莫桑比克
首页 » 良好棉花的产地 » 莫桑比克的更好棉花

莫桑比克的更好棉花

棉花是莫桑比克最重要的农业出口作物,也是该国中部和北部地区农村家庭的主要收入来源之一。

滑动1
61,0
持牌农民
0,000
良好棉花吨数
0,000
收获的公顷

我们于 2013 年在莫桑比克启动了良好棉花计划,此后一直与莫桑比克政府的棉花和油籽研究所 (IAM) 密切合作,分享学习机会并建立战略合作伙伴关系。 我们将继续共同努力应对该国的可持续农业挑战。 今天,该国 86% 的棉农生产良好棉花,管理着 90% 的棉花种植土地。 大多数家庭都有小块地——通常不到一公顷的雨育棉花——他们主要靠手工种植。

莫桑比克更好的棉花合作伙伴

冥界 莫桑比克棉花和油籽研究所 (IAM) 是我们在莫桑比克的战略合作伙伴。 他们与良好棉花的国家团队合作,与两个实施合作伙伴一起在全国推广和实施良好棉花标准体系。

  • 萨南
  • SAN-JFS

我们与实施合作伙伴 SANAM 和 SAN-JFS 合作,他们为农民提供实地培训,也是被称为“特许经营”的国家公司——政府允许公司成为特定地区的唯一运营商。 作为回报,特许权向农民提供种子和杀虫剂等农业投入。

IAM 和我们的实施合作伙伴与全国的 Better Cotton Farmers 合作,帮助他们采用更可持续的生产实践,并通过种植其他经济作物和棉花等实践创造额外的收入来源。

IAM 还与莫桑比克的其他 5 个特许经营区合作:

  • 莫桑比克丛
  • Sociedade Agrícola e Pecuária (FESAP)
  • Sociedade Algodoeira de Mutuali (SAM – Mutuali)
  • 中非棉 (CAC)
  • 阿格罗沙瓦沙

可持续性挑战

随着气候的变化,莫桑比克的农民面临着不规则的降雨模式、极端天气和自然灾害。 在一些地区,酷热和干旱导致农作物完全丧失,而在另一些地区,飓风和洪水令人担忧。 土壤健康状况不佳和生物多样性丧失也是全国各地的问题。

除了气候变化,童工是莫桑比克可持续棉花生产的另一个挑战。 根据莫桑比克劳动、就业和社会保障部的一份报告,童工影响该国超过 XNUMX 万儿童,许多儿童在完成学业之前就辍学了。 为了应对这些挑战,我们的实施合作伙伴与当地教育部门和棉花种植区的学校制定了联合计划,以帮助防止童工并提升儿童教育的价值。 

通过参与我们最新的“更好棉花”计划,了解更多农民正在经历的成果 农民结果报告.

当我经常在棉田里帮助父母时,我经常没有力气完成作业或玩耍。 在课堂上,我太累了,无法专心上课,做作业也很吃力。

47 岁的曼努埃尔在尼亚萨省管理着他占地 2.5 公顷的棉花小农场。 有了八个孩子,这个家庭依赖于他能否获得丰富、健康的作物。

联系我们

如果您想了解更多信息、成为合作伙伴或者您是对种植良好棉花感兴趣的农民,请通过联系表联系我们的团队。

Mozambique
Home » Where Better Cotton is grown » Better Cotton in Mozambique

Better Cotton in Mozambique

Cotton is the most important agricultural export crop in Mozambique and one of the main sources of income for rural households in the central and northern regions of the country.

Slide 1
52,0
Licensed Farmers
0,898
Tonnes of Better Cotton
0,660
Hectares Harvested

We launched a Better Cotton programme in Mozambique in 2013. Today, 86% of the country’s cotton farmers produce Better Cotton, managing 90% of the land under cotton cultivation. Most households have small plots — typically less than one hectare of rain-fed cotton — which they cultivate largely by hand.

Better Cotton Partners in Mozambique

  • SANAM
  • SAN-JFS

We work with Implementing Partners SANAM and SAN-JFS, who provide on-the-ground training to farmers and are also national companies known as ‘concessions’ — companies the government permits to be the sole operator in a given area. In return, concessions provide farming inputs like seeds and pesticides to farmers.

Implementing Partners work with Better Cotton Farmers throughout the country to help them adopt more sustainable production practices and create additional income sources through practices like growing other cash crops alongside cotton.

The teams also work with 5 other concessions in Mozambique:

  • Plexus Mozambique
  • Sociedade Agrícola e Pecuária (FESAP)
  • Sociedade Algodoeira de Mutuali (SAM –Mutuali)
  • China Africa Cotton (CAC)
  • Agroshawasha

Sustainability challenges

As the climate changes, farmers in Mozambique face irregular rainfall patterns, extreme weather and natural disasters. In some regions, intense heat and droughts have led to the complete loss of crops, and in others, cyclones and flooding are a concern. Poor soil health and biodiversity loss are also issues across the country.

Beyond climate change, child labour is another challenge to sustainable cotton production in Mozambique. According to a report from Mozambique’s Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security, child labour affects more than one million children in the country, with many children dropping out of school before they complete their education. To tackle these challenges, our Implementing Partners have developed joint programmes with local education authorities and schools in cotton-growing regions to help prevent child labour and promote the value of children’s education. 

Find out more about the outcomes farmers are experiencing by participating in the Better Cotton programme in our latest Farmer Results Report.

When I was regularly helping my parents in the cotton field, I often had no strength left to complete my homework or play. In class, I was too tired to concentrate on my lessons, and I struggled to do my homework.

47-year-old Manuel manages his 2.5-hectare cotton smallholding in Niassa Province. And with eight children, the family depends on his ability to achieve a plentiful, healthy crop.

Get in touch

Contact our team via the contact form if you’d like to learn more, become a partner or you’re a farmer interested in farming Better Cotton.