Мозамбик
Главная » Где выращивают Better Cotton » Better Cotton в Мозамбике

Better Cotton в Мозамбике

Хлопок является важнейшей экспортной сельскохозяйственной культурой в Мозамбике и одним из основных источников дохода сельских домохозяйств в центральных и северных регионах страны.

слайд 1
52,0
Лицензированные фермеры
0,898
Тонны лучшего хлопка
0,660
Гектаров убрано

В 2013 году мы запустили программу Better Cotton в Мозамбике. Сегодня 86% хлопководов страны производят Better Cotton, управляя 90% земель, занятых выращиванием хлопка. У большинства домохозяйств есть небольшие участки — как правило, менее одного гектара богарного хлопка, — который они возделывают в основном вручную.

Better Cotton Partners в Мозамбике

  • САНАМ
  • САН-JFS

Мы работаем с партнерами-исполнителями SANAM и SAN-JFS, которые проводят обучение фермеров на местах, а также являются национальными компаниями, известными как «концессии» - компаниями, которым правительство разрешает быть единственным оператором в данной области. Взамен концессии предоставляют фермерам такие ресурсы, как семена и пестициды.

Партнеры-исполнители работают с Better Cotton Farmers по всей стране, чтобы помочь им внедрить более устойчивые методы производства и создать дополнительные источники дохода за счет таких методов, как выращивание других товарных культур наряду с хлопком.

Команды также работают с 5 другими концессиями в Мозамбике:

  • Сплетение Мозамбик
  • Sociedade Agrícola e Pecuária (FESAP)
  • Sociedade Algodoeira de Mutuali (SAM-Mutuali)
  • Чайна Африка Хлопок (CAC)
  • Агрошаваша

Проблемы устойчивости

По мере изменения климата фермеры в Мозамбике сталкиваются с нерегулярным выпадением осадков, экстремальными погодными условиями и стихийными бедствиями. В некоторых регионах сильная жара и засухи привели к полной потере урожая, а в других вызывают беспокойство циклоны и наводнения. Плохое состояние почвы и потеря биоразнообразия также являются проблемами по всей стране.

Помимо изменения климата, детский труд - еще одна проблема для устойчивого производства хлопка в Мозамбике. Согласно отчету Министерства труда, занятости и социального обеспечения Мозамбика, детский труд затрагивает более одного миллиона детей в стране, при этом многие дети бросают школу, не закончив учебу. Для решения этих проблем наши партнеры-исполнители разработали совместные программы с местными органами образования и школами в хлопководческих регионах, чтобы помочь предотвратить детский труд и повысить ценность образования детей. 

Узнайте больше о результатах, которые получают фермеры, участвуя в программе Better Cotton в нашем последнем Отчет о результатах фермера.

Когда я регулярно помогал родителям на хлопковом поле, у меня часто не оставалось сил, чтобы выполнить домашнее задание или поиграть. В классе я слишком устал, чтобы сосредоточиться на уроках, и мне было трудно делать домашнее задание.

47-летний Мануэль управляет своим приусадебным участком по выращиванию хлопка площадью 2.5 га в провинции Ньяса. Семья с восемью детьми зависит от его способности собирать обильный и здоровый урожай.

Связаться с нами

Свяжитесь с нашей командой через контактную форму, если вы хотите узнать больше, стать партнером или вы фермер, заинтересованный в выращивании Better Cotton.

Mozambique
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Mozambique

Better Cotton in Mozambique

Cotton is the most important agricultural export crop in Mozambique and one of the main sources of income for rural households in the central and northern regions of the country.

Slide 1
61,0
Licensed Farmers
0,000
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,000
Hectares Harvested

We launched a Better Cotton programme in Mozambique in 2013 and have worked closely with the government’s Cotton and Oilseeds Institute of Mozambique (IAM) since then to share learning opportunities and establish a strategic partnership. We continue to work together to address sustainable farming challenges in the country. Today, 86% of the country’s cotton farmers produce Better Cotton, managing 90% of the land under cotton cultivation. Most households have small plots — typically less than one hectare of rain-fed cotton — which they cultivate largely by hand.

Better Cotton Partners in Mozambique

The Cotton and Oilseeds Institute of Mozambique (IAM) is our Strategic Partner in Mozambique. They collaborate with Better Cotton’s country team to promote and implement the Better Cotton Standard System throughout the country with two Implementing Partners.

  • SANAM
  • SAN-JFS

We work with Implementing Partners SANAM and SAN-JFS, who provide on-the-ground training to farmers and are also national companies known as ‘concessions’ — companies the government permits to be the sole operator in a given area. In return, concessions provide farming inputs like seeds and pesticides to farmers.

IAM and our Implementing Partners work with Better Cotton Farmers throughout the country to help them adopt more sustainable production practices and create additional income sources through practices like growing other cash crops alongside cotton.

IAM also works with 5 other concessions in Mozambique:

  • Plexus Mozambique
  • Sociedade Agrícola e Pecuária (FESAP)
  • Sociedade Algodoeira de Mutuali (SAM –Mutuali)
  • China Africa Cotton (CAC)
  • Agroshawasha

Sustainability challenges

As the climate changes, farmers in Mozambique face irregular rainfall patterns, extreme weather and natural disasters. In some regions, intense heat and droughts have led to the complete loss of crops, and in others, cyclones and flooding are a concern. Poor soil health and biodiversity loss are also issues across the country.

Beyond climate change, child labour is another challenge to sustainable cotton production in Mozambique. According to a report from Mozambique’s Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security, child labour affects more than one million children in the country, with many children dropping out of school before they complete their education. To tackle these challenges, our Implementing Partners have developed joint programmes with local education authorities and schools in cotton-growing regions to help prevent child labour and promote the value of children’s education. 

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

When I was regularly helping my parents in the cotton field, I often had no strength left to complete my homework or play. In class, I was too tired to concentrate on my lessons, and I struggled to do my homework.

47-year-old Manuel manages his 2.5-hectare cotton smallholding in Niassa Province. And with eight children, the family depends on his ability to achieve a plentiful, healthy crop.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.