世界一直在注视着全球领导人、专家和活动家等人在备受期待的联合国气候变化会议 - COP26 上发表自己的声音。

在整个活动期间的一系列博客中,我们一直在研究良好棉花的气候方法将如何在三个途径下指导更大的行动—— 减轻, 适应确保公正的过渡 ——以及这对良好棉花种植者和合作伙伴的实际意义。 随着 COP26 接近尾声,我们正在关注缓解途径,仔细研究棉花对气候紧急情况的影响。

保持 1.5 度触手可及

作者:Kendra Park Pasztor,Better Cotton,监测与评估高级经理

COP26 的第一个目标——到本世纪中叶确保全球净零排放,并将全球气温上升限制在工业化前水平以上 1.5 度——无疑是最雄心勃勃的。 如果我们想防止最灾难性的气候灾害发生,这也是我们唯一的选择。 为实现这一目标,COP26 呼吁各国承诺实现雄心勃勃的 2030 年减排目标。

什么是温室气体排放?

温室气体或 GHG 包括二氧化碳、甲烷和一氧化二氮。 有时,“碳”被用作“温室气体排放”的简写。 通常,排放量以“碳当量”表示 - CO2e.

与此同时,由于森林和土壤储存了大量的大气碳,而施肥和灌溉系统的电力是造成大量排放的原因,因此农业在减排方面也发挥着核心作用。 认识到这一点, COP26 上的 26 个国家已经做出了新的承诺 制定更可持续、污染更少的农业政策。

了解良好棉花对减缓气候变化的贡献

平均而言,良好棉花生产每吨皮棉的排放强度比中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的比较生产低 19%。

在 Better Cotton,我们认真对待棉花行业在减缓气候变化方面的作用。 今年 XNUMX 月,我们发布了我们的 第一份量化全球温室气体排放量的报告 (GHG) 的良好棉花和可比产量。 这是帮助我们在 2030 年战略中设定减排目标的重要第一步。

良好棉花温室气体研究,由 花团 并于 2021 年受 Better Cotton 委托,发现获得 Better Cotton 许可的农民的棉花生产的排放量显着降低。

研究中的另一项分析评估了良好棉花(或公认的同等)生产的排放量,占巴西、印度、巴基斯坦、中国和美国获得许可的良好棉花全球产量的 80% 以上。 这些数据使我们能够为良好棉花的许多当地环境制定有针对性的减排战略。

将数据转化为行动:设定 Better Cotton 的 2030 年目标

Anthesis 的研究为我们提供了我们正在使用的宝贵见解——以及最新的 气候科学 — 制定 2030 年良好棉花温室气体减排目标,与 UNFCCC 时尚宪章 Better Cotton 是其中的一员。 现在我们已经建立了良好棉花温室气体排放的基线,我们可以进一步完善我们的监测和报告方法。

了解更多

注册收听 Kendra 演讲 在“实现雄心勃勃的企业目标:可持续性标准如何促进景观采购区气候和可持续性计划?”的会议上于 17 月 XNUMX 日在使净零价值链成为可能活动中举行。

阅读 Alan McClay 的博客 合作的重要性 和切尔西莱因哈特的博客 实现公正的过渡 作为我们“COP26 和更好的棉花气候方法”博客系列的一部分。

当我们在今年晚些时候推出 Better Cotton 的 2030 战略时,了解更多关于 Better Cotton 的气候方法的信息,包括关键的重点领域。 查找有关我们关注的更多信息 温室气体排放 和我们的 最近发布的 Anthesis 研究.

分享此页

The world has been watching as global leaders, experts and activists alike have been making their voices heard at the much-anticipated UN Climate Change Conference – COP26.

In a series of blogs throughout the event, we’ve been looking at how Better Cotton’s climate approach will guide greater action under three pathways — mitigation, adaptation and ensuring a just transition —and what that willmean in real terms for Better Cotton Farmers and partners. As COP26 draws to a close, we are zeroing in on the mitigation pathway, taking a closer look at the impact of cotton on the climate emergency.

Keeping 1.5 Degrees Within Reach

By Kendra Park Pasztor, Better Cotton, Senior Manager of Monitoring & Evaluation

The first COP26 goal — secure global net zero by mid-century and limit global temperature rise to 1.5 degrees above pre-industrial levels — is without a doubt the most ambitious. It’s also our only option if we want to prevent the most catastrophic climate disasters from occurring. To achieve this goal, COP26 has called on countries to commit to ambitious 2030 emissions reductions targets.

What are Greenhouse Gas Emissions?

Greenhouse gases or GHGs include carbon dioxide, methane and nitrous oxides. Sometimes ‘carbon’ is used as shorthand for ‘GHG emissions.’ Generally, emissions are expressed in ‘carbon equivalent’ – CO2e.

At the same time, agriculture also has a central role to play in emissions reductions as forests and soil store large quantities of atmospheric carbon, and fertiliser application and power for irrigation systems are responsible for significant emissions. Recognising this, 26 nations at COP26 have already set out new commitments to create more sustainable and less polluting agricultural policies.

Understanding Better Cotton’s Contribution to Climate Change Mitigation

On average, Better Cotton production had a 19% lower emissions intensity per tonne lint than comparison production across China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

At Better Cotton, we are taking the cotton sector’s role in climate change mitigation seriously. In October of this year, we released our first report quantifying global greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs) of Better Cotton and comparable production. This is an important first step that is helping us set our emissions reduction target in our 2030 Strategy.

The Better Cotton GHG study, conducted by Anthesis Group and commissioned by Better Cotton in 2021, found significantly lower emissions from Better Cotton-licensed farmers’ cotton production.

Another piece of analysis in the study assessed emissions from Better Cotton (or recognised equivalent) production constituting over 80% of licensed Better Cotton’s global production across Brazil, India, Pakistan, China and the US. This data is enabling us to develop targeted emissions reduction strategies for Better Cotton’s many local contexts.

Translating Data into Action: Setting Better Cotton’s 2030 Target

Anthesis’ study provided us with valuable insights that we are using — along with the latest climate science — to set a 2030 target for Better Cotton GHG emissions reduction, aligned with the UNFCCC Fashion Charter of which Better Cotton is a member. Now that we have established a baseline for Better Cotton GHG emissions, we can further refine our monitoring and reporting methods moving forward.

Learn More

Register to hear Kendra speak at the session “Achieving Ambitious Corporate Targets: How Can Sustainability Standards Contribute To Landscape Sourcing Area Climate And Sustainability Programmes?” taking place on 17 November at the Making Net-zero Value Chains Possible event.

Read Alan McClay’s blog on the importance of collaboration and Chelsea Reinhardt’s blog on enabling a just transition as part of our ‘COP26 and the Better Cotton Climate Approach’ blog series.

Learn more about Better Cotton’s climate approach, including key focus areas, when we launch Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy later this year. Find more information on our focus on GHG emissions and our recently released study with Anthesis.

Translate »