能力建设

没有农民,就不会有更好的棉花。 农民和农场工人是良好棉花工作的基础,自良好棉花开始的十多年里,我们的计划已惠及全球数百万农民、工人和农业社区。

然而,当我们在提高农业可持续性方面发挥自己的作用时,我们必须不断评估我们的方法是否真正从农民的角度设计。 我们必须考虑我们系统、服务和工具的各个方面,以确保它们的设计继续主要是为了农业社区的利益。

这就是为什么在 2021 年,我们投入时间和资源来更好地了解农民的需求和需求、良好棉花是否能够实现这一目标,以及我们如何进一步改善我们为农民及其社区提供的产品。

首先,我们启动了 2030 年战略。 这将推动我们实现战略目标的方式,包括我们提高棉农福祉和经济发展的雄心。 我们的能力建设将更加以农民为中心,更好地适应农民表达的需求,并旨在使他们能够不断改进他们的耕作方式. 在社会和经济方面,我们将努力改善棉农、农场工人及其社区的生活和生计。

图片来源:Better Cotton/Morgan Ferrar 地点:印度古吉拉特邦 Bhavnagar 区。 2019. 描述:良好棉花农民 Shaileshbhai Ukabhai Rao (Ctr. L) 和 Shilpaben Rao (Ctr. R) 和他们的两个孩子在 Talaja 村。

2021 年,我们还在印度古吉拉特邦和特伦甘纳邦的 100 名农民中进行了“以农民为中心”的研究,力求了解从农民的日常挑战和需求到他们宝贵的信息来源,以及学习和知识共享的最佳实践等方方面面。 我们希望更好地了解良好棉花种植者的真实生活——他们在应对农业挑战时的信心如何,以及良好棉花使他们能够如何做到这一点。

例如,我们发现大多数受访者以种植棉花作为主要收入来源,每周平均花 52 小时种田。

种植农作物变得越来越难,三分之一的人将来可能会减少耕种。 特别是,气候变化、水资源短缺、价格波动和昂贵的投入都是共同的挑战。

同样清楚的是,面对面的能力建设至关重要,尤其是对女性和边缘化农民而言,示范区和实地考察对于支持农民实施新做法至关重要——这些将继续是我们的优先领域- 地面团队。

此外,我们调查了土耳其、巴基斯坦和莫桑比克三个国家的近 200 名现场协调员和生产单位经理。 我们想了解他们与农民合作的经历、他们的动机、他们如何度过时间、他们如何得到项目合作伙伴的支持,以及如何改进这一点。

我们可以看到,我们知识渊博、积极进取的现场促进者正在实地发挥巨大作用,与他们工作的农业社区建立持久而有价值的联系。 然而,他们仍然遇到农民对变革的一些阻力,他们花费了相对大量的时间来旅行和收集数据。 在某些地区,低工资带来了挑战,女性现场促进者可能会遇到更多挑战。 这些都是我们在前进过程中要解决的领域。

图片来源:©BCI/Yuyang Liu 地点:中国河北省潍县。 2019. 描述:56岁的良好棉花农民赵金林站在棉田里。

所有这些工作将有助于为持续修订的良好棉花原则和标准以及我们剩余的 2030 年目标的最终确定提供信息。 原则和标准的修订版于 2021 年 XNUMX 月启动,将有助于确保我们的标准继续反映最佳实践,利用最新研究,并支持我们以实现战略所需的规模推动现场级变革的雄心。

我们知道,我们无法单独应对所有这些挑战,行业内的合作对于推动变革至关重要。 例如,为了帮助棉农过上体面的生活,我们还参与了生活收入实践社区。 通过这个联盟,我们正在与多个组织合作,以更多地了解棉花的生活收入差距,并开发我们的方法来监测和分析这些信息,以便我们能够改善我们支持农民生计的方式. 这种跨部门的合作将越来越多地出现在我们的工作中。

我们将努力改善棉农、农场工人及其社区的生活和生计。

通过我们的研究和数据收集,我们看到良好棉花培训正在发挥作用。 我们已经在 2.2 多个国家/地区为包括小型、中型和大型农场在内的 20 万农民发放了许可,全球五分之一的棉花现在以良好棉花的形式种植和销售。

在我们现有的努力帮助农民不断改进他们的耕作方式的基础上,我们将确保我们的能力建设更加专注于农民表达的需求,并根据他们的需求量身定制。 我们将努力为农民的可持续发展之旅提供尽可能最好的支持,并改善参与良好棉花种植的每个人的生活和生计——农民、农场工人及其社区。

2021年报

访问报告以阅读原始的以农民为中心的文章,并详细了解我们在关键优先领域取得的进展。

分享此页

Capacity Building

Without farmers, there would be no Better Cotton. Farmers and farm workers are fundamental to Better Cotton’s work, and in the more than ten years since Better Cotton began, our programme has reached millions of farmers, workers and farming communities around the world.

However, as we play our part in improving the sustainability of agriculture, we must continuously evaluate whether our approach is truly designed from the perspective of farmers. We must consider every aspect of our systems, services and tools to make sure they continue to be designed primarily for the benefit of farming communities.

That’s why, in 2021, we invested time and resources into better understanding what farmers need and want, whether Better Cotton is delivering on this, and how we can further improve our offering for farmers and their communities.

Firstly, we launched our 2030 Strategy. This will drive how we approach our strategic aims, including our ambition to enhance the wellbeing and economic development of cotton farmers. Our capacity building will become more farmer-centric, better adapted to farmers’ expressed needs and designed to equip them to continuously improve their farming practices. Socially and economically, we will strive to improve the lives and livelihoods of cotton farmers, farm workers and their communities.

Photo Credit: Better Cotton/Morgan Ferrar Location: Bhavnagar district Gujarat, India. 2019. Description: Better Cotton Farmers Shaileshbhai Ukabhai Rao (Ctr. L) and Shilpaben Rao (Ctr. R) in Talaja village with their two children.

In 2021, we also conducted ‘farmer-centricity’ research among 100 farmers in Gujurat and Telangana, India, seeking to understand everything from farmers’ daily challenges and needs to their valued information sources, and best practices for learning and knowledge-sharing. We wanted to get a better understanding of what a Better Cotton Farmer’s life is really like – how confident they feel in addressing farming challenges, and how well Better Cotton enables them to do this.

For example, we found that most of those surveyed are dependent on cotton farming as their primary source of income, spending an average of 52 hours farming every week.

Cultivating crops is becoming harder and a third may farm less in the future. In particular, climate change, water scarcity, volatile prices and costly inputs are all common challenges.

It is also clear that in-person capacity building is vital, particularly to reach female and marginalised farmers, and that demonstration plots and field visits are crucial for supporting farmers to implement new practices – these will continue to be priority areas for our on-the-ground teams.

Additionally, we surveyed nearly 200 Field Facilitators and Producer Unit Managers in three countries – Turkey, Pakistan and Mozambique. We wanted to understand their experience of working with farmers, their motivation, how they spend their time, how they are supported by Programme Partners, and how this could be improved.

We can see that our knowledgeable and motivated Field Facilitators are making a great difference on the ground, forging lasting and valuable connections to the farming communities where they work. However, they still come across some resistance to change from farmers, and they spend a relatively significant amount of time travelling and collecting data. Low salaries present challenges in some regions, and women Field Facilitators can experience additional challenges. These are all areas that we are tackling as we move forward.

Photo Credit: ©BCI/Yuyang Liu Location: Weixian, Hebei, China. 2019. Description: Better Cotton Farmer Zhao Jinlin, 56 stands in a cotton field.

All of this work will help to inform the ongoing revision of the Better Cotton Principles & Criteria and the finalisation of our remaining 2030 targets. Launched in October 2021, the revision of the Principles & Criteria will help to ensure that our Standard continues to reflect best practices, leverages the latest research, and supports our ambitions to drive field-level change at the scale we need to achieve our strategy.

We know we cannot tackle all of these challenges alone, and collaboration within the sector is vital to driving change. To help cotton farmers earn a decent living, for example, we are also engaging in the Living Income Community of Practice. Through this alliance, we are collaborating with multiple organisations to learn more about the living income gap in cotton and develop our approach to monitoring and analysing this information, so that we can improve how we support farmers’ livelihoods. This kind of cross-sectoral collaboration will feature increasingly in our work.

We will strive to improve the lives and livelihoods of cotton farmers, farm workers and their communities.

Through our research and data collection, we see that Better Cotton training is working. We have already licensed over 2.2 million farmers including small, medium and large farms in more than 20 countries, and a fifth of global cotton is now grown and sold as Better Cotton.

Building on our existing efforts to help farmers continuously improve their farming practices, we will ensure that our capacity building becomes ever more focused on and tailored to farmers’ expressed needs. We will strive to offer the best support possible to farmers on their sustainability journeys, and improve the lives and livelihoods of everyone involved in farming Better Cotton – farmers, farm workers and their communities.

2021 Annual Report

Access the report to read the original farmer centricity artcile and learn more about the progress we are making in key priority areas.

Share this page