需差距。 (在 2017-18 棉花季节,良好棉花预计将占全球棉花产量的 19%。)

BCI 创始成员 H&M 集团在良好棉花的发展中发挥了不可或缺的作用; 2018 年,零售商采购了最大数量的良好棉花(连续第三年)。 “棉花是 H&M 集团最重要的材料之一——BCI 在我们到 2020 年只使用可持续采购的棉花的目标中发挥着关键作用,”H&M 集团材料与创新部门可持续发展业务专家 Mattias Bodin 说。

阿迪达斯是另一个有着雄心勃勃的可持续采购目标的创始成员。 2018 年,阿迪达斯将 100% 的棉花作为更可持续的棉花采购。 阿迪达斯营销和可持续发展高级经理 Ebru Gencoglu 评论道:“BCI 和阿迪达斯从一开始就密切合作,以实现这一雄心勃勃的目标。 BCI 已与整个供应链中的参与者合作,以在正确的位置实现正确的供应量。 这有助于我们的供应商采购优质棉花,使我们能够在短时间内增加采购量。”

BCI 的需求驱动型融资模式意味着零售商和品牌采购良好棉花直接转化为增加投资,对棉农进行更可持续的实践培训。 例如,在 2017-18 棉花季节,BCI 零售商和品牌成员、公共捐助者和 IDH(可持续贸易倡议)贡献了超过 6.4 万英镑,为中国、印度、莫桑比克、巴基斯坦的超过 1 万农民提供了帮助、塔吉克斯坦、土耳其和塞内加尔接受支持和培训*。

ALDI South Group 是 BCI 新成员之一,他们将在 2019 年及以后帮助提高良好棉花的使用率。 ALDI South Group 的 CRI 总监 Katharina Wortman 说:“ALDI 支持可持续棉花标准,旨在确保改善农业条件并减少对环境的影响。 ALDI 于 2017 年底加入 BCI,我们预计 BCI 将在我们负责任采购棉花的方法中发挥重要作用。 BCI 使用的质量平衡监管链系统使我们的供应链合作伙伴能够更轻松地采购良好棉花。”

Gap Inc. 是一个展示如何迅速扩大良好棉花应用规模的成员。该零售商于 2016 年加入 BCI,现在是基于良好棉花采购总量的前五名 BCI 零售商和品牌成员之一。 “更好的棉花采购是 Gap Inc. 可持续发展战略的重要组成部分。 Gap Inc. 可持续采购战略总监 Agata Smeets 说:“我们能够利用我们在品牌组合中的规模,在相对较短的时间内加速良好棉花的采购。”

除了增加对农民培训和能力建设的投资外,良好棉花的采用向市场发出了明确的信号,并对整个供应链产生影响。 棉花贸易商看到对更可持续生产的棉花的需求增加,但相信还有很多工作要做。 PaulReinhartAG 的手工采摘棉花首席交易员 Marco Baenninger 说:“优良棉花已经成为国际棉花贸易的一个组成部分。 很高兴看到零售商的吸收量在过去几年中强劲增长。 然而,还有很多事情要做。 一些组织仍然持怀疑态度,但从长远来看,如果他们忽视更可持续的选择,他们就有失去市场份额的风险。 这充分说明了 BCI 和其他可持续棉花倡议和标准在促进可持续生产棉花方面的成功。”

改变全球棉花生产需要整个棉花供应链的承诺和协作。 在我们庆祝 BCI 2018 年采购里程碑之际,我们感谢所有成员和合作伙伴对 BCI 的支持。 2018 年采购最多良好棉花的零售商和品牌商、棉花贸易商和纺纱商将在 2019 月于上海举行的 XNUMX 年全球棉花可持续发展大会上公布的良好棉花排行榜中揭晓。

1吸收是指在供应链中采购更可持续的棉花。通过“将棉花作为良好棉花采购”,BCI 指的是会员在订购含棉产品时采取的行动。 它不是指成品中存在的棉花。 BCI 使用称为质量平衡的监管链模型,借此在在线采购平台上跟踪良好棉花的数量。 在从田间到产品的过程中,良好棉花可能会与传统棉花混合或被传统棉花取代,但是,在线平台上会员声称的良好棉花数量永远不会超过纺纱商和贸易商实际采购的数量。
2ICAC 报告的全球棉花消费数据。 更多信息可用 此处.
3 虽然 BCI 零售商和品牌成员、公共捐助者和 IDH(可持续贸易倡议)通过良好棉花增长和创新基金动员的投资在 2017-2018 年度惠及超过 2.1 万农民,但良好棉花倡议预计将达到本季共培训棉农2018万人次。 最终数据将在 BCI XNUMX 年年度报告中公布。

分享此页

Record Level of Better Cotton Uptake Sends Clear Signal to the Market

Announcements Tuesday, March 5th, 2019

 
In 2018, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) experienced a historic level of uptakeas 93 Retailer and Brand Members sourced more than one million metric tonnes of Better Cotton – that’s enough cotton to make approximately 1.5 billion pairs of jeans.

Better Cotton uptake increased 45% on the previous year, and at the end of 2018, retailer and brand member sourcing of Better Cotton accounted for 4% of global cotton consumption2. By integrating Better Cotton into their sustainable sourcing strategies and increasing sourcing commitments year-on-year, BCI’s Retailer and Brand Members are driving demand for more sustainable cotton production worldwide.

Now, to continue to accelerate the mainstreaming of Better Cotton and hit BCI’s 2020 targets – to reach and train 5 million cotton farmers and have Better Cotton account for 30% of global cotton production – BCI needs the next wave of sustainability leaders to come on board and close the gap between supply and demand. (In the 2017-18 cotton season, Better Cotton is forecast to account for 19% of global cotton production.)

Founding BCI Member, H&M group, has played an integral role in the growth of Better Cotton; in 2018 the retailer sourced the largest volume of Better Cotton (for the third year running). “Cotton is one of H&M group’s most important materials – BCI plays a key role in our goal towards using only sustainably sourced cotton by 2020,” says Mattias Bodin, Sustainability Business Expert, Materials and Innovation at H&M group.

adidas is another founding member with ambitious sustainable sourcing targets. In 2018, adidas sourced 100% of its cotton as more sustainable cotton. Ebru Gencoglu, Senior Manager, Merchandising and Sustainability at adidas commented, “BCI and adidas have worked closely from the beginning to reach this ambitious goal. BCI has engaged actors throughout the supply chain to enable the right amount of supply in the right locations. This has helped our suppliers to source cotton as Better Cotton, which allowed us to ramp up sourcing in a short period of time.”

BCI’s demand-driven funding model means that retailer and brand sourcing of Better Cotton directly translates into increased investment in training for cotton farmers on more sustainable practices. For example, in the 2017-18 cotton season, BCI Retailer and Brand Members, public donors and IDH (the Sustainable Trade Initiative) contributed more than €6.4 million, enabling more than 1 million farmers across China, India, Mozambique, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey and Senegal to receive support and training*.

ALDI South Group are among a group of new BCI Members who will help to increase uptake of Better Cotton in 2019 and beyond. Katharina Wortman, Director CRI at ALDI South Group said, “ALDI supports sustainable cotton standards in their aim to ensure improved farming conditions and reduced environmental impacts. ALDI joined BCI at the end of 2017, and we foresee that BCI will play a significant role in our approach to responsibly sourced cotton. The mass-balance chain of custody system used by BCI enables our supply chain partners to more easily source Better Cotton.”

A member that has illustrated how to scale uptake of Better Cotton rapidly is Gap Inc. The retailer joined BCI in 2016 and is now among the top five BCI Retailer and Brand Members based on total Better Cotton sourcing volumes. “Better Cotton sourcing is an important part of Gap Inc.’s sustainability strategy. We have been able to leverage our scale across our portfolio of brands to accelerate sourcing of Better Cotton in a relatively short time,” said Agata Smeets, Director, Sustainability Sourcing Strategy at Gap Inc.

As well as increased investment in farmer training and capacity building, uptake of Better Cotton sends a clear signal to the market and has an impact throughout the supply chain. Cotton traders are seeing the increased demand for more sustainably produced cotton but believe there is much more to be done. Marco Baenninger, Head Trader Hand Picked Cotton at Paul Reinhart AG said, “Better Cotton has become an integral part of the international cotton trade. It’s very pleasing to see that uptake from retailers has increased strongly over the last few years. However, there is still a lot to do. Some organisations are still skeptical, but in the long-term they risk losing market share if they overlook more sustainable options. That says a lot about the success of BCI and other sustainable cotton initiatives and standards in promoting sustainably produced cotton.”

Transforming cotton production worldwide requires commitment and collaboration from the entire cotton supply chain. As we celebrate BCI’s 2018 sourcing milestone, we thank all of our members and partners for supporting BCI. The retailers and brands, cotton traders and spinners who sourced the highest volumes of Better Cotton in 2018 will be revealed in the Better Cotton Leaderboard, launching at the 2019 Global Cotton Sustainability Conference in Shanghai in June.

1Uptake refers to the sourcing and purchasing of more sustainable cotton in a supply chain. By ‘sourcing cotton as Better Cotton,’ BCI is referring to the action taken by members when they place orders for cotton-containing products. It does not refer to the cotton present in the finished product. BCI uses a chain of custody model called Mass Balance whereby volumes of Better Cotton are tracked on an online sourcing platform. Better Cotton may be mixed with or replaced by conventional cotton in its journey from field to product, however, the volumes of Better Cotton claimed by members on the online platform never exceeds the volumes physically procured by spinners and traders.
2Global cotton consumption figures as reported by ICAC. More information is available here.
3 While the investment from BCI Retailer and Brand Members, public donors and IDH (the Sustainable Trade Initiative), mobilised through the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund, reached over one million farmers in the 2017-2018 season, the Better Cotton Initiative is forecast to reach and train a total of 2.1 million cotton farmers in the season. The final figures will be released in BCI’s 2018 Annual Report.