استدامة

27.01.13 هافينغتون بوست
www.huffingtonpost.com

هل تعرف التأثير البيئي للقميص على ظهرك؟ يكشف هذا الفيديو الجديد من World Wildlife Fund وسلسلة "Make Every Choice Count" من National Geographic التأثيرات البيئية لإنتاج المنسوجات. إن زراعة القطن ، وتصنيع الخامة ، ونقل المنتج ، بالطبع ، وغسل القميص مرارًا وتكرارًا ، كل ذلك له أثره على الكوكب.

حتى لو كان القميص مصنوعًا من مادة طبيعية تمامًا مثل القطن خالية من الحيوانات ، فلا تزال هناك عواقب بيئية. وفقًا لموقع Waterfootprint.org ، تعد زراعة القطن أكبر مستهلك للمياه في سلسلة توريد الملابس ، وتستخدم في 40 في المائة من جميع الملابس في جميع أنحاء العالم ، وفقًا لصحيفة الغارديان. نظرًا لأن الأمر يتطلب حوالي 2,700 لترًا من الماء لصنع قميص واحد فقط ، كما يوضح الفيديو ، فهذا يعني أن كمية هائلة من المياه النظيفة في العالم تتركز في صناعة النسيج.

مع توفر المياه النظيفة التي يمكن الوصول إليها والتي تصل إلى أقل من 1 في المائة من إمدادات المياه في العالم ، يعد هذا المورد ذا قيمة ومحدودة.

والخبر السار هو أنه يتم اتخاذ خطوات كبيرة لتقليل البصمة المائية للقطن. من خلال مبادرة القطن الأفضل ، ساعد الصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية 75,000 مزارع على تقليل استخدامهم للمياه بنسبة 39 في المائة مع زيادة الأرباح بنسبة 11 في المائة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تتطلع ماركات المنسوجات الكبرى إلى إنتاج قطن أكثر صداقة للبيئة.

تعهدت شركة إيكيا العملاقة للمفروشات المنزلية بتحويل الإنتاج إلى قطن أفضل بنسبة 100 في المائة بحلول عام 2015. ووفقًا لبيان صحفي ، أعلن الصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية مؤخرًا عن شراكة للتوعية بالمياه لمدة 3 سنوات مع شركة الأزياء H&M. سيقيم التعاون تأثير H & M على إنتاج المياه ، ويعلم جميع الموظفين البالغ عددهم 94,000 موظف حول قضايا المياه في محاولة لتنفيذ استراتيجيات أكثر استدامة.

ومع ذلك ، بمجرد أن تغادر الملابس المحل ، يكون المشتري مسؤولاً عن تقليل تأثيرها على البيئة. لمعرفة المزيد حول قطع البصمة المائية لقميصك ، شاهد الفيديو على اليوتيوب بالضغط هنا.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Cotton’s Water Footprint: How One T-Shirt Makes A Huge Impact On The Environment

press Monday, January 27th, 2014

27.01.13 Huffington Post
www.huffingtonpost.com

Do you know the environmental impact of the shirt on your back? This new video from World Wildlife Fund and National Geographic’s “Make Each Choice Count” series reveals the environmental effects of textile production. Growing the cotton, manufacturing the material, transporting the product, of course, washing a shirt over and over again takes its toll on the planet.

Even if a t-shirt is made from an animal-free, all-natural material like cotton, there are still environmental consequences. According to Waterfootprint.org, cotton farming is the largest consumer of water in the apparel supply chain, and is used in 40 percent of all clothing worldwide, reports The Guardian. Since it takes about 2,700 liters of water to make just one t-shirt, as the video explains, that means an inordinate amount of the world’s clean water is being concentrated in the textile industry.

With accessible, clean water amounting to less than 1 percent of the world’s water supply, this resource is both valuable and finite.

The good news is that great strides are being made to reduce cotton’s water footprint. Through the Better Cotton Initiative, the World Wildlife Fund has helped 75,000 farmers reduce their water use by 39 percent while increasing profits by 11 percent. In addition, major textile brands are looking towards more eco-friendly cotton production.

Home furnishings giant Ikea has pledged to switch production to 100 percent Better Cotton by the year 2015. According to a press release, the WWF also recently announced a 3-year water-awareness partnership with the fashion company H&M. The collaboration will assess H&M’s water production impact, and teach all 94,000 employees about water issues in an effort to implement more sustainable strategies.

Once the clothing leaves the shop, however, the buyer is responsible for reducing its environmental impact. To find out more about cutting the water footprint of your t-shirt, Watch the video on YouTube by clicking here.