当产生积极的变化时,人们或公司通常希望就此进行交流。 Better Cotton 也不例外。

良好棉花会员资格的一个好处是能够就对良好棉花的承诺以及这些承诺的影响做出“声明”。

然而,做出的声明不具有误导性至关重要,这就是为什么我们致力于确保关于良好棉花的声明是可信的、透明的和准确的。

什么是可持续性声明?

在其 索赔良好实践指南, ISEAL 将可持续性声明定义为 用于参照可持续性三大支柱中的一个或多个来区分和推广产品、流程、业务或服务的信息: 社会、环境和经济。

更好的棉花索赔框架

良好棉花声明框架是良好棉花标准体系的一个组成部分。 它是通过多方利益相关者协商过程创建的,并接受年度审查。 声明框架使我们的成员能够对良好棉花做出可信和积极的声明,同时允许灵活地传达他们的承诺。 它根据会员的棉花采购门槛以及索赔的批准程序提供了关于什么可以说和不可以说的指南。

PDF
3.39 MB

更好的棉花索赔框架 V3.0

更好的棉花索赔框架 V3.0
下载

我们还有许多其他通讯资产可供会员使用,例如图像、视频、现成材料和 我们的故事 . 通过将框架中的声明与这些其他资源相结合,Better Cotton 会员可以阐明对他们及其客户有意义的引人入胜的故事。

成员应始终参考良好棉花声明框架,以确保他们想要使用声明的上下文不违反他们作为成员商定的行为。 

索赔框架的使用受 良好棉花行为准则Better Cotton 会员条款 和 更好的棉花监测协议.

索赔框架的修订版于 3 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日发布。

支持文件
  • 良好棉花零售商和品牌成员的影响报告:方法论 683.52 KB

Better Cotton 标志和质量平衡

要了解有关良好棉花产品标记的更多信息以及零售商和品牌成员如何将其与我们的质量平衡系统结合使用,请访问我们的 各向同性 标志背后? 网页。

立法

可持续性声明的政策格局正在迅速演变。 为了解这些变化将如何影响会员索赔,Better Cotton 尽可能与立法机构保持联系。 我们欢迎会员和其他利益相关者提供有关此主题的任何新信息。

2021 年 XNUMX 月,新 指导 由荷兰消费者和市场管理局 ACM 根据可持续性声明发布。 该指南特别适用于使用产品标记 (OPM) 或任何其他形式的产品级可持续性声明的良好棉花成员。 请注意,该指南不仅适用于荷兰品牌,还适用于在荷兰市场销售产品的所有品牌。

2021 年 XNUMX 月,英国竞争与市场管理局 (CMA) 发布了一份 《绿色索赔守则》 为公司提供有关他们希望做出的可持续性声明的指导。 新指南将于 2022 年 XNUMX 月开始执行。请注意,该指南不仅适用于英国品牌,还适用于在英国市场销售产品的所有品牌。 

虽然已努力确保索赔框架中概述的索赔是透明的且绝不会产生误导,但作出索赔的选择以及确保索赔符合相关法律和立法的责任在于良好棉花会员。 我们不能保证遵守当地法律要求,我们始终建议会员咨询自己的法律团队,以确保索赔适合他们经营的市场。

When positive change is created, people or companies often want to communicate about it. Better Cotton is no different.

A benefit of Better Cotton membership is being able to make ‘claims’ about commitments made to Better Cotton — and the impact of those commitments.

However, it is crucial that the claims being made are not misleading, which is why we are committed to ensuring that claims made about Better Cotton are credible, transparent, and accurate.

What is a sustainability claim?

In its Claims Good Practice Guide, ISEAL defines a sustainability claim as a message used to set apart and promote a product, process, business or service with reference to one or more of the three pillars of sustainability: social, environmental and economic.

Better Cotton Claims Framework

The Better Cotton Claims Framework is one component of the Better Cotton Standard System. It was created through a multi-stakeholder consultation process and is subject to an annual review. The Claims Framework equips our members to make credible and positive claims about Better Cotton while allowing flexibility in how to communicate about their commitment. It provides guidelines on what can and can’t be said according to a member’s cotton sourcing threshold as well as the approval process for a claim.

PDF
772.08 KB

The Better Cotton Claims Framework

The Better Cotton Claims Framework is part of the Better Cotton Standard System. It was created through a multi-stakeholder consultation process and is subject to annual review.
Download

We also have many other communications assets available for members to use, such as images, videos, ready-made materials and Stories from the Field. By combining claims in the framework with these other resources, Better Cotton Members can articulate a compelling story that is meaningful to them and their customers.

Members should always refer to the Better Cotton Claims Framework to ensure that the context in which they want to use a claim is not in breach of their agreed conduct as a member. 

Use of the Claims Framework is governed by the Better Cotton Code of PracticeBetter Cotton Terms of Membership and Better Cotton Monitoring Protocol.

Supporting Documents
  • Impact Reporting for Better Cotton Retailer and Brand Members: Methodology 683.52 KB

The Better Cotton logo and mass balance

To learn more about the Better Cotton on-product mark and how this can be used by Retailer and Brand Members in conjunction with our system of mass balance, visit our What’s Behind the Logo? webpage.

Legislation

The policy landscape of sustainability claims is fast evolving. To understand how these changes will affect member claims, Better Cotton liaises with legislative bodies wherever possible. We welcome any new information on this topic from members and other stakeholders.

In May 2021, new guidance was released on sustainability claims by the Netherlands Authority for Consumers and Markets ACM. This guidance is particularly relevant to Better Cotton Members using the on-product mark (OPM) or making any other form of product-level sustainability claims. Note that the guidance applies not only to Dutch brands, but to all brands selling products in the Dutch market. Please view our advice for members on the ACM legislation.

In September 2021, The UK Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) released a ‘Green Claims Code’ offering guidance to companies on the sustainability claims they wish to make. The new guidance will be enforced as of January 2022. Note that the guidance applies not only to British brands, but to all brands selling products in the UK market. A new Better Cotton Claims Framework V3.0 will be released in October 2021. In the meantime, and prior to the launch of the new Claims Framework, please reference our advice for members based upon the ACM legislation in the Netherlands (released earlier this year). There are consistencies in the evolving legislation around sustainability claims for different markets, and the rules we devised in response to the ACM announcement, therefore also support the evolution in guidance for the UK market.

Whilst efforts have been made to ensure that the claims outlined within the Claims Framework are transparent and never misleading, the choice to make claims, and the responsibility to ensure claims comply with relevant laws and legislation, lies with the Better Cotton Member. We cannot guarantee compliance with local legal requirements and we always recommend that members consult their own legal teams to ensure that claims are appropriate for the markets in which they operate.