استدامة

بقلم تشيلسي راينهاردت ، مدير المعايير والتأمين

يبدو أن الزراعة المتجددة أصبحت على رادار الجميع هذه الأيام. من شهادات الزراعة المتجددة الجديدة إلى التزامات التوريد من العلامات التجارية الكبرى ، يكتسب هذا المفهوم زخمًا.  

تشيلسي رينهاردت

تم بالفعل نسج العديد من الممارسات التجديدية في نظام Better Cotton Standard System ، ومع تطور الأبحاث والمحادثات حول الزراعة المتجددة ، فإننا نعمل على تعميق تأثيرنا معها. 

أدناه ، نناقش الزراعة المتجددة من حيث صلتها بـ Better Cotton - من كيفية تعريفنا لها إلى نهجنا للمضي قدمًا. 

ما هي الزراعة المتجددة؟ 

في حين لا يوجد حاليًا تعريف مقبول عالميًا للزراعة المتجددة ، إلا أنه يرتبط عمومًا بالممارسات التي تعزز صحة التربة واستعادة الكربون العضوي في التربة. قد تشمل هذه الممارسات الحد من الحراثة (عدم الحراثة أو الحراثة المنخفضة) ، واستخدام محاصيل التغطية ، وتناوب المحاصيل المعقدة ، وتناوب المواشي مع المحاصيل وتجنب أو تقليل استخدام الأسمدة الاصطناعية ومبيدات الآفات - الممارسات التي لديها القدرة على تحويل التربة الزراعية في صافي بالوعة الكربون.  

الزراعة المتجددة في أفضل معايير القطن  

لا نستخدم حاليًا مصطلح "الزراعة المتجددة" في معيار القطن الأفضل. ومع ذلك ، فإن ما يعتبر زراعة متجددة اليوم يتماشى مع العديد من ممارسات الزراعة المستدامة التي تشكل أساس معيارنا. يدعم شركاؤنا المنفذون على الأرض في 23 دولة حول العالم المزارعين لتنفيذ هذه الممارسات ، والتي يمكن العثور عليها في جميع مبادئ ومعايير القطن الأفضل. 

الزراعة المتجددة في مبادئ ومعايير أفضل للقطن

  • المبدأ 3 حول صحة التربة: يُطلب من مزارعي القطن الأفضل تنفيذ خطة متعددة السنوات لإدارة التربة والتي تغطي تعزيز بنية التربة وخصوبة التربة وتحسين دورة المغذيات ، والتي تشمل عمليات مثل تحطيم المواد العضوية وتنفس التربة التي تسهل امتصاص مغذيات التربة مثل الكربون والنيتروجين والفوسفور. يتم تشجيع المزارعين ودعمهم لتحديد الممارسات الأكثر ملاءمة لسياقهم المحلي. وتشمل هذه عادة زراعة الغطاء ، وتناوب المحاصيل ، والتغطية وطرق التجديد الأخرى.  
  • المبدأ 4 بشأن التنوع البيولوجي واستخدام الأراضي: يجب أن يتبنى مزارعو القطن الأفضل خطة إدارة التنوع البيولوجي التي تشجع صراحة على تناوب المحاصيل واستعادة المناطق المتدهورة. 
  • مبادئ القطن الأفضل الأخرى: نظرًا للطبيعة المترابطة لممارسات الزراعة المستدامة ، فإن ممارسات الزراعة المتجددة مدمجة في مبادئ أخرى أيضًا. على سبيل المثال ، يقدم المبدأ الأول بشأن حماية المحاصيل برنامجًا متكاملًا لإدارة الآفات إلى مساعدة المزارعين على تقليل استخدامهم لمبيدات الآفات والمبدأ الثاني بشأن الإشراف على المياه يوضح بالتفصيل ممارسات رطوبة التربة مثل التغطية بالغطاء وزراعة الغطاء. 

كيف نتعمق في الزراعة المتجددة من أجل تأثير أكبر 

بينما ندرك قيمة ممارسات الزراعة المتجددة وندعم الوعي المتزايد بدور الزراعة في مكافحة تغير المناخ ، فإننا نتوخى الحذر بشأن تقديم وعود بشأن مساهمات الكربون في التربة بينما لا يزال العلم في هذا المجال يتطور. على سبيل المثال ، على الرغم من أن الزراعة بدون حراثة قد ثبت أنها تحسن عزل الكربون على المدى القصير في كثير من الحالات ، على المدى الطويل ، فإن النتائج أقل تأكيدًا. أظهرت بعض الدراسات أنه حتى الحرث الدوري يمكن أن يعكس سنوات من فوائد الكربون. تشير أبحاث أخرى إلى تأثيرات مختلطة على الكربون العضوي في التربة ، اعتمادًا على محتوى طبقة التربة وعمقها. 

بغض النظر عن فوائد الكربون طويلة الأجل للزراعة المتجددة ، سنواصل التركيز على دعم المزارعين لتحسين صحة التربة. هذا أمر بالغ الأهمية لتعزيز خصوبة التربة على المدى الطويل ، وتقليل التعرية والتكيف مع تغير المناخ. كما أنه يلعب دورًا رئيسيًا في تحسين الغلات وسبل العيش للمجتمعات الزراعية. 

ماذا بعد

ممارسات الزراعة الذكية مناخيا ستلعب دورًا أكثر بروزًا في معيار القطن الأفضل بعد المراجعة القادمة لمبادئ ومعايير القطن الأفضل. كما أنها ستظهر بقوة في استراتيجيتنا لعام 2030 واستراتيجية تغير المناخ المرتبطة بها ، والتي ستغطي كيف يمكن لمزارعي القطن الأفضل والمجتمعات أن يصبحوا أكثر مرونة من خلال التخفيف من آثار تغير المناخ والتكيف معها ، والحد من انبعاثات الكربون وقياس تقدمهم. 

نهج التحسين المستمر في قلب كل من الزراعة المتجددة واستراتيجيتنا لعام 2030. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، نحن حاليا في عملية الانتهاء من أهداف النتائج والمؤشرات المرتبطة بها لتكون بمثابة محركات للتغيير لمزارعي القطن الأفضل. من المرجح أن تشمل مجالات قضية الهدف الناتج التخفيف من تغير المناخ وصحة التربة. ستمكن هذه الأهداف من قياس التقدم نحو مهمة Better Cotton وتحفيز المزارعين على إيجاد طرق جديدة لإثراء البيئة في مزارعهم وحولها.  

ترقبوا - سنشارك المزيد من المعلومات حول هذه الأهداف ونطلق استراتيجيتنا لعام 2030 في نهاية العام.  

تعرف على المزيد حول كيفية معالجة Better Cotton Standard لصحة التربة والتخفيف من آثار تغير المناخ والتكيف معه

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Sustainability

By Chelsea Reinhardt, Director, Standards & Assurance

Regenerative agriculture seems to be on everyone’s radar these days. From new regenerative agriculture certifications to sourcing commitments from big brands, the concept is gaining traction.  

Chelsea Reinhardt

Many regenerative practices are already woven into the Better Cotton Standard System, and as the research and conversations around regenerative agriculture evolve, we are working to deepen our impact along with it. 

Below, we discuss regenerative agriculture as it relates to Better Cotton — from how we define it to our approach moving forward. 

What is Regenerative Agriculture? 

While there is currently no universally accepted definition of regenerative agriculture, it is generally related to practices that promote soil health and restore organic carbon in the soil. These practices may include reducing tilling (no-till or low-till), use of cover crops, complex crop rotation, rotating livestock with crops and avoiding or minimising the use of synthetic fertilisers and pesticides — practices that have the potential to turn agricultural soil into a net carbon sink.  

Regenerative Agriculture in the Better Cotton Standard  

We don’t currently use the term ‘regenerative agriculture’ in the Better Cotton Standard. However, what is considered regenerative agriculture today is aligned with many of the sustainable farming practices that form the basis of our Standard. Our on-the-ground Implementing Partners in 23 countries around the world support farmers to implement these practices, which can be found throughout the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. 

Regenerative Agriculture in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

  • Principle 3 on Soil Health: Better Cotton Farmers are required to implement a multi-year soil management plan which covers enhancing soil structure, soil fertility and improving nutrient cycling, which includes processes such as breaking down of organic matter and soil respiration that facilitates uptake of soil nutrients like carbon, nitrogen and phosphorous. Farmers are encouraged and supported to identify practices that are most appropriate to their local context. These typically include cover cropping, crop rotation, mulching and other regenerative methods.  
  • Principle 4 on Biodiversity and Land Use: Better Cotton Farmers must adopt a biodiversity management plan which explicitly encourages crop rotation and the restoration of degraded areas. 
  • Other Better Cotton Principles: Due to the interconnected nature of sustainable farming practices, regenerative agriculture practices are embedded within other principles as well. For example, principle one on crop protection introduces an Integrated Pest Management Programme to help farmers reduce their pesticide use and principle two on water stewardship details soil moisture practices such as mulching and cover cropping. 

How We’re Diving Deeper into Regenerative Agriculture for Greater Impact 

While we recognise the value of regenerative agriculture practices and support the growing awareness of the role of farming in combatting climate change, we are cautious about making promises about soil carbon contributions while the science in this area is still evolving. For example, although no-till agriculture has been shown to improve carbon sequestration in the short term in many cases, in the long term, the outcomes are less certain. Some studies have shown that even periodic ploughing can reverse years of carbon benefits. Other research points to mixed impacts on soil organic carbon, depending on the content and depth of the soil layer. 

Regardless of the long-term carbon benefits of regenerative agriculture, we will continue to focus on supporting farmers to improve their soil health. This is crucial to enhance long-term soil fertility, reduce erosion and adapt to climate change. It also plays a key role in improving yields and livelihoods for farming communities. 

What’s Next

Climate-smart agriculture practices will play a more prominent role in the Better Cotton Standard after an upcoming revision of the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. They will also feature strongly in our 2030 Strategy and connected climate change strategy, which will cover how Better Cotton Farmers and communities can become more resilient by mitigating and adapting to the effects of climate change, reducing carbon emissions and measuring their progress. 

An approach of continuous improvement is at the heart of both regenerative agriculture and our 2030 Strategy. To that end, we are currently in the process of finalising outcome targets and associated indicators to act as drivers of change for Better Cotton Farmers. The outcome target issue areas will likely include climate change mitigation and soil health. These targets will enable progress to be measured towards the Better Cotton mission and incentivise farmers to find new ways to enrich the environment in and around their farms.  

Stay tuned — we will be sharing more information on these targets and launching our 2030 Strategy at the end of the year.  

Learn more about how the Better Cotton Standard addresses soil health and climate change mitigation and adaptation

Translate »