قطن صنع في إفريقيا (CmiA)
الصفحة الرئيسية » حيث يزرع قطن أفضل » بلدان أفريقية متعددة (CmiA & SCS)

بلدان أفريقية متعددة (CmiA & SCS)

تمثل أفريقيا 5٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي وأكثر من 9٪ من صادرات القطن العالمية. يعتبر القطن من أهم المحاصيل النقدية في القارة.

الشريحة 1
0,432
المزارعون المرخصون *
0,716
طن من أفضل القطن *
1,0,675
حصاد هكتار *

يزرع معظم القطن المزروع في أفريقيا من قبل صغار المزارعين ، ولكل منهم أقل من 20 هكتارًا من الأراضي. في حين أن جودة الألياف عادة ما تكون عالية بسبب القطاف اليدوي ، فإن مزارعي القطن في إفريقيا يواجهون تحديات شديدة ، بما في ذلك محدودية الوصول إلى المياه والمدخلات الأخرى التي تعتبر حيوية لإنتاج محاصيل صحية ، وغالبًا ما يعانون من انخفاض المحاصيل والأرباح.

بدأت شركة Better Cotton العمل في أفريقيا عام 2010. وتدير الآن برامج مباشرة في أربع دول أفريقية: مدغشقر, مالي, موزمبيق و جنوب أفريقيا.

نشارك أيضًا مع Aid by Trade Foundation في العديد من البلدان الأفريقية: بنين وبوركينا فاسو والكاميرون وكوت ديفوار وغانا وموزمبيق ونيجيريا وتنزانيا وأوغندا وزامبيا.

أفضل شريك للقطن في العديد من البلدان الأفريقية

في عام 2013 ، بعد ثلاث سنوات من التعاون ، دخلت شركة Better Cotton في اتفاقية شراكة استراتيجية مع Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF) ، أصحاب معيار القطن المصنوع في إفريقيا (CmiA) ومعيار القطن لأصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة (SCS). معًا ، نهدف إلى تحسين سبل عيش مئات الآلاف من المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى.

يمكن أيضًا بيع القطن الذي تم التحقق منه باعتباره CmiA / SCS باعتباره Better Cotton ، بعد دراسة مستقلة تثبت أن المعيارين يشتركان في نفس المتطلبات العالية. مع المرونة في تسويق قطنهم على أنه قطن مصنوع في إفريقيا أو قطن أفضل ، اعتمادًا على طلب السوق ، زاد المزارعون من المرونة مع تجنب التكاليف الإضافية.

* ملاحظة: نظرًا لأن كل من Better Cotton و AbTF يديران برامج في موزمبيق ، يتعين علينا إزالة البيانات المكررة / المتداخلة ، حتى لا نضاعف عدد المزارعين المشاركين في هذه المشاريع. هذا هو السبب في أن بيانات تقرير القطن الأفضل في بلدان برنامج CmiA أقل من الأرقام التي أبلغ عنها AbTF.

تحديات الاستدامة

تسبب الجفاف الشديد في العديد من البلدان الأفريقية وعدم انتظام هطول الأمطار في حدوث الكثير من الاضطرابات لمزارعي القطن. يمكن للأمطار الغزيرة أن تجرف البذور أو تلحق الضرر بالمحاصيل ، في حين أن هطول الأمطار غير الكافية أو هطول الأمطار في وقت متأخر عما هو متوقع يمكن أن يؤثر على نمو النبات الصحي.

في ظل هذه الظروف الصعبة ، ومع انخفاض أسعار القطن في بعض البلدان ، اختار بعض المزارعين زراعة محاصيل نقدية أخرى مثل فول الصويا أو السمسم بدلاً من ذلك.

يساعد شريكنا في إفريقيا ، Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF) ، مزارعي القطن على تبني ممارسات زراعية مستدامة بالإضافة إلى تطوير حلول يمكن للمزارعين الوصول إليها على المستوى المحلي ، مثل مصائد دبس السكر الطبيعي لإدارة آفات القطن. 

تعرف على المزيد حول النتائج التي يواجهها المزارعون من خلال المشاركة في برنامج Better Cotton في أحدث برامجنا تقرير نتائج المزارع.

يتجاوز تدريبنا ودعمنا الممارسات الزراعية المستدامة. نعمل أيضًا مع شركات القطن وشركاء التجزئة للاستثمار في مشاريع مجتمعية تركز على تمكين المرأة والتعليم وحماية الطبيعة والمياه والنظافة ، مما يوفر فوائد أوسع للمجتمعات المنتجة للقطن.

الصورة: مزارعو CmiA المرخصون © Martin J. Kielmann لـ CmiA. 2020.

اتصل بنا

اتصل بفريقنا عبر نموذج الاتصال إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد ، أو أن تصبح شريكًا أو كنت مزارعًا مهتمًا بزراعة Better Cotton.

Cotton made in Africa (CmiA)
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Multiple African Countries (CmiA & SCS)

Multiple African Countries (CmiA & SCS)

Africa represents 5% of global cotton production and more than 9% of the world’s cotton exports. Cotton is one of the most important cash crops on the continent.

Slide 1
0,001
Licensed Farmers*
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton*
1,0,000
Hectares Harvested*

Most cotton grown in Africa is grown by smallholder farmers, each with less than 20 hectares of land. While fibre quality is typically high due to hand-picking, cotton farmers in Africa face steep challenges, including limited access to water and other inputs that are vital to producing healthy crops, and often suffer from low yields and profits.

Better Cotton first began working in Africa in 2010. and now runs programmes directly in four African countries: Madagascar, Mali, Mozambique and South Africa.

We also partner with Aid by Trade Foundation in multiple African countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mozambique, Nigeria, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Better Cotton Partner in Multiple African Countries

In 2013, following three years of collaboration, Better Cotton entered into a Strategic Partnership Agreement with the Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF), owners of the Cotton made in Africa (CmiA) Standard and Smallholder Cotton Standard (SCS). Together, we aim to improve the livelihoods of hundreds of thousands of smallholder farmers in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Cotton verified as CmiA/SCS can also be sold as Better Cotton, following an independent study proving that the two standards share the same high requirements. With the flexibility to market their cotton as Cotton Made in Africa or Better Cotton, depending on market demand, farmers have increased flexibility while avoiding additional costs.

*Note: As Better Cotton and AbTF both run programmes in Mozambique, we have to remove duplicate/overlapping data, so that we do not double count the farmers participating in these projects. This is why the data Better Cotton reports on CmiA programme countries is lower than the figures reported by AbTF.

Sustainability challenges

Severe droughts in many African countries and irregular rainfall have caused a lot of disruption for cotton farmers. Heavy rainfall can wash away seeds or damage crops, while insufficient rainfall or rain arriving later than expected can affect healthy plant growth.

In these challenging conditions, and with some countries seeing low prices for cotton, some farmers have opted to grow other cash crops such as soybeans or sesame instead.

Our partner in Africa, Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF), helps cotton farmers adopt sustainable agricultural practices as well as develop solutions that are accessible to farmers at a local level, such as natural molasses traps to manage cotton pests. 

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Our training and support go beyond sustainable agricultural practices. We also work with cotton companies and retail partners to invest in community projects focused on women’s empowerment, education, nature protection and water and hygiene, providing broader benefits to cotton-producing communities.

Image: Licensed CmiA Farmers © Martin J. Kielmann for CmiA. 2020.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.