可持续性

为庆祝 2019 年世界水日,我们向 BCI 的标准和学习经理 Gregory Jean 询问了 BCI 如何与我们的实地合作伙伴和世界各地的棉农合作,以应对棉花生产中的关键水资源挑战。

  • 棉农面临哪些具体的水资源挑战?

淡水是一种共享且有限的资源,这使得水资源短缺和污染成为全球性的重大问题。 在棉花生产中,用水灌溉作物会影响可用水量和水量,而使用杀虫剂和化肥会影响水质,农田径流(由于灌溉或雨水从田间渗出的水,可能含有化肥、杀虫剂)也会影响水质。或动物粪便)。 预计气候变化将加剧现有的供水压力,特别是在缺水已经成为问题的地区。 为此,棉农需要采取适当的适应措施。

  • 告诉我们 BCI 对水的处理方式?

有七个 良好棉花原则和标准其中列出了良好棉花的全球定义。 通过坚持这些原则,BCI 农民以一种对环境和农业社区明显更好的方式生产棉花。 其中一项原则仅关注水。 2017 年,我们扩大了水资源原则的范围,并将其与“水资源管理”的概念保持一致,这是一种全面的水资源管理方法,鼓励在地方层面采取集体行动以实现水资源的可持续利用。 我们的努力也符合可持续发展目标 6:确保所有人的水和卫生设施的可用性和可持续管理。

  • 这对农民意味着什么?

我们向我们的实地合作伙伴提供水资源管理培训,他们又向 BCI 农民提供培训。 我们的培训帮助 BCI 农民真正了解当地的水资源管理和相关挑战。 他们还学习如何与他人合作以负责任地用水和保护水质。 今年,我们与水资源管理联盟和 Helvetas 共同制定并启动了一系列水资源管理试点项目,重点关注保护水资源和水质。 到目前为止,我们已经为我们在中国、印度、莫桑比克、巴基斯坦和塔吉克斯坦的实地合作伙伴提供了培训。

  • 你看到了什么变化?

由于更新的水资源管理原则,许多 BCI 农民现在正在绘制水资源图,管理土壤水分,管理水质并应用有效的灌溉方法(如适用)。 五个试点国家(如上突出显示)的农民也一直在与当地机构、科学和非政府组织社区接触和合作,以推动水资源管理方面的集体行动。 每年,我们都会分享 BCI Farmer 结果,其中包括环境和社会指标。 回顾我们的 2016-17 赛季 结果 我们看到,我们分析的五个国家(中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和土耳其)的 BCI 农民用水量少于比较农民。 例如,巴基斯坦的 BCI 农民用水量比未参加 BCI 培训课程的农民少 20%。

实地的故事

分享此页

Sustainability

To mark World Water Day 2019, we quizzed Gregory Jean, BCI’s Standards and Learning Manager, about how BCI is working with our on-the-ground partners and cotton farmers around the world to address critical water challenges in cotton production.

  • What specific water challenges do cotton farmers face?

Freshwater is a shared and limited resource, making water scarcity and pollution major global issues. In cotton production, using water to irrigate crops can impact water availability and quantity, while using pesticides and fertilisers can affect water quality, as can farm run-off (water that leaches from fields due to irrigation or rain, that may contain fertilisers, pesticides or animal waste). Climate change is expected to intensify existing pressures on water supply, particularly in regions where water scarcity is already a concern. For this reason, cotton farmers need to adopt suitable adaptation measures.

  • Tell us about BCI’s approach to water?

There are seven Better Cotton Principles and Criteriawhich lay out the global definition of Better Cotton. By upholding these principles, BCI Farmers produce cotton in a way that is measurably better for the environment and farming communities. One of the principles focuses solely on water. In 2017, we broadened the scope of our water principle and aligned it with the concept of “water stewardship,’ a holistic water management approach that encourages collective action towards sustainable use of water at a local level. Our efforts also align with SDG 6: Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.

  • What does that mean for farmers?

We deliver water stewardship training to our on-the-ground partners, who in turn deliver training to BCI Farmers. Our training helps BCI Farmers to really understand water resource management and related challenges in their local areas. They also learn how to collaborate with others to use water responsibly and conserve water quality. This year, together with Alliance for Water Stewardship and Helvetas, we developed and launched a series of water stewardship pilot projects that focus on safeguarding water resources and preserving water quality. So far, we’ve delivered training to our on-the-ground partners in China, India, Mozambique, Pakistan and Tajikistan.

  • What changes are you seeing?

As a result of the updated Water Stewardship Principle, many BCI Farmers are now mapping water resources, managing soil moisture, managing water quality and applying efficient irrigation practices (where applicable). Farmers in the five pilot countries (highlighted above) have also been engaging and collaborating with local institutional, scientific and NGO communities in order to drive collective action on water stewardship. Each year, we share BCI Farmer results which include environmental and social indicators. Looking at our 2016-17 season results we see that BCI Farmers in the five countries we analysed (China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey) used less water than comparison farmers. For example, BCI Farmers in Pakistan used 20% less water than farmers who didn’t participate in BCI training sessions.

Stories from the Field

Translate »