作者:Better Cotton 首席执行官 Alan McClay

联合国气候变化会议或格拉斯哥 COP26 的明确教训之一是,如果不共同努力,我们将一事无成。 另一方面,如果我们确实设法进行真正的合作,那么我们可以实现的目标是没有限制的。

新的 联合国可持续发展目标 可持续发展目标 (SDGs) 尽管可能不完善,但它是一个非常强大的框架,可以在公共、私人和民间社会参与者之间实现更好和更深入的合作,因为它们都将我们引向同一个方向。 通过我们的气候变化方法和五个雄心勃勃的影响目标领域,将于 2030 月发布的良好棉花 11 战略支持 17 个可持续发展目标中的 XNUMX 个。 正如格拉斯哥向我们展示了联合应对气候变化的合作是多么紧迫和不完美,以及我们如何需要走得更远,我们看看可持续发展目标框架和格拉斯哥气候公约如何得到良好棉花战略的支持。

Alan McClay,Better Cotton 首席执行官

格拉斯哥气候公约的三个总体主题以及 Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略和气候变化方法如何支持其目标

立即行动

《格拉斯哥气候公约》强调了根据现有最佳科学扩大气候行动和支持的紧迫性,包括资金、能力建设和技术转让。 只有这样做,我们才能共同提高适应能力,增强抵御能力并降低我们对气候变化影响的脆弱性。 该协议还强调了考虑发展中国家的优先事项和需求的重要性。

Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略如何支持这一点: 随着 最近发表了我们有史以来第一次全球温室气体排放 (GHG) 研究 由 Anthesis Group 进行,我们已经有了确凿的数据,使我们能够为良好棉花的许多不同的当地环境制定有针对性的减排途径。 既然我们已经建立了良好棉花温室气体排放的基线,我们正在努力将缓解实践更深入地嵌入我们的计划、原则和标准中,并进一步完善我们的监测和报告方法。 我们的气候变化方法和缓解目标的详细信息将作为我们 2030 年战略的一部分进行分享。

合作的持续重要性

Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略如何支持这一点: 像 Greta Thunberg 这样的青年气候活动家激励了世界各地数以百万计的年轻人加入他们对气候变化采取更大行动的呼吁。 我们在 Better Cotton 听到了这些呼吁。

随着我们最终确定我们的气候方法和 2030 年战略,我们正在利用我们的网络和伙伴关系,但更重要的是,我们正在确保以农民和农场工人的需求为中心——尤其是对女性、年轻人和其他更弱势群体的需求——通过持续和加强对话。 例如,当我们在巴基斯坦试点工人语音技术时,正在开发新的方法来直接听取工人的意见。 我们专注于推动可以直接使这些人受益的现场级创新,这就是为什么我们正在利用我们在 70 个国家/地区的近 23 个现场级合作伙伴来设计缓解和适应的国家级行动计划。 我们还与新的受众接触,尤其是全球和国家政策制定者,以倡导变革。

本文承认非缔约方利益相关者,包括民间社会、土著人民、当地社区、青年、儿童、地方和地区政府以及其他利益相关者,在推动实现《巴黎协定》目标方面的重要作用。

积极涉及边缘化群体的公正过渡

《格拉斯哥气候公约》的介绍强调了确保所有生态系统完整性、保护生物多样性的重要性,以及在采取行动应对气候变化时“气候正义”概念的重要性。 在此基础上,第 93 条敦促缔约方积极让土著人民和当地社区参与设计和实施气候行动。

Better Cotton 的 2030 年战略如何支持这一点: 在 COP26 结束时的视频讲话中,联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯 (António Guterres) 对年轻人、土著社区、女性领导人和所有领导“气候行动大军”的人表示感谢。 在 Better Cotton,我们了解到棉农及其社区站在这支“气候行动大军”的最前沿,并将继续首先为他们服务。 这就是为什么一个 '公正过渡'是我们气候方法的三大支柱之一。

我们知道,气候变化的影响将不成比例地影响那些已经处于不利地位的人——无论是由于贫困、社会排斥、歧视还是多种因素的结合。 整个 2021 年,我们一直在与印度和巴基斯坦的农民和农场工人直接交谈,以更好地了解他们面临的挑战,并制定新战略,优先考虑小棉农、农场工人和农业边缘化群体的关切和声音社区。

在我们今年晚些时候推出 2030 战略时,了解更多关于 Better Cotton 的气候方法的信息,包括五个影响目标领域。

分享此页

By Alan McClay, Better Cotton, CEO

One of the clear lessons from the UN Climate Change Conference or COP26 in Glasgow is that we won’t get anywhere without working together. On the other hand, if we do manage to engage in genuine collaboration, there is no limit to what we can achieve.

The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), as imperfect as they may be, are a very powerful framework to enable better and deeper collaboration—between public, private and civil society actors—as they all steer us in the same direction. Through our climate change approach and five ambitious impact target areas, Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy to be released in December supports 11 out of the 17 SDGs. As Glasgow showed us just how urgent and imperfect the collaboration to unite against climate change is and how we need to go further, we look at how the SDG framework and the Glasgow Climate Pact is supported by the Better Cotton Strategy.

Alan McClay, Better Cotton, CEO

Three Overarching Themes from the Glasgow Climate Pact and How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy and Climate Change Approach Supports Their Objectives

Prioritising Action Now

The Glasgow Climate Pact emphasises the urgency of scaling up climate action and support, including finance, capacity-building and technology transfer, in line with the best available science. Only if we do this can we collectively enhance our capacity for adaption, strengthen our resilience and reduce our vulnerability to climate change impacts. The agreement also underlines the importance of taking into account the priorities and needs of developing countries.

How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy Supports This: With the recent publication of our first-ever global greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs) study conducted by Anthesis Group, we already have hard data that is enabling us to develop targeted emissions reduction pathways for Better Cotton’s many diverse local contexts. Now that we have established a baseline for Better Cotton GHG emissions, we are working to embed mitigation practices more deeply into our programmes and Principles and Criteria and further refine our monitoring and reporting methods. Details on our climate change approach and mitigation target will be shared as part of our 2030 Strategy.

The Ongoing Importance of Collaboration

How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy Supports This: Youth climate activists like Greta Thunberg have inspired millions of young people around the world to join their call for greater action on climate change. We have heard these calls at Better Cotton.

As we finalise our climate approach and 2030 strategy, we are leveraging our network and partnerships, but even more importantly, we are ensuring that farmers’ and farm workers’ needs are centred — particularly for women, young people, and other more vulnerable populations — through continued and enhanced dialogue. New approaches are being developed to hear directly from workers, for example, as we pilot worker voice technology in Pakistan. We’re focused on driving field-level innovations that can directly benefit these individuals, which is why we are drawing on our close to 70 field-level partners across 23 countries to design country-level action plans for both mitigation and adaptation. We are also engaging with new audiences, particularly global and national policymakers to advocate for change.

This article recognizes the important role of non-Party stakeholders, including civil society, indigenous peoples, local communities, youth, children, local and regional governments and other stakeholders, in contributing to progress towards the goals of the Paris Agreement.

A Just Transition That Actively Involves Marginalised Groups

The introduction to the Glasgow Climate Pact underscores the importance of ensuring the integrity of all ecosystems, the protection of biodiversity, and the importance of the concept of ‘climate justice’ when taking action to address climate change. Article 93 builds on that, urging Parties to actively involve Indigenous peoples and local communities in designing and implementing climate action.

How Better Cotton’s 2030 Strategy Supports This: In a video address at the close of COP26, United Nations Secretary General António Guterres acknowledged young people, Indigenous communities, female leaders and all those leading the ‘climate action army.’ At Better Cotton, we understand that cotton farmers and their communities are at the forefront of this ‘climate action army’ and will continue to serve them first and foremost. That’s why a ‘Just Transition’ is one of the three pillars of our climate approach.

We know that the impact of climate change will disproportionately affect those who are already disadvantaged — whether due to poverty, social exclusion, discrimination or a combination of factors. Throughout 2021, we have been talking directly to farmers and farm workers in India and Pakistan to better understand the challenges that they face and develop new strategies that prioritise the concerns and voices of smallholder cotton farmers, as well as farm workers and marginalised groups in farming communities.

Learn more about Better Cotton’s climate approach, including five impact target areas, when we launch our 2030 Strategy later this year.

Translate »