监测评估和学习 培训

 
今天,良好棉花倡议 (BCI) 在其 2018年报 更好的棉花——符合该倡议的棉花生产 良好棉花原则和标准 – 现在占 全球棉花产量的 19%*.

在 2017-18 棉季,与我们的 69 个实地合作伙伴一起,在来自 1,4000成员, BCI 向超过 21 个国家的 XNUMX 万棉农(多于 99% 的 BCI 农民是小农,在不到 20 公顷的土地上耕作)。 这将全球市场上更可持续生产的棉花数量推向了一个新的水平。

到 2020 年,BCI 的目标是支持 5 万棉农采用更可持续的农业实践并改善他们的生计。 为此,我们关注世界各地棉农面临的各种社会、环境和经济挑战,从澳大利亚的干旱到中国的洪水和巴基斯坦的性别平等。

=我们的综合培训、实践示范和知识共享计划帮助农民提高产量、减少对环境的影响并改善工作条件。 我们解决了多个环境问题——从土壤健康和杀虫剂的使用到水资源管理——并提高对体面劳动重要性的认识,特别关注促进妇女赋权和防止童工,” BCI 首席执行官 Alan McClay 说。

在供应链的另一端,BCI 的零售商和品牌成员 例如 Hennes & Mauritz AB、IKEA Supply AG、Gap Inc.、adidas AG 和 Nike Inc.在 2018 年底通过了一个重要的里程碑,采购了超过 XNUMX 万吨良好棉花– BCI 的记录。 这比 45 年增长了 2017%,向市场发出了一个明确的信号,即良好棉花正在成为一种可持续的主流商品。BCI 的需求驱动型融资模式意味着良好棉花的零售商和品牌采购直接转化为增加对棉农培训的投资关于更可持续的做法。

更好的棉花吸收现在占 占全球棉花消费量的 4%. 这一进展使 BCI 更接近我们 2020 年的目标,即全球 10% 的棉花都来自良好棉花。

=这一历史性良好棉花吸收水平是一个令人鼓舞的指标,表明 BCI 在实现我们的 2020 年五个目标方面取得了多大进展,”McClay 说。

早在 2012 年,BCI 委员会向所有 BCI 成员、合作伙伴、利益相关者和员工提出了一项艰巨的挑战,发布了 2020 年的五个雄心勃勃的目标。 BCI 委员会要求我们证明,多个利益相关者共同努力可以改变全球系统,使可持续性成为主流。 在 BCI 2018 年度报告中,我们分享了我们为实现这五个目标而共同取得的进展。

探索完整 BCI 2018 年报 在交互式报告微型网站上。 PDF 版本可供下载。

感谢我们所有忠诚的利益相关者,他们通过支持和参与 BCI,将良好棉花发展为可持续的主流商品并推动变革。

*该百分比是根据廉政公署 2018 年全球产量数据计算得出的。

分享此页

Sustainable Cotton Production Reaches New Levels as Two Million Farmers Receive Training on Improved Farming Practices

Announcements Thursday, June 6th, 2019

 
Today, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) revealed in its 2018 Annual Report that Better Cotton – cotton produced in line with the initiative’s Better Cotton Principles and Criteria – now accounts for 19% of global cotton production*.

In the 2017-18 cotton season, together with our 69 on-the-ground partners and with support from 1,4000 members, BCI provided training on sustainable agricultural practices to more than two million cotton farmers in 21 countries (more than 99% of BCI Farmers are smallholders, farming on less than 20 hectares of land). This drove the volume of more sustainably produced cotton available on the global market to a new level.

By 2020, BCI aims to support 5 million cotton farmers in adopting more sustainable agricultural practices and improving their livelihoods. To do this, we focus on the diverse social, environmental and economic challenges faced by cotton farmers around the world, from drought in Australia to flooding in China and gender equality in Pakistan.

Our comprehensive programme of training, practical demonstrations and knowledge-sharing helps farmers to raise their yields, reduce their impacts on the environment and improve working conditions. We address multiple environmental issues – from soil health and pesticide use to water stewardship – and raise awareness of the importance of Decent Work, focusing in particular on promoting women’s empowerment and preventing child labour,” says Alan McClay, CEO at BCI.

At the opposite end of the supply chain, BCI’s Retailer and Brand Members such as Hennes & Mauritz AB, IKEA Supply AG, Gap Inc., adidas AG, and Nike Inc. passed an important milestone at the end of 2018, sourcing more than one million metric tonnes of Better Cotton – a record for BCI. That’s a 45% increase on 2017 and sends a clear signal to the market that Better Cotton is becoming a sustainable mainstream commodity. BCI’s demand-driven funding model means that retailer and brand sourcing of Better Cotton directly translates into increased investment in training for cotton farmers on more sustainable practices.

Better Cotton uptake now accounts for 4% of global cotton consumption. This progress has moved BCI closer to our 2020 target to see 10% of global cotton sourced as Better Cotton.

This historic level of Better Cotton uptake is an encouraging indicator of how well BCI is progressing toward our five 2020 targets,” says McClay.

Back in 2012, the BCI Council laid down a formidable challenge to all BCI Members, Partners, stakeholders and staff with the publication of five ambitious targets for 2020. The BCI Council asked us to demonstrate that multiple stakeholders, working together, can shift a global system so that sustainability becomes the mainstream. In the BCI 2018 Annual Report, we share the progress we’ve collectively made towards achieving these five targets.

Explore the complete BCI 2018 Annual Report on the interactive report microsite. A PDF version is available for download.

Thank you to all of our committed stakeholders, who, by supporting and participating in BCI, are developing Better Cotton as a sustainable mainstream commodity and driving change.

*The percentage has been calculated using ICAC’s 2018 global production figures.