持续改进 实地结果和影响
图片来源:Better Cotton/Demarcus Bowser 地点:美国田纳西州伯利森。 2019. 棉花包从布拉德威廉姆斯的农场运输。

15 年 2021 月 2021 日发布的一份新报告揭示了良好棉花和可比生产的全球温室气体排放量的首次量化。 该报告由 Anthesis Group 进行,并于 XNUMX 年受 Better Cotton 委托,发现获得 Better Cotton 许可的农民棉花生产的排放量显着降低。

Anthesis 分析了三个季节(200,000-2015 至 16-2017)的 18 多个农场评估,并使用了 酷农具 作为温室气体排放计算引擎。 Better Cotton 提供的主要数据包括投入物的使用和类型、农场规模、生产和大致的地理位置,而一些信息是通过案头研究填写的,原始数据不可用。

本研究的目的有两个。 首先,我们想了解良好棉花种植者在种植棉花时是否比可比的非良好棉花种植者产生的排放量更低。 其次,我们希望量化占全球良好棉花产量 80% 的生产商的排放量,并使用该基线设定 2030 年的全球减排目标。

我们比较分析的结果

为了了解良好棉花种植者在种植棉花时的排放量是否低于可比较的非良好棉花种植者,比较数据由良好棉花提供。 每个季节,其合作伙伴都会收集和报告在相同地理区域使用相同或类似技术种植棉花但尚未参与良好棉花计划的农民的数据。 研究发现,与中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的比较生产相比,良好棉花生产的每吨皮棉平均排放强度低 19%。

良好棉花和对比生产之间排放性能差异的一半以上是由于肥料生产的排放差异造成的。 另有 28% 的差异是由于灌溉排放造成的。 

平均而言,良好棉花生产每吨皮棉的排放强度比中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其的比较生产低 19%。

这将使 Better Cotton 及其合作伙伴的主要生产区的减排战略能够实施有意义且可衡量的气候变化减缓行动。

为 Better Cotton 的 2030 战略提供信息的分析

我们的目标是为气候做出并展示积极的现实世界变化。 这意味着有一个基线并测量随时间的变化。 为了帮助我们为即将到来的 2030 年战略和相关的全球减排目标提供信息,我们要求进行一项单独的分析,以评估良好棉花(或公认的同等)生产的排放量,该生产占巴西、印度、巴基斯坦获得许可的良好棉花全球生产的 80% 以上,中国和美国。 该分析分解了每个国家每个州或省的排放驱动因素。 这将使 Better Cotton 及其合作伙伴的主要生产区的减排战略能够实施有意义且可衡量的气候变化减缓行动。

研究发现,生产 8.74 万吨皮棉的平均年温室气体排放量为 2.98 万吨二氧化碳当量——相当于每生产一吨皮棉排放 2.93 吨二氧化碳当量。 不出所料,最大的排放热点是化肥生产,占良好棉花生产总排放量的 47%。 灌溉和施肥也被发现是排放的重要驱动因素。

Better Cotton 在温室气体排放方面的下一步行动

设定 2030 年目标

  • Better Cotton 将制定 2030 年温室气体减排目标。 这将会 以气候科学为依据服装和纺织行业的集体抱负,尤其是 UNFCCC 时尚宪章 Better Cotton 是其中的一员。
  • Better Cotton 的排放目标将包含在我们的 综合气候变化战略 目前正在开发中。
图片来源:BCI/Vibhor Yadav

朝着目标采取行动

  • 鉴于它们对总排放量的巨大贡献, 减少使用合成肥料和灌溉 可以显着减少排放。 通过提高效率 更好的产量 还将有助于降低排放强度,即每种植一吨棉花所排放的温室气体。
  • 采用管理实践,例如 覆盖作物、覆盖、免耕/减耕和有机肥施用 提供通过碳封存减少排放的重要机会。 这些做法可以同时对保持土壤水分和增强土壤健康产生积极影响。
  • 激发集体行动 最重要的地方也将支持减排——这包括确定热点、利用新资源和倡导良好棉花直接范围之外的变革(例如,生产棉皮的良好棉花排放量的大约 10% 来自轧花。如果一半的轧花业务是支持从化石燃料动力能源过渡到可再生能源,良好棉花排放量将减少 5%)。

图片来源:BCI/摩根费拉。

针对目标进行监控和报告

  • 更好的棉花是 合作一个由领导的项目 黄金标准,这将为良好棉花的排放量化方法提供指导和可信度。 我们是 测试 Cool Farm 工具 作为一种科学、可靠和可扩展的方法,帮助我们监测排放随时间的变化。
  • 从良好棉花种植者和项目中收集更多数据将使 排放量化的细化 随后几年的进程。

下载下面的报告并访问我们最近的 关于测量和报告温室气体排放网络研讨会的更好棉花更新演示幻灯片 以从报告中找到更多详细信息。

了解有关 Better Cotton 的工作的更多信息 温室气体排放。


Translate »

Photo Credit: Better Cotton/Demarcus Bowser Location: Burlison, Tennessee, USA. 2019. Cotton bales being transported from Brad Williams’ farm.

A new report published on 15 October 2021 has revealed the first-ever quantification of global greenhouse gas emissions of Better Cotton and comparable production. The report, conducted by Anthesis Group and commissioned by Better Cotton in 2021, found significantly lower emissions from Better Cotton licensed farmers’ cotton production.

Anthesis analysed more than 200,000 farm assessments from three seasons (2015-16 to 2017-18) and used the Cool Farm Tool as the GHG emissions calculation engine. The primary data provided by Better Cotton covered input use and types, farm sizes, production and approximate geographical locations, while some information was filled via desk research where primary data was not available.

The aims of this study were two-fold. Firstly, we wanted to understand if Better Cotton farmers have produced lower emissions while growing cotton than comparable non-Better Cotton farmers. Secondly, we wanted to quantify emissions for producers contributing 80% of Better Cotton global production and use this baseline to set a global emissions reductions target for 2030.

Results from our comparative analysis

To understand if Better Cotton farmers have produced lower emissions while growing cotton than comparable non-Better Cotton farmers, comparison data was provided by Better Cotton. Each season its partners collect and report data from farmers cultivating cotton in the same geographic areas using same or similar technologies, but who are not yet participating in the Better Cotton programme. The study found that on average Better Cotton production had a 19% lower emissions intensity per tonne lint than comparison production across China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

Over half of the difference in emissions performance between Better Cotton and comparison production was due to difference in emissions from fertiliser production. A further 28% of the difference was because of emissions from irrigation. 

On average Better Cotton production had a 19% lower emissions intensity per tonne lint than comparison production across China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.

This will enable emissions reduction strategies across Better Cotton’s and its partners’ major production areas to implement meaningful and measurable climate change mitigation actions.

Analysis that informs Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy

We aim to make, and demonstrate, positive real-world change for the climate. This means having a baseline and measuring change over time. To help inform our forthcoming 2030 strategy and associated global target on emissions reduction, we requested a separate piece of analysis to assess emissions from Better Cotton (or recognised equivalent) production constituting over 80% of licensed Better Cotton’s global production across Brazil, India, Pakistan, China and the US. The analysis breaks down emissions drivers for each state or province per country. This will enable emissions reduction strategies across Better Cotton’s and its partners’ major production areas to implement meaningful and measurable climate change mitigation actions.

The study found production had average annual GHG emissions of 8.74 million tonnes carbon dioxide equivalents to produce 2.98 million tonnes lint – equating to 2.93 tonnes carbon dioxide equivalents per tonne lint produced. Unsurprisingly, the largest emissions hotspot was found to be fertiliser production, which accounted for 47% of total emissions from Better Cotton production. Irrigation and fertiliser application were also found to be significant drivers of emissions.

Better Cotton’s next steps on GHG Emissions

Set a 2030 Target

  • Better Cotton will set a 2030 target on GHG emissions reduction. This will be informed by climate science and the collective ambition of the apparel and textile sector, including notably the UNFCCC Fashion Charter of which Better Cotton is a member.
  • Better Cotton’s emissions target will sit within our comprehensive climate change strategy currently under development.
Photo Credit: BCI/Vibhor Yadav

Take Action Towards the Target

  • Given their sizable contribution to total emissions, reductions in the use of synthetic fertilisers and irrigation can unlock significant reductions in emissions. Efficiency improvements through better yields will also contribute to reducing emissions intensity, i.e. GHGs emitted per tonne of cotton grown.
  • The adoption of management practices such as cover cropping, mulching, no/reduced tillage and application of organic manures offer significant opportunities to reduce emissions through carbon sequestration. These practices can simultaneously have a positive impact on conserving soil moisture and enhancing soil health.
  • Galvanising collective action where it matters most will also support emissions reductions – this includes identifying hotspots, leveraging new resources and advocating for change outside Better Cotton’s direct scope (e.g. approximately 10% of Better Cotton emissions to produce cotton lint comes from ginning. If half the ginning operations were supported to transition away from fossil fuel-powered energy to renewables, Better Cotton emissions would reduce by 5%).

Photo Credit: BCI/Morgan Ferrar.

Monitor & Report Against the Target

  • Better Cotton is partnering on a project led by the Gold Standard, which will provide guidance and credibility to Better Cotton’s emissions quantification method. We are testing the Cool Farm Tool as a scientific, credible and scalable approach to help us monitor change in emissions over time.
  • The collection of additional data from Better Cotton farmers and projects will enable refinement of the emissions quantification process in subsequent years.

Download the report below and access our recent Better Cotton Update on Measuring and Reporting Greenhouse Gas Emissions Webinar and presentation slides to find more details from the report.

Learn more about Better Cotton’s work on Greenhouse Gas Emissions.


Translate »