بقلم آلان ماكلاي ، بيتر كوتون ، الرئيس التنفيذي

مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة لتغير المناخ ، المعروف أيضًا باسم COP26 ، هنا أخيرًا. يراقب العالم قادة العالم والعلماء وخبراء تغير المناخ والشركات والمجتمع المدني يجتمعون لمعالجة القضية الأكثر إلحاحًا في عصرنا. يعد تغير المناخ موضوعًا شاملاً في برنامج Better Cotton ، ويتم تناوله من خلال ممارسات الزراعة المستدامة في جميع أنحاء العالم مبادئ ومعايير أفضل للقطن. لقد ساعدنا تعزيز هذه الممارسات الميدانية في بلدان البرنامج البالغ عددها 25 بلدًا على إرساء أساس للتخفيف من تغير المناخ ودعم التكيف على مستوى المزرعة. لكن في عام 2021 ، نذهب إلى أبعد من ذلك ، ونطور نهجًا طموحًا لتغير المناخ كجزء من استراتيجيتنا لعام 2030.

هدفنا هو الحد من تأثير القطن على حالة الطوارئ المناخية. وقدر صندوق الكربون هذا التأثير بنحو 220 مليون طن من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنويًا. من خلال نطاقنا وشبكتنا ، يمكن لـ Better Cotton المساعدة في تسريع الانتقال لتقليل الانبعاثات وإدراج مزارع القطن الأفضل في الحل ، ودعم مجتمعات زراعة القطن للاستعداد والتكيف وبناء المرونة لتغير المناخ والآثار المرتبطة به. سيوجه نهجنا المتعلق بالمناخ إجراءات أكبر في إطار ثلاثة مسارات - التخفيف والتكيف وضمان انتقال عادل - وتتوافق مجالات تركيزنا مع الأهداف الرئيسية الأربعة لمؤتمر الأطراف 2. مع انطلاق COP26 ، نلقي نظرة فاحصة على عدد قليل من هذه الأهداف وما تعنيه بالمعنى الحقيقي لمزارعي القطن الأفضل والشركاء.

آلان ماكلاي ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Better Cotton

الهدف 26 من COP4: العمل معًا لتحقيق ذلك

لا يمكننا أن نرتقي إلى مستوى تحديات أزمة المناخ إلا من خلال العمل معًا.

ربما يكون الهدف الرابع لمؤتمر الأطراف 26 ، "العمل معًا من أجل التسليم" ، هو الأكثر أهمية ، لأن الانتهاء من كتاب قواعد باريس (القواعد التفصيلية التي تجعل اتفاق باريس ساريًا) وتسريع العمل لمعالجة أزمة المناخ لا يمكن تحقيقهما إلا من خلال التعاون الفعال بين الحكومات والشركات والمجتمع المدني. وبالمثل ، فإن تحويل قطاع القطن ليس عمل منظمة واحدة فقط. جنبًا إلى جنب مع مجتمع Better Cotton ، نهدف إلى العمل مع كل رابط في سلسلة التوريد ، من المزارع إلى المستهلك ، وكذلك الحكومات ومنظمات المجتمع المدني والممولين.

مناهج جديدة للتعاون

في نهجنا الجديد للمناخ ، نستفيد من شبكتنا مع ما يقرب من 100 شريك استراتيجي ومنفذ. نحن نعمل في هذا المجال لإشراك جماهير جديدة ، ولا سيما صانعي السياسات العالمية والوطنية والممولين المهتمين بالاستثمار في حلول الطوارئ المتعلقة بتغير المناخ. نحن نستكشف الفرص التي توفرها أسواق الكربون و الدفع مقابل مخططات خدمات النظام البيئي، خاصة في سياق أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة. نحن نعمل أيضًا على تقوية أصوات أصحاب المصلحة على مستوى المزرعة ، مما يساعد على تمكين المجتمعات الزراعية بالحوافز وأنظمة الحكم الصحيحة. إن الطريقة التي ينظم بها المزارعون أنفسهم في جمعيات أو مجموعات عمل أو منظمات ، على سبيل المثال ، ستكون حاسمة لزيادة معدلات تبني ممارسات التخفيف الفعالة ، وبناء حالات مقنعة لتمكين التخفيف من غازات الدفيئة. في نهاية المطاف ، نهدف إلى الإلهام والتأثير والتعلم من الجهات الفاعلة على كل مستوى من سلسلة التوريد ، لأن Better Cotton ليست مجرد سلعة بل هي حركة يشاركها كل من يهتم بالقطن ومستقبله المستدام.

الحلول المحلية للتغيير العالمي

كما يسلط COP26 الضوء ، لا توجد دولة معزولة عن تأثيرات تغير المناخ ، ولكن مخاطر ومخاطر المناخ الدقيقة لكل بلد محلية للغاية. من الجفاف الشديد في الهند وباكستان إلى هجمات الفطريات التي تنقلها التربة في وسط إسرائيل ، يؤثر تغير المناخ بالفعل على المزارعين في مناطق زراعة القطن الأفضل وستزداد آثاره بسرعة. الأهم من ذلك ، ستتطلب الحلول شراكات عالمية ومحلية. هنا مرة أخرى ، سيكون التعاون ضروريًا.

من خلال نهجنا المناخي الجديد ، نعمل على تطوير خرائط طريق على مستوى الدولة للتخفيف والتكيف مستندة إلى قطن 2040 تحليل مخاطر المناخ عبر مناطق زراعة القطن. لقد سمح لنا هذا التقييم بفهم أفضل للآثار المتوقعة لتغير المناخ في مناطق إنتاج القطن ، بما في ذلك الظواهر الجوية المتطرفة ، وتدهور التربة ، وزيادة ضغط الآفات ، والجفاف والفيضانات ، مما سيؤدي إلى آثار اجتماعية مثل هجرة اليد العاملة ، وقلة فرص الحصول على التعليم وانخفاض الغلات وانعدام الأمن الغذائي في المناطق الريفية. سمح لنا التحليل بتحديد أولويات المناطق التي تكون فيها البصمة القطنية الأفضل بارزة وتأثيرات تغير المناخ هي الأكثر تطرفًا ، على سبيل المثال: الهند وباكستان وموزمبيق ، من بين آخرين. نظرًا لأن القادة في COP26 يشاركون التحديات الفريدة لبلدهم و "نعمل معًا لتحقيق ذلك" ، سنستمع وسنعمل على وضع أهداف طموحة تتماشى مع نتائج COP26.

أعضاء أفضل من القطن يتخذون إجراءات من أجل COP26

تحقق من الالتزامات والإجراءات من أعضاء Better Cotton:

اقرأ المزيد

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

By Alan McClay, Better Cotton, CEO

The UN Climate Change Conference, otherwise known as COP26, is finally here. The world is watching as global leaders, scientists, climate change experts, companies and civil society convene to tackle the most pressing issue of our time. Climate change is a cross-cutting theme in the Better Cotton programme, addressed through sustainable farming practices across the Better Cotton Principles & Criteria. Promoting these field practices across our 25 programme countries has helped us lay a foundation for mitigating climate change and supporting adaption at the farm-level. But in 2021, we are going further, developing an ambitious climate change approach as a part of our 2030 Strategy.

Our aim is to reduce the impact of cotton on the climate emergency. This impact has been estimated by the Carbon Trust at 220 million tonnes of CO2 emissions per year. With our scale and network, Better Cotton can help accelerate the transition to reduce emissions and include Better Cotton Farmers in the solution, supporting cotton farming communities to prepare, adapt and build resilience for climate change and its related impacts. Our climate approach will guide greater action under three pathways — mitigation, adaptation and ensuring a just transition — and our focus areas align with the four main goals of COP26. As COP26 kicks off, we are taking a closer look at a few of these goals and what they mean in real terms for Better Cotton Farmers and partners.

Alan McClay, Better Cotton CEO

COP26 Goal 4: Work together to deliver

We can only rise to the challenges of the climate crisis by working together.

COP26 goal number four, ‘work together to deliver’, is perhaps the most critical, because finalising the Paris Rulebook (the detailed rules that make the Paris Agreement operational) and accelerating action to tackle the climate crisis can only be achieved through effective collaboration between governments, businesses and civil society. Likewise, transforming the cotton sector is not the work of one organisation alone. Hand-in-hand with the Better Cotton community, we aim to work with every link in the supply chain, from farmer to consumer, as well as governments, civil society organisations and funders.

New approaches for collaboration

In our new climate approach, we are leveraging our network with almost 100 Strategic and Implementing Partners. We are working in the field to engage new audiences, particularly global and national policy makers and funders who are interested in investing in climate change emergency solutions. We are exploring opportunities offered by carbon markets and Payment for Ecosystem Services schemes, especially in the context of smallholders. We are also working to strengthen the voices of stakeholders at farm-level, helping to empower farming communities with the right incentives and governance systems. The way farmers structure themselves into associations, working groups or organisations, for example, will be crucial to increase the adoption rates of effective mitigation practices, and to build convincing cases for enabling GHG mitigation. Ultimately, we aim to inspire, influence, and learn from actors at every level of the supply chain, because Better Cotton is not just a commodity but a movement to be shared by everyone concerned by cotton and its sustainable future.

Local solutions for global change

As COP26 is highlighting, no country is insulated from the effects of climate change, but each country’s exact climate risks and hazards are highly localised. From extreme drought in India and Pakistan to soil-borne fungus attacks in central Israel, climate change already affects farmers in Better Cotton growing regions and its effects will increase rapidly. Importantly, solutions will require global and local partnerships. Here again, collaboration will be essential.

With our new climate approach, we are developing country-level roadmaps for mitigation and adaptation informed by Cotton 2040’s analysis of climate risks across cotton growing regions. This evaluation has allowed us to understand better the projected impacts of climate change in cotton production regions, including extreme weather events, soil degradation, increased pest pressure, droughts and flooding, which will result in social impacts such as labour migration, less access to education, reduced yields and rural food insecurity. The analysis has allowed us to prioritise areas where the Better Cotton footprint is prominent and the climate change impacts are most extreme, for example: India, Pakistan and Mozambique, among others. As leaders at COP26 share their country’s unique challenges and ‘work together to deliver’, we will be listening and will work to set ambitious targets in line with COP26 outcomes.

Better Cotton Members taking action for COP26

Check out the commitments and actions from Better Cotton Members:

Learn more about Better Cotton’s climate approach, including key focus areas, when we launch Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy later this year.

Translate »