تعزيز القدرات

بقلم لينا ستافغارد ، مدير العمليات ، شركة Better Cotton ، بالتعاون مع شارلين كوليسون ، المدير المساعد - سلاسل القيمة المستدامة وسبل العيش ، منتدى المستقبل

إعداد قطاع القطن لمخاطر المناخ

القطن هو أحد أهم الألياف الطبيعية في العالم ، حيث يمثل 31٪ من المواد الخام المستخدمة في المنسوجات ويدعم سبل عيش حوالي 350 مليون شخص. مع تصاعد ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري ، والتي من المحتمل أن تصل إلى 1.5 درجة مئوية فوق مستويات ما قبل الصناعة بحلول عام 2030 ، من المقرر أن يزداد الاضطراب المناخي الذي يواجهه القطاع بالفعل ، مع تأثيرات عميقة على الغلات وسلاسل التوريد والمجتمعات الزراعية. والأكثر ضعفا - المزارعون وعمال المزارع - هم الأكثر تضررا على الأرجح. لضمان مستقبل مزدهر للقطن ، من الضروري أن نساعد في إعداد القطاع للتكيف مع الأزمة. القطن هو ألياف متجددة وخالية من الأحافير ويمكن أن يساهم بشكل إيجابي في التخفيف من تغير المناخ مع الممارسات الذكية مناخيا.

هذا هو السبب في أن بناء قدرات مزارعي القطن لخفض انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري من قطن أفضل إلى النصف وتحسين قدرتها على الصمود مع تغير المناخ هو محور تركيز رئيسي للقطن الأفضل ، وجزء أساسي من استراتيجيتنا لعام 2030. لكننا لن نحقق أهدافنا إلا إذا فهمنا أولاً الطبيعة الدقيقة وشدة المخاطر المناخية للقطن. لذلك نرحب بأول بحث يستكشف المخاطر التي تواجه قطاع القطن العالمي ، "التخطيط للتكيف مع المناخ ". بتكليف من Cotton 2040 ، وعقد من قبل شريكنا Forum for the Future وأجرى من قبل متخصص مخاطر المناخ Acclimatise ، فإنه يغطي سلسلة القيمة بأكملها ، ويستكشف المخاطر المتنوعة والمعقدة والمترابطة التي من شأنها خلق تحديات خطيرة لإنتاج القطن.

التخطيط للتكيف مع المناخ: دعوة للعمل

بحلول عام 2040 ، تشير التقديرات إلى أن جميع المناطق المنتجة للقطن ستتأثر بتغير المناخ ، بما في ذلك عمالقة زراعة القطن في الهند والولايات المتحدة والصين والبرازيل وباكستان وتركيا. يمكن أن يواجه نصف جميع المناطق مخاطر مناخية عالية أو عالية للغاية من خطر مناخي واحد على الأقل ، مع تعرض بعضها لما يصل إلى سبعة مخاطر ، من التغيرات في درجات الحرارة إلى هطول الأمطار غير المنتظم إلى الجفاف والفيضانات وحرائق الغابات. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يمثل الإجهاد الحراري (درجات الحرارة فوق 40 درجة مئوية) خطرًا متزايدًا عبر 75٪ من مناطق زراعة القطن ، مما يزيد من إجهاد وتغيير مواسم النمو.

سيكون هطول الأمطار غير المنتظم أو غير الكافي أو الشديد أكثر انتشارًا في مناطق زراعة القطن الأكثر إنتاجية في العالم ، مما يحول دون تنمية المحاصيل الصحية ، ويلزم المزارعين بإعادة زراعة المحاصيل بأكملها أو حتى القضاء عليها. يمكن أن يؤثر الخطر المتزايد للجفاف على حوالي نصف القطن في العالم ، مع إجبار المزارعين على زيادة استخدامهم للري ، حيث يوجد هذا الاحتمال. يمكن أن تتعرض حوالي 20٪ من مناطق زراعة القطن لمزيد من فيضانات الأنهار بحلول عام 2040 ويمكن أن تتعرض 30٪ لمخاطر متزايدة من الانهيارات الأرضية. ستتعرض جميع مناطق زراعة القطن لمخاطر متزايدة من حرائق الغابات ، وقد يتعرض 60٪ من القطن لخطر متزايد من إتلاف سرعات الرياح. سيؤثر هذا الواقع الجديد على كل جانب من جوانب سلاسل القيمة ، من عمال المزارع إلى أصحاب العلامات التجارية ، مما يقلل الغلة ، ويخلق المزيد من عدم اليقين بشأن أسعار القطن ، ويؤثر على استمرارية سلسلة التوريد.

وهذه المناطق التي يُرجح تعرضها لتأثيرات المناخ هي أيضًا أقل البلدان نمواً ، مما يعني أن الآثار ستشعر بها بشكل غير متناسب من قبل الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً ، مع تعرض المزارعين والمنتجين بشكل خاص. لذلك يجب على العلامات التجارية وقطاع القطن الأوسع إزالة الكربون من عملياتها وسلاسل التوريد على مستوى العالم بأسرع ما يمكن - وبطريقة تضمن العمل اللائق وتحمي حقوق الإنسان.

منصة للتغيير الجماعي والمنهجي

لقد فات الأوان في اليوم لتجنب جميع التأثيرات المذكورة أعلاه ، ولكن يمكننا بالتأكيد تقليل المخاطر ، وتعزيز قدرة المجتمعات الزراعية على الإدارة من خلالها. ولتحقيق ذلك ، هناك حاجة إلى التعاون في جميع أنحاء القطاع لبناء القدرة على التكيف مع تغير المناخ ، وتقليل الآثار المناخية للقطن ، وتطوير حلول للتكيف. كمبادرة متعددة أصحاب المصلحة تعمل مع الجهات الفاعلة في جميع أنحاء قطاع القطن ، فإن Better Cotton لديها فرصة فريدة للعمل كمنصة للعمل الجماعي ، والتعاون بشكل وثيق مع شركائنا وتوفير التمويل لبناء قدرات المزارعين في جميع أنحاء العالم. كما أننا نستفيد من الشراكات للدعوة إلى التغيير ، مع التركيز بشكل أساسي على ضمان الانتقال العادل إلى المرونة المناخية في البلدان المنتجة للقطن ، حيث تستفيد جميع المجموعات ، بما في ذلك المجتمعات الزراعية الضعيفة ، من تبني ممارسات مستدامة.

مصدر الصورة: Better Cotton / Florian Lang الموقع: Surendranagar ، Gujarat ، الهند. 2018. الوصف: يشرح مزارع القطن الأفضل ، فينودباي باتيل ، لمنسق حقل قطن أفضل (الجانب الأيمن) وحاصله ، Hargovindbhai Haribhai (الجانب الأيسر) كيف تستفيد التربة من وجود ديدان الأرض.
مصدر الصورة: Better Cotton/Florian Lang الموقع: Surendranagar، ولاية غوجارات، الهند. 2018. الوصف: في منزلها، توضح نيتابين، زوجة مزارع القطن الأفضل، فيندوباي باتل، كيف تطحن غرام البنغال لصنع الدقيق. يستخدم فينودباي دقيق العدس لإنتاج الأسمدة العضوية التي يستخدمها في حقل القطن الخاص به.

نحن نتشارك مع المنظمات التي يمكنها تقديم المزيد من المساعدة للمزارعين من خلال تحديد وتعزيز وتوسيع نطاق ممارسات الزراعة المتجددة والذكية مناخياً ، ومساعدة المزارعين على تنويع أنشطتهم. يمكن أن يشمل ذلك تشجيع تخزين المياه ، وتطوير التنبؤ بالطقس ، والآفات والأمراض ، وإنشاء وتنفيذ تأمين مرتبط بالطقس ، وتربية أصناف بذور القطن المقاومة للجفاف والفيضانات والآفات والأعشاب الضارة والأمراض.

هناك رحلة طويلة في المستقبل وسيحتاج القطاع إلى التحرك بشكل متماسك وحاسم من أجل الازدهار في المستقبل. عندما ننجح ، سيظل القطن قادرًا على دعم الملايين من سبل العيش في جميع أنحاء العالم وسيكون مادة خام إيجابية الكربون للمنسوجات والمنتجات الأخرى. عاقدين العزم على إحداث فرق ، ستعمل Better Cotton and Forum for the Future مع شركاء آخرين متشابهين في التفكير لرفع المعايير وتشجيع نماذج الأعمال التي تساعد المزارعين على بناء القدرة على التكيف مع المناخ وتحسين سبل عيشهم.

لمزيد من المعلومات ، بما في ذلك عن منتدى المستقبل والدروس الرئيسية لـ WTW 'Insights to Action' حول مخاطر المناخ على قطاع القطن ، يرجى الاطلاع على التخطيط للتكيف مع المناخ.

اقرأ المزيد

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

Capacity Building

By Lena Staafgard, COO, Better Cotton, in collaboration with Charlene Collison, Associate Director – Sustainable Value Chains and Livelihoods, Forum for the Future

Preparing the cotton sector for climate risks

Cotton is one of the world’s most important natural fibres, accounting for 31% of raw materials used for textiles and supporting the livelihoods of around 350 million people. As global warming escalates, potentially reaching 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels by 2030, the climate disruption already facing the sector is set to increase, with profound impacts for yields, supply chains and farming communities. The most vulnerable – farmers and farm workers – are likely to be the hardest hit. To ensure a thriving future for cotton, it’s vital that we help prepare the sector to adapt to the crisis. Cotton is a renewable, fossil free fibre and with climate smart practices it can contribute positively to climate change mitigation.

That’s why building the capacity of cotton farmers to halve the greenhouse gas emissions of Better Cotton and improve their climate resilience is a major focus for Better Cotton, and a core part of our 2030 Strategy. But we’ll only achieve our aims if we first understand the precise nature and severity of climate risks for cotton. So we welcome the first piece of research exploring the risks facing the global cotton sector, ‘Planning for Climate Adaptation’. Commissioned by Cotton 2040, convened by our partner Forum for the Future and conducted by climate risk specialist Acclimatise, it covers the whole value chain, exploring the diverse, complex and interrelated risks that stand to create serious challenges to cotton production.

Planning for Climate Adaptation: A call for action

By 2040, it’s estimated that all cotton producing regions will be affected by climate change, including the cotton growing giants of India, USA, China, Brazil, Pakistan and Turkey. Half of all regions could face high or very high climate risk exposure from at least one climate risk, with some set to experience up to seven risks, from temperature changes to irregular rainfall to droughts, flooding and wildfires. For example, heat stress (temperatures above 40°C) could present an increased risk across 75% of cotton growing regions, further straining and altering growing seasons.

Irregular, insufficient or extreme rainfall will be more prevalent in the world’s most productive cotton growing regions, preventing the development of healthy crops, obliging farmers to re-sow or even wiping out entire harvests. The increased risk of drought could impact around half of the world’s cotton, with farmers forced to increase their use of irrigation, where this possibility exists. Some 20% of cotton growing regions could be exposed to more river flooding by 2040 and 30% could be exposed to increased risk from landslides. All cotton growing regions will be exposed to increased risk from wildfires, and 60% of cotton could be exposed to increased risk from damaging wind speeds. This new reality would affect every aspect of value chains, from farm workers to brand owners, reducing yields, creating more uncertainty around cotton prices, and affecting supply chain continuity.

Those regions most likely to be exposed to climate impacts are also the least developed countries, meaning the impacts will be disproportionately felt by the most vulnerable, with farmers and producers particularly exposed. Brands and the wider cotton sector must therefore decarbonise their operations and supply chains globally as rapidly as possible – and in a way that ensures decent work and protects human rights.

A platform for collective, systemic change

We’re too late in the day to avoid all above impacts, but we can certainly reduce the risks, and strengthen farming communities’ ability to manage through them. For that, collaboration is needed across the sector to build climate resilience, reduce the climate impacts of cotton, and develop solutions for adaptation. As a multi-stakeholder initiative working with actors across the cotton sector, Better Cotton has a unique opportunity to act as a platform for collective action, collaborating closely with our partners and providing funding to build farmers’ capacity around the world. We are also leveraging partnerships to advocate for change, with a key focus on ensuring a fair transition to climate resilience in cotton producing countries, whereby all groups, including vulnerable farming communities, benefit from adopting sustainable practices.

Photo Credit: Better Cotton/Florian Lang Location: Surendranagar, Gujarat, India. 2018. Description: Better Cotton Lead Farmer Vinodbhai Patel is explaining to a Better Cotton field facilitator (right side) and his share-cropper, Hargovindbhai Haribhai (left side) how the soil is benefiting from the presence of earthworms.
Photo Credit: Better Cotton/Florian Lang Location: Surendranagar, Gujarat, India. 2018. Description: At her home, Better Cotton Lead Farmer Vindobhai Patel’s wife Nitaben, is demonstrating how she grinds Bengal gram to make flour. Vinodbhai is using this lentil flour to produce organic fertilizer which he is using in his cotton field.

We are partnering with organisations that can provide further assistance to farmers by identifying, promoting, and scaling accessible regenerative and climate smart agriculture practices, and helping farmers to diversify their activities. This can include encouraging water storage, developing weather, pest and disease forecasting, creating and implementing weather-indexed insurance, and breeding cotton seed varieties that are resistant to drought, flood, pests, weed and disease.

There is a long journey ahead and the sector will need to move cohesively and decisively to thrive in the future. When we succeed, cotton will continue to be able to support millions of livelihoods across the world and be a carbon positive raw material for textiles and other products. Determined to make a difference, Better Cotton and Forum for the Future will work together with other like-minded partners to raise standards and encourage business models that help farmers build climate resilience and improve their livelihoods.

For more information, including on Forum for the Future and WTW’s ‘Insights to Action’ masterclasses on climate risks to the cotton sector, please see Planning for Climate Adaptation.

Learn more

Share this page