作者:Better Cotton 首席执行官 Alan McClay

联合国气候变化大会,也称为 COP26,终于来了。 全世界都在注视着全球领导人、科学家、气候变化专家、公司和民间社会聚集在一起解决我们这个时代最紧迫的问题。 气候变化是良好棉花计划的一个跨领域主题,通过整个地区的可持续农业实践来解决 良好棉花原则和标准. 在我们的 25 个计划国家推广这些田间实践帮助我们为减缓气候变化和支持农场层面的适应奠定了基础。 但在 2021 年,我们将更进一步,制定雄心勃勃的气候变化方法,作为我们 2030 年战略的一部分。

我们的目标是减少棉花对气候紧急情况的影响。 据碳信托估计,这种影响为每年 220 亿吨二氧化碳排放量。 凭借我们的规模和网络,Better Cotton 可以帮助加速转型以减少排放,并将良好棉花种植者纳入解决方案,支持棉花种植社区为气候变化及其相关影响做好准备、适应和建立复原力。 我们的气候方法将在三个途径下指导更大的行动——减缓、适应和确保公正过渡——我们的重点领域与 COP2 的四个主要目标保持一致。 随着 COP26 的开始,我们正在仔细研究其中的一些目标,以及它们对良好棉花种植者和合作伙伴的实际意义。

Better Cotton 首席执行官艾伦·麦克莱 (Alan McClay)

COP26 目标 4:共同努力实现

我们只能通过共同努力来应对气候危机的挑战。

COP26 的第四个目标“共同努力实现”可能是最关键的,因为最终确定巴黎规则手册(使巴黎协定生效的详细规则)和加快应对气候危机的行动只能通过双方之间的有效合作来实现。政府、企业和民间社会。 同样,棉花行业的转型并不是一个组织的工作。 我们与良好棉花社区携手合作,旨在与供应链中的每个环节合作,从农民到消费者,以及政府、民间社会组织和资助者。

新的合作方式

在我们的新气候方法中,我们正在利用我们与近 100 个战略和实施合作伙伴的网络。 我们正在该领域努力吸引新的受众,特别是对投资气候变化应急解决方案感兴趣的全球和国家政策制定者和资助者。 我们正在探索碳市场提供的机会和 支付生态系统服务计划,尤其是在小农的背景下。 我们还致力于加强农场层面利益相关者的声音,通过正确的激励措施和治理体系帮助赋予农业社区权力。 例如,农民将自己组织成协会、工作组或组织的方式对于提高有效缓解措施的采用率和建立令人信服的案例以实现温室气体减排至关重要。 最终,我们的目标是激励、影响和向供应链各个层面的参与者学习,因为良好棉花不仅是一种商品,而且是一场由关注棉花及其可持续未来的每个人分享的运动。

全球变化的本地解决方案

正如 COP26 所强调的那样,没有一个国家可以免受气候变化的影响,但每个国家的确切气候风险和危害都是高度局部化的。 从印度和巴基斯坦的极端干旱到以色列中部的土传真菌袭击,气候变化已经影响到良好棉花种植区的农民,其影响将迅速增加。 重要的是,解决方案需要全球和当地的合作伙伴关系。 再次,合作将是必不可少的。

通过我们的新气候方法,我们正在根据棉花 2040 制定国家级的减缓和适应路线图 气候风险分析 跨棉花产区。 这项评估使我们能够更好地了解气候变化对棉花产区的预计影响,包括极端天气事件、土壤退化、虫害压力增加、干旱和洪水,这些将导致劳动力迁移、受教育机会减少等社会影响、减产和农村粮食不安全。 该分析使我们能够优先考虑良好棉花足迹突出且气候变化影响最为极端的地区,例如:印度、巴基斯坦和莫桑比克等。 当 COP26 的领导人分享他们国家的独特挑战并“共同努力实现”时,我们将倾听并努力制定符合 COP26 成果的雄心勃勃的目标。

良好棉花成员为 COP26 采取行动

查看 Better Cotton 会员的承诺和行动:

了解更多信息

分享此页

By Alan McClay, Better Cotton, CEO

The UN Climate Change Conference, otherwise known as COP26, is finally here. The world is watching as global leaders, scientists, climate change experts, companies and civil society convene to tackle the most pressing issue of our time. Climate change is a cross-cutting theme in the Better Cotton programme, addressed through sustainable farming practices across the Better Cotton Principles & Criteria. Promoting these field practices across our 25 programme countries has helped us lay a foundation for mitigating climate change and supporting adaption at the farm-level. But in 2021, we are going further, developing an ambitious climate change approach as a part of our 2030 Strategy.

Our aim is to reduce the impact of cotton on the climate emergency. This impact has been estimated by the Carbon Trust at 220 million tonnes of CO2 emissions per year. With our scale and network, Better Cotton can help accelerate the transition to reduce emissions and include Better Cotton Farmers in the solution, supporting cotton farming communities to prepare, adapt and build resilience for climate change and its related impacts. Our climate approach will guide greater action under three pathways — mitigation, adaptation and ensuring a just transition — and our focus areas align with the four main goals of COP26. As COP26 kicks off, we are taking a closer look at a few of these goals and what they mean in real terms for Better Cotton Farmers and partners.

Alan McClay, Better Cotton CEO

COP26 Goal 4: Work together to deliver

We can only rise to the challenges of the climate crisis by working together.

COP26 goal number four, ‘work together to deliver’, is perhaps the most critical, because finalising the Paris Rulebook (the detailed rules that make the Paris Agreement operational) and accelerating action to tackle the climate crisis can only be achieved through effective collaboration between governments, businesses and civil society. Likewise, transforming the cotton sector is not the work of one organisation alone. Hand-in-hand with the Better Cotton community, we aim to work with every link in the supply chain, from farmer to consumer, as well as governments, civil society organisations and funders.

New approaches for collaboration

In our new climate approach, we are leveraging our network with almost 100 Strategic and Implementing Partners. We are working in the field to engage new audiences, particularly global and national policy makers and funders who are interested in investing in climate change emergency solutions. We are exploring opportunities offered by carbon markets and Payment for Ecosystem Services schemes, especially in the context of smallholders. We are also working to strengthen the voices of stakeholders at farm-level, helping to empower farming communities with the right incentives and governance systems. The way farmers structure themselves into associations, working groups or organisations, for example, will be crucial to increase the adoption rates of effective mitigation practices, and to build convincing cases for enabling GHG mitigation. Ultimately, we aim to inspire, influence, and learn from actors at every level of the supply chain, because Better Cotton is not just a commodity but a movement to be shared by everyone concerned by cotton and its sustainable future.

Local solutions for global change

As COP26 is highlighting, no country is insulated from the effects of climate change, but each country’s exact climate risks and hazards are highly localised. From extreme drought in India and Pakistan to soil-borne fungus attacks in central Israel, climate change already affects farmers in Better Cotton growing regions and its effects will increase rapidly. Importantly, solutions will require global and local partnerships. Here again, collaboration will be essential.

With our new climate approach, we are developing country-level roadmaps for mitigation and adaptation informed by Cotton 2040’s analysis of climate risks across cotton growing regions. This evaluation has allowed us to understand better the projected impacts of climate change in cotton production regions, including extreme weather events, soil degradation, increased pest pressure, droughts and flooding, which will result in social impacts such as labour migration, less access to education, reduced yields and rural food insecurity. The analysis has allowed us to prioritise areas where the Better Cotton footprint is prominent and the climate change impacts are most extreme, for example: India, Pakistan and Mozambique, among others. As leaders at COP26 share their country’s unique challenges and ‘work together to deliver’, we will be listening and will work to set ambitious targets in line with COP26 outcomes.

Better Cotton Members taking action for COP26

Check out the commitments and actions from Better Cotton Members:

Learn more about Better Cotton’s climate approach, including key focus areas, when we launch Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy later this year.

Translate »