可持续性

在一个新的短 视频,利益相关者谈到了良好棉花作为主流可持续性解决方案的重要性。

在 BCI 赞助的美国利益相关者研讨会期间,来自主要品牌、农场合作社、种植者协会等的主要领导人接受了视频采访。 该研讨会由更好的棉花倡议组织召集,于今年早些时候在俄勒冈州波特兰的耐克公司总部举行。

在视频中,BCI Pioneer 成员 Nike 和 Levi Strauss & Co.、Cotton Australia 的代表以及世界自然基金会和大自然保护协会等社会和环境组织都讨论了更负责任的棉花的重要性以及生产棉花的商业案例.

耐克和 Levi Strauss & Co. 等品牌已做出重大的公开承诺,以采购更可持续的棉花。 NIKE, Inc. 服装材料副总裁兼 BCI 委员会主席 Susi Proudman 解释说,耐克的目标是到 100 年采购 2020% 以上的可持续棉花。解决我们需要的规模问题,”她说。

棉花生产商看到主要零售商承诺采购更可持续的棉花和良好棉花,这是成为市场份额一部分的重要机会。 澳大利亚棉花种植者西蒙科里什鼓励农民加入:“我的农民同胞,他们已经在做正确的事情,他们只需走出去宣传他们正在做的事情。 这只是一点文书工作,但我认为长期的好处将会到来。” 美国 Supima 协会主席 Jesse Curlee 表示,他的组织出于非常实际的商业原因参加。 “我们的客户对 BCI 表现出兴趣。 他们想要 BCI Supima 棉花,而我们想要做客户想让我们做的事情。”

利益相关者研讨会回顾了美国良好棉花试点项目的第一年。 种植者分享了他们从第一个生长季节中汲取的成果和经验教训,并提出了未来几年的改进建议。 四个州(阿肯色州、德克萨斯州、新墨西哥州和加利福尼亚州)的 2014 个农场参与了 11,000 年的试点项目,他们总共生产了超过 26 公吨(XNUMX 万磅)的良好棉花皮棉。 有关美国试点项目的更多信息,请单击 此处.

要了解有关 BCI 在美国运营的更多信息,请访问我们的 官网或联系美国区域经理 Scott Exo, [电子邮件保护].

分享此页

Brands and Growers Talk Responsible Cotton: New Video

Announcements Wednesday, July 22nd, 2015

In a new short video, stakeholders speak to the importance of Better Cotton as a mainstream sustainability solution.

Key leaders from major brands, farm coops, grower associations and more were interviewed for the video during a BCI sponsored USA stakeholder workshop. Convened by the Better Cotton Initiative, the workshop was held at NIKE Inc. headquarters in Portland, OR earlier this year.

In the video, BCI Pioneer members Nike and Levi Strauss & Co., representatives from Cotton Australia, and social and environmental organisations, like World Wildlife Fund and the Nature Conservancy, all discuss the importance of more responsible cotton and the business case for producing it.

Brands such as Nike and Levi Strauss & Co. have made major public commitments to sourcing more sustainable cotton. Susi Proudman, Vice President, Apparel Materials at NIKE, Inc. and BCI Council Chair, explained that Nike aims to procure 100% more sustainable cotton by 2020. “BCI is not a niche organisation – it has real opportunity to change the industry and to address the scale issues that we need,” she said.

Cotton producers are seeing major retailers commit to procuring more sustainable cotton and Better Cotton as a key opportunity to be a part of the market share. Australian cotton grower Simon Corish encourages farmers to get on board: “My fellow farmers, they’re already doing the right things, they’ve just got to get out there and promote what they’re doing. It is a little bit of paperwork, but I think the benefits longer term will be forthcoming.” Jesse Curlee, President of the US association Supima, said his organisation participates for very practical business reasons. “Our customers showed interest in BCI. They wanted BCI Supima cotton, and we want to do what our customers want us to do.”

The stakeholder workshop recapped the first year of the US Better Cotton pilot project. Growers shared results and lessons learned from their first growing season and suggested improvements for future years. Twenty-two farms in four states (Arkansas, Texas, New Mexico and California) took part in the 2014 pilot project, and together they produced over 11,000 metric tons (26 million lbs) of Better Cotton lint. For more information on the US pilot project, click here.

To learn more about BCI operations in the United States visit our website or contact Scott Exo, US Country Manager, at scott.exo@bettercotton.org.