首页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 哈萨克斯坦更好的棉花

哈萨克斯坦更好的棉花

哈萨克斯坦主要是农业经济体,24% 的人口从事农业。 它也是世界上最北的棉花种植国。

滑动1
0
持牌农民
0,000
良好棉花吨数
0,000
收获的公顷

该国拥有比中亚邻国更多的土地,但种植的棉花相对较少,农民主要专注于粮食作物等粮食作物。 哈萨克斯坦南部和东南部的气温最适合棉花生产。 这些地区的大多数农场 (70%) 由家庭经营,估计小农占棉花总产量的 95%。

哈萨克斯坦更好的棉花合作伙伴

自 2016 年以来,路易达孚公司一直是哈萨克斯坦良好棉花的实施合作伙伴,自 2012 年以来一直是良好棉花成员。农产品贸易商与我们合作,在该国建立了良好棉花计划,以应对哈萨克斯坦对良好棉花不断增长的需求。

为了进一步支持该国的良好棉花种植者,Louis Dreyfus 公司正在为培训项目寻求额外资金,同时还通过支持对气候适应性更强的棉花品种的研究来支持该国的棉花未来。

可持续性挑战

哈萨克斯坦的棉农面临着恶劣的气候条件,高温和水资源短缺。 缺水,再加上土壤健康状况不佳和虫害压力,导致生长条件恶劣。 路易达孚公司通过采用简单、经济的技术来改善土壤健康,帮助农民应对这些挑战。

例如,农民学会分析土壤样本以了解何时施肥以及使用多少。 Better Cotton Farmers 还采取了精确的方法来防治害虫。 在我们实施合作伙伴的帮助下,他们取得了长足的进步,监测害虫数量,并仅在达到特定阈值时才使用杀虫剂。 在这两种情况下,在预算允许的情况下,他们都会投资于对地球更友好的生物肥料和杀虫剂。

为了帮助克服共同的挑战并以更具成本效益的方式购买投入品,哈萨克斯坦政府鼓励农民在大型合作社中合作。 然而,由于许多小农习惯了传统的耕作方式,他们对改变方式以及购买更昂贵产品的风险持谨慎态度。 让农民自己看到可持续实践的好处对于鼓励这种转变至关重要。

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

联系我们

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Kazakhstan

Better Cotton in Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan is a primarily agricultural economy, with 24% of the population employed in agriculture. It’s also the world’s most northerly cotton-growing country.

Slide 1
0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

The country has more land than its Central Asian neighbours, yet grows comparatively less cotton, with farmers focusing largely on food crops such as grains. Temperatures in Southern and South-eastern Kazakhstan are best for cotton production. Most farms (70%) in these regions are run by families, and smallholders account for an estimated 95% of total cotton production.

Better Cotton Partner in Kazakhstan

Louis Dreyfus Company has been Better Cotton’s Implementing Partner in Kazakhstan since 2016 and a Better Cotton Member since 2012. The agricultural commodity trader collaborated with us to establish a Better Cotton programme in the country in response to rising demand for Better Cotton from Kazakhstan.

To further support the country’s Better Cotton Farmers, Louis Dreyfus Company is seeking additional funding for training projects, while also supporting the country’s cotton future by supporting research into more climate-resilient cotton varieties.

Sustainability challenges

Cotton farmers in Kazakhstan face harsh climate conditions, with high temperatures and scarce water supplies. This lack of water, combined with poor soil health and pest pressure, makes for tough growing conditions. Louis Dreyfus Company helps farmers address these challenges by adopting simple, affordable techniques to improve soil health.

For example, farmers learn to analyse the soil samples to understand when to apply fertilisers and how much to use. Better Cotton Farmers also take a precision approach to fighting pests. With the help of our Implementing Partner, they’ve made considerable progress, monitoring pest numbers and only applying pesticides when they reach a certain threshold. In both cases, and where budget allows, they invest in biological fertilisers and pesticides that are kinder to the earth.

To help overcome their shared challenges and buy inputs in a more cost-effective way, the Kazakhstan government is encouraging farmers to work together in large cooperatives. However, with many smallholders used to traditional ways of farming, they are wary of changing their ways and the risk of potentially buying more expensive products. Enabling farmers to see the benefits of sustainable practices for themselves will be vital to encouraging this transition.

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.