公司信息

大型农场在棉花产业中发挥着关键作用。 虽然全球大部分棉农是小农,占全球每年 75 万吨棉花产量的 25%*,但大棉农继续为更可持续的棉花生产做出重大贡献。 尤其是在巴西,大型农场在 2019-20 年度生产的良好棉花产量最大,产量超过 2.3 万公吨,占全球良好棉花总产量的 37% 以上。

在大规模种植棉花的同时,更可持续地种植棉花的影响会被放大,尤其是在减缓气候变化和碳固存方面。 由于 Better Cotton 旨在改变棉花行业,因此包括棉花行业的所有主要参与者非常重要。 详细了解如何 Better Cotton 正在探索景观方法以加强影响.

小农、中型农场和大型农场有什么区别?

小农:在结构上不依赖长期雇佣劳动力且农场面积不超过 20 公顷棉花的农民。

中型农场:在结构上依赖长期雇佣劳动力的农民,其农场面积在 20 到 200 公顷之间。

大型农场: 棉花农场规模超过 200 公顷,并且已经实现机械化生产,或者在结构上依赖长期雇佣劳动力的农民。

Better Cotton 也认识到,由于生产规模和资源优势,大型农场可以成为减少用水量等领域技术创新的巢穴。 一个例子是使用土壤水分探头,指示何时需要灌溉,并可通过移动应用程序进行监控和管理。 对于可以分布在 200 公顷土地上的农田,远程监测广阔的田间条件是值得的,但这些大型农场的最佳实践也创造了在其他环境和国家复制的机会。 Better Cotton 提供了一个评估大型农场可持续性的框架,以采用更可持续的做法,并提供跨农业社区合作以促进变革的平台。

图片来源: 澳大利亚棉花

11 年 2021 月 100 日,Better Cotton 举办了第一届 Better Cotton 大型农场研讨会,以通过合作推动影响。 在线活动聚集了来自 11 个棉花种植​​国家和组织的约 XNUMX 名参与者——澳大利亚、巴西、希腊、以色列、哈萨克斯坦、莫桑比克、巴基斯坦、南非、土耳其、美国、GIZ、IFC 和 Better Cotton。 研讨会将大型农场聚集在一起,以促进针对大规模棉花生产的常见最佳实践的知识共享。 尽管存在技术困难,虚拟互动使来自以色列、澳大利亚、巴西、美国和土耳其的合作伙伴能够分享害虫管理和生物多样性实践,然后进行小组讨论。

研讨会为加强良好棉花在大规模棉花生产方面的实践社区创造了动力。 演示文稿和最终报告将很快提供给参与者和相关合作伙伴。

与我们所有的合作伙伴合作对于 Better Cotton 加强其在该行业中的地位以及被越来越多地公认为改变全球棉花生产方式的可靠参与者至关重要。 学习更多关于 更好的棉花合作伙伴关系.

通过下面的 2021 年良好棉花大型农场研讨会 - 摘要报告,查找活动亮点和访问演示的更详细摘要:

PDF
792.09 KB

2021 年良好棉花大型农场研讨会——总结报告

下载

*来源: https://www.idhsustainabletrade.com/sectors/cotton/

更新 27 年 2021 月 2021 日,包括最新版本的 XNUMX 年良好棉花大型农场研讨会——总结报告

分享此页

General

Large farms play a key role in the cotton sector. While the majority of global cotton farmers are smallholders, producing 75% of the 25 million metric tonnes of global cotton production annually*, large farmers continue to contribute significantly to more sustainable cotton production. Notably in Brazil, large farms produced the largest volume of Better Cotton in the 2019-20 season, growing over 2.3 million metric tonnes or over 37% of the total Better Cotton produced globally.

While growing cotton at scale, the impacts of growing cotton more sustainably are amplified, especially around climate change mitigation and carbon sequestration. As Better Cotton aims to transform the cotton sector, including all key players in the cotton sector is important. Learn more about how Better Cotton is exploring the landscape approach to strengthen impact.

What is the difference between smallholders, medium farms and large farms?

Smallholders: Farmers who are not structurally dependent on permanent hired labour, and whose farm size does not exceed 20 ha of cotton.

Medium Farms: Farmers who are structurally dependent on permanent hired labour, and whose farm size is between 20 to 200 ha of cotton.

Large Farms: Farmers who have a farm size above 200 ha of cotton, and either have mechanised production, or are structurally dependent on permanent hired labour.

Better Cotton also recognises that due to the scale of production and resources, large farms can be a nest of technological innovation in areas such as reducing water consumption. One example is the use of soil moisture probes that indicate when irrigation is required and can be monitored and managed through mobile apps. Remote monitoring of vast field conditions is worthwhile for farmlands that can spread across 200 hectares of land, but these best practices on large farms also create the opportunity for replication in other contexts and countries. Better Cotton provides a framework to assess the sustainability of large farms to adopt more sustainable practices and the platform to collaborate across farming communities to catalyse change.

Photo credit: Cotton Australia

On 11 August 2021, Better Cotton hosted the first Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium to drive impact through collaboration. The online event gathered around 100 participants from 11 cotton growing countries and organisations—Australia, Brazil, Greece, Israel, Kazakhstan, Mozambique, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, the United States, GIZ, IFC and Better Cotton. The symposium brought large farms together to promote knowledge sharing on common best practices that are specific to large scale cotton production. In spite of technical difficulties, virtual interactions enabled partners from Israel, Australia, Brazil, the US and Turkey to share on pest management and biodiversity practices, followed by small group discussions.

The Symposium created momentum for strengthening Better Cotton ’s community of practice on large scale cotton production. The presentations and final report will be soon available to participants and relevant partners.

Engaging with all our partners is crucial for Better Cotton to strengthen its position within the sector and to be increasingly recognised as a reliable actor to transform the way in which cotton is produced worldwide. Learn more about Better Cotton Partnerships.

Find a more detailed summary of event highlights and access presentations through the 2021 Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium – Summary Report below:

PDF
792.09 KB

2021 Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium – Summary Report

Share
Download

*Source: https://www.idhsustainabletrade.com/sectors/cotton/

Updated 27 October 2021 to include most recent version of 2021 Better Cotton Large Farm Symposium – Summary Report

Translate »