可持续性

今年早些时候,BCI 获得了两年的资助 ISEAL创新基金* 为了探索 BCI 的当前系统和良好棉花标准如何适应景观或管辖方法。

作为 BCI 的 ATLA(适应景观方法)项目的一部分,BCI 与 Proforest 倡议,这将支持 BCI 的全球景观适应战略,并监督巴基斯坦和土耳其的两个试点项目。 在本博客中,我们与 BCI 的标准与学习经理 Gregory Jean 进行了交谈,深入探讨了景观方法对 BCI 的意义。

什么是景观(或管辖)方法?

景观方法旨在将特定地区的相关利益相关者(如生产商、采购公司、政府、民间社会、非政府组织和投资者)聚集在一起,就可持续发展目标达成一致,协调活动并共享目标和指标的监测和验证。 该方法认识到水资源管理、栖息地转换、土地权利和农村发展等问题通常在更大范围内得到更好的解决,而不是着眼于单个农场或生产者单位的可持续性。 从生态和社会的角度来看,农场和生产者单位不是孤立运作的,而是更广泛、相互关联的景观的一部分,这一现实强化了这一点。

为什么 BCI 决定探索这种方法?

与其他农场级可持续性标准一样,我们乐于探索有助于加强我们对农场以外更广泛环境和社会问题的影响的机会。 棉花农场和生产者单位(来自同一社区或地区的中小型农场的 BCI 农民群体)并不是孤立存在的——它们是更广泛的相互关联景观的一部分。 BCI ATLA 项目将为 BCI 提供一个机会,探索如何将良好棉花标准系统应用于农场层面之外,以及它是否能够在现有农场和生产者单位之外产生积极的环境和社会影响。

景观方法如何使 BCI 农民受益?

小农通常在实施更负责任和可持续的农业实践方面面临最大挑战,因为他们往往无法获得这样做所需的资源,例如培训、特定技术或融资渠道。 这可能导致最佳实践的采用率降低,并且在开发更有效的替代方案方面进展甚微。 通过景观或管辖倡议,农民可以从更大规模的集体行动中受益,应对共同挑战并获得可持续融资选择和商业机会。 景观或司法倡议可以提供支持、行动和监测适用于农场门外的可持续性要求的组合,从而提供一种更有效的方式将小农纳入负责任的供应链。

告诉我们更多有关即将进行的试点项目的信息。 BCI 和 Proforest Initiative 将在实地探索/测试什么?

在土耳其,BCI 与 WWF 合作探索综合景观方法在 Buyuk Menderes 盆地的应用。 随着该地区利益相关者的协调参与、能力建设和宣传,我们将评估该流域的生态系统服务(例如,森林在土壤保持和水质方面的作用),并测试适用于景观水平。

在巴基斯坦,重点是评估良好棉花标准体系在多大程度上可以融入巴基斯坦国家体系,通过管辖方法与相关利益相关者接触。 BCI 将组织一个国家利益相关者委员会来提供战略建议并帮助将 BCI 方法整合到现有的政府框架和推广服务中。 该试点将使 BCI 能够完善我们的国家嵌入战略,建设政府机构、行业和生产者协会的能力,全面掌控良好棉花标准体系的实施。

您认为这种方法将如何加强 BCI 的系统和标准?

景观方法可以为 BCI 提供与更广泛的合作伙伴(包括政府)合作的机会,调整我们的活动规模,并结合各种类型的支持,这些支持有可能以多种方式为更负责任的棉花生产做出贡献. 该方法可以为个体棉农无法控制的挑战提供潜在的解决方案,例如保护保护区或承认社区权利。 这些举措还可以为新的公私伙伴关系提供一个平台,为变革提供支持和激励,实现大规模转型并改善一个地区的长期治理。

向景观方法的转变需要形成合作伙伴关系以推动实地变化,并创造有利条件(可能包括动员政府、组织土地使用规划,或确保和利用气候资金和可持续融资)在一个地区或管辖范围内采用更可持续的做法。 通过其多方利益相关者模型和成员结构,BCI 有能力引领这种变革。

了解有关景观和管辖方法的更多信息 此处.

留意 BCI 在 2021 年适应景观进近试点的进一步更新。

*该项目的实施得益于 ISEAL 创新基金的资助,该基金得到了瑞士国家经济事务秘书处的支持 山高.

分享此页

Sustainability

Earlier this year, BCI was awarded a two-year grant from the ISEAL Innovations Fund* in order to explore how BCI’s current systems and the Better Cotton Standard could be adapted to a landscape or jurisdictional approach.

As part of BCI’s ATLA (Adaptation toLandscapeApproach) project, BCI signed a two-year agreement withThe Proforest Initiative,which will support BCI’s global strategy forlandscape adaptation and oversee two pilot projects in Pakistan and Turkey. In this blog, we speak with Gregory Jean, Standard & Learning Manager at BCI, to dig into what a landscape approach would mean for BCI.

What is a landscape (or jurisdictional) approach?

A landscape approach aims to bring together relevant stakeholders (such as producers, sourcing companies, governments, civil society, NGOsand investors) in a particular region, to agree on sustainability goals, align activities and share monitoring and verification of goals and targets. The approachrecognises that issues likewater stewardship, habitat conversion, land rights and rural development are often better addressed at a larger scale, rather than looking at the sustainability of a single farm or producerunit. From an ecologicaland social perspective, this point is reinforced by the reality that farms and producerunits do not operate in isolation but are part of broader, interconnectedlandscapes.

Why has BCI decided to explore this approach?

As with other farm-level sustainability standards, we are open to exploring opportunities that will help to strengthen our impact on broader environmental and social issues beyond the farm. Cotton farms and producer units (groups of BCI Farmers from small- or medium-sized farms from the same community or region) do not exist in isolation – they are part of a broader interconnected landscape. The BCI ATLA project will provide an opportunity for BCI to explore how the Better Cotton Standard System could be applied beyond the farm level and whether it is well-placed to deliver positive environmental and social impacts beyond the existing farms and producer units.

How might a landscape approach benefit BCI Farmers?

Smallholder farmers typically face the greatest challenge in implementing more responsible and sustainable farming practices as they often lack access to the resources required to do so, such as trainings, specific technologies or access to finance. This can result in lower adoption of best practices, and little progress in developing alternatives that are more effective. Through a landscape or jurisdictional initiative, farmers can benefit from collective action at a larger scale, addressing common challenges and gaining access to sustainable finance options and commercial opportunities. Landscape or jurisdictional initiatives can provide a combination of support, action, and monitoring of sustainability requirements applicable beyond the farm gate, which delivers a more effective way of including smallholder farmers in responsible supply chains.

Tell us more about the upcoming pilot projects. What will BCI and Proforest Initiative be exploring/testing on the ground?

In Turkey, BCI has partnered with WWF to explore the application of an integrated landscape approach in the Buyuk Menderes Basin. Along with coordinated stakeholder engagement, capacity building and advocacy in the region, we will assess ecosystem services (for example, the role of forests in soil retention and water quality) in the basin, and test new performance and monitoring indicators that are applicable at a landscape level.

In Pakistan, the focus is on assessing the extent to which the Better Cotton Standard System can become embedded within the Pakistan state system, engaging with relevant stakeholders through a jurisdictional approach. BCI will organise a National Stakeholder Council to provide strategic advice and help to integrate the BCI approach into existing government frameworks and extension services. This pilot will allow BCI to refine our national embedding strategy, building the capacity of governmental institutions, industry and producer associations, to take full ownership of the implementation of the Better Cotton Standard System.

How do you envision this approach will strengthen BCI’s systems and Standard?

A landscape approach could provide BCI with the opportunity to work with a broader range of partners (including governments), align our activities at scale, and combine various types of support that have the potential to contribute to more responsible cotton production in a number of ways. The approach could provide a potential solution to the challenges that are outside the control of individual cotton farmers, for example, protecting conservation areas or recognising community rights. Such initiatives can also offer a platform for new public–private partnerships, which can provide support and incentives for change, achieve transformation at scale and improve long-term governance of a region.

The shift to a landscape approach requires the formation of collaborative partnerships to drive change on the ground, and to create the enabling conditions (which may include mobilising governments, organising land use planning, or securing and leveraging climate funding and sustainable finance) required for the uptake of more sustainable practices within a region or jurisdiction. Through its multi-stakeholder model and membership structure, BCI is well placed to lead such change.

Learn more about landscape and jurisdictional approaches here.

Look out for further updates on BCI’s adaptation to landscape approach pilots in 2021.

*This project was possible thanks to a grant from the ISEAL Innovations Fund, which is supported by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO.

 

Translate »