可持续性

作者:Chelsea Reinhardt,标准与保证总监

如今,再生农业似乎受到了所有人的关注。 从新的再生农业认证到大品牌的采购承诺,这一概念越来越受到关注。  

切尔西莱因哈特

许多再生实践已经融入了良好棉花标准体系,随着围绕再生农业的研究和对话的发展,我们正在努力深化我们的影响。 

下面,我们将讨论与良好棉花相关的再生农业——从我们如何定义它到我们前进的方法。 

什么是再生农业? 

虽然目前没有普遍接受的再生农业定义,但它通常与促进土壤健康和恢复土壤中的有机碳的做法有关。 这些做法可能包括减少耕作(免耕或低耕)、使用覆盖作物、复杂的作物轮作、轮作牲畜以及避免或尽量减少使用合成肥料和杀虫剂——这些做法有可能改变农业土壤变成净碳汇。  

良好棉花标准中的再生农业  

我们目前未在良好棉花标准中使用“再生农业”一词。 然而,如今被认为是再生农业的做法与构成我们标准基础的许多可持续农业实践相一致。 我们在全球 23 个国家/地区的实地实施合作伙伴支持农民实施这些做法,这些做法可以在《良好棉花原则和标准》中找到。 

良好棉花原则和标准中的再生农业

  • 土壤健康原则 3: 良好棉花种植者需要实施一项多年土壤管理计划,其中包括增强土壤结构、土壤肥力和改善养分循环,其中包括分解有机质和土壤呼吸等过程,以促进吸收土壤养分,如碳、氮和磷。 鼓励和支持农民确定最适合当地情况的做法。 这些通常包括覆盖作物、轮作、覆盖和其他再生方法。  
  • 关于生物多样性和土地利用的原则 4:良好棉花种植者必须采用生物多样性管理计划,明确鼓励作物轮作和退化地区的恢复。 
  • 其他优良棉花原则: 由于可持续农业实践的相互关联性,再生农业实践也包含在其他原则中。 例如,作物保护的第一原则引入了综合害虫管理计划 帮助农民减少农药使用 关于水资源管理的原则二详细说明了土壤水分做法,例如覆盖和覆盖种植。 

我们如何更深入地研究再生农业以产生更大的影响 

虽然我们认识到可再生农业实践的价值,并支持人们日益认识到农业在应对气候变化中的作用,但我们对在该领域的科学仍在发展的情况下对土壤碳贡献做出承诺持谨慎态度。 例如,尽管在许多情况下,免耕农业已被证明可以在短期内改善碳固存,但从长远来看,结果并不那么确定。 一些研究表明,即使是定期耕作也可以逆转多年的碳效益。 其他研究指出对土壤有机碳的混合影响,取决于土壤层的含量和深度。 

不管再生农业的长期碳效益如何,我们将继续专注于支持农民改善土壤健康。 这对于提高长期土壤肥力、减少侵蚀和适应气候变化至关重要。 它还在提高农业社区的产量和生计方面发挥着关键作用。 

下一步是什么

气候智能型农业实践 在即将修订良好棉花原则和标准后,将在良好棉花标准中发挥更突出的作用。 它们还将在我们的 2030 年战略和相关气候变化战略中占据重要地位,该战略将涵盖如何通过减轻和适应气候变化的影响、减少碳排放和衡量进展来提高良好棉花种植者和社区的抵御能力。 

一种持续改进的方法 是再生农业和我们的 2030 战略的核心。 为此,我们目前正在最终确定结果目标和相关指标,以作为更好的棉花种植者变革的驱动力。 结果目标问题领域可能包括减缓气候变化和土壤健康。 这些目标将使人们能够衡量良好棉花使命的进展情况,并激励农民寻找新的方法来丰富他们农场内外的环境。  

请继续关注——我们将分享有关这些目标的更多信息,并在年底推出我们的 2030 战略。  

了解有关良好棉花标准如何解决土壤健康和气候变化减缓和适应的更多信息

分享此页

Sustainability

By Chelsea Reinhardt, Director, Standards & Assurance

Regenerative agriculture seems to be on everyone’s radar these days. From new regenerative agriculture certifications to sourcing commitments from big brands, the concept is gaining traction.  

Chelsea Reinhardt

Many regenerative practices are already woven into the Better Cotton Standard System, and as the research and conversations around regenerative agriculture evolve, we are working to deepen our impact along with it. 

Below, we discuss regenerative agriculture as it relates to Better Cotton — from how we define it to our approach moving forward. 

What is Regenerative Agriculture? 

While there is currently no universally accepted definition of regenerative agriculture, it is generally related to practices that promote soil health and restore organic carbon in the soil. These practices may include reducing tilling (no-till or low-till), use of cover crops, complex crop rotation, rotating livestock with crops and avoiding or minimising the use of synthetic fertilisers and pesticides — practices that have the potential to turn agricultural soil into a net carbon sink.  

Regenerative Agriculture in the Better Cotton Standard  

We don’t currently use the term ‘regenerative agriculture’ in the Better Cotton Standard. However, what is considered regenerative agriculture today is aligned with many of the sustainable farming practices that form the basis of our Standard. Our on-the-ground Implementing Partners in 23 countries around the world support farmers to implement these practices, which can be found throughout the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. 

Regenerative Agriculture in the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria

  • Principle 3 on Soil Health: Better Cotton Farmers are required to implement a multi-year soil management plan which covers enhancing soil structure, soil fertility and improving nutrient cycling, which includes processes such as breaking down of organic matter and soil respiration that facilitates uptake of soil nutrients like carbon, nitrogen and phosphorous. Farmers are encouraged and supported to identify practices that are most appropriate to their local context. These typically include cover cropping, crop rotation, mulching and other regenerative methods.  
  • Principle 4 on Biodiversity and Land Use: Better Cotton Farmers must adopt a biodiversity management plan which explicitly encourages crop rotation and the restoration of degraded areas. 
  • Other Better Cotton Principles: Due to the interconnected nature of sustainable farming practices, regenerative agriculture practices are embedded within other principles as well. For example, principle one on crop protection introduces an Integrated Pest Management Programme to help farmers reduce their pesticide use and principle two on water stewardship details soil moisture practices such as mulching and cover cropping. 

How We’re Diving Deeper into Regenerative Agriculture for Greater Impact 

While we recognise the value of regenerative agriculture practices and support the growing awareness of the role of farming in combatting climate change, we are cautious about making promises about soil carbon contributions while the science in this area is still evolving. For example, although no-till agriculture has been shown to improve carbon sequestration in the short term in many cases, in the long term, the outcomes are less certain. Some studies have shown that even periodic ploughing can reverse years of carbon benefits. Other research points to mixed impacts on soil organic carbon, depending on the content and depth of the soil layer. 

Regardless of the long-term carbon benefits of regenerative agriculture, we will continue to focus on supporting farmers to improve their soil health. This is crucial to enhance long-term soil fertility, reduce erosion and adapt to climate change. It also plays a key role in improving yields and livelihoods for farming communities. 

What’s Next

Climate-smart agriculture practices will play a more prominent role in the Better Cotton Standard after an upcoming revision of the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria. They will also feature strongly in our 2030 Strategy and connected climate change strategy, which will cover how Better Cotton Farmers and communities can become more resilient by mitigating and adapting to the effects of climate change, reducing carbon emissions and measuring their progress. 

An approach of continuous improvement is at the heart of both regenerative agriculture and our 2030 Strategy. To that end, we are currently in the process of finalising outcome targets and associated indicators to act as drivers of change for Better Cotton Farmers. The outcome target issue areas will likely include climate change mitigation and soil health. These targets will enable progress to be measured towards the Better Cotton mission and incentivise farmers to find new ways to enrich the environment in and around their farms.  

Stay tuned — we will be sharing more information on these targets and launching our 2030 Strategy at the end of the year.  

Learn more about how the Better Cotton Standard addresses soil health and climate change mitigation and adaptation

Translate »