性别平等仍然是全球面临的紧迫挑战。 在 Better Cotton,我们知道只有当所有性别都享有平等的权利和机会时,才能实现更可持续的未来,这就是为什么我们正在通过我们的计划和棉花行业采取行动促进性别平等。

图片来源:更好的棉花/Khaula Jamil

地点:Rahim Yar Khan,巴基斯坦旁遮普邦,2019 年。 描述:农场工人 Ruksana Kausar 与其他参与由巴基斯坦 WWF 良好棉花实施伙伴开发的苗圃项目的女性。

棉花生产和性别平等——为何重要

虽然女性为世界各地的棉花生产做出了重大贡献——她们通常承担着播种、除草、施肥和采摘等必不可少且要求苛刻的角色——但她们的工作经常不被承认,并且受到多种形式的歧视。 这导致决策中的代表性不足、工资降低、获得资源的机会减少、流动性受限、暴力威胁增加和其他严重挑战。

更大的性别平等和承认妇女在棉花生产中的作用不仅对妇女更好,而且对整个棉花部门也更好。 研究证明了好处。 一种 2018-19 在印度马哈拉施特拉学习 例如,在接受调查的女性棉花种植者中,只有 33% 的人在过去两年参加了培训。 然而,当为妇女提供培训时,采用更好的耕作方法的人数增加了 30-40%。

需要在整个棉花供应链中提高性别意识,以设计、实施和资助能够解决这些问题的包容性、文化敏感性和有效的计划 同时在世界各地创建更强大的工作场所和社区。

实现性别平等的更好棉花方法

在 Better Cotton,我们的愿景是一个转型的、可持续的棉花产业,让所有参与者都有平等的机会茁壮成长。 我们的 性别策略 概述了通过性别主流化实现这一愿景的良好棉花方法。 性别主流化是一个过程,可确保所有性别认同的关注点和经验成为良好棉花政策、伙伴关系和计划的设计、实施、监测和评估的一个组成部分。

我们的性别战略在三个层面定义了性别主流化的目标和承诺:

  • 农场级
  • 在可持续棉花社区
  • 在我们的组织内

通过从一开始就让女性参与对话并开放获取投入和资源的渠道,例如良好棉花培训,她们不仅可以在经济上增强自己的能力,而且还可以成为家庭和社区的更积极贡献者——有可能改变她们在社会也是如此。

性别问题也在 良好棉花原则和标准. 不同背景下的生产者,从小农到大型机械化农场,都需要:

  • 确保这件事 没有化​​学农药 正在哺乳或怀孕的妇女。 
  • 尊重体面劳动原则,促进工作,为女性和男性提供在自由、公平、安全和人的尊严的条件下富有成效地工作的机会。 这不包括工资歧视。
  • 防止童工 根据国际劳工组织公约 138. 确保女孩和男孩都能上学并继续上学是改善棉花生产社区状况的必要条件。

实践中的良好棉花性别战略

在巴基斯坦旁遮普省的 Vehari 区,我们的执行伙伴农村教育和经济发展协会帮助一位名叫 Almas Parveen 的雄心勃勃的女性接受了良好棉花培训,并成为了良好棉花田间协调员——这是她所在地区女性的独特权威职位。 在这个职位上,她能够将她在更好的农业技术方面的知识和专业知识传播给她社区的其他农民。 女性现场促进者是我们通过有影响力、包容性的培训和资源接触更多棉花领域女性的雄心的核心。

通过 Better Cotton 培训,Almas 的产量与前一年(18-23 棉花季)相比增加了 2016%,利润增加了 17%。 她还实现了 35% 的农药使用量减少。 有了额外的利润,她就能够养家糊口并支付她兄弟的婚礼费用。 重要的是,Almas 还希望通过提高女性在棉花种植业中的形象并使该行业成为更适合女性的整体环境,从而改变她所在的社区。

良好棉花对性别平等的影响

在 Better Cotton,我们有一个重要的机会来增加女性的包容性和代表性。 创建一个性别更加平等的农业部门对于提高妇女的经济地位至关重要; 特别是在印度、巴基斯坦和莫桑比克等国家,农业部门是妇女就业的主要来源。 多年来,我们的项目已经能够接触到越来越多的女性,但我们认识到,要让她们获得平等的代表,还有很长的路要走。

了解更多关于良好棉花影响的信息 更好的棉农结果报告.

参与可持续棉花社区

解决棉花生产中根深蒂固的性别问题需要采取协作方式。 这就是为什么我们致力于与从事可持续农业的其他组织分享知识、经验和教训。

我们最近的一些合作包括:

  • An 关于农业妇女的面向行动的会议 我们在 2019全球棉花可持续发展大会 在中国上海。 此次活动汇集了来自 Fairtrade International、Cotton Connect、Cotton Australia 和伦敦大学皇家霍洛威分校的代表,讨论在整个行业中促进女性赋权的最佳实践。
  • 我们的 年度执行伙伴座谈会 在那里我们与国际合作伙伴就性别平等问题进行接触。 2019年,我们的研讨会重点关注 妇女赋权和童工预防.
  • 2021 年 XNUMX 月,我们与 英国 CARE 国际 提供一个虚拟的 气候正义学习课程,强调女性如何成为应对气候危机的重要变革推动者。 我们还与 CARE 合作开发了一个 妇女赋权指标 三角洲框架,旨在衡量女性积极参与领导、决策和控制经济资产的情况。 该指标在南非与 Cotton South Africa 一起试点。  
  • 我们于 2019 年推出 农民+ 定义使我们能够更有意识地针对那些我们通过良好棉花培训接触到的人,包括平等分担决策责任的女性合作农民。 与 IDH、可持续贸易倡议、Sattva 和羽扇豆基金会,我们推出了一个 为期一年的试点项目,由 IDH 和 Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund 资助 增加女性农民的参与度让男性农民成为盟友 印度的性别平等。
  • 我们是以下活动的积极参与者 棉花工作组的妇女由开发 国际棉花协会. 该组织的使命是通过赋予女性更强的发言权、分享和学习彼此的经验以及促进全球棉花社区女性之间的网络联系,提高女性在棉花行业的参与度和影响力。

我们在组织内部做什么

性别工作组和性别与多样性研讨会

2020 年 11 月,我们成立了良好棉花性别工作组,由 XNUMX 名员工组成,共同负责实施我们的性别战略。 该小组每两个月举行一次会议,以加快行动并集中我们的努力以产生更大的影响。

我们还与英国 CARE International 合作,为 Better Cotton 员工举办性别平等和多元化研讨会。 研讨会侧重于性别和多样性的不同方面,以帮助进一步将性别考虑纳入良好棉花团队的主流,并为我们如何理解和解决不平等和不公正建立一种共同语言。

优质棉花如何为可持续发展目标做出贡献

联合国的 17 个可持续发展目标 (SDG) 勾勒出实现可持续未来的全球蓝图。 SDG 5 指出,我们应该“实现性别平等并赋予所有妇女和女孩权力”。

通过良好棉花培训,我们为女性开放了获取资源的途径,使她们能够在经济上提升自己,提升她们在家庭、社区和整个社会中的地位。

了解更多

良好棉花性别策略

在全球棉花行业促进性别平等 性别不平等仍然是棉花行业面临的紧迫挑战。 在全球范围内,棉花生产中的女性承担着各种重要的角色,但她们的劳动往往未被认可且报酬不足。 在女性的贡献仍未得到认可的情况下,她们在采用更可持续的做法和创造转型的过程中的关键作用……

继续阅读 良好棉花性别策略

影响报告和农民结果

2021 年 2019 月,我们发布了首份影响报告。 在今年的报告中,从之前的“农民结果”报告演变而来,我们分享了最新的田间数据(来自 20-XNUMX 棉花季节)并评估了中国、印度、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦和与……相比,土耳其在环境、社会和经济标准方面表现出色。

继续阅读 影响报告和农民结果

图片来源:所有联合国可持续发展目标 (UN SDG) 图标和信息图表均取自 联合国可持续发展目标网站本网站内容未经联合国批准,不代表联合国或其官员或会员国的观点。

Gender equality remains a pressing challenge globally. At Better Cotton, we know that a more sustainable future can only be achieved when all genders have equal rights and opportunities, which is why we are taking action to progress gender equality through our programmes and within the cotton industry.

Photo Credit: Better cotton/Khaula Jamil

Location: Rahim Yar Khan, Punjab, Pakistan, 2019. Description: Farm-worker Ruksana Kausar with other women who are involved in a tree nursery project developed by Better Cotton Implementing Partner, WWF, Pakistan.

Cotton Production and Gender Equality — Why it Matters

While women contribute significantly to cotton production around the world — often taking on essential and demanding roles like sowing, weeding, fertiliser application and picking — their work regularly goes unrecognised, and they are held back by many forms of discrimination. This leads to underrepresentation in decision making, lower wages, less access to resources, limited mobility, increased threats of violence and other serious challenges.

Greater gender equality and recognition of women’s role in cotton production is not only better for women, but for the entire cotton sector at large. Research demonstrates the benefits. A 2018-19 study in in Maharashtra, India revealed, for example, that only 33% of women cotton cultivators surveyed had attended training in the last two years. Yet, when training was provided to women, there was a 30-40% increase in adoption of better farming practices.

More gender awareness across cotton supply chains is needed to design, deliver and fund inclusive, culturally sensitive and effective programmes that can address these issues while creating stronger workplaces and communities around the world.

The Better Cotton Approach to Gender Equality

At Better Cotton, our vision is a transformed, sustainable cotton industry where all participants have equal chances to thrive. Our Gender Strategy outlines the Better Cotton approach to achieving this vision through gender mainstreaming. Gender mainstreaming is a process that ensures that the concerns and experiences of all gender identities are an integral part of the design, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of Better Cotton policies, partnerships and programmes.

Our Gender Strategy defines objectives and commitments for gender mainstreaming at three levels:

  • Farm-level
  • In the sustainable cotton community
  • Within our organisation

By factoring women into the conversation from the start and opening up access to inputs and resources such as Better Cotton training, not only can they empower themselves economically, but they can also become more active contributors to their households and communities — potentially transforming their position in society as well.

Gender is also addressed in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. Producers in diverse contexts, from smallholder to large, mechanised farms, are required to:

  • Ensure that no chemical pesticides are applied by women who are nursing or pregnant. 
  • Respect the decent work principle, which promotes work that provides opportunities for women and men to work productively in conditions of freedom, equity, security and human dignity. This includes no wage discrimination.
  • Prevent child labour in accordance with the International Labour Organization Convention 138. Ensuring both girls and boys access and stay in school is integral to improving the situation of cotton-producing communities.

The Better Cotton Gender Strategy in Practice

In the Vehari district of Punjab in Pakistan, our Implementing Partner, the Rural Education and Economic Development Society helped an ambitious woman named Almas Parveen receive Better Cotton training and become a Better Cotton Field Facilitator — a unique position of authority for women in her region. In this role, she is able to spread her knowledge and expertise of better farming techniques to other farmers in her community. Women field facilitators are central to our ambition to reach more women in cotton with impactful, inclusive training and resources.

With Better Cotton training, Almas increased her yields by 18% and her profits by 23% compared to the previous year [the 2016-17 cotton season]. She also achieved a 35% reduction in pesticide use. With the additional profit, she’s been able to support her family and pay for her brother’s wedding. Importantly, Almas also wants to make a difference in her community by raising the profile of women in cotton farming and making the sector a better place for women overall.

The Impact of Better Cotton on Gender Equality

At Better Cotton, we have a major opportunity to increase women’s inclusion and representation. Creating a more gender-equal agricultural sector is crucial for women’s economic advancement; especially in countries like India, Pakistan and Mozambique where the agricultural sector is the primary source of employment for women. Over the years, we’ve been able to reach a growing number of women across our programmes, but we recognise that there’s still a long way to go until they are equally represented.

Learn more about Better Cotton impacts in the Better Cotton Farmer Results report.

Engaging the Sustainable Cotton Community

Addressing entrenched gender issues in cotton production requires a collaborative approach. That’s why we are committed to sharing knowledge, experience and lessons with other organisations working in sustainable agriculture.

Some of our recent collaborations include:

  • An action-oriented session on women in agriculture we hosted during the 2019 Global Cotton Sustainability Conference in Shanghai, China. The event brought together representatives from Fairtrade International, Cotton Connect, Cotton Australia and the University of London Royal Holloway to discuss best practices for advancing women’s empowerment throughout the industry.
  • Our annual Implementing Partner symposiums where we engage with international partners on gender equality. In 2019, our symposium focused on women’s empowerment and child labour prevention.
  • In January 2021, we worked with CARE International UK to deliver a virtual climate justice learning session, highlighting how women are critical agents of change to combat the climate crisis. We also worked with CARE to develop a women’s empowerment indicator for the Delta Framework, which aims to measure women’s active participation in leadership, decision-making and control of economic assets. The indicator was piloted in South Africa with Cotton South Africa.  
  • Introduced in 2019, our Farmers+ definition enables us to be more intentional about targeting those we’re reaching through Better Cotton training, including women co-farmers, who equally share decision-making responsibilities. Partnering with IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative, Sattva and the Lupin Foundation, we launched a one-year pilot project, funded by IDH and the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund to increase the inclusion of women farmers and engage male farmers to become allies for gender equality in India.
  • We are active participants of the Women in Cotton Working Group, developed by the International Cotton Association. The group’s mission is to increase engagement and the impact of women within the cotton industry by giving them a stronger voice, sharing and learning from each other’s experiences and facilitating networking amongst women in the global cotton community.

What We’re Doing Within Our Organisation

Gender Working Group and Gender and Diversity Workshops

In July 2020, we established the Better Cotton Gender Working Group, made up of 11 staff with shared accountability for delivering our Gender Strategy. The group meets bi-monthly to accelerate action and focus our efforts for greater impact.

We also work with CARE International UK to deliver gender equality and diversity workshops to Better Cotton staff. The workshops focus on different dimensions of gender and diversity to help further mainstream gender considerations across the Better Cotton team and build a common language for how we understand and tackle inequality and injustice.

How Better Cotton Contributes to the Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nation’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) outline a global blueprint for achieving a sustainable future. SDG 5 states that we should ‘achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls’.

Through Better Cotton training, we are opening up access to resources for women so that they can advance themselves economically and elevate their position within their households, communities and society at large.

Learn more

Better Cotton Gender Strategy

Promoting Gender Equality in the Global Cotton Sector Gender inequality remains a pressing challenge in the cotton sector. Globally, women in cotton production take on varied, essential roles, but their labour is often unrecognised and under-remunerated. Where the contributions of women remain unrecognised, their critical role in adopting more sustainable practices, and creating a transformed,…

Continue Reading Better Cotton Gender Strategy

Farmer Results

Better Cotton Farmer Results provide an overview of the outcomes Better Cotton Farmers are experiencing at field-level by participating in the Better Cotton programme and adhering to the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria (P&C). Adhering to the Better Cotton P&C enables Better Cotton Farmers to produce cotton in a way that is measurably better for…

Continue Reading Farmer Results

Image credit: all UN SDG icons and infographics were taken from the UN SDG site