BCI Welcomes New Council Members Adidas, Anandi, Pesticide Action Network and Supima

Announcements Wednesday, March 3rd, 2021

The Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) is delighted to announce that representatives from Adidas, Anandi, Pesticide Action Network and Supima have been elected to the BCI Council.

The BCI Council is the organisation’s highest decision-making body and has a direct influence on making global cotton production more sustainable. The Council is equally represented by four BCI membership categories, reflecting the entire cotton supply chain: retailers and brands, suppliers and manufacturers, civil society and producer organisations. In the 2021 elections, four seats were up for election, one in each membership category.

Between 11 and 25 February, and following a two-month election campaign, BCI Members voted for representatives to join the BCI Council.

The four elected Council members are:

Retailer and Brand



Represented by Ebru Gencoglu



Supplier and Manufacturer

Anandi Enterprises 


Represented by R S Baalagurunathan


Civil Society

Pesticide Action Network 


Represented by Keith Tyrell


Producer Organisation



Represented by Marc Lewkowitz


The incoming Council will determine the footprint of BCI in the next ten-year strategic period when a major shift is envisioned for BCI’s economic, social and environmental sustainability indicators.

You can find out more about the BCI Council and other members here.


Who are the BCI Council?

The Council is an elected board whose role is to ensure that BCI has a clear strategic direction and adequate policy to successfully fulfil its mission. Council Members are organisations representing the different membership categories.

How is the Council formed?

The General Assembly, consisting of all BCI Members, is the ultimate authority of BCI and elects a Council to represent it. Positions are open to all members (except Associate Members). Each membership category has three seats, making up a total of 12 seats for membership representatives. Once elected, the Council has the option to appoint up to three additional Independent Council Members.