首页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 南非的更好棉花

南非的更好棉花

早在 1690 年,南非的西开普省就开始生产棉花。由于其耐寒性和盈利能力,它已成为主要的种植作物,如今,棉花种植在五个主要省份:夸祖鲁纳塔尔省、林波波省、普马兰加省、北开普省和西北。

滑动1
0
持牌农民
0,000
良好棉花吨数
0,000
收获的公顷

第一次良好棉花收获于 2016 年在南非进行,目前良好棉花种植在夸祖鲁-纳塔尔省西部的洛斯科普地区亚热带高地的小型农场、中型和大型农场。 通过我们的实地合作伙伴,我们寻求支持大型农场采用先进的农业技术,同时建设小农的能力并帮助他们获得重要的资金和投入。

南非更好的棉花合作伙伴

南非棉花 是我们在南非的执行伙伴。

这个非营利组织是南非棉花产业所有利益相关者的伞式组织,包括农民、公司和政府机构。 Cotton South Africa 负责刺激和支持棉花的生产和使用,充当行业论坛,通过研究和培训提高棉花的适销性。

可持续性挑战

气候变化给南非的供水带来压力,让农民不得不应对每年的干旱,尤其是在北开普省。 这对于该国的棉花部门尤其是小农棉农来说尤其具有挑战性,他们可能缺乏解决这些问题的知识和专业知识。 目前,可以帮助棉花生产的政府资金和支持有限。

为了应对这些挑战,Cotton South Africa 正在为全国各地的良好棉花种植者提供培训,帮助他们采用更可持续的做法,如更高效的灌溉方法和使用天然杀虫剂。 他们还帮助大型农场利用精准农业工具(包括卫星数据、遥感设备和数据收集技术)来帮助他们识别风险和优化农场管理,同时为小农棉农建立正式的培训计划。

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

联系我们

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Australia
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in South Africa

Better Cotton in South Africa

Cotton production began in South Africa’s Western Cape as early as 1690. It has become a prominent crop for planting because of its hardiness and profitability, and today, cotton is grown in five main provinces: Kwa-Zulu Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape and North West.

Slide 1
0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

The first Better Cotton harvest took place in South Africa in 2016, and Better Cotton is currently grown in the subtropical highlands of the Loskop area, at the West of the KwaZulu-Natal province on a mix of smallholder, medium and large farms. Through our on-the-ground partner, we seek to support large farms in adopting advanced farming technologies, while building smallholders’ capacity and helping them gain access to vital funding and inputs.

Better Cotton Partner in South Africa

Cotton South Africa is our Implementing Partner in South Africa.

This non-profit serves as an umbrella organisation for all of the stakeholders in South Africa’s cotton industry, including farmers, companies and government agencies. Cotton South Africa is responsible for stimulating and supporting the production and use of cotton, acting as an industry forum and enhancing the marketability of cotton through research and training.

Sustainability challenges

Climate change is putting pressure on the water supply in South Africa, leaving farmers to contend with yearly droughts, especially in the Northern Cape. This is particularly challenging for the country’s cotton sector, and especially smallholder cotton farmers, who may lack the knowledge and expertise to address these issues. Currently, there is limited government funding and support for cotton production that could help.

To address these challenges, Cotton South Africa is providing training to Better Cotton Farmers across the country, helping them adopt more sustainable practices like more efficient irrigation methods and use of natural pesticides. They are also helping large farms take advantage of precision agriculture tools (including satellite data, remote sensing devices and data collection technologies) to help them identify risks and optimise farm management, while establishing a formal training programme for smallholder cotton farmers.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.