帮助农民生存和繁荣是我们 Better Cotton 使命的核心。 实现这一使命首先要培养当地农民采用更可持续的做法的能力。

以农民为中心的方法

我们的能力建设计划将农民和农场工人放在首位。 我们知道,要创造积极的变化并加深我们计划的影响,我们必须确保农民和农场工人能够获得必要的工具、培训和支持,以不断改进他们的做法。

全球已有超过 2.7 万棉农从良好棉花田间培训中受益。 该培训由全球 25 个国家的良好棉花实施合作伙伴提供。 这些经验丰富的田间合作伙伴教授良好棉花标准体系的原则和标准,并为农民提供有效实施标准所需的支持。

通过预先投资能力建设,而不是简单地通过认证检查结果,我们可以对良好棉花标准体系的可信实施更有信心。 能力建设的前期投资也对继续获得良好棉花许可证的参与农民的百分比产生重大影响。

在 2019-20 棉花季节,在接受培训的 2.7 万农民中,有 2.4 万获得了出售 Better Co 的许可证吨。 除了获得许可的良好棉花种植者之外,良好棉花计划还覆盖更广泛的农业社区中的更多个人,包括合作农民、佃农、商业伙伴和固定工人。 我们将这个更广泛的社区称为 Farmers+。

了解更多 关于 Farmers+ 和良好棉花计划的真正影响

培训和能力建设

我们通过两条途径支持培训和能力建设——良好棉花标准体系和田间投资和管理。

优良棉花标准体系 | 从良好棉花原则和标准到显示结果和影响的监测机制,良好棉花标准体系包含了构成我们可持续棉花生产方法的所有要素。 我们管理和监督良好棉花标准体系,并负责确保其可信、可访问、产生重大影响并达到规模。

现场级投资 | 我们设置了 更好的棉花增长和创新基金 2016 年,以推动对良好棉花种植者和农业社区的投资。 该基金确定、支持和投资领域级计划和创新,动员零售商和品牌成员、实施合作伙伴以及公共和私人捐助者的捐款。 有关我们如何资助能力建设的更多信息,请参阅我们的 财务和资金页面.

确保可信的伙伴关系

我们的效率取决于我们在农场层面建设能力的能力,这就是为什么我们制定了严格的流程以确保我们的合作伙伴关系维护良好棉花的名称并为农民提供最大可能的价值。 良好棉花实施团队为此开展了多项活动。

印度的 BCI 农民

背书

对于希望成为实施合作伙伴的组织,有一个严格的认可流程,以确保他们与良好棉花使命保持一致。

提供持续的支持

我们定期审查实施合作伙伴的表现,并在他们培训和支持良好棉花种植者和农业社区时提供指导。

训练实习者

Better Cotton 为实施合作伙伴开展了全面的培训师培训计划,了解如何实施可持续农业实践和种植 Better Cotton。

在合作伙伴之间共享知识

我们通过分享最佳实践来鼓励和促进实施合作伙伴之间的学习。

培训资源

Better Cotton 是一项全球计划,但当地情况和知识是我们成功的关键。 这就是为什么我们的实施合作伙伴开发适合当地的材料,为农民提供有关如何在其独特的环境和背景下种植良好棉花的明确指导。 以这种方式量身定制的支持使我们能够直接解决当地的挑战,从塔吉克斯坦的水资源短缺到印度的虫害压力。 我们正在使用这些材料创建多语言的培训材料目录,这将使实施合作伙伴能够从彼此的工作中受益并相互支持。

Helping farmers survive and thrive is central to our mission at Better Cotton. Achieving that mission starts with building the capacity of farmers on the ground to adopt more sustainable practices.

Farmer-centric approach

Our Capacity Building Programme puts farmers and farm workers front and centre. We know that to create positive change and deepen the impact of our programme, we must ensure that farmers and farm workers have access to the necessary tools, training and support that they need to continuously improve their practices.

More than 2.7 million cotton farmers globally have already benefitted from Better Cotton field training. This training is delivered by Better Cotton Implementing Partners in 23 countries around the world. These experienced, field-level partners teach the Principles and Criteria of the Better Cotton Standard System and provide farmers with the support they need to implement the standard effectively.

By investing in capacity building upfront, rather than simply checking outcomes through certification, we can have greater confidence in the credible implementation of the Better Cotton Standard System. Upfront investment in capacity building also has a significant impact on the percentage of participating farmers who go on to achieve a Better Cotton license.

In the 2019-20 cotton season, out of the 2.7 million farmers who received training, 2.4 million received a license to sell Better Cotton. Beyond licensed Better Cotton Farmers, the Better Cotton programme reaches many more individuals in the wider farming community, including co-farmers, sharecroppers, business partners and permanent workers. We refer to this wider community as Farmers+.

Learn more about Farmers+ and the true reach of the Better Cotton programme

Training and capacity building

We support training and capacity building through two routes — the Better Cotton Standard System and field-level investment and management.

Better Cotton Standard System | From the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria to monitoring mechanisms that show results and impact, the Better Cotton Standard System is all of the elements that make up our approach to sustainable cotton production. We manage and oversees the Better Cotton Standard System and is responsible for ensuring it is credible, accessible, delivers significant impact and reaches scale.

Field-level Investment | We set up the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund in 2016 to drive investments to Better Cotton Farmers and farming communities. The fund identifies, supports and invests in field-level programmes and innovations, mobilising contributions from Retailer and Brand Members, Implementing Partners and public and private donors. For more information on how we fund capacity building, see our finance and funding page.

Ensuring Credible Partnerships

We are only as effective as our ability to build capacity at the farm level, which is why we have a strict process in place to ensure that our partner relationships are upholding the Better Cotton name and delivering the most possible value to farmers. The Better Cotton Implementation Team carries out several activities to that end.

BCI Farmers in India

Endorsement

There is a rigorous endorsement process for organisations who want to become Implementing Partners to ensure that they are aligned with the Better Cotton mission.

Providing ongoing support

We regularly review Implementing Partners’ performance and provide guidance as they train and support Better Cotton Farmers and farming communities.

Train-the-trainer

Better Cotton operates a comprehensive train-the-trainer programme for Implementing Partners on how to implement sustainable farming practices and grow Better Cotton.

Sharing knowledge between partners

We encourage and foster learning between Implementing Partners through the sharing of best practices.

Training Resources

Better Cotton is a global programme, but local context and knowledge is key to our success. That’s why our Implementing Partners develop locally adapted materials that provide farmers with clear instructions on how to grow Better Cotton in their unique environment and context. Tailoring support in this way allows us to directly address local challenges, from water scarcity in Tajikistan to pest pressure in India. We are using this material to create a catalogue of training materials in multiple languages that will enable Implementing Partners to benefit from and support each other’s work.