联合国气候变化大会(COP26)经过持续的筹备和启动,并以大张旗鼓和充满希望的方式启动,第一周已接近尾声。 在一系列博客中,我们正在研究 Better Cotton 的气候方法将如何在三个途径下指导更大的行动—— 减轻, 适应确保公正的过渡——以及这对良好棉花种植者和合作伙伴的实际意义。

阅读 Alan McClay 的博客,了解协作的重要性 此处.

实现公正过渡

作者:Chelsea Reinhardt,Better Cotton,标准和保证总监

COP26 的第二个目标—— 适应保护社区和自然栖息地” – 强调了一个严峻的现实,即世界各地的社区已经面临气候变化的影响,而且随着时间的推移,这些影响只会变得更加严重。 随着世界努力控制排放,找到适应和应对这些现实的方法将成为气候工作向前推进的重点。

适应已经是我们在 Better Cotton 工作的一个组成部分,也是我们新气候方法的支柱,但适应的一个同样重要的部分将是确保战略具有社会包容性。 这就是我们方法的第三条途径是关于实现公正过渡的原因。

Chelsea Reinhardt,Better Cotton,标准和保证总监

什么是“公正过渡”?

A 只是转型 将那些受气候变化影响最大、适应能力最差的人放在首位。

国际劳工组织 (ILO) 2015 年公正过渡指南由政府、雇主及其组织以及工人及其工会协商,确立了对“公正过渡”一词的全球理解。 它将其描述为“迈向环境可持续经济的过程,该经济“需要得到妥善管理,并有助于实现人人享有体面工作、社会包容和消除贫困的目标”。

这对良好棉花意味着什么?

在我们的气候变化方法下,支持公正的过渡是设计上最蓝的地区。 我们知道,随着我们了解更多信息并与合作伙伴合作,将进一步努力定义这一支柱。 到目前为止,对于 Better Cotton 和我们的合作伙伴而言,公正的过渡将:

  • 确保转向气候智能型农业 优先考虑工人的权利 和保护;
  • 增加获得融资的机会 为农民、农业社区和工人提供资源; 和
  • 理解并努力减轻 气候移民的影响以及 对妇女、青年和其他弱势群体的影响.

气候变化的影响将不成比例地影响那些已经处于不利地位的人——无论是由于贫困、社会排斥、歧视还是多种因素的结合。 这些群体在社会对话中的代表性通常较少,并且冒着为他们做出决定的风险,而不是直接参与塑造向更可持续世界的转变。 对于 Better Cotton,主要重点将是支持我们的小农棉农,以及农业社区的农场工人和边缘化群体。

例如,我们知道棉花工人由于工作的季节性和临时性,已经面临着劳动违规和恶劣工作条件的高风险。 在许多地区,棉花除草和采摘高峰期平均气温将进一步升高,遭受减产的农民将无法支付生活工资和为工人提供福利。

通过更好的棉花气候方法,我们正在建立我们的体面工作 生产原理 并深入了解我们对劳动力风险的理解,以制定本地解决方案。 这将采取以下形式 新的工人反馈工具 并与在农业社区内运营的组织建立伙伴关系,为工人提供申诉机制。

图片来源:BCI/Khaula Jamil 地点:Rahim Yar Khan,巴基斯坦旁遮普邦,2019 年。 描述:农场工人 Ruksana Kausar(BCI Farmer 的妻子)与其他参与由良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 开发的苗圃项目的女性) 执行伙伴,世界自然基金会,巴基斯坦。

我们还将女性置于公正过渡的最前沿。 在许多良好棉花地区,女性农民缺乏土地所有权等正式权利; 然而,它们往往对农业决策产生重大影响。 在印度和巴基斯坦等国,女性也占棉花农场工人的大多数。 而且,我们知道女性更容易受到气候变化的影响,因为与男性相比,她们获得信息、资源或资本的机会往往更少。 因此,妇女必须参与设计减缓和适应气候变化的方法,并积极参与围绕资源分配和优先次序的关键决策。

棉花 2040 圆桌会议

今年早些时候,Cotton 2040 在合作伙伴 Acclimatise 和 Laudes Foundation 的支持下,撰写了 首次对 2040 年代全球棉花种植区的自然气候风险进行全球分析,以及印度棉花种植区的气候风险和脆弱性评估。

Cotton 2040 现在邀请您参加我们的三场圆桌会议,Cotton 2040 及其合作伙伴将齐聚一堂,通过气候和社会适应使棉花行业面向未来。

查找有关圆桌会议活动的更多详细信息并注册 此处.


了解更多

当我们在今年晚些时候推出 Better Cotton 的 2030 战略时,了解更多关于 Better Cotton 的气候方法的信息,包括关键的重点领域。

阅读有关良好棉花和温室气体排放的更多信息 此处.

分享此页

After a sustained build-up and a launch that began with much fanfare and hope, the UN Climate Change Conference – COP26 – has drawn to the end of its first week. In a series of blogs, we’re looking at how Better Cotton’s climate approach will guide greater action under three pathways — mitigation, adaptation and ensuring a just transition—and what that will mean in real terms for Better Cotton Farmers and partners.

Read Alan McClay’s blog on the importance of collaboration here.

Enabling a just transition

By Chelsea Reinhardt, Better Cotton, Director of Standards and Assurance

The second COP26 goal – Adapt to protect communities and natural habitats’ – underscores the stark reality that communities all around the world are already facing the effects of climate change, and those effects will only become more severe over time. As the world pushes to curb emissions, finding ways to adapt and cope with those realities will be a key focus of climate efforts moving forward.

Adaptation is already an integral part of our work at Better Cotton as well as a pillar of our new climate approach, but an equally important part of adaption will be ensuring that strategies are socially inclusive. That’s why pathway three of our approach is about enabling a just transition.

Chelsea Reinhardt, Better Cotton, Director of Standards and Assurance

What is a ‘just transition’?

A just transition puts those most affected by climate change, and least prepared to adapt, front and centre.

The International Labour Organization’s (ILO) 2015 Guidelines for a Just Transition, negotiated between governments, employers, and their organisations, as well as workers and their Trade Unions, established a global understanding for the term “just transition”. It describes it as a process “towards an environmentally sustainable economy, which “needs to be well managed and contribute to the goals of decent work for all, social inclusion and the eradication of poverty”.

What does this mean for Better Cotton?

Supporting a just transition is by design the most blue-sky area under our climate change approach. We know that further effort will go into defining this pillar, as we learn more and collaborate with partners. So far, for Better Cotton and our partners, a just transition will:

  • ensure that the shift towards climate-smart farming prioritises workers’ rights and protection;
  • enable greater access to finance and resources for farmers, farming communities and workers; and
  • understand and work to mitigate the impacts of climate migration as well as the impacts on women, youth, and other more vulnerable populations.

The impact of climate change will disproportionately affect those who are already disadvantaged – whether due to poverty, social exclusion, discrimination, or a combination of factors. These groups are often less represented in social dialogues and risk having decisions made for them rather than participating directly in shaping the transformation to a more sustainable world. For Better Cotton, a primary focus will be on supporting our smallholder cotton farmers, as well as farm workers and marginalised groups in farming communities.

For example, we know that cotton workers are already at high risk of labour violations and poor working conditions due to the seasonal and temporary nature of their work. In many regions, average temperatures will increase further during peak cotton weeding and picking seasons, and farmers suffering from reduced yields will be less able to pay living wages and provide benefits for workers.

Through the Better Cotton climate approach, we are building on our decent work production principle and diving deeper into our understanding of labour risks to develop local solutions. This will take the form of new worker feedback tools and partnerships with organisations operating within farming communities to provide workers with grievance mechanisms.

Photo Credit: BCI/Khaula Jamil Location: Rahim Yar Khan, Punjab, Pakistan, 2019. Description: Farm-worker Ruksana Kausar (wife of BCI Farmer) with other women who are involved in the tree nursery project developed by Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) Implementing Partner, WWF, Pakistan.

We are also putting women at the forefront of the just transition.  In many Better Cotton regions, women farmers lack formal rights, such as land ownership; however, they often have significant influence over farming decisions. Women also represent the majority of cotton farm workers in countries such as India and Pakistan. And, we know that women are even more vulnerable to the effects of climate change, since they often have less access to information, resources or capital than male counterparts. Therefore, it is essential that women are involved in designing approaches to climate change mitigation and adaptation and that they are active participants in key decisions around resource allocation and prioritisation.

Cotton 2040 roundtable events

Earlier this year, Cotton 2040, with partners Acclimatise and support from Laudes Foundation, authored the first-ever global analysis of physical climate risks across global cotton growing regions for the 2040s, as well as a Climate Risk and Vulnerability Assessment of cotton growing regions in India.

Cotton 2040 are now inviting you to join us for three roundtable events, where Cotton 2040 and its partners will come together to future-proof the cotton sector through climate and social adaptation.

Find more details on the roundtable events and register here.


Learn more

Learn more about Better Cotton’s climate approach, including key focus areas, when we launch Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy later this year.

Read more about Better Cotton and GHG emissions here.

Translate »