非洲制造的棉花 (CmiA)
主页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 多个非洲国家(CmiA 和 SCS)

多个非洲国家(CmiA 和 SCS)

非洲占全球棉花产量的 5%,占世界棉花出口的 9% 以上。 棉花是非洲大陆最重要的经济作物之一。

滑动1
0,432
持牌农民*
0,716
良好棉花吨数*
1,0,675
收获的公顷数*

非洲种植的大部分棉花都是由小农种植的,每个农民的土地都不到 20 公顷。 虽然由于手工采摘,纤维质量通常很高,但非洲的棉农面临着严峻的挑战,包括对生产健康作物至关重要的水和其他投入物的获取有限,而且往往产量和利润低。

Better Cotton 于 2010 年首次在非洲开展工作. 现在直接在四个非洲国家运行项目: 马达加斯加, 马里, 莫桑比克 南非.

我们还在多个非洲国家与贸易援助基金会合作:贝宁、布基纳法索、喀麦隆、科特迪瓦、加纳、莫桑比克、尼日利亚、坦桑尼亚、乌干达和赞比亚。

多个非洲国家更好的棉花合作伙伴

2013 年,经过三年的合作,Better Cotton 与贸易援助基金会 (AbTF)、非洲棉花 (CmiA) 标准和小农棉花标准 (SCS) 的所有者签订了战略合作协议。 我们共同致力于改善撒哈拉以南非洲数十万小农的生计。

经独立研究证明两种标准具有相同的高要求,经 CmiA/SCS 认证的棉花也可以作为良好棉花出售。 由于可以根据市场需求灵活地将他们的棉花作为非洲制造的棉花或更好的棉花进行销售,农民在避免额外成本的同时增加了灵活性。

*注意:由于 Better Cotton 和 AbTF 都在莫桑比克运行项目,我们必须删除重复/重叠的数据,以便我们不会重复计算参与这些项目的农民。 这就是 Better Cotton 报告的关于 CmiA 计划国家的数据低于 AbTF 报告的数据的原因。

可持续性挑战

许多非洲国家的严重干旱和不规律的降雨给棉农造成了很大的干扰。 强降雨会冲走种子或损坏作物,而降雨不足或降雨迟于预期会影响植物的健康生长。

在这些充满挑战的条件下,加上一些国家的棉花价格偏低,一些农民选择种植其他经济作物,如大豆或芝麻。

我们在非洲的合作伙伴 Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF) 帮助棉农采用可持续的农业实践,并开发当地农民可以使用的解决方案,例如用于管理棉花害虫的天然糖蜜陷阱。 

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

我们的培训和支持超越了可持续农业实践。 我们还与棉花公司和零售合作伙伴合作,投资专注于妇女赋权、教育、自然保护以及水和卫生的社区项目,为棉花生产社区提供更广泛的利益。

图片:获得许可的 CmiA 农民 © Martin J. Kielmann 为 CmiA。 2020。

与您

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Cotton made in Africa (CmiA)
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Multiple African Countries (CmiA & SCS)

Multiple African Countries (CmiA & SCS)

Africa represents 5% of global cotton production and more than 9% of the world’s cotton exports. Cotton is one of the most important cash crops on the continent.

Slide 1
0,001
Licensed Farmers*
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton*
1,0,000
Hectares Harvested*

Most cotton grown in Africa is grown by smallholder farmers, each with less than 20 hectares of land. While fibre quality is typically high due to hand-picking, cotton farmers in Africa face steep challenges, including limited access to water and other inputs that are vital to producing healthy crops, and often suffer from low yields and profits.

Better Cotton first began working in Africa in 2010. and now runs programmes directly in four African countries: Madagascar, Mali, Mozambique and South Africa.

We also partner with Aid by Trade Foundation in multiple African countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mozambique, Nigeria, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Better Cotton Partner in Multiple African Countries

In 2013, following three years of collaboration, Better Cotton entered into a Strategic Partnership Agreement with the Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF), owners of the Cotton made in Africa (CmiA) Standard and Smallholder Cotton Standard (SCS). Together, we aim to improve the livelihoods of hundreds of thousands of smallholder farmers in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Cotton verified as CmiA/SCS can also be sold as Better Cotton, following an independent study proving that the two standards share the same high requirements. With the flexibility to market their cotton as Cotton Made in Africa or Better Cotton, depending on market demand, farmers have increased flexibility while avoiding additional costs.

*Note: As Better Cotton and AbTF both run programmes in Mozambique, we have to remove duplicate/overlapping data, so that we do not double count the farmers participating in these projects. This is why the data Better Cotton reports on CmiA programme countries is lower than the figures reported by AbTF.

Sustainability challenges

Severe droughts in many African countries and irregular rainfall have caused a lot of disruption for cotton farmers. Heavy rainfall can wash away seeds or damage crops, while insufficient rainfall or rain arriving later than expected can affect healthy plant growth.

In these challenging conditions, and with some countries seeing low prices for cotton, some farmers have opted to grow other cash crops such as soybeans or sesame instead.

Our partner in Africa, Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF), helps cotton farmers adopt sustainable agricultural practices as well as develop solutions that are accessible to farmers at a local level, such as natural molasses traps to manage cotton pests. 

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Our training and support go beyond sustainable agricultural practices. We also work with cotton companies and retail partners to invest in community projects focused on women’s empowerment, education, nature protection and water and hygiene, providing broader benefits to cotton-producing communities.

Image: Licensed CmiA Farmers © Martin J. Kielmann for CmiA. 2020.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.