Covid 19 中心

Covid 19 中心

由于我们都在应对全球 Covid-19 大流行的影响,Better Cotton 仍然致力于支持棉花种植社区,并确保员工、合作伙伴和农民的安全仍然是重中之重。 Better Cotton 的存在是为了通过采用更可持续的做法来改善农民的生计,现在我们比以往任何时候都更需要利用我们的工具、资源和伙伴关系来促进农业社区的弹性。

我们已迅速采取措施在适当的情况下调整我们的系统和方法,以便良好棉花和我们的实地合作伙伴能够继续安全地实施良好棉花标准系统。 与此同时,我们认识到纺织行业的企业正在应对因门店关闭和需求减少而导致的严重财务挫折,而 Better Cotton 将努力支持会员并在可能的情况下发挥灵活性。

在该中心,您将找到有关世界各地的良好棉花种植者如何受到大流行影响的最新信息,以及良好棉花公司和我们的合作伙伴正在采取哪些额外措施来支持他们。 您还可以访问有关我们如何与整个供应链中的成员进行互动的信息——一起工作——以便我们都能在这场大流行的另一端出现,并继续为棉花行业建立一个更可持续的未来。

在全球范围内,有超过 250 亿人以棉花种植为生。 其中 99% 是小农,主要来自发展中国家。 Covid-19 大流行已经影响到 BCI 通过我们的实地合作伙伴支持棉农采用可持续做法并改善他们的生计的每个国家。

在中心的这一部分,您可以听到 BCI 实施合作伙伴(我们负责提供 BCI 计划的实地合作伙伴)已经实施的活动的第一手资料,他们应对挑战以确保农村社区,那里有许多人几乎没有经济稳定性,在这个充满挑战的时期得到支持。

与良好棉花实地合作伙伴的问答

在我们新的问答系列“棉花种植和 Covid-19”中,我们采访了世界各地的 BCI 实施合作伙伴。

在土耳其的地面上

BCI 与土耳其的战略合作伙伴 İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD)、三个实施合作伙伴和 3,000 多名 BCI 农民合作。 我们与我们的合作伙伴以及三位 BCI 农民进行了交谈,以了解更多有关实地情况的信息。

 

 

在巴基斯坦的地面上

在这里,我们与巴基斯坦的三个 BCI 实施合作伙伴(REEDS、桑塔尼妇女农村发展组织和世界自然基金会巴基斯坦分会)进行了交谈,以了解更多关于他们在 Covid-19 大流行期间如何支持 BCI 农民和农业社区的信息。 

 

 

在马里的地面上 

在以下与 BCI 实施合作伙伴 Compagnie Malienne Pour le Dévelopement du Textile (CDMT) 的问答中了解有关马里当地情况的更多信息。

 

 

在中国的土地上

听取中国三个实施合作伙伴的意见:CottonConnect、松子市农业技术推广中心和山东滨州农西棉花专业合作社。 在中国阅读实地

 

 

在印度的地面上

在本问答中,我们与印度的三个实施合作伙伴进行了交谈:羽扇豆基金会、Welspun 基金会和沿海盐度预防小组。 在印度实地阅读

 

 

与 Ambuja 水泥基金会的问答

Ambuja 水泥基金会 (ACF) 总经理 Chandrakant Kumbhani 告诉我们,该基金会如何工作,不仅确保农民在即将到来的棉花季节获得培训和支持,而且还准备好应对 Covid-19 挑战。 阅读完整的问答

 

 

印度 175,000 名小农 BCI 农民获得 Covid-19 保险

为应对大流行,IDH、可持续贸易倡议——BCI 的重要资助者和战略合作伙伴,以及 更好的棉花增长和创新基金 经理 — 已资助保险,为印度 175,000 名 BCI 小农提供收入保障。

在接下来的几个月里,更好棉花倡议首席执行官艾伦麦克莱将通过一系列博客分享关于 Covid-19 大流行对棉花种植社区和整个行业的影响的想法和见解。

博客 1:Covid-19 和棉花行业

在该系列的第一篇博客中,McClay 探讨了保护供应链起源(棉花种植社区)的重要性,以及为什么我们必须共同努力促进可持续复苏。 阅读 Covid-19 和棉花行业

 

 

 

博客 2:在现场层面进行调整和创新

McClay 分享了 BCI 和我们的实地合作伙伴如何适应大流行带来的限制并支持棉花种植社区的例子,重点介绍了印度和莫桑比克的具体例子。 阅读在领域层面的适应和创新

 

 

博客 3:从性别角度看 Covid-19

在这里,麦克莱通过性别视角审视 Covid-19,并重点介绍了 BCI 如何解决棉花种植中的性别不平等问题,重点关注 BCI 的新性别战略和巴基斯坦的实地项目。 通过性别视角阅读 Covid-19.

 

 

在大流行带来的新限制下安全实施良好棉花标准体系时,BCI 必须保持灵活性和创新性。 我们的首要任务仍然是对农民进行更可持续的农业实践培训,并确保他们及其家人和社区从这些实践中受益。 我们还保持我们的保证和许可活动,以便满足核心要求的农民可以继续将他们的棉花作为良好棉花出售。

在这里,您将找到有关我们如何调整良好棉花标准系统各个组成部分的实施以及我们如何在这个充满挑战的时期优先考虑农村社区的健康和生计,同时还寻求转移额外资源的信息。

能力建设

BCI 不直接培训农民。 我们值得信赖且经验丰富的实施合作伙伴(负责实施 BCI 计划的实地合作伙伴)对于确保良好棉花标准在全球的成功实施至关重要。 在这个困难时期,为了更好地支持我们的合作伙伴,从而继续在现场层面实现变革,BCI 正在开展一系列活动,以继续实施合作伙伴 能力建设。

  • BCI 已优先为印度和巴基斯坦的现场协调员开发两个在线学习系统,以确保我们的合作伙伴能够在大流行期间继续为农民提供支持。
  • 例如,在印度,在线学习内容已经开发和试点并取得了积极成果,但我们需要将试点扩大到 3,000 名现场指导员以促进简化学习,他们将共同培训和支持超过 1 万农民。 我们已从劳德斯基金会获得了 20,000 欧元的赠款,以快速跟踪此学习系统。
  • 负责实施合作伙伴能力建设的 BCI 员工接受了关于如何提供有效的网络研讨会和在线培训课程的培训,他们现在已经转向在线培训,向合作伙伴提供所有研讨会。
  • BCI 还开发了一个新的在线能力建设资源库,以支持负责培训实施合作伙伴的工作人员。

保证活动

通过 更好的棉花保证计划,我们试图核实农民是否按照 良好棉花原则和标准. 这是确保任何寻求获得良好棉花倡议许可的生产者单位(一群农民)遵守良好棉花原则的基础。 BCI 和我们的实施合作伙伴有责任将保护现场工作人员、农民和农场工人的健康和福祉作为首要任务。

  • 任何会损害人们健康或福祉的 BCI 保证相关活动都被推迟或远程进行。
  • BCI 在莫桑比克和南非成功试点了远程保障流程。 您可以在 Covid-19 和 Cotton Sector 中找到更多相关信息 新闻.
  • BCI 将尽可能努力确保 Covid-19 相关限制不会不公平地影响现有 BCI 许可证的状态以及现有农民重新获得许可证的能力。
  • 随着形势的发展,BCI 将重新评估我们运营所在国家/地区的状况,并审查我们的 Covid-19 保障计划规划 方针 如必要的。
  • BCI 还创建了一个跨职能的 Covid-19 工作组,以分享在这个困难时期支持农业社区的经验、讨论学习并确定进一步支持我们实地的机会。

BCI 正在积极寻求获得 Covid-19 资金机会,以便我们能够推动我们的实地合作伙伴已经开始的工作,以支持世界各地的棉花种植社区。

  • 我们的申请 劳德基金会 紧急支持赠款已成功,我们已收到 100,000 欧元,用于支持我们的实地合作伙伴的 Covid-19 响应活动。
  • 紧急支持赠款将用于确保农民接受有关如何在危机期间保持安全和保护的培训和支持,并提供支持以确保农民的生计得到保护。
  • BCI 的 Covid-19 工作组——一个由全球 BCI 工作人员组成的内部工作组,旨在利用现有的网络和活动来支持棉花种植社区——目前正在特定国家分配资金和实施活动。
  • 我们还从劳德斯基金会获得了 20,000 欧元用于支持实施合作伙伴能力建设的学习系统(更多信息请参见上文“能力建设”部分)。

BCI 仍然感谢 BCI 会员,他们继续通过将棉花作为良好棉花采购来支持更可持续的棉花生产。 正是所有 BCI 成员的集体贡献才能持续支持世界各地的棉农和实地合作伙伴。

我们还意识到,随着我们的行业应对 Covid-19 大流行的影响,会员企业正面临财务挑战。

即将举行的会员网络研讨会

BCI 旨在通过提供定期的现场网络研讨会将来自世界各地和整个棉花价值链的成员联系起来。

在我们 2020 年的所有成员网络研讨会中,我们将包括有关世界各地 BCI 农民如何适应当前形势的重点和更新。 不同的网络研讨会将关注不同的领域,但在每次现场互动中,我们将分享有关 BCI 2020 年在全球棉田中持续运营的信息。

在以下位置注册即将举行的网络研讨会:  https://bettercotton.org/get-involved/events/

会员条款

为了让您继续获得支持,BCI 为所有成员提供临时救济,帮助您处理与 Better Cotton 相关的业务。

这些选项中的每一个都已直接与 BCI 会员进行了更详细的沟通。

BCI 会员发票条款:对于 2020 年 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月发出的任何会员发票,发票期限已延长。

滞纳金:BCI 不会对 2020 年 2020 月至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月开具的发票收取滞纳金。

良好棉花索赔单位 (BCCU) 的转移:

  • 当前的良好棉花产销监管链指南要求供应商和制造商成员在发货后 60 天内向客户输入/确认交易。 现在已延长至 90 天(适用于 2020 年 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 月之间的发货)。
  • 目前,零售商和品牌成员需要在销售进入良好棉花平台 (BCP) 后 30 天内手动接受来自织物厂的 BCCU。 对于 90 年 2020 月至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月之间的交易,此期限现已延长至 XNUMX 天。

输出申报表 (ODF) 提醒: 虽然供应商和制造商的选择于 2019 年结束,但零售商和品牌成员现在必须在 31 年 2020 月 2019 日之前输入 31 年末订单生成的所有 ODF(此截止日期已从 2020 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日延长)。

BCI 会员资格和良好棉花平台 (BCP) 用户费用收入对于支持 BCI 秘书处的运作至关重要。 如果您对如何继续支持 BCI 有其他疑虑或问题,请联系 BCI 会员团队: [电子邮件保护].

Covid-19 Hub

As we are all coping with the impacts of the global Covid-19 pandemic, BCI remains committed to supporting cotton farming communities and ensuring that the safety of staff, partners and farmers remains a priority. BCI exists to improve farmer livelihoods through the adoption of more sustainable practices, and now more than ever, we must leverage our tools, resources and partnerships to promote resiliency within farming communities.

We have quickly taken steps to adjust our systems and approaches where appropriate so that BCI, and our on-the-ground partners, can continue to implement the Better Cotton Standard System safely. At the same time, we recognise that businesses within the textile sector are coping with serious financial setbacks resulting from store closures and decreased demand, and BCI will work to support members and exercise flexibility where possible.

In this hub, you will find up-to-date information about how BCI Farmers around the world have been impacted by the pandemic and what additional efforts BCI and our partners are taking to support them. You can also access information about how we are engaging members across the supply chain — working together — so that we can all emerge on the other end of this pandemic and continue to build a more sustainable future for the cotton sector.

From the Field: What Is Happening on the Ground

Across the globe, more than 250 million people depend on cotton farming for their livelihoods. 99% of them are smallholders, mostly from developing countries. The Covid-19 pandemic has affected every country where BCI supports — through our on-the-ground partners — cotton farmers to adopt sustainable practices and improve their livelihoods.

In this section of the hub you can hear first-hand accounts of activities BCI Implementing Partners (our on-the-ground partners in charge of delivering the BCI Programme) have been implementing, rising to the challenge to ensure rural communities, where many people have little economic stability, are supported through this challenging time.

Q&As with BCI On-The-Ground Partners

In our new Q&A series ‘Cotton Farming and Covid-19’, we interview BCI Implementing Partners around the world.

On the Ground in Turkey

BCI works with Strategic Partner İyi Pamuk Uygulamaları Derneği (IPUD), three Implementing Partners and more than 3,000 BCI Farmers in Turkey. We spoke with our partners, as well as three BCI Farmers to find out more about what is happening on the ground.

 

 

On the Ground in Pakistan

Here we speak with three BCI Implementing Partners in Pakistan – REEDS, Sangtani Women Rural Development Organization and WWF-Pakistan – to find out more about how they are supporting BCI Farmers and farming communities during the Covid-19 pandemic. 

 

 

On the Ground in Mali 

Find out more about the situation on the ground in Mali in the following Q&A with BCI Implementing Partner, Compagnie Malienne Pour le Dévelopement du Textile (CDMT).

 

 

On the Ground in China

Hear from three Implementing Partners in China: CottonConnect, Songzi City Agriculture Technology Promotion Center and Shandong Binzhou Nongxi Cotton Professional Cooperative. Read On the Ground in China

 

 

On the Ground in India

In this Q&A we speak with three Implementing Partners in India: Lupin Foundation, Welspun Foundation and Coastal Salinity Prevention Cell. Read On the Ground in India

 

 

Q&A with Ambuja Cement Foundation

Chandrakant Kumbhani, Ambuja Cement Foundation (ACF) General Manager, tells us how the foundation is working to not only ensure farmers receive training and support for the upcoming cotton season, but are also prepared and equipped to deal with Covid-19 challenges. Read the full Q&A

 

 

175,000 Smallholder BCI Farmers in India Receive Covid-19 Insurance

In response to the pandemic, IDH, The Sustainable Trade Initiative — an important funder and strategic partner of BCI, as well as the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund manager — has funded insurance to provide income security to 175,000 smallholder BCI Farmers in India.

 

CEO Blog Series: Covid-19 and the Cotton Sector

Over the coming months, Alan McClay, Better Cotton Initiative CEO, will be sharing thoughts and insights through a blog series about the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on cotton farming communities and the sector as a whole.

Blog 1: Covid-19 and the Cotton Sector

In the first blog of the series, McClay explores the importance of protecting those at the origin of the supply chain — cotton farming communities — and why we must work together to promote a sustainable recovery. Read Covid-19 and the Cotton Sector

 

 

 

Blog 2: Adapting and Innovating at Field Level

McClay shares examples of how BCI and our on-the-ground partners are adapting to the constraints imposed by the pandemic and supporting cotton farming communities, focusing on specific examples in India and Mozambique. Read Adapting and Innovating at Field Level

 

 

Blog 3: Covid-19 Through a Gender Lens

Here McClay looks at Covid-19 through a gender lens and highlights how BCI is addressing gender inequality in cotton farming, focusing on BCI’s new Gender Strategy and on-the-ground projects in Pakistan. Read Covid-19 Through a Gender Lens.

 

 

Farmer Training and Capacity Building

BCI must remain flexible and innovative as we implement the Better Cotton Standard System safely within the new constraints that the pandemic presents. Our priority remains to train farmers on more sustainable agricultural practices and ensure that they benefit, along with their families and communities, from these practices. We are also maintaining our assurance and licensing activities so that farmers meeting the core requirements can continue to sell their cotton as Better Cotton.

Here you will find information on how we are adapting implementation of various components of the Better Cotton Standard System and how we are prioritising the health and livelihoods of rural communities while also looking to divert additional resources during this challenging time.

Capacity Building

BCI does not train farmers directly. Our trusted and experienced Implementing Partners (on-the-ground partners in charge of delivering the BCI Programme) are crucial to ensure the successful implementation of the Better Cotton Standard around the globe. To better support our partners — and therefore continue to deliver change at field-level — during this difficult time, BCI is carrying out a number of activities to continue Implementing Partner capacity building.

  • BCI has prioritised the development of two online learning systems for Field Facilitators in India and Pakistan to ensure our partners can continue to support farmers during the pandemic.
  • In India, for example, online learning content has already been developed and piloted with positive results, but we require expansion of the pilot to facilitate streamlined learning to 3,000 Field Facilitators who will collectively train and support over 1 million farmers. We have received a €20,000 grant from the Laudes Foundation to fast-track this learning system.
  • BCI staff responsible for Implementing Partner capacity building have received training on how to deliver effective webinars and online training sessions and they have now pivoted to online training to deliver all workshops to partners.
  • BCI has also developed a new online Capacity Building Resource Library to support staff members responsible for training Implementing Partners.

Assurance and Licensing Activities

Assurance Activities

Through the Better Cotton Assurance Programme, we seek to verify whether farmers have grown their cotton in accordance to the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. This is fundamental to ensuring that any Producer Unit (a group of farmers) seeking to obtain a Better Cotton Initiative licence is adhering to the principles of Better Cotton. BCI and our Implementing Partners have a responsibility to protect the health and wellbeing of field staff, farmers and farm workers as a first priority.

  • Any BCI assurance related activities that would compromise health or well-being of people are being postponed or conducted remotely.
  • BCI successfully piloted a remote assurance processes in Mozambique and South Africa. You can find out more about this in the Covid-19 and the Cotton Sector blog.
  • BCI will endeavour – to the degree possible – to ensure that Covid-19 related restrictions do not unfairly affect the status of existing BCI licences and the ability of existing farmers to become re-licensed.
  • As the situation evolves, BCI will re-evaluate conditions in our countries of operation and review our Assurance Programme Planning for Covid-19 guidelines as necessary.
  • BCI has also created a cross-functional ​Covid-19 Working Group to share experiences of supporting farming communities through this difficult time, discuss learnings, and identify opportunities to further support our on-the-ground.

Fundraising

Fundraising

BCI is actively looking to secure Covid-19 funding opportunities so that we can boost the work that has already been started by our on-the-ground partners to support cotton farming communities across the world.

  • Our application to the Laudes Foundation for an emergency support grant has been successful, and we have received €100,000 to support our on-the-ground partners’ Covid-19 response activities.
  • The emergency support grant will be used to make sure that farmers are receiving training and support on how to stay safe and protected during the crisis and to provide support to ensure farmers’ livelihoods are protected.
  • BCI’s Covid-19 Working Group — an internal working group of global BCI staff members established to leverage existing networks and activities to support cotton farming communities — is currently distributing the funding and implementing activities in select countries.
  • We have also received €20,000 from the Laudes Foundation for a learning system to support Implementing Partner capacity building (see under ‘Capacity Building’ above for more information).

Member Support and Information: How BCI Is Supporting Members

BCI remains grateful to the BCI Members who continue to support more sustainable cotton production through sourcing their cotton as Better Cotton. It is the collective contributions from all BCI Members that enables continued support to cotton farmers and on-the-ground partners around the world.

We are also aware that member businesses are facing financial challenges as our sector deals with the impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Upcoming Webinars for Members

BCI aims to connect members from around the world and across the entire cotton value chain by offering regular live webinars.

In all of our 2020 member webinars, we will include highlights and updates about how BCI farmers around the world are adapting to the current situation. Different webinars will have different areas of focus, but in each live engagement we will share information about BCI’s continued 2020 operations in cotton fields across the globe.

Register for an upcoming webinar at:  https://bettercotton.org/get-involved/events/

Membership Terms

In an effort to enable your continued support, BCI is offering all members temporary relief for your business as it relates to Better Cotton.

Each of these options have been directly communicated with BCI Members in more detail.

BCI Membership Invoice Terms: The invoicing period has been extended for any membership invoices issued January through June 2020.

Late Payment Fees: BCI will not charge late fees for invoices issued March 2020 through July 2020.

Transfer of Better Cotton Claims Units (BCCUs):

  • Current Better Cotton Chain of Custody guidance requires Supplier and Manufacturer Members to enter/acknowledge transactions to customers within 60 days of shipment. This has now been extended to 90 days (on shipments made between January through June 2020).
  • Retailer and Brand Members are currently required to manually accept BCCUs from fabric mills within 30 days of sales being entered into the Better Cotton Platform (BCP). This has now been extended to 90 days on transactions made between January through June 2020.

Output Declaration Form (ODF) Reminder: While the option for suppliers and manufacturers ended in 2019, Retailer and Brand Members now have until 31 July 2020 to enter all ODFs generated from late 2019 orders (this deadline has been extended from 31 March 2020).

BCI Membership and Better Cotton Platform (BCP) user fee income is critical for supporting BCI Secretariat operations. If you have additional concerns or questions about how you can continue supporting BCI, please reach out to the BCI Membership Team at membership@bettercotton.org.