قام قطن 2040 ، مع شركائه التأقلم والدعم من مؤسسة Laudes ، بتأليف أول تحليل عالمي على الإطلاق لمخاطر المناخ المادي عبر مناطق زراعة القطن العالمية في الأربعينيات من القرن الماضي ، بالإضافة إلى تقييم المخاطر المناخية وقابلية التأثر في مناطق زراعة القطن في الهند.

يُظهر التحليل أنه في ظل سيناريو أسوأ حالة مناخية ، ستتعرض جميع مناطق زراعة القطن لمخاطر مناخية متزايدة بحلول عام 2040. وتواجه سلسلة قيمة القطن بأكملها تعرضًا متزايدًا لمخاطر المناخ ، بما في ذلك ارتفاع درجات الحرارة ، والتغيرات في توافر المياه والظواهر الجوية الشديدة . حتى مع الجهود الطموحة لإزالة الكربون ، سيكون التكيف مع المناخ ضروريًا. في الوقت نفسه ، يمكن للقطاع نفسه أن يساهم أيضًا في الجهود المبذولة للتصدي لتغير المناخ ، وخلق قطاع قطن مرن ومناسب للمستقبل.

اقرأ المزيد

زر ال المصغر للوصول إلى الموارد - التقريران ، أداة تفاعلية لاستكشاف مخاطر المناخ ، ومدونات ومقاطع فيديو مع تعليقات من قبل خبراء الصناعة - مصممة لتمكين الجهات الفاعلة في جميع أنحاء صناعة القطن من فهم التحديات المستقبلية الخطيرة لإنتاج القطن بشكل أفضل وما هو مطلوب للاستجابة للتحدي .

احضر ندوة القطن 2040 على الويب حيث سيتبادل المتحدثون النتائج والبيانات الرئيسية من هذا البحث الذي تم إصداره مؤخرًا على الهواء مباشرة ، بهدف مساعدة المشاركين على فهم كيفية تأثير تغير المناخ على المناطق الرئيسية لزراعة القطن وسلاسل التوريد. مع المنتجين والجهات الفاعلة في الصناعة ، سيستكشف المتحدثون ما تعنيه هذه النتائج لمنظماتهم. وستلهم أيضًا إجراءات أكثر طموحًا وترابطًا لإزالة الكربون بسرعة ومسؤولية ، مع التركيز على التكيف مع المناخ والتخفيف من آثاره مع العدالة المناخية عبر سلاسل التوريد في جوهرها.

مستخدم جديد هنا
التاريخ: الأربعاء 14 يوليو 2021
الوقت: : 12: 30-2: 00 مساءً بتوقيت جرينتش

المتحدثون:

كيف تساهم BCI؟

كجزء من مجموعة عمل "التخطيط للتكيف مع المناخ" في قطن 2040 ، عملت BCI مع الشركاء لتطوير هذه الموارد ، لا سيما في إنشاء مجموعات عمل إقليمية لمناقشة كيفية تحسين البيانات في الهند ومناطق أخرى. سنواصل استخدام هذا البحث لتغذية استراتيجيتنا المناخية وتحديد أولويات المناطق ذات المخاطر المناخية العالية.

تتطلع BCI إلى استخدام النتائج القيمة لمسار عمل القطن 2040 للتكيف مع تغير المناخ لفهم أفضل للمناطق ذات الأولوية للتركيز عليها ، ولتحديد المخاطر المناخية المحددة التي تواجه المزارعين في هذه المناطق. ترحب BCI أيضًا بالبحث المفيد للغاية في تقرير تقييم مخاطر المناخ والضعف في الهند ، والذي يشير إلى وجود صلة قوية بين مقاومة تغير المناخ والعوامل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية مثل الفقر ومحو الأمية ومشاركة النساء في العمل. وهذا يؤكد أهمية اتباع نهج شامل في مساعدة مزارعي القطن على التكيف بشكل أفضل مع تغير المناخ ، ويعزز حاجة BCI للعمل بشكل وثيق مع شركاء متعددين على هذه الجبهة.

- جريجوري جان ، مدير المعايير والتعلم ، BCI

 

إن مبادرة Better Cotton هي عضو فخور في Cotton 2040 - وهي شراكة عبر الصناعة تجمع تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية ومعايير القطن ومبادرات الصناعة معًا لمواءمة الجهود في مجالات العمل ذات الأولوية. اقرأ المزيد عن تعاون BCI مع Cotton 2040:

  • إطار دلتا - خلال عامي 2019 و 2020 ، عملنا بشكل تعاوني مع زملائنا من معايير وبرامج ورموز القطن المستدام عبر مجموعة عمل مواءمة تأثير القطن 2040 لمواءمة مؤشرات ومقاييس تأثير الاستدامة لأنظمة زراعة القطن.
  • كوتن أب - دليل تفاعلي لمساعدة العلامات التجارية وتجار التجزئة على التتبع السريع للمصادر المستدامة عبر معايير متعددة ، يجيب دليل CottonUP على ثلاثة أسئلة كبيرة حول مصادر القطن المستدام: لماذا هو مهم ، وما الذي تحتاج إلى معرفته والقيام به ، وكيفية البدء.

تعرف على المزيد حول مسار عمل "التخطيط للتكيف مع المناخ" في قطن 2040 من خلال زيارة المصغر.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Cotton 2040, with partners Acclimatise and support from Laudes Foundation, authored the first-ever global analysis of physical climate risks across global cotton growing regions for the 2040s, as well as a Climate Risk and Vulnerability Assessment of cotton growing regions in India.

The analysis shows that under a worst-case climate scenario, all cotton growing regions will be exposed to increased climate risk by 2040. The entire cotton value chain faces increasing exposure to climate risks, including rising temperatures, changes to water availability and extreme weather events. Even with ambitious decarbonisation efforts, climate adaptation will be essential. At the same time, the sector itself can also contribute to efforts addressing climate change, creating a resilient and future-fit cotton sector.

Learn more

Visit the microsite to access resources – the two reports, an interactive Climate Risk Explorer tool, blogs and videos with commentary by industry experts – designed to enable actors across the cotton industry to better understand the serious future challenges to cotton production and what’s needed to respond to the challenge.

Attend the Cotton 2040 webinar where speakers will share key findings and data from this recently released research live, aiming to help participants understand how climate change will likely impact key cotton growing regions and supply chains. With producers and industry actors, the speakers will explore what these findings mean for their organisations. They will also inspire more ambitious, interlinked action to decarbonise rapidly and responsibly, focussing on climate adaptation and mitigation with climate justice across supply chains at its core.

Register here
Date: Wednesday, 14 July 2021
Time: 12:30-2:00pm BST

Speakers:

  • Host: Dr Sally Uren, Chief Executive Officer, Forum for the Future
  • Iain Watt, Climate Strategist
  • Erin Owain, Lead Associate – Climate and Resilience Hub, Willis Tower Watson
  • Alastair Baglee, Director, Corporates – Climate & Resilience Hub, Willis Tower Watson
  • Charlene Collison, Associate Director, Sustainable Value Chains & Livelihoods, Forum for the Future

How is BCI contributing?

As part of Cotton 2040’s ‘Planning for Climate Adaptation’ working group, BCI worked with partners to develop these resources, particularly in setting up regional working groups to discuss how to optimise data in India and other regions. We will continue to use this research to feed into our climate strategy and prioritise areas with high climate risk.

‘BCI looks forward to using the valuable outcomes of the Cotton 2040 Climate Change Adaptation workstream to better understand priority regions to focus on, and to identify specific climate hazards facing farmers in these areas. BCI also welcomes the highly useful research in the India Climate Risk and Vulnerability Assessment report, which points to a strong linkage between climate change resilience and socio-economic factors such as poverty, literacy, and female work participation. This underscores the importance of a holistic approach in helping cotton farmers better adapt to climate change, and reinforces the need for BCI to work closely with multiple partners on this front.’

– Gregory Jean, Standards and Learning Manager, BCI

 

The Better Cotton Initiative is a proud member of Cotton 2040 – a cross-industry partnership that brings retailers and brands, cotton standards and industry initiatives together to align efforts in priority areas for action. Read more about BCI’s collaboration with Cotton 2040:

  • Delta Framework – during 2019 and 2020, we have been working collaboratively with fellow sustainable cotton standards, programmes and codes via the Cotton 2040 Impacts Alignment Working Group to align sustainability impact indicators and metrics for cotton farming systems.
  • CottonUP – an interactive guide to help brands and retailers fast track sustainable sourcing across multiple standards, the CottonUP Guide answers three big questions about sourcing sustainable cotton: why it’s important, what you need to know and do, and how to get started.

Learn more about Cotton 2040’s ‘Planning for Climate Adaptation’ workstream by visiting their microsite.

Translate »