لا تزال المساواة بين الجنسين تشكل تحديًا ملحًا على مستوى العالم. في Better Cotton ، نعلم أنه لا يمكن تحقيق مستقبل أكثر استدامة إلا عندما يتمتع جميع الجنسين بحقوق وفرص متساوية ، وهذا هو السبب في أننا نتخذ إجراءات لتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين من خلال برامجنا وداخل صناعة القطن.

مصدر الصورة: قطن أفضل / خولة جميل

المكان: رحيم يار خان ، البنجاب ، باكستان ، 2019. الوصف: عاملة المزرعة روكسانا كوثر مع نساء أخريات يشاركن في مشروع مشتل الأشجار الذي طوره الشريك المنفذ للقطن الأفضل ، الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة ، باكستان.

إنتاج القطن والمساواة بين الجنسين - لماذا يهم

بينما تساهم النساء بشكل كبير في إنتاج القطن في جميع أنحاء العالم - غالبًا ما يضطلعن بأدوار أساسية ومتطلبة مثل البذر وإزالة الأعشاب الضارة واستخدام الأسمدة والقطف - لا يتم الاعتراف بعملهن بانتظام ، ويتعرضن للعديد من أشكال التمييز. وهذا يؤدي إلى نقص التمثيل في صنع القرار ، وانخفاض الأجور ، وقلة الوصول إلى الموارد ، ومحدودية الحركة ، وزيادة التهديدات بالعنف وغيرها من التحديات الخطيرة.

إن زيادة المساواة بين الجنسين والاعتراف بدور المرأة في إنتاج القطن ليس فقط أفضل للمرأة ، ولكن لقطاع القطن بأكمله. يوضح البحث الفوائد. أ 2018-19 الدراسة في ولاية ماهاراشترا ، الهند كشفت ، على سبيل المثال ، أن 33٪ فقط من مزارعات القطن اللاتي شملهن الاستطلاع تلقين تدريبات في العامين الماضيين. ومع ذلك ، عندما تم توفير التدريب للنساء ، كانت هناك زيادة بنسبة 30-40 ٪ في تبني ممارسات زراعية أفضل.

هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الوعي بالنوع الاجتماعي عبر سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بالقطن لتصميم وتقديم وتمويل برامج شاملة وفعالة وحساسة ثقافيًا يمكنها معالجة هذه المشكلات مع إنشاء أماكن عمل ومجتمعات أقوى حول العالم.

نهج القطن الأفضل للمساواة بين الجنسين

في Better Cotton ، تتمثل رؤيتنا في صناعة قطن متغيرة ومستدامة حيث يتمتع جميع المشاركين بفرص متساوية للازدهار. ملكنا استراتيجية النوع الاجتماعي يحدد نهج القطن الأفضل لتحقيق هذه الرؤية من خلال تعميم مراعاة المنظور الجنساني. إن تعميم مراعاة المنظور الجنساني هو عملية تضمن أن تكون اهتمامات وخبرات جميع الهويات الجنسانية جزءًا لا يتجزأ من تصميم وتنفيذ ورصد وتقييم سياسات وشراكات وبرامج القطن الأفضل.

تحدد استراتيجيتنا للمساواة بين الجنسين الأهداف والالتزامات الخاصة بتعميم مراعاة المنظور الجنساني على ثلاثة مستويات:

  • على مستوى المزرعة
  • في مجتمع القطن المستدام
  • داخل منظمتنا

من خلال تضمين النساء في المحادثة من البداية وفتح الوصول إلى المدخلات والموارد مثل تدريب Better Cotton ، لا يمكنهم فقط تمكين أنفسهم اقتصاديًا ، ولكن يمكنهم أيضًا أن يصبحوا مساهمين أكثر نشاطًا في أسرهم ومجتمعاتهم - مما يحتمل أن يحول موقفهم في المجتمع كذلك.

يتم تناول النوع الاجتماعي أيضًا في مبادئ ومعايير أفضل للقطن. يُطلب من المنتجين في سياقات متنوعة ، من المزارع الصغيرة إلى المزارع الآلية الكبيرة:

  • ضمان لا مبيدات كيميائية يتم تطبيقها بواسطة النساء المرضعات أو الحوامل. 
  • احترام مبدأ العمل اللائق، التي تعزز العمل الذي يوفر فرصًا للنساء والرجال للعمل بشكل منتج في ظروف من الحرية والإنصاف والأمن والكرامة الإنسانية. هذا لا يشمل أي تمييز في الأجور.
  • منع عمالة الأطفال وفقا لاتفاقية منظمة العمل الدولية 138. ضمان وصول الفتيات والفتيان إلى المدرسة والبقاء فيها جزء لا يتجزأ من تحسين حالة المجتمعات المنتجة للقطن.

أفضل استراتيجية جنسانية للقطن في الممارسة

في مقاطعة Vehari في ولاية البنجاب في باكستان ، ساعد الشريك المنفذ ، جمعية التعليم الريفي والتنمية الاقتصادية امرأة طموحة تدعى Almas Parveen على تلقي تدريب أفضل على القطن وتصبح ميسرة أفضل لحقول القطن - وهو منصب فريد من نوعه للمرأة في منطقتها. في هذا الدور ، يمكنها نشر معرفتها وخبرتها في تقنيات الزراعة الأفضل للمزارعين الآخرين في مجتمعها. تعتبر الميسرات الميدانيات من النساء محوريات في طموحنا للوصول إلى المزيد من النساء في القطن من خلال التدريب والموارد المؤثرة والشاملة.

مع تدريب Better Cotton ، زادت ألماس محصولها بنسبة 18٪ وأرباحها بنسبة 23٪ مقارنة بالعام السابق [موسم القطن 2016-17]. كما حققت انخفاضًا بنسبة 35٪ في استخدام المبيدات. من خلال الربح الإضافي ، تمكنت من إعالة أسرتها ودفع تكاليف حفل زفاف شقيقها. والأهم من ذلك ، تريد ألماس أيضًا أن تحدث فرقًا في مجتمعها من خلال إبراز مكانة المرأة في زراعة القطن وجعل هذا القطاع مكانًا أفضل للنساء بشكل عام.

تأثير القطن الأفضل على المساواة بين الجنسين

في Better Cotton ، لدينا فرصة كبيرة لزيادة إشراك المرأة وتمثيلها. إن إنشاء قطاع زراعي أكثر مساواة بين الجنسين أمر حاسم للنهوض الاقتصادي للمرأة ؛ خاصة في بلدان مثل الهند وباكستان وموزمبيق حيث يعتبر القطاع الزراعي المصدر الرئيسي لتوظيف النساء. على مر السنين ، تمكنا من الوصول إلى عدد متزايد من النساء عبر برامجنا ، لكننا ندرك أنه لا يزال هناك طريق طويل لنقطعه حتى يتم تمثيلهن على قدم المساواة.

تعرف على المزيد حول تأثيرات Better Cotton في تقرير أفضل لنتائج مزارع القطن.

إشراك مجتمع القطن المستدام

تتطلب معالجة القضايا الجنسانية الراسخة في إنتاج القطن نهجًا تعاونيًا. لهذا السبب نحن ملتزمون بمشاركة المعرفة والخبرة والدروس مع المنظمات الأخرى العاملة في الزراعة المستدامة.

تشمل بعض أعمالنا التعاونية الأخيرة ما يلي:

  • An جلسة عملية المنحى حول المرأة في الزراعة استضفنا خلال المؤتمر العالمي لاستدامة القطن 2019 في شنغهاي ، الصين. جمع الحدث ممثلين عن Fairtrade International و Cotton Connect و Cotton Australia و University of London Royal Holloway لمناقشة أفضل الممارسات للنهوض بتمكين المرأة في جميع أنحاء الصناعة.
  • تجمع ندوات الشركاء المنفذين السنوية حيث نتعامل مع شركاء دوليين بشأن المساواة بين الجنسين. في عام 2019 ، ركزت ندوتنا على تمكين المرأة ومنع عمالة الأطفال.
  • في يناير 2021 ، عملنا مع منظمة كير الدولية في المملكة المتحدة لتقديم ملف افتراضي جلسة تعلم العدالة المناخية، وتسليط الضوء على دور المرأة كعامل تغيير حاسم في مكافحة أزمة المناخ. لقد عملنا أيضًا مع CARE لتطوير ملف مؤشر تمكين المرأة ل إطار دلتا، الذي يهدف إلى قياس المشاركة النشطة للمرأة في القيادة وصنع القرار والسيطرة على الأصول الاقتصادية. تم تجريب المؤشر في جنوب إفريقيا مع قطن جنوب إفريقيا.  
  • تم طرحه في عام 2019 ، لدينا مزارعون + يتيح لنا التعريف أن نكون أكثر تعمدًا بشأن استهداف أولئك الذين نصل إليهم من خلال تدريب Better Cotton ، بما في ذلك النساء المزارعات اللائي يتشاركن في مسؤوليات صنع القرار بالتساوي. الشراكة مع IDH ، مبادرة التجارة المستدامة ، Sattva ومؤسسة Lupine، أطلقنا ملف مشروع تجريبي لمدة عام واحدبتمويل من IDH وصندوق Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund لزيادة إدماج المزارعات و إشراك المزارعين الذكور ليصبحوا حلفاء للمساواة بين الجنسين في الهند.
  • نحن مشاركين نشطين في مجموعة عمل المرأة في القطنالتي وضعتها الرابطة الدولية للقطن. تتمثل مهمة المجموعة في زيادة مشاركة النساء وتأثيرهن في صناعة القطن من خلال منحهن صوتًا أقوى والمشاركة والتعلم من تجارب بعضهن البعض وتسهيل التواصل بين النساء في مجتمع القطن العالمي.

ما نقوم به داخل منظمتنا

مجموعة عمل النوع الاجتماعي وورش عمل حول النوع الاجتماعي والتنوع

في يوليو 2020 ، أنشأنا مجموعة عمل النوع الاجتماعي الأفضل من القطن ، والتي تتألف من 11 موظفًا مع مساءلة مشتركة عن تنفيذ إستراتيجيتنا المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي. تجتمع المجموعة كل شهرين لتسريع العمل وتركيز جهودنا لتحقيق تأثير أكبر.

نحن نعمل أيضًا مع منظمة CARE International UK لتقديم ورش عمل حول المساواة بين الجنسين والتنوع لموظفي Better Cotton. تركز ورش العمل على الأبعاد المختلفة للنوع الاجتماعي والتنوع للمساعدة في زيادة تعميم اعتبارات النوع الاجتماعي عبر فريق Better Cotton وبناء لغة مشتركة لكيفية فهمنا ومعالجتنا لعدم المساواة والظلم.

كيف يساهم القطن الأفضل في أهداف التنمية المستدامة

تحدد أهداف الأمم المتحدة السبعة عشر للتنمية المستدامة (SDG) مخططًا عالميًا لتحقيق مستقبل مستدام. ينص الهدف 17 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة على أنه يجب علينا "تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين جميع النساء والفتيات".

من خلال تدريب Better Cotton ، نفتح الوصول إلى الموارد للنساء حتى يتمكنن من النهوض بأنفسهن اقتصاديًا والارتقاء بمكانتهن داخل أسرهن ومجتمعاتهن المحلية والمجتمع ككل.

اقرأ المزيد

أفضل استراتيجية جنسانية للقطن

تعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين في قطاع القطن العالمي لا يزال عدم المساواة بين الجنسين يمثل تحديًا ملحًا في قطاع القطن. على الصعيد العالمي ، تلعب النساء في إنتاج القطن أدوارًا أساسية ومتنوعة ، ولكن عملهن غالبًا ما يكون غير معترف به ولا يحصل على أجر كافٍ. حيث تظل مساهمات المرأة غير معترف بها ، فإن دورها الحاسم في تبني ممارسات أكثر استدامة ، وخلق ...

مواصلة القراءة أفضل استراتيجية جنسانية للقطن

تقرير الأثر ونتائج المزارع

في كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 2021 ، نشرنا أول تقرير تأثير خاص بنا. في تقرير هذا العام ، الذي يعد تطورًا من تقارير `` نتائج المزارعين '' السابقة ، نشارك أحدث البيانات على المستوى الميداني (من موسم القطن 2019-20) ونقيم كيفية ترخيص مزارعي القطن الأفضل في الصين والهند وباكستان وطاجيكستان و كان أداء تركيا وفقًا لمعايير بيئية واجتماعية واقتصادية ، مقارنة بـ ...

مواصلة القراءة تقرير الأثر ونتائج المزارع

الصورة الائتمان: تم أخذ جميع أيقونات ورسومات أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة (UN SDG) من موقع ويب الأمم المتحدة SDGلم توافق الأمم المتحدة على محتوى هذا الموقع ولا يعكس آراء الأمم المتحدة أو مسؤوليها أو الدول الأعضاء.

Gender equality remains a pressing challenge globally. At Better Cotton, we know that a more sustainable future can only be achieved when all genders have equal rights and opportunities, which is why we are taking action to progress gender equality through our programmes and within the cotton industry.

Photo Credit: Better cotton/Khaula Jamil

Location: Rahim Yar Khan, Punjab, Pakistan, 2019. Description: Farm-worker Ruksana Kausar with other women who are involved in a tree nursery project developed by Better Cotton Implementing Partner, WWF, Pakistan.

Cotton Production and Gender Equality — Why it Matters

While women contribute significantly to cotton production around the world — often taking on essential and demanding roles like sowing, weeding, fertiliser application and picking — their work regularly goes unrecognised, and they are held back by many forms of discrimination. This leads to underrepresentation in decision making, lower wages, less access to resources, limited mobility, increased threats of violence and other serious challenges.

Greater gender equality and recognition of women’s role in cotton production is not only better for women, but for the entire cotton sector at large. Research demonstrates the benefits. A 2018-19 study in in Maharashtra, India revealed, for example, that only 33% of women cotton cultivators surveyed had attended training in the last two years. Yet, when training was provided to women, there was a 30-40% increase in adoption of better farming practices.

More gender awareness across cotton supply chains is needed to design, deliver and fund inclusive, culturally sensitive and effective programmes that can address these issues while creating stronger workplaces and communities around the world.

The Better Cotton Approach to Gender Equality

At Better Cotton, our vision is a transformed, sustainable cotton industry where all participants have equal chances to thrive. Our Gender Strategy outlines the Better Cotton approach to achieving this vision through gender mainstreaming. Gender mainstreaming is a process that ensures that the concerns and experiences of all gender identities are an integral part of the design, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of Better Cotton policies, partnerships and programmes.

Our Gender Strategy defines objectives and commitments for gender mainstreaming at three levels:

  • Farm-level
  • In the sustainable cotton community
  • Within our organisation

By factoring women into the conversation from the start and opening up access to inputs and resources such as Better Cotton training, not only can they empower themselves economically, but they can also become more active contributors to their households and communities — potentially transforming their position in society as well.

Gender is also addressed in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. Producers in diverse contexts, from smallholder to large, mechanised farms, are required to:

  • Ensure that no chemical pesticides are applied by women who are nursing or pregnant. 
  • Respect the decent work principle, which promotes work that provides opportunities for women and men to work productively in conditions of freedom, equity, security and human dignity. This includes no wage discrimination.
  • Prevent child labour in accordance with the International Labour Organization Convention 138. Ensuring both girls and boys access and stay in school is integral to improving the situation of cotton-producing communities.

The Better Cotton Gender Strategy in Practice

In the Vehari district of Punjab in Pakistan, our Implementing Partner, the Rural Education and Economic Development Society helped an ambitious woman named Almas Parveen receive Better Cotton training and become a Better Cotton Field Facilitator — a unique position of authority for women in her region. In this role, she is able to spread her knowledge and expertise of better farming techniques to other farmers in her community. Women field facilitators are central to our ambition to reach more women in cotton with impactful, inclusive training and resources.

With Better Cotton training, Almas increased her yields by 18% and her profits by 23% compared to the previous year [the 2016-17 cotton season]. She also achieved a 35% reduction in pesticide use. With the additional profit, she’s been able to support her family and pay for her brother’s wedding. Importantly, Almas also wants to make a difference in her community by raising the profile of women in cotton farming and making the sector a better place for women overall.

The Impact of Better Cotton on Gender Equality

At Better Cotton, we have a major opportunity to increase women’s inclusion and representation. Creating a more gender-equal agricultural sector is crucial for women’s economic advancement; especially in countries like India, Pakistan and Mozambique where the agricultural sector is the primary source of employment for women. Over the years, we’ve been able to reach a growing number of women across our programmes, but we recognise that there’s still a long way to go until they are equally represented.

Learn more about Better Cotton impacts in the Better Cotton Farmer Results report.

Engaging the Sustainable Cotton Community

Addressing entrenched gender issues in cotton production requires a collaborative approach. That’s why we are committed to sharing knowledge, experience and lessons with other organisations working in sustainable agriculture.

Some of our recent collaborations include:

  • An action-oriented session on women in agriculture we hosted during the 2019 Global Cotton Sustainability Conference in Shanghai, China. The event brought together representatives from Fairtrade International, Cotton Connect, Cotton Australia and the University of London Royal Holloway to discuss best practices for advancing women’s empowerment throughout the industry.
  • Our annual Implementing Partner symposiums where we engage with international partners on gender equality. In 2019, our symposium focused on women’s empowerment and child labour prevention.
  • In January 2021, we worked with CARE International UK to deliver a virtual climate justice learning session, highlighting how women are critical agents of change to combat the climate crisis. We also worked with CARE to develop a women’s empowerment indicator for the Delta Framework, which aims to measure women’s active participation in leadership, decision-making and control of economic assets. The indicator was piloted in South Africa with Cotton South Africa.  
  • Introduced in 2019, our Farmers+ definition enables us to be more intentional about targeting those we’re reaching through Better Cotton training, including women co-farmers, who equally share decision-making responsibilities. Partnering with IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative, Sattva and the Lupin Foundation, we launched a one-year pilot project, funded by IDH and the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund to increase the inclusion of women farmers and engage male farmers to become allies for gender equality in India.
  • We are active participants of the Women in Cotton Working Group, developed by the International Cotton Association. The group’s mission is to increase engagement and the impact of women within the cotton industry by giving them a stronger voice, sharing and learning from each other’s experiences and facilitating networking amongst women in the global cotton community.

What We’re Doing Within Our Organisation

Gender Working Group and Gender and Diversity Workshops

In July 2020, we established the Better Cotton Gender Working Group, made up of 11 staff with shared accountability for delivering our Gender Strategy. The group meets bi-monthly to accelerate action and focus our efforts for greater impact.

We also work with CARE International UK to deliver gender equality and diversity workshops to Better Cotton staff. The workshops focus on different dimensions of gender and diversity to help further mainstream gender considerations across the Better Cotton team and build a common language for how we understand and tackle inequality and injustice.

How Better Cotton Contributes to the Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) outline a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 5 states that we should ‘achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls’.

Through Better Cotton training, we are opening up access to resources for women so that they can advance themselves economically and elevate their position within their households, communities and society at large.

Learn more

Better Cotton Gender Strategy

Promoting Gender Equality in the Global Cotton Sector Gender inequality remains a pressing challenge in the cotton sector. Globally, women in cotton production take on varied, essential roles, but their labour is often unrecognised and under-remunerated. Where the contributions of women remain unrecognised, their critical role in adopting more sustainable practices, and creating a transformed,…

Continue Reading Better Cotton Gender Strategy

Farmer Results

Better Cotton Farmer Results provide an overview of the outcomes Better Cotton Farmers are experiencing at field-level by participating in the Better Cotton programme and adhering to the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria (P&C). Adhering to the Better Cotton P&C enables Better Cotton Farmers to produce cotton in a way that is measurably better for…

Continue Reading Farmer Results

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site