فكرة عامة

تلعب المزارع الكبيرة دورًا رئيسيًا في قطاع القطن. في حين أن غالبية مزارعي القطن في العالم هم من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة ، وينتجون 75٪ من 25 مليون طن متري من إنتاج القطن العالمي سنويًا * ، يواصل كبار المزارعين المساهمة بشكل كبير في إنتاج قطن أكثر استدامة. في البرازيل على وجه الخصوص ، أنتجت المزارع الكبيرة أكبر حجم من القطن الأفضل في موسم 2019-20 ، حيث نمت أكثر من 2.3 مليون طن متري أو أكثر من 37 ٪ من إجمالي القطن الأفضل المنتج على مستوى العالم.

أثناء زراعة القطن على نطاق واسع ، يتم تضخيم تأثيرات زراعة القطن بشكل أكثر استدامة ، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالتخفيف من تغير المناخ وعزل الكربون. كما تهدف Better Cotton إلى تحويل قطاع القطن ، بما في ذلك جميع اللاعبين الرئيسيين في قطاع القطن ، فمن المهم. تعرف على المزيد حول كيفية القيام بذلك تستكشف شركة Better Cotton نهج المناظر الطبيعية لتعزيز التأثير.

ما هو الفرق بين المزارع الصغيرة والمتوسطة والمزارع الكبيرة؟

أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة: المزارعون الذين لا يعتمدون هيكلياً على العمالة الدائمة والذين لا يتجاوز حجم مزرعتهم 20 هكتاراً من القطن.

مزارع متوسطة: المزارعون الذين يعتمدون هيكليًا على العمالة الدائمة ، وتتراوح مساحة مزرعتهم بين 20 و 200 هكتار من القطن.

المزارع الكبيرة: المزارعون الذين تزيد مساحة مزرعةهم عن 200 هكتار من القطن ولديهم إنتاج آلي أو يعتمدون هيكلياً على العمالة الدائمة.

تدرك شركة Better Cotton أيضًا أنه نظرًا لحجم الإنتاج والموارد ، يمكن أن تكون المزارع الكبيرة عشًا للابتكار التكنولوجي في مجالات مثل تقليل استهلاك المياه. أحد الأمثلة على ذلك هو استخدام مجسات رطوبة التربة التي تشير إلى وقت الحاجة إلى الري ويمكن مراقبتها وإدارتها من خلال تطبيقات الأجهزة المحمولة. تعد المراقبة عن بعد للظروف الميدانية الشاسعة مفيدة للأراضي الزراعية التي يمكن أن تنتشر عبر 200 هكتار من الأراضي ، ولكن هذه الممارسات الفضلى في المزارع الكبيرة تخلق أيضًا فرصة للتكرار في سياقات وبلدان أخرى. يوفر Better Cotton إطارًا لتقييم استدامة المزارع الكبيرة لاعتماد ممارسات أكثر استدامة ومنصة للتعاون عبر المجتمعات الزراعية لتحفيز التغيير.

تصوير: قطن استراليا

في 11 أغسطس 2021 ، استضافت شركة Better Cotton أول ندوة للمزارع الكبيرة للقطن الأفضل لتعزيز التأثير من خلال التعاون. جمع الحدث عبر الإنترنت حوالي 100 مشارك من 11 دولة ومنظمة لزراعة القطن - أستراليا والبرازيل واليونان وإسرائيل وكازاخستان وموزمبيق وباكستان وجنوب إفريقيا وتركيا والولايات المتحدة و GIZ و IFC و Better Cotton. جمعت الندوة المزارع الكبيرة معًا لتعزيز تبادل المعرفة حول أفضل الممارسات الشائعة الخاصة بإنتاج القطن على نطاق واسع. على الرغم من الصعوبات التقنية ، مكّنت التفاعلات الافتراضية الشركاء من إسرائيل وأستراليا والبرازيل والولايات المتحدة وتركيا من المشاركة في ممارسات إدارة الآفات والتنوع البيولوجي ، تليها مناقشات مجموعات صغيرة.

أوجدت الندوة زخما لتعزيز مجتمع ممارسي القطن الأفضل في مجال إنتاج القطن على نطاق واسع. وستتاح العروض التقديمية والتقرير النهائي قريباً للمشاركين والشركاء المعنيين.

يعد الانخراط مع جميع شركائنا أمرًا بالغ الأهمية بالنسبة لشركة Better Cotton لتعزيز مكانتها داخل القطاع والاعتراف بها بشكل متزايد كعنصر فاعل موثوق به لتغيير الطريقة التي يتم بها إنتاج القطن في جميع أنحاء العالم. تعلم المزيد عن شراكات أفضل للقطن.

اعثر على ملخص أكثر تفصيلاً لأبرز الأحداث وقم بالوصول إلى العروض التقديمية من خلال ندوة أفضل مزرعة قطن كبيرة لعام 2021 - تقرير موجز أدناه:

*مصدر: https://www.idhsustainabletrade.com/sectors/cotton/

تحديث 27 أكتوبر 2021 لتشمل أحدث نسخة من ندوة 2021 أفضل مزرعة قطن كبيرة - تقرير موجز

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

General

Large farms play a key role in the cotton sector. While the majority of global cotton farmers are smallholders, producing 75% of the 25 million metric tonnes of global cotton production annually*, large farmers continue to contribute significantly to more sustainable cotton production. Notably in Brazil, large farms produced the largest volume of Better Cotton in the 2019-20 season, growing over 2.3 million metric tonnes or over 37% of the total Better Cotton produced globally.

While growing cotton at scale, the impacts of growing cotton more sustainably are amplified, especially around climate change mitigation and carbon sequestration. As Better Cotton aims to transform the cotton sector, including all key players in the cotton sector is important. Learn more about how Better Cotton is exploring the landscape approach to strengthen impact.

What is the difference between smallholders, medium farms and large farms?

Smallholders: Farmers who are not structurally dependent on permanent hired labour, and whose farm size does not exceed 20 ha of cotton.

Medium Farms: Farmers who are structurally dependent on permanent hired labour, and whose farm size is between 20 to 200 ha of cotton.

Large Farms: Farmers who have a farm size above 200 ha of cotton, and either have mechanised production, or are structurally dependent on permanent hired labour.

Better Cotton also recognises that due to the scale of production and resources, large farms can be a nest of technological innovation in areas such as reducing water consumption. One example is the use of soil moisture probes that indicate when irrigation is required and can be monitored and managed through mobile apps. Remote monitoring of vast field conditions is worthwhile for farmlands that can spread across 200 hectares of land, but these best practices on large farms also create the opportunity for replication in other contexts and countries. Better Cotton provides a framework to assess the sustainability of large farms to adopt more sustainable practices and the platform to collaborate across farming communities to catalyse change.

Photo credit: Cotton Australia

On 11 August 2021, Better Cotton hosted the first Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium to drive impact through collaboration. The online event gathered around 100 participants from 11 cotton growing countries and organisations—Australia, Brazil, Greece, Israel, Kazakhstan, Mozambique, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, the United States, GIZ, IFC and Better Cotton. The symposium brought large farms together to promote knowledge sharing on common best practices that are specific to large scale cotton production. In spite of technical difficulties, virtual interactions enabled partners from Israel, Australia, Brazil, the US and Turkey to share on pest management and biodiversity practices, followed by small group discussions.

The Symposium created momentum for strengthening Better Cotton ’s community of practice on large scale cotton production. The presentations and final report will be soon available to participants and relevant partners.

Engaging with all our partners is crucial for Better Cotton to strengthen its position within the sector and to be increasingly recognised as a reliable actor to transform the way in which cotton is produced worldwide. Learn more about Better Cotton Partnerships.

Find a more detailed summary of event highlights and access presentations through the 2021 Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium – Summary Report below:

PDF
792.09 KB

2021 Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium – Summary Report

Share
Download

*Source: https://www.idhsustainabletrade.com/sectors/cotton/

Updated 27 October 2021 to include most recent version of 2021 Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium – Summary Report

Translate »