减少大气中温室气体 (GHG) 的数量对于限制气候变化的影响至关重要。 农业在这方面发挥着关键作用,因为森林和土壤储存了大量的大气碳。

据世界资源研究所(WRI)称, 在全球温室气体排放量中,农业部门 (12%) 几乎与交通部门 (14%) 一样多。


2030目标

我们的目标是帮助农民大幅减少温室气体排放,同时通过良好的土壤健康和将碳捕获到土壤中的耕作实践来提高作物质量和产量。

到 2030 年,我们的目标是将每生产一吨良好棉花的温室气体排放量减少 50%。


棉花生产如何影响温室气体排放

作为世界上最大的作物之一,棉花生产会导致温室气体排放。 棉花生产通过排放温室气体促进气候变化,其中一些可以避免或减少:

  • 氮肥管理不善 除了与化肥和杀虫剂生产相关的温室气体排放外,还会产生大量的一氧化二氮排放。
  • 水灌溉系统 在某些必须抽水和长距离输送水或电网使用煤炭等高排放能源的地区,用于棉花生产的棉花可能是温室气体排放的重要驱动因素。
  • 森林、湿地和草原转化 棉花生产可以消除储存碳的天然植被。
温室气体排放_Better-Cotton-Initiative-Sustainability-Issues_2

良好棉花原则和标准中的温室气体排放

良好棉花原则和标准要求良好棉花种植者使用良好的管理实践来保持土壤的完整性、恢复大部分退化的土壤并减少温室气体排放。

关于土壤健康的原则三有助于农民:

  • 改善肥料管理 通过调整施肥时间、耕地方式以及其他限制一氧化二氮排放的方法。 这也有助于减少氮泄漏到环境中以及地表水和地下水的污染。
  • 增加土壤中的碳储存 通过诸如低耕或免耕耕作、残留物管理和侵蚀控制等实践。 增加土壤有机质还可以提高土壤肥力,增加水分保持力,并可以提高产量。

水资源管理原则二帮助农民:

  • I实施有效的灌溉做法,例如滴灌,以优化水资源生产力并减少灌溉排放。

解决温室气体排放和气候变化的更好棉花项目

在 Better Cotton,我们知道更可持续的未来需要合作。 这就是我们与整个供应链中的棉花利益相关者合作开展有助于量化温室气体排放和减轻气候变化影响的项目的原因。

花期温室气体研究: 随着环境咨询 花期,我们于 2021 年 XNUMX 月发布了一份报告,以量化各国良好棉花生产的温室气体排放量,并了解每个地区排放的主要驱动因素。 这将有助于为我们的气候变化减缓计划和目标设定提供信息。 学习更多关于 我们对温室气体排放的首次研究.

气候影响的共享价值方法: 良好棉花倡议和其他 ISEAL 成员正在与 金选良品 定义计算温室气​​体减排和封存的通用做法。 该项目旨在帮助公司量化因特定供应链干预(如采购认证产品)而产生的温室气体减排量。 它还将帮助公司针对其基于科学的目标或其他气候绩效机制进行报告。 这将最终通过鼓励采购具有改善气候影响的商品来推动景观规模的可持续性。 我们的 Anthesis GHG 研究(见上文)中使用的量化方法也将通过该项目进行审查和验证。

棉花 2040: Cotton 2040 是一个平台,将整个供应链中的可持续棉花计划联系起来,以加快进度。 我们正在通过可持续棉花标准、计划和规范与同行合作 棉花 2040 影响对齐工作组 调整棉花种植系统的可持续性影响指标和指标,包括温室气体排放指标。

三角洲项目: 我们与全球咖啡平台、国际棉花咨询委员会和国际咖啡协会一起,正在努力创建一个框架,以说明如何跨棉花和咖啡可持续性标准收集和报告影响数据,包括温室气体排放数据。 这个想法是为可持续发展报告建立一种通用的方法和语言,最终可以扩展到其他农业商品。

更好的棉花气候变化战略: 我们目前正在制定一项为期五年的气候变化战略。 该战略将为我们应对气候变化的努力制定明确的方法,从而支持我们的 2030 年总体战略。 该战略的核心是通过开发田间适应和减缓技术,支持良好棉花种植者提高对气候变化的适应能力,然后帮助农民减少温室气体排放并衡量进展。

酷农场联盟: 我们是食品零售商、制造商、供应商、非政府组织、大学和咨询公司联盟的成员,致力于帮助农民跟踪他们对环境的影响和改善,并使用“Cool Farm Tool”量化这些好处并将其传达给供应商。 我们正在测试用于量化三角洲项目和我们的良好棉花花期温室气体研究(见上文)的温室气体排放量的工具。

阿特拉斯项目: 我们与 Proforest Initiative UK 一起开发 ATLA(适应景观方法). 认识到棉花农场不是孤立存在的,而是更广泛景观的一部分,该项目汇集了一个地区的不同利益相关者,以了解良好棉花标准体系如何帮助解决农场层面以外的可持续性挑战,如气候减缓和适应.

土壤健康

Better Cotton 如何为可持续发展目标 (SDG) 做出贡献

联合国的 17 项可持续发展目标 (SDG) 为实现可持续未来提供了全球蓝图。 SDG 13 指出,我们应该“采取紧急行动应对气候变化及其影响”。 通过良好棉花培训,我们支持农民优化肥料使用和灌溉方法,并实施有助于减少温室气体排放的良好土壤管理和土地使用原则。 这创造了更具弹性的棉花生产区,可提供广泛的社会、环境和经济效益。

了解更多

图片来源:所有联合国可持续发展目标 (UN SDG) 图标和信息图表均取自 联合国可持续发展目标网站本网站内容未经联合国批准,不代表联合国或其官员或会员国的观点。

Reducing the amount of greenhouse gases (GHG) in our atmosphere is essential to limit the impacts of climate change. Agriculture has a key role to play in this as forests and soil store large quantities of atmospheric carbon.

According to the World Resources Institute (WRI), the agriculture sector accounts for nearly as much of world’s greenhouse gas emissions (12%) as the transportation sector (14%).

At Better Cotton, we aim to help farmers substantially reduce their greenhouse gas emissions while increasing their crop quality and yields through good soil health and farming practices that capture carbon into soil.

How Cotton Production Impacts Greenhouse Gas Emissions

As one of the world’s largest crops, cotton production contributes to GHG emissions. Cotton production contributes to climate change by emitting greenhouse gases, some of which can be avoided or reduced:

  • Poor management of nitrogen-based fertilisers can generate considerable amounts of nitrous oxide emissions, in addition to the GHG emissions associated with the production of fertilisers and pesticides.
  • Water irrigation systems used in cotton production can be significant drivers of GHG emissions in certain areas where water must be pumped and moved across long distances or where the electricity grid operates on high-emitting power sources like coal.
  • Forests, wetlands and grasslands converted for cotton production can eliminate natural vegetation that store carbon.
Greenhouse-Gas-Emissions_Better-Cotton-Initiative-Sustainability-Issues_2

Greenhouse Gas Emissions in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

The Better Cotton Principles and Criteria require Better Cotton farmers to use good management practices that maintain the integrity of soils, restore largely degraded soils and reduce GHG emissions.

Principle three on soil health helps farmers:

  • Improve fertiliser management by adjusting when fertiliser is applied, how fields are tilled and other methods to limit nitrous oxide emissions. This also helps decrease nitrogen leakage into the environment and contamination of surface and groundwater.
  • Increase carbon storage in the soil through practices like low- or no-tillage farming, residue management, and erosion control. Increasing soil organic matter also improves soil fertility, increases moisture retention, and can lead to increased yields.

Principle two on water stewardship helps farmers:

  • Implement efficient irrigation practices, such as drip irrigation, to optimise water productivity and reduce emissions from irrigation.

The impact of Better Cotton on greenhouse gas emissions

We are currently conducting a study with the environmental consultancy Anthesis to quantify the impact of Better Cotton on GHG emissions. Check back here for results soon.

Better Cotton projects that address greenhouse gas emissions and climate change

At Better Cotton, we know that a more sustainable future takes collaboration. That’s why we are working with cotton stakeholders across the supply chain on projects that can help quantify GHG emissions and mitigate the effects of climate change.

Anthesis GHG Study: With the environmental consultancy Anthesis, we published a report in October 2021 to quantify the GHG emissions of Better Cotton production by country and understand the main drivers of emissions in each region. This will help inform our climate change mitigation programming and target setting. Learn more about Our First Study on GHG Emissions.

Shared Value Approach to Climate Impact: The Better Cotton Initiative and other ISEAL members are collaborating with Gold Standard to define common practices for calculating GHG emissions reductions and sequestration. The project aims to help companies quantify the GHG emission reductions that result from specific supply chain interventions like sourcing certified products. It will also help companies report against their Science Based Targets or other climate performance mechanisms. This will ultimately drive sustainability at a landscape-scale by encouraging the sourcing of commodities with improved climate impact. The quantification method used in our Anthesis GHG study (see above) will also be reviewed and validated through this project.

Cotton 2040: Cotton 2040 is a platform that connects sustainable cotton initiatives across the supply chain to accelerate progress. We are working with fellow sustainable cotton standards, programmes and codes through the Cotton 2040 Impacts Alignment Working Group to align sustainability impact indicators and metrics for cotton farming systems, including those on GHG emissions.

The Delta Project: Together with the Global Coffee Platform, the International Cotton Advisory Committee and the International Coffee Association, we are working to create a framework for how impact data, including those on GHG emissions, is collected and reported across cotton and coffee sustainability standards. The idea is to build a common approach and language for sustainability reporting that can eventually be scaled to other agricultural commodities.

Better Cotton Climate Change Strategy: We are currently developing a five-year climate change strategy. The strategy will support our overall 2030 strategy by setting out a clear approach for our efforts on climate change. At the heart of the strategy is supporting Better Cotton Farmers to become more resilient to climate change by developing adaptation and mitigation techniques at field level, and then help farmers reduce GHG emissions and measure progress.

Cool Farm Alliance: We are a member of this alliance of food retailers, manufacturers, suppliers, NGOs, universities and consultancies working to help farmers track their environmental impacts and improvements and quantify and communicate those benefits to suppliers with the “Cool Farm Tool”. We are testing the tool to quantify GHG emissions for The Delta Project and for our Better Cotton Anthesis GHG study (see above).

ATLA Project: Together with the Proforest Initiative UK, we are developing ATLA (Adaptation to Landscape Approach). Recognising that cotton farms don’t exist in isolation and are a part of a wider landscape, the project brings together diverse stakeholders in a region to understand how the Better Cotton Standard System can help tackle sustainability challenges like climate mitigation and adaptation beyond the farm level.

Soil Health

How Better Cotton contributes to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) provide a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 13 states that we should ‘take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts’. Through Better Cotton training, we support farmers to optimise their fertiliser use and irrigation methods and implement good soil management and land use principles that can help reduce GHG emissions. This creates more resilient cotton production areas that offer a wide range of social, environmental and economic benefits.

Learn more

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site