استدامة

باختصار جديد فيديويتحدث أصحاب المصلحة عن أهمية Better Cotton كحل رئيسي للاستدامة.

تمت مقابلة القادة الرئيسيين من العلامات التجارية الكبرى ، وجمعيات المزارع ، وجمعيات المزارعين والمزيد من أجل الفيديو خلال ورشة عمل لأصحاب المصلحة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية برعاية BCI. عقدت ورشة العمل ، التي نظمتها مبادرة Better Cotton ، في المقر الرئيسي لشركة NIKE Inc. في بورتلاند ، أو في وقت سابق من هذا العام.

في الفيديو ، يناقش أعضاء BCI Pioneer Nike و Levi Strauss & Co. ، وممثلون من Cotton Australia ، والمنظمات الاجتماعية والبيئية ، مثل World Wildlife Fund و Nature Conservancy ، أهمية القطن الأكثر مسؤولية ودراسة الجدوى لإنتاجه .

تعهدت العلامات التجارية مثل Nike و Levi Strauss & Co. بالتزامات عامة كبيرة للحصول على قطن أكثر استدامة. أوضحت سوسي برودمان ، نائب الرئيس ، Apparel Materials في NIKE، Inc. ورئيس مجلس BCI ، أن Nike تهدف إلى شراء قطن أكثر استدامة بنسبة 100٪ بحلول عام 2020. ”BCI ليست منظمة متخصصة - لديها فرصة حقيقية لتغيير الصناعة وإلى معالجة قضايا الحجم التي نحتاجها ، "قالت.

يرى منتجو القطن أن كبار تجار التجزئة يلتزمون بشراء قطن أكثر استدامة وقطنًا أفضل كفرصة رئيسية ليكونوا جزءًا من حصة السوق. يشجع مزارع القطن الأسترالي سيمون كوريش المزارعين على الانضمام: "زملائي المزارعين ، إنهم يفعلون بالفعل الأشياء الصحيحة ، عليهم فقط الخروج إلى هناك والترويج لما يفعلونه. إنه نوع من العمل الورقي ، لكنني أعتقد أن الفوائد على المدى الطويل ستكون وشيكة ". قال جيسي كورلي ، رئيس جمعية سوبيما الأمريكية ، إن منظمته تشارك لأسباب عملية للغاية في مجال الأعمال. أظهر عملاؤنا اهتمامًا بـ BCI. لقد أرادوا قطن BCI Supima ، ونريد أن نفعل ما يريد عملاؤنا منا القيام به ".

تلخصت ورشة عمل أصحاب المصلحة العام الأول من المشروع التجريبي للقطن الأفضل في الولايات المتحدة. شارك المزارعون النتائج والدروس المستفادة من موسم النمو الأول واقترحوا تحسينات للسنوات المقبلة. شاركت اثنتان وعشرون مزرعة في أربع ولايات (أركنساس وتكساس ونيو مكسيكو وكاليفورنيا) في المشروع التجريبي لعام 2014 ، وأنتجوا معًا أكثر من 11,000 طن متري (26 مليون رطل) من Better Cotton Lint. لمزيد من المعلومات حول المشروع التجريبي الأمريكي ، انقر فوق هنا.

لمعرفة المزيد حول عمليات BCI في الولايات المتحدة ، تفضل بزيارة موقعنا موقع الكترونيأو اتصل بـ Scott Exo ، المدير القطري للولايات المتحدة ، على [البريد الإلكتروني محمي].

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Brands and Growers Talk Responsible Cotton: New Video

Announcements Wednesday, July 22nd, 2015

In a new short video, stakeholders speak to the importance of Better Cotton as a mainstream sustainability solution.

Key leaders from major brands, farm coops, grower associations and more were interviewed for the video during a BCI sponsored USA stakeholder workshop. Convened by the Better Cotton Initiative, the workshop was held at NIKE Inc. headquarters in Portland, OR earlier this year.

In the video, BCI Pioneer members Nike and Levi Strauss & Co., representatives from Cotton Australia, and social and environmental organisations, like World Wildlife Fund and the Nature Conservancy, all discuss the importance of more responsible cotton and the business case for producing it.

Brands such as Nike and Levi Strauss & Co. have made major public commitments to sourcing more sustainable cotton. Susi Proudman, Vice President, Apparel Materials at NIKE, Inc. and BCI Council Chair, explained that Nike aims to procure 100% more sustainable cotton by 2020. “BCI is not a niche organisation – it has real opportunity to change the industry and to address the scale issues that we need,” she said.

Cotton producers are seeing major retailers commit to procuring more sustainable cotton and Better Cotton as a key opportunity to be a part of the market share. Australian cotton grower Simon Corish encourages farmers to get on board: “My fellow farmers, they’re already doing the right things, they’ve just got to get out there and promote what they’re doing. It is a little bit of paperwork, but I think the benefits longer term will be forthcoming.” Jesse Curlee, President of the US association Supima, said his organisation participates for very practical business reasons. “Our customers showed interest in BCI. They wanted BCI Supima cotton, and we want to do what our customers want us to do.”

The stakeholder workshop recapped the first year of the US Better Cotton pilot project. Growers shared results and lessons learned from their first growing season and suggested improvements for future years. Twenty-two farms in four states (Arkansas, Texas, New Mexico and California) took part in the 2014 pilot project, and together they produced over 11,000 metric tons (26 million lbs) of Better Cotton lint. For more information on the US pilot project, click here.

To learn more about BCI operations in the United States visit our website or contact Scott Exo, US Country Manager, at scott.exo@bettercotton.org.