مساعدة المزارعين على البقاء والازدهار أمر أساسي لمهمتنا في Better Cotton. يبدأ تحقيق هذه المهمة ببناء قدرات المزارعين على الأرض لتبني ممارسات أكثر استدامة.

نهج يركز على المزارعين

يضع برنامج بناء القدرات لدينا المزارعين وعمال المزارع في الصدارة والوسط. نحن نعلم أنه لإحداث تغيير إيجابي وتعميق تأثير برنامجنا ، يجب أن نضمن حصول المزارعين وعمال المزارع على الأدوات اللازمة والتدريب والدعم الذي يحتاجون إليه لتحسين ممارساتهم باستمرار.

لقد استفاد بالفعل أكثر من 2.7 مليون مزارع قطن على مستوى العالم من التدريب الميداني لـ Better Cotton. يتم تقديم هذا التدريب من قبل شركاء تنفيذ أفضل للقطن في 25 دولة حول العالم. يقوم هؤلاء الشركاء من ذوي الخبرة على المستوى الميداني بتدريس مبادئ ومعايير نظام أفضل لمعايير القطن وتزويد المزارعين بالدعم الذي يحتاجون إليه لتنفيذ المعيار بشكل فعال.

من خلال الاستثمار في بناء القدرات مقدمًا ، بدلاً من مجرد التحقق من النتائج من خلال الاعتماد ، يمكننا أن نتمتع بقدر أكبر من الثقة في التنفيذ الموثوق لنظام معايير القطن الأفضل. الاستثمار المسبق في بناء القدرات له أيضًا تأثير كبير على النسبة المئوية للمزارعين المشاركين الذين يواصلون الحصول على ترخيص Better Cotton.

في موسم القطن 2019-20 ، من أصل 2.7 مليون مزارع تلقوا التدريب ، حصل 2.4 مليون على ترخيص لبيع شركة Better Coطن. بالإضافة إلى Better Cotton Farmers المرخص لها ، يصل برنامج Better Cotton إلى عدد أكبر من الأفراد في المجتمع الزراعي الأوسع ، بما في ذلك المزارعين المشتركين والمزارعين وشركاء الأعمال والعمال الدائمين. نشير إلى هذا المجتمع الأوسع باسم Farmers +.

اقرأ المزيد حول Farmers + والوصول الحقيقي لبرنامج Better Cotton

التدريب وبناء القدرات

نحن ندعم التدريب وبناء القدرات من خلال طريقين - نظام المعايير الأفضل للقطن والاستثمار والإدارة على المستوى الميداني.

أفضل نظام قياسي للقطن | من مبادئ ومعايير القطن الأفضل إلى آليات المراقبة التي تظهر النتائج والتأثير ، يشتمل نظام معايير القطن الأفضل على جميع العناصر التي تشكل نهجنا في الإنتاج المستدام للقطن. نحن ندير ونشرف على نظام معايير القطن الأفضل ونتحمل المسؤولية عن ضمان مصداقيته وإمكانية الوصول إليه وتحقيق تأثير كبير والوصول إلى نطاق واسع.

الاستثمار الميداني | أنشأنا ملف صندوق أفضل لنمو القطن والابتكار في عام 2016 لدفع الاستثمارات إلى مزارعي القطن الأفضل والمجتمعات الزراعية. يحدد الصندوق ويدعم ويستثمر في البرامج والابتكارات على المستوى الميداني ، ويحشد المساهمات من تجار التجزئة وأعضاء العلامات التجارية ، والشركاء المنفذين والجهات المانحة العامة والخاصة. لمزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية تمويل بناء القدرات ، راجع صفحة التمويل والتمويل.

ضمان شراكات ذات مصداقية

نحن فعالون فقط بقدر قدرتنا على بناء القدرات على مستوى المزرعة ، ولهذا السبب لدينا عملية صارمة لضمان أن علاقات شركائنا تدعم اسم Better Cotton وتقدم أكبر قيمة ممكنة للمزارعين. يقوم فريق تنفيذ Better Cotton بالعديد من الأنشطة لتحقيق هذه الغاية.

مزارعو BCI في الهند

موافقة

هناك عملية تأييد صارمة للمنظمات التي تريد أن تصبح شركاء منفذين للتأكد من أنها تتماشى مع مهمة Better Cotton.

تقديم الدعم المستمر

نراجع بانتظام أداء الشركاء المنفذين ونقدم التوجيه أثناء تدريبهم ودعمهم لمزارعي القطن الأفضل والمجتمعات الزراعية.

تدريب المدرب

تدير شركة Better Cotton برنامجًا شاملاً لتدريب المدربين للشركاء المنفذين حول كيفية تنفيذ ممارسات الزراعة المستدامة وتنمية قطن أفضل.

تبادل المعرفة بين الشركاء

نحن نشجع ونعزز التعلم بين الشركاء المنفذين من خلال مشاركة أفضل الممارسات.

موارد التدريب

Better Cotton هو برنامج عالمي ، لكن السياق المحلي والمعرفة هما مفتاح نجاحنا. لهذا السبب يطور شركاؤنا المنفذون مواد متكيفة محليًا تزود المزارعين بتعليمات واضحة حول كيفية زراعة قطن أفضل في بيئتهم وسياقهم الفريد. يسمح لنا تصميم الدعم بهذه الطريقة بمعالجة التحديات المحلية بشكل مباشر ، من ندرة المياه في طاجيكستان إلى ضغط الآفات في الهند. نحن نستخدم هذه المواد لإنشاء كتالوج للمواد التدريبية بلغات متعددة والتي ستمكن الشركاء المنفذين من الاستفادة من عمل بعضهم البعض ودعمه.

Helping farmers survive and thrive is central to our mission at Better Cotton. Achieving that mission starts with building the capacity of farmers on the ground to adopt more sustainable practices.

Farmer-centric approach

Our Capacity Building Programme puts farmers and farm workers front and centre. We know that to create positive change and deepen the impact of our programme, we must ensure that farmers and farm workers have access to the necessary tools, training and support that they need to continuously improve their practices.

More than 2.7 million cotton farmers globally have already benefitted from Better Cotton field training. This training is delivered by Better Cotton Implementing Partners in 23 countries around the world. These experienced, field-level partners teach the Principles and Criteria of the Better Cotton Standard System and provide farmers with the support they need to implement the standard effectively.

By investing in capacity building upfront, rather than simply checking outcomes through certification, we can have greater confidence in the credible implementation of the Better Cotton Standard System. Upfront investment in capacity building also has a significant impact on the percentage of participating farmers who go on to achieve a Better Cotton license.

In the 2019-20 cotton season, out of the 2.7 million farmers who received training, 2.4 million received a license to sell Better Cotton. Beyond licensed Better Cotton Farmers, the Better Cotton programme reaches many more individuals in the wider farming community, including co-farmers, sharecroppers, business partners and permanent workers. We refer to this wider community as Farmers+.

Learn more about Farmers+ and the true reach of the Better Cotton programme

Training and capacity building

We support training and capacity building through two routes — the Better Cotton Standard System and field-level investment and management.

Better Cotton Standard System | From the Better Cotton Principles and Criteria to monitoring mechanisms that show results and impact, the Better Cotton Standard System is all of the elements that make up our approach to sustainable cotton production. We manage and oversees the Better Cotton Standard System and is responsible for ensuring it is credible, accessible, delivers significant impact and reaches scale.

Field-level Investment | We set up the Better Cotton Growth and Innovation Fund in 2016 to drive investments to Better Cotton Farmers and farming communities. The fund identifies, supports and invests in field-level programmes and innovations, mobilising contributions from Retailer and Brand Members, Implementing Partners and public and private donors. For more information on how we fund capacity building, see our finance and funding page.

Ensuring Credible Partnerships

We are only as effective as our ability to build capacity at the farm level, which is why we have a strict process in place to ensure that our partner relationships are upholding the Better Cotton name and delivering the most possible value to farmers. The Better Cotton Implementation Team carries out several activities to that end.

BCI Farmers in India

Endorsement

There is a rigorous endorsement process for organisations who want to become Implementing Partners to ensure that they are aligned with the Better Cotton mission.

Providing ongoing support

We regularly review Implementing Partners’ performance and provide guidance as they train and support Better Cotton Farmers and farming communities.

Train-the-trainer

Better Cotton operates a comprehensive train-the-trainer programme for Implementing Partners on how to implement sustainable farming practices and grow Better Cotton.

Sharing knowledge between partners

We encourage and foster learning between Implementing Partners through the sharing of best practices.

Training Resources

Better Cotton is a global programme, but local context and knowledge is key to our success. That’s why our Implementing Partners develop locally adapted materials that provide farmers with clear instructions on how to grow Better Cotton in their unique environment and context. Tailoring support in this way allows us to directly address local challenges, from water scarcity in Tajikistan to pest pressure in India. We are using this material to create a catalogue of training materials in multiple languages that will enable Implementing Partners to benefit from and support each other’s work.