公司信息


今天,更好的棉花倡议 (BCI) 在我们的 2020年报 良好棉花——由获得许可的 BCI 农民根据该倡议的良好棉花原则和标准生产的棉花——现在占全球棉花产量的 23%,BCI 的近 70 个实施合作伙伴在 Covid-19 大流行期间迅速调整其做法以适应不断变化的情况为 2.7 万农民提供培训和支持*
 在23国家。

与我们的合作伙伴一起,从十多年前巴基斯坦生产第一包良好棉花开始,BCI 取得了巨大进步,但仍有许多工作要做。 气候变化、生物多样性丧失、资源稀缺和社会不平等等全球挑战比以往任何时候都更加紧迫。 BCI 致力于支持棉花社区,并在我们进入下一个十年时应用所吸取的经验教训来加深我们的影响。

2020年度回顾— BCI 仍然致力于在整个大流行期间改善生计和支持棉花种植社区,改变我们的工作方式并筹集资金以支持低收入国家的大多数小农。 为了加强我们促进体面劳动和防止强迫劳动的能力,我们在工作队的帮助下重新审视了我们应对体面劳动挑战的方法,最终形成了体面劳动战略。 BCI 还结束了我们性别战略的第一阶段,衡量和试点南非和印度的妇女赋权项目,同时推进棉花社区内的性别对话。 通过三角洲项目,BCI 通过创建衡量和交流可持续性进展的共享方法,帮助带头加强多项可持续性举措,以应对农业中的社会和环境挑战、保护工人权利和改善农民生计。

BCI 之旅— 2016 年,BCI 开始了我们的旅程,争取到 2020 年将良好棉花视为主流可持续商品。在 2019-2020 年度,BCI 零售商和品牌会员采购了 1.7 万吨良好棉花,比 13 年的采购量增加了 2019%并创下行业纪录。 2020 年,BCI 还迎来了五个会员类别的 400 多名新会员。 到年底,BCI 的会员人数已超过 2,100 名,遍布 60 个国家,比 14 年增加了 2019%。随着 BCI 的前进,创造和衡量有意义的影响将成为我们工作的重点覆盖更多的农业社区。 更多关于这方面的内容将在今年晚些时候分享。

访问 BCI 2020 年报 详细了解 BCI 到 2020 年的表现,以及 BCI 的利益相关者如何决心为棉花种植社区带来真正的影响  此处 提交在线索赔申请。.

 

我们的 2030 年战略证明了我们决心帮助棉花种植社区建立气候适应能力、保护自然资源和促进体面工作,加强我们的部门,同时支持全球推动实现联合国 2030 年可持续发展目标。 我们希望为棉花种植社区带来真正的影响。 这就是为什么我们在 2020 年与利益相关者一起开展的工作如此重要,以完善我们的战略方法并使我们的气候努力与基于科学的目标保持一致。”

– Alan McClay,Better Cotton Initiative 首席执行官

 

 

“在 2019-20 棉花季节,我们加强了我们的能力建设方法,投入更多资源帮助农民采用可持续的做法,寻找与合作伙伴建立持久关系的新方法,以及与技术专家建立新的伙伴关系。 这为在 19 年快速应对 Covid-2020 大流行奠定了坚实的基础。”

– Jyoti Narain Kapoor,良好棉花倡议印度国家主任

 

 

* 该数字指的是“参与农民”。 有 2.4 万农民获得了种植良好棉花的许可,2.7 万参与农民接受了 BCI 的培训和支持,以更可持续地种植棉花,BCI 的计划(包括 Farmers+)覆盖了 3.8 万农民。 更多信息可用 此处 提交在线索赔申请。.

分享此页

Translate »

General


Today, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) shared in our 2020 Annual Report that Better Cotton – cotton produced in line with the initiative’s Better Cotton Principles and Criteria by licensed BCI Farmers – now accounts for 23% of global cotton production, with BCI’s nearly 70 Implementing Partners rapidly adapting their practices to evolving circumstances during the Covid-19 pandemic to deliver training and support to 2.7 million farmers*
 in 23 countries.

Together with our partners, BCI has made great progress from when the first bale of Better Cotton was produced in Pakistan just over a decade ago, but there is still much more to do. The global challenges of climate change, biodiversity loss, resource scarcity and social inequality are more pressing than ever. BCI is committed to supporting cotton communities and applying lessons learnt to deepen our impact as we move into the next decade.

2020 Year in Review— BCI remained committed to improving livelihoods and supporting cotton farming communities throughout the pandemic, transforming the way we work and raising funds to support the majority smallholder farmers in lower income countries. Strengthening our capacity to promote decent work and prevent forced labour, we revisited our approach to addressing decent work challenges with the help of a task force, culminating in a Decent Work Strategy. BCI also closed the first phase of our Gender Strategy, measuring and piloting women’s empowerment projects in South Africa and India, while advancing the gender conversation within the Cotton Community. Through the Delta Project, BCI helped lead the way in strengthening efforts of multiple sustainability initiatives to address social and environmental challenges in agriculture, protect workers’ rights and improve farmers’ livelihoods with the creation of a shared approach to measuring and communicating sustainability progress.

The BCI Journey— In 2016, BCI began our journey towards Better Cotton being recognised as a mainstream sustainable commodity by 2020. In the 2019-2020 season, BCI Retailer and Brand Members sourced 1.7 million metric tonnes of Better Cotton, a 13% increase on 2019 sourcing volumes and a record for the industry. In 2020, BCI also welcomed more than 400 new members across five membership categories. By the end of the year, BCI’s membership base had exceeded 2,100 members, spanning 60 countries and accounting for a 14% increase on 2019.  As BCI moves forward, creating and measuring meaningful impact will be an increasing focus of our work, as we continue to reach more farming communities. More on this will be shared later in the year.

Access the BCI 2020 Annual Report to find more detail on BCI’s performance to 2020 and how BCI’s stakeholders are determined to deliver real impact for cotton farming communities here.

 

Our 2030 strategy is testament to our determination to help cotton farming communities build climate resilience, conserve natural resources and promote decent work, strengthening our sector while supporting the global push to achieve the UN’s 2030 Sustainable Development Goals. We want to deliver real impact for cotton farming communities. That’s why the work we have undertaken with our stakeholders in 2020 to refine our strategic approach and align our climate efforts with science-based targets is so important.”

– Alan McClay, CEO, Better Cotton Initiative

 

 

“In the 2019-20 cotton season, we strengthened our capacity building approach, dedicating more resources to helping farmers adopt sustainable practices and finding new ways of building lasting relationships with our partners as well as developing new partnerships with technical experts. This provided a robust foundation from which to respond rapidly to the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020.”

– Jyoti Narain Kapoor, India Country Director, Better Cotton Initiative

 

 

* This figure refers to ‘participating farmers’. There are 2.4 million farmers licensed to grow Better Cotton, 2.7 million participating farmers receiving BCI’s training and support to grow cotton more sustainably, and 3.8 million farmers reached by BCI’s programmes including Farmers+. More information is available here.

Translate »