可持续性

水资源管理联盟 (AWS) 是 BCI 的成员和合作伙伴。 我们采访了首席执行官 Adrian Sym,以了解更多有关该组织的目标、对 Better Cotton 的承诺以及他们如何向世界其他地区传达其工作的信息。

 

您能告诉我们水资源管理联盟的 BCI 会员资格以及这两个标准之间的相互关系吗?

水资源管理联盟 (AWS) 多年来一直是 BCI 的互惠会员(BCI 也是 AWS 的成员)。 很明显,我们应该密切合作; 我们既是标准系统又是网络。 我们都是ISEAL联盟的成员,我们共享成员。 我们还分享了一些标准系统开发的创新方法。 除此之外,棉花是一种如此重要的作物,用水是棉花生产的关键因素。 AWS 成为 BCI 的成员并且这两个标准密切合作确实很有意义。

 

AWS 是一个全球会员制组织,它将其他组织聚集在一起以实现共同目标。 你能分享一些关于合作和跨部门合作的想法吗?

首先,我们根据应实现的目标来定义水资源管理。 这意味着社会、环境和经济利益以及如何实现这些利益。 您无法逐个农场或逐户解决水问题——它是一种固有的共享资源。 我们对水资源管理的定义描述了基于现场和集水区的行动的重要性,强调了在我们共享这一重要资源的领域开展合作的必要性。 因此,协作与水资源管理紧密相连——它是我们 DNA 的一部分。 从我们努力开发和推出标准的第一天起,合作和支持现有计划的明确目标就非常明确。 我们并不试图取代其他标准或倡议,我们在这里支持他们在水方面做更多的工作,其中水是一个关键因素。 正是由于这个原因,我真的很高兴我们能够参与到良好棉花标准体系的原则和标准部分的修订中。 我们现在正与 BCI 和 Helvetas 合作,帮助推出新的水资源管理方法 印度、巴基斯坦、中国、塔吉克斯坦和莫桑比克。

 

关于以环境可持续的方式用水,您认为与您的成员和利益相关者沟通的最重要方式是什么?

在很大程度上,通信确实是标准系统的核心。 在 AWS,我们正在努力建立一个社区,分享其关于水资源管理的知识,社区成员可以在这里讨论问题和挑战,并在安全的环境中分享经验、想法和教训。 我们希望我们社区的动态是流动的。 我们不采用线性的“建议和响应”方式来交换信息,相反,我们的成员也拥有学习议程的所有权——他们不必依赖为 AWS 工作的少数人。 我们的成员积极参与分享他们的知识和想法,我认为这会导致一些有趣的交流。 我对成功故事不太感兴趣。 我们都知道这很难,可持续用水不是我们要实现的目标,然后打包回家——这是我们始终需要努力的事情。 我们有兴趣学习并使用它们在未来创建更简单的流程。 我们想了解“如何”,然后扩大规模。

 

收听随附的完整采访 播客,最初共享于 BCI 2017 年报。

分享此页

Sustainability

Alliance for Water Stewardship (AWS) is Member and Partner of BCI. We caught up with CEO, Adrian Sym, to find out more about the organisation’s aims, commitments to Better Cotton, and how they communicate their work to the rest of the world.

 

Can you tell us about Alliance for Water Stewardship’s BCI Membership and the reciprocal relationship the two standards have?

Alliance for Water Stewardship (AWS) has had reciprocal membership with BCI for a number of years (BCI is also a member of AWS). It’s clear that we should be working very closely together; we are both standard systems and networks. We are both members of the ISEAL Alliance, and we share members. We also share some innovative approaches to standard system development. Adding to that, cotton is such a critical crop and water use is a critical factor in cotton production. It really makes sense for AWS to be a member of BCI and for both standards to work closely.

 

AWS is a global membership-based organisation which brings other organisations together to address a common goal. Can you share some thoughts on collaboration and cross sector partnerships?

To begin with, we define water stewardship in terms of what it should achieve. That means social, environmental and economic benefits and how those are achieved. You can’t address water on a farm-by-farm or household-by-household basis – it is a resource that is inherently shared. Our definition of water stewardship describes the importance of site and catchment-based action, emphasising the need to work in collaboration in areas where we are sharing this vital resource. Collaboration is therefore hardwired into water stewardship – it is part of our DNA. From day one of our efforts to develop and roll out the standard, the explicit objective to collaborate and support existing initiatives has been very clear. We are not trying to replace other standards or initiatives, we are here to support them to do more on water, where water is a critical factor. It’s for that reason that I’m really pleased we’ve been able to input into the revision of the Principles and Criteria component of the Better Cotton Standard System. We are now working alongside BCI and Helvetas to help roll out the new water stewardship approach in India, Pakistan, China, Tajikistan and Mozambique.

 

What would you say are the most important way you communicate with your members and stakeholders about using water in an environmentally sustainable way?

To a large extent, communication really goes to the heart of standard systems. At AWS, we are trying to establish a community that shares its knowledge on water stewardship, where community members can discuss issues and challenges, and share experiences, ideas and lessons in a safe environment. We want the dynamic of our community to be fluid. We don’t operate a linear “proposal and response’ way of exchanging information, but rather, our members have ownership of the learning agenda as well – they don’t have to rely on the few people who work for AWS. Our members are actively engaged in sharing their knowledge and ideas, and I think that leads to some interesting communication. I’m less interested in success stories. We all know this is hard, and sustainable water use is not something we are going to achieve and then pack up and go home – it’s something we are always going to need to work on. We’re interested in taking learnings and using them to create easier processes in the future. We want to understand the “how’ and then scale this up.

 

Listen to the full interview in the accompanying podcast, originally shared in the BCI 2017 Annual Report.

Translate »