公司信息

作者:Kendra Park Pasztor,良好棉花倡议高级经理 - 监测、评估和学习

在 Better Cotton,我们对棉花的可持续性数据考虑了很多。 与我们的实施合作伙伴一起,我们每年从世界各国收集和分析数百万个关于化肥和农药使用、灌溉水、产量和小农盈利能力的数据点。

比较优质棉花 农民结果

肯德拉公园帕斯托

我们的分析团队将这些数据转化为可供国家计划和合作伙伴工作人员使用的交互式结果仪表板。 我们公开报告国家层面的平均水平,以分享与同一地区尚未接触良好棉花的农民相比获得许可的良好棉花农民季节性结果的见解。 例如,在 2018-19 季节,印度的良好棉花种植者使用的农药减少了 10%,而巴基斯坦的良好棉花种植者使用的水比对比种植者减少了 15%。

分析可持续性热点

我们还使用结果监测数据为我们对棉花可持续性热点的全球分析提供信息。 这有助于在国家层面识别良好棉花和我们的合作伙伴所面临的挑战。 对数据进行更细致的调查,结合国家合作伙伴的专业知识,正在加强影响影响的计划方法。 考虑到这一点,我们正在发展我们的团队,专注于使用数据洞察来改进计划。

改进数据收集和数字化

在过去几年中,Better Cotton 一直在数字化方面进行显着投资,包括开发云数据库和目前在印度试点 Agritask 的专业农业技术工具。 展望未来,我们将寻找利用改进的数据质量和收集来实现更快的学习反馈循环并通过新信息和服务为农民增加价值的方法。

带头加强衡量和报告

自 2019 年以来,Better Cotton 一直在主导一个重大项目—— 三角洲框架 – 这将重新定义我们衡量农业可持续性的方式,从棉花和咖啡开始。 通过制定清晰、一致的方式来监测和报告参与农场在可持续农业方面的进展,整体和可操作的框架将使每个参与者都能识别持续改进的机会,采取行动支持变革,并最终让整个部门就其进步。 该项目还在制定指南,将农场层面的数据汇总到特定商品部门的全国平均水平,以改进对可持续发展目标 (SDG) 的报告。

生命周期评估如何*?

良好棉花不打算委托或参与独立的良好棉花全球生命周期评估 (LCA)。 LCA 是一种有用的工具,可以确定热点和优先领域,以关注一组选定的环境指标。 例如,多年来发布的 LCA 有助于该行业了解棉花种植导致气候变化的原因以及缓解气候变化的最佳方法。

然而,独立的 LCA 并不是在特性棉和常规棉之间进行一般性、全系统、全球比较的合适工具[1]. Better Cotton 的投资组合在地域上与有机或常规的投资组合完全不同,而且分析的季节不同,这意味着结果没有可比性。 联合国时装业气候行动宪章原材料工作组最近的报告,“确定棉和涤纶纤维的低碳来源”,突出了这个问题。

生命周期清单如何*?

《时尚宪章》报告对服装和纺织行业的主要建议之一是摆脱独立的 LCA,转而使用生命周期清单 (LCIs) 和围绕生产影响的定性标准。

Better Cotton 同意将重点调整到 LCI,这可以提供更及时、更细致的洞察力,以跟踪趋势并激发行动。 我们正在按照 Delta 框架朝着这个方向前进,制定温室气体排放指标,我们将在国家层面报告该指标。 在过去的一年里,我们测试了 酷农场工具 强大的温室气体量化工具。

我们也同意用定性标准或措施补充 LCI 数据的建议。 在棉花生产的可持续性方面,LCI 仅提供了关注的一部分。 社会经济问题——对参与棉花种植的数百万人极为重要——是看不见的; 其他环境问题被部分涵盖但缺乏科学共识,如生物多样性和农药毒性。

我们的重点向前迈进

我们的行业现在需要的是重新定位以可靠地衡量随着时间的推移发生的变化。 随着气候危机和可持续发展目标 2030 年最后期限的临近,我们都应该思考 LCI 与其他方法相结合如何帮助我们了解正在取得进展以及存在差距的地方。 现在是寻找艰巨挑战并投资解决这些挑战的时候了。

对于像 Better Cotton 这样努力与合作伙伴做出真正改变的项目,我们还必须强调影响评估的重要性,其中包括强大的反事实方法。 您可以在 ISEAL 上找到有关其他研究和影响评估的更多信息 艾维登西亚. 这种类型的评估做了 LCI 和 LCA 无法做到的事情——提供证据证明我们观察到的结果或变化可以归因于该计划,如果没有该计划就不会发生。

*生命周期评估 (LCA) 是一个多步骤程序,用于计算产品或服务的生命周期环境影响。 LCA 的完整过程包括目标和范围定义、清单分析、影响评估和解释。 在 Better Cotton 的案例中,独立的 LCA 将估计棉服装对环境影响的棉花生产阶段。

*生命周期清单 (LCI) 是 LCA 的数据收集部分。 LCI 是对感兴趣的“系统”所涉及的一切的直接核算。 它包括对进出产品系统的所有流量的详细跟踪,包括原材料或材料、能源类型、水和特定物质向空气、水和土地的排放。

[1] ISO 14040 关于 LCA,关于系统状态之间比较的第 5.1.2.4 节,“在比较研究中,应在解释结果之前评估被比较系统的等效性。”

分享此页

General

By Kendra Park Pasztor, Better Cotton Initiative Senior Manager – Monitoring, Evaluation & Learning

At Better Cotton, we think a lot about cotton sustainability data. Together with our Implementing Partners, we collect and analyse millions of data points each year from countries across the world about fertiliser and pesticide use, irrigation water, yields and smallholder profitability.

Comparing Better Cotton Farmer results

Kendra Park Pasztor, Better Cotton Senior Manager – Monitoring, Evaluation & Learning

Our analytics team turns that data into interactive results dashboards for country programme and partner staff. We publicly report country-level averages to share insight on licensed Better Cotton Farmer seasonal results compared to farmers in the same regions not yet engaged with Better Cotton. For example, in the 2018-19 season, Better Cotton Farmers in India used 10% less pesticides, and Better Cotton Farmers in Pakistan used 15% less water than Comparison Farmers.

Analysing sustainability hotspots

We are also using the results monitoring data to inform our global analysis of cotton sustainability hotspots. This enables the identification of challenges at the national level where Better Cotton and our partners are working. More granular inquiry into the data combined with national partner expertise is leading to strengthened programmatic approaches for impact. With this in mind, we are growing our team to focus on using data insights to improve programmes.

Improving data collection and digitisation

Over the past couple of years, Better Cotton has been making notable investments in digitisation, including developing a cloud database and current piloting of Agritask’s specialised agritech tool in India. Moving forward, we will look at ways to leverage improved data quality and collection  to enable a faster learning feedback loop and add value for farmers via new information and services.

Taking the lead to strengthen measurement and reporting

Since 2019, Better Cotton has been leading a major project – the Delta Framework – that will redefine how we measure sustainability for agriculture, starting with cotton and coffee. By producing a clear, consistent way to monitor and report the progress of participating farms towards sustainable agriculture, the holistic and actionable framework will enable everyone involved to identify opportunities for continuous improvement, take action to support change and ultimately allow the whole sector to communicate its progress. The project is also developing guidance for aggregating farm-level data up to national averages for specific commodity sectors to improve reporting on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

What about Life Cycle Assessment*?

Better Cotton is not planning to commission or participate in a standalone global life cycle assessment (LCA) of Better Cotton. LCAs are a useful tool to identify hotspots and priority areas for attention for a select set of environmental indicators. The LCAs published over the years have, for example, contributed to the sector’s understanding of what drives climate change from cotton cultivation and what are the best ways to mitigate it.

Standalone LCAs are not, however, an appropriate tool to make general, system-wide, global comparisons between identity cottons and conventional cotton[1]. The fact that Better Cotton’s portfolio in terms of geographies is completely different from that of organic or conventional, and the seasons of analysis vary means the results are not comparable. The UN’s Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action Raw Materials Working Group’s recent report, “Identifying Low Carbon Sources of Cotton and Polyester Fibers”, highlighted this problem.

What about Life Cycle Inventories*?

One of the Fashion Charter report’s main recommendations to the apparel and textile sector is to move away from standalone LCAs and instead use life cycle inventories (LCIs) and qualitative criteria around production impacts.

Better Cotton agrees with adjusting focus to LCIs that can provide more timely, granular insights to follow trends and galvanise action. We are moving in that direction in line with the Delta Framework with the development of a GHG emissions metric that we will report on at country level. Over the past year, we have tested the Cool Farm Tool’s robust GHG quantification tool.

We also agree with the recommendation to complement LCI data with qualitative criteria or measures. LCIs provide only a subset of what is of concern when it comes to sustainability in cotton production. Socio-economic issues – extremely important to the millions of people involved in growing cotton – are invisible; other environmental issues are partially covered but lack scientific consensus, like biodiversity and pesticide toxicity.

Our Focus Moving Forward

What our sector needs now is to reorient to credibly measuring change over time. With the climate crisis and fast-approaching 2030 deadline for the SDGs, we should all be thinking about how LCIs combined with other methods can help us understand where progress is being made and where gaps remain. Now is the time to seek out the tough challenges and invest in solving them.

For programmes like Better Cotton that are striving with their partners to make real change, we must also emphasise the importance of impact evaluation that includes robust counterfactual methodologies. You can find more information on other research and impact evaluations on ISEAL’s Evidensia. This type of evaluation does something LCIs and LCAs cannot – provide evidence that the outcomes or changes we observe can be attributed to the programme and would not have happened in its absence.

*Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) is a multi-step procedure for calculating the lifetime environmental impact of a product or service. The complete process of LCA includes goal and scope definition, inventory analysis, impact assessment and interpretation. In Better Cotton’s case, a stand-alone LCA would estimate the cotton production phase of cotton garments’ environmental impact.

*Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) is the data collection portion of LCA. LCI is the straight-forward accounting of everything involved in the “system” of interest. It consists of detailed tracking of all the flows in and out of the product system, including raw resources or materials, energy by type, water and emissions to air, water and land by specific substance.

[1] ISO 14040 on LCA, section 5.1.2.4 on comparisons between systems states, “In comparative studies, the equivalence of the systems being compared shall be evaluated before interpreting the results.”

Translate »