التحسين المستمر

 
هذا العام ، تبلغ مبادرة القطن الأفضل (BCI) 10 سنوات.

في هذا الوقت القصير ، شهدت BCI نموًا استثنائيًا. تضم المبادرة اليوم أكثر من 1,400 عضو وتعمل مع 60 شريكًا على المستوى الميداني للوصول إلى وتدريب 1.6 مليون مزارع قطن في 23 دولة (أرقام موسم 2016-17). مع شركائنا وأعضائنا وأصحاب المصلحة ، حققنا الكثير في السنوات العشر الماضية ، ولكن لا يزال هناك طريق طويل لنقطعه لضمان أن إنتاج القطن العالمي أفضل لمن ينتجه ، وأفضل للبيئة التي ينمو فيها وأفضل من أجلها. مستقبل القطاع.

مع اقتراب BCI من عقدها الثاني ، فإن تركيز المنظمة ثابت بشدة على المستقبل وبناء إستراتيجية حتى عام 2030. نحن حقًا جهد تعاوني ونواصل العمل مع جميع أصحاب المصلحة لدينا لضمان BCI ونظام معايير القطن الأفضل بشكل فعال مواجهة تحديات إنتاج القطن ، مع تلبية احتياجات المصادر لأعضائنا.

على مدار العام ، سننشر سلسلة من المقالات ، مع مدخلات من أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين الذين كانوا مؤثرين طوال العقد الأول من BCI - من الشركاء ، إلى منظمات المجتمع المدني ، إلى تجار التجزئة والعلامات التجارية. سيتم نشر أول مقال في السلسلة في أوائل شهر مارس.

نوجه انتباهنا أيضًا إلى أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) ، وكيف يمكن أن يستمر BCI وأعضاؤه في لعب دور محفز للتغيير كجزء من الزخم العالمي الذي تسخره أهداف التنمية المستدامة. خلال العام الماضي ، أجرينا تمرينًا لرسم الخرائط حيث قارنا الأهداف التنظيمية لـ BCI بالأهداف السبعة عشر والأهداف ذات الصلة لتحديد المكان الذي يقودهم فيه BCI بطريقة ملموسة. حددنا 17 أهداف للتنمية المستدامة حيث تقدم BCI مساهمات قوية - يمكنك معرفة المزيد في موقعنا الجديد محور SDG.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، نحن ندرك أن حاجة أعضاء BCI للتواصل حول الاستدامة آخذة في الازدياد والتطور ، ويجب أن يتطور إطار عمل مطالبات القطن الأفضل بالتوازي مع توقعات السوق والمستهلكين المتنامية هذه. في بداية العام أطلقنا أ مراجعة من الإطار. بعد فترة من التشاور ، سيتم إصدار إطار عمل مطالبات القطن الأفضل V2.0 في الربيع. نحن نواصل أيضًا تحسين مراقبة وتقييم عملنا على المستوى الميداني من أجل تسهيل الاتصالات الموثوقة حول نتائج وتأثيرات استثمارات الأعضاء في إنتاج قطن أكثر استدامة.

نود أن نشكر جميع أعضائنا وشركائنا وأصحاب المصلحة على دعمكم المستمر ، ونتطلع إلى العمل معًا بينما تنتقل BCI إلى الفصل التالي.

مشاركة هذه الصفحة

What Does 2019 Have in Store For BCI? A Message from CEO Alan McClay

Announcements Monday, February 4th, 2019

 
This year, the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) turns 10 years old.

In this short amount of time, BCI has experienced exceptional growth. Today, the Initiative has more than 1,400 members and works with 60 field-level partners, to reach and train 1.6 million cotton farmers in 23 countries (2016-17 season figures). With our partners, members and stakeholders we have achieved a lot in the past 10 years, but there is a long way to go to ensure global cotton production is better for the people who produce it, better for the environment it grows in and better for the sector’s future.

As BCI heads towards its second decade, the organisation’s focus is firmly fixed on the future and building a strategy to 2030. We are truly a collaborative effort and we continue to work with all of our stakeholders to ensure BCI and the Better Cotton Standard System effectively address cotton production challenges, while meeting the sourcing needs of our members.

Throughout the year we will be publishing a series of articles, with input from key stakeholders who have been influential throughout BCI’s first decade – from partners, to civil society organisations, to retailers and brands. The first article in the series will be published in early March.

We are also turning our attention to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and how BCI and its members can continue to be catalysts for change as part of the global momentum harnessed by the SDGs. Over the last year, we conducted a mapping exercise whereby we compared BCI’s organisational objectives to the 17 Goals and related targets to determine where BCI is driving them in a tangible way. We identified 10 SDGs where BCI is making robust contributions – you can find out more in our new SDG hub.

Additionally, we recognise that the need for BCI Members to communicate about sustainability is growing and evolving, and the Better Cotton Claims Framework must evolve in parallel with these growing market and consumer expectations. At the beginning of the year we launched a review of the framework. Following a period of consultation, the Better Cotton Claims Framework V2.0 will be released in the spring. We are also continuing to refine the monitoring and evaluation of our field-level work in order to facilitate credible communications about the outcomes and impacts of members’ investments in more sustainable cotton production.

We would like to say thank you to all of our members, partners and stakeholders for your continued support, and we look forward to working together as BCI moves into the next chapter.