أطلقت BCI صندوق النمو والابتكار (GIF) ، والذي دخل حيز التنفيذ في 1 يناير 2016. الصندوق هو أداة الاستثمار العالمية الجديدة BCI لدعم مشاريع القطن الأفضل في مناطق زراعة القطن حول العالم. سيساعد حجم الصندوق BCI على تحقيق هدفها المتمثل في الوصول إلى 5 ملايين مزارع وتمثل 30 ٪ من إنتاج القطن العالمي بحلول عام 2020. تدار المحفظة بشكل مشترك من قبل BCI وشركائها وأعضاء من عالم الأعمال والمجتمع المدني والحكومة . تتم إدارة الصندوق من قبل IDH ، الشريك الاستراتيجي BCI ، مبادرة التجارة المستدامة ، والتي أدارت أيضًا برنامج المسار السريع Better Cotton Fast Track (BCFTP) الناجح للغاية من عام 2010 إلى عام 2015.

تتيح الاستثمارات المشتركة في التدريب وبناء القدرات لـ BCI GIF معالجة قضايا الاستدامة الأكثر إلحاحًا في زراعة القطن ، بما في ذلك استخدام مبيدات الآفات وكفاءة استخدام المياه وظروف العمل القاسية مثل عمالة الأطفال والقضايا الجنسانية والأجور غير العادلة. من خلال تعبئة الأموال العامة والخاصة ، تسعى BCI جاهدة إلى تعميم Better Cotton ، الذي يزرع بطريقة أفضل بشكل ملموس للبيئة والمجتمعات الزراعية. يستثمر الصندوق في برامج بناء القدرات التي تدرب منتجي القطن على تحسين المدخلات ، واستخدام المواد الكيميائية بطريقة أكثر أمانًا ، وزيادة الغلات وتحقيق أرباح أعلى. يعتمد النموذج على التحسين المستمر ، مما يعني أن مزارعي BCI مطالبون بتطوير خطط لتحسين ممارساتهم باستمرار بمرور الوقت.

الشركاء من القطاع الخاص في الصندوق هم من أكبر مشتري القطن في العالم ، بما في ذلك adidas و H&M و IKEA و Nike و Levi Strauss & Co. و M&S ، الذين وافقوا على دفع رسوم على أساس الحجم فيما يتعلق باستخدامهم للقطن الأفضل. يساهم تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية الذين يستخدمون Better Cotton في سلاسل التوريد الخاصة بهم في تمويل بناء قدرات المزارعين. لدى BCI حاليًا بائع تجزئة وعضوية في العلامة التجارية لأكثر من 50 منظمة ، بهدف تجاوز 60 مؤسسة بحلول نهاية عام 2016. الجهات المانحة المؤسسية العالمية مدعوة لمطابقة الرسوم التي يساهم بها القطاع الخاص من أجل تحقيق تأثير مضاعف.

تقدم BCI GIF (وسابقتها BCFTP) سجل حافل لمدة خمس سنوات من الإدارة الفعالة للأموال واسعة النطاق. تُظهر النتائج التي تم جمعها كل عام تغييرات إيجابية قوية في هذا المجال ، والتي تُترجم إلى فوائد بيئية واسعة النطاق بالإضافة إلى تحسينات اجتماعية واقتصادية لمنتجي القطن وأسرهم. لنتائج عام 2014 ، يرجى الاطلاع على أحدث ما لدينا تقرير الحصاد.

 

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

BCI launches the Growth and Innovation Fund

Announcements Tuesday, January 19th, 2016

BCI has launched its Growth and Innovation Fund (GIF), which came into force on 1 January 2016. The Fund is BCI’s new global investment vehicle for supporting Better Cotton projects in cotton-growing regions around the world. The scale of the Fund will help BCI advance its goal of reaching 5 million farmers and accounting for 30% of global cotton production by 2020. The portfolio is jointly run by BCI, its partners and members from the worlds of business, civil society and government. The Fund is managed by BCI’s strategic partner IDH, the Sustainable Trade Initiative, which also ran the very successful Better Cotton Fast Track Programme (BCFTP) from 2010 to 2015.

Joint investments in training and capacity building enable the BCI GIF to address the most pressing sustainability issues in cotton farming, including pesticide use, water efficiency and severe working conditions such as child labour, gender issues and unfair pay. By mobilising public and private funds, BCI strives to mainstream Better Cotton, which is grown in a way that is measurably better for the environment and farming communities. The fund invests in capacity building programmes that train cotton producers to optimise inputs, use chemicals in a safer manner, increase yields and generate higher profits. The model is based on continuous improvement, which means BCI farmers are required to develop plans to continuously improve their practices over time.

Private partners in the Fund are some of the world’s largest cotton buyers, including adidas, H&M, IKEA, Nike, Levi Strauss & Co. and M&S, who have agreed to pay a volume-based fee related to their use of Better Cotton. Retailers and brands who use Better Cotton in their supply chains contribute to the funding of farmer capacity building. BCI currently has a retailer and brand membership of over 50 organisations, with a target to pass 60 by the end of 2016. Global institutional donors are invited to match the fees contributed by the private sector in order to achieve a multiplier effect.

The BCI GIF (and its predecessor the BCFTP) offer a five year track record of effective large-scale fund management. Results collected each year show strong positive changes in the field, which translate into large-scale environmental benefits as well as social and economic improvements for cotton producers and their families. For 2014 results, please see our most recent Harvest Report.